Skip to main content

Full text of "Philadelphia: World's Medical Centre"

arr-aefi 



mm 




. 



«* 








m 



tyttBtntsli bg. 



ffl 



■^— . — i aa»Ma 





E&ssat 





# 







i 



K 



■ 



.. 



TO THOSE 

OF THE PAST AND PRESENT 

WHOSE EFFORTS IN ELEVATING AND MAINTAINING 

PHILADELPHIA AS THE WORLD'S MEDICAL CENTRE 

AND WHOSE TIRELESS ZEAL AND ENTHUSIASM 

IN THEIR PROFESSION WILL BE A GUIDE 

TO THOSE WHO FOLLOW, THIS 

BOOK IS DEDICATED 



I 



i 



PHILADELPHIA 

WORLD'S MEDICAL 
CENTRE 



BY WORD AND PICTURE 

THIS BOOK TYPIFIES THE TREMENDOUS GROWTH 
OF PHILADELPHIA'S INSTITUTIONS IN THE FIELD 
OF MEDICAL SCIENCE AND PROVES CON- 
CLUSIVELY ITS RIGHT TO THE TITLE — 
WORLD'S MEDICAL CENTRE 



W-V> ? . C. hi (> # 



t 0r iVl£0\C\NE 
MgPJCAU CPLLt^ 



•" «2<M«u: 




J- 



v 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



History of the Outstanding Achievements of 
Philadelphia as a Medical Center 

By JAMES M. ANDERS, M.D., LL.D. 
Emeritus Professor of Medicine, Graduate School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania 



PHILADELPHIA is the birth- 
place of American Medicine. 
It will not be possible to de- 
pict the development of medicine 
in Philadelphia in epochs, since 
ofttimes the advances have super- 
seded one another almost insen- 
sibly. A tendency toward interna- 
tional professional relationships 
was manifested from the begin- 
ning of medical activities in this 
city, and the scientific spirit, 
which, however, had not yet com- 
menced to burn like a sacred fire 
abroad, was introduced here by 
some of the earliest local physi- 
cians. Indeed, the medical profes- 
sion of the present day cannot, 
upon reflection, fail to feel de- 
voutly grateful to the founders of 
Medical Science in Philadelphia — 
to Griffith Owen, John Kearsley, 
Thomas Cadwalader, John Mor- 
gan, William Shippen, Jr., Thomas 
Bond, Benjamin Rush, Samuel 
Gerhard and others, for the reason 
that they made possible, in no nar- 
row sense, the advantages we en- 
joy today. We must also accord 
grateful veneration to the stand- 
ards set by the Welsh Quaker doc- 
tors who accompanied the colon- 
ists, for to them was largely due 
the advanced professional position 
taken by Philadelphia in its very 
incipiency. 

The first representative of the 
medical profession was Jan Peter- 
sen, a barber of Alfendolft; he was 
surgeon to one of the Swedish 
colonies on the Delaware at a 
salary of ten guilders a month, be- 
ginning July 10, 1638, while the 
first well-known practitioner in 
Pennsylvania was Dr. Griffith 
Owen. As early as 1700, the first 
quarantine law was passed in 
Philadelphia, and the quarantine 
physician for many years was Dr. 
Thomas Graeme. 

In 1717, Dr. John Kearsley as- 
sumed the responsibility of pre- 
ceptor and teacher of young men 



desirous of studying medicine, 
with phenomenal success, due to 
the excellence of the instruction of- 
fered, and not a few of his pupils 
were "destined for prominence in 
the early records of their profes- 
sion in this country." Among his 
pupils it became the vogue to so- 
journ abroad to amplify their 
medical knowledge, presumably to 
obviate the necessity of depending 
upon the mother country for an 
adequate supply of competent 
physicians. Perhaps the earliest of 
these was Lloyd Zachary, who, 
upon returning to Philadelphia 
with Phineas Bond, made it pos- 
sible, by volunteering gratuitous 
service, to execute the plans sug- 
gested by Dr. Thomas Bond to 
Benjamin Franklin, for the estab- 
lishment of the Pennsylvania Hos- 
pital. It is worthy of note that 
Dr. Thomas Cadwalader was the 
first native son of Philadelphia to 
receive his medical education 
abroad; he was the first to make a 
necropsy for scientific purposes 
and the first to employ electricity 
in the treatment of disease — a case 
of paralysis. 

Among the earlier Philadelphia 
physicians, there were numerous 
pioneers other than those already 
mentioned. For example, to Dr. 
Thomas Bond credit is due for the 
first record of lithotomy in Amer- 
ica; the operation was performed 
by him at the Pennsylvania Hos- 
pital in 1756. Dr. William Ship- 
pen, Jr., was before all others in 
teaching obstetrics and to establish 
a private maternity in 1762, as well 
as the first to urge systematic 
medical school education in the 
place of the apprentice system 
then in vogue. He was also the first 
to dissect human bodies, under 
public protest and threats of vio- 
lence and an attempt to destroy 
his house, although serious damage 
was averted. His contemporary, 
Dr. John Morgan, held the same 



view concerning medical educa- 
tion, and, upon returning to Amer- 
ica in 1765 from abroad, took a 
long forward step and founded the 
primary medical school in Amer- 
ica (later the medical department 
of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania), and became the first Pro- 
fessor of the Theory and Practice 
of Physic therein. 

To Morgan belongs the credit of 
effecting a division between medi- 
cine and surgery, feeling that they 
required different types of men. 
Again, it was due in large part to 
his teaching and influence that 
surgery early took an advanced 
position in this city. Surely we 
may look upon the delineation of 
the physician from the surgeon as 
an early outstanding achievement 
American medicine. Subse- 



ln 



quently, obstetrics was adopted as 
the first specialty. The value of 
hygiene and preventive medicine 
was early recognized in Philadel- 
phia. Here should be recollected 
the fact that the control of the 
medical service of the Continental 
Army was almost solely in the 
hands of Philadelphia physicians, 
and the list was truly an epitome 
of the profession of the city of the 
Colonial period. 

A number of valuable methods 
of treatment took origin here in 
that early period, especially in- 
novations in surgical treatment. 
For example, the Bond splint for 
fractures of the lower end of the 
radius, devised by Dr. Thomas 
Bond. To Dr. Philip Syng Physick 
belongs the credit of inventing a 
number of surgical appliances and 
instruments, such as the urethro- 
tome, the seton for ununited frac- 
tures, ligatures for vessels, and a 
tonsillotome. The stomach tube 
for gastric lavage is often ascribed 
to Dr. Physick and was wrought 
out independently by him, al- 
though Dr. Alexander Monro of 
Edinburgh described its use in gas- 



^"^^^SjffiffiB 



■^ 



.._.... 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



V * 



trie lavage as early as 1797. It was 
Dr. John Rhea Barton who intro- 
duced wiring of fragments in frac- 
ture of the patella; Dr. Hugh L. 
Hodge invented a pessary and ob- 
stetrical forceps, and Dr. S. D. 
Gross, a transfusion apparatus, 
foreign-body extractor, bullet 
probe, artery forceps, tourniquet 
and splints. No name looms larger 
in the scroll of fame in Philadel- 
phia medicine than that of Dr. S. 
D. Gross, who, after his demise, 
was honored by the erection of a 
National Statue, a unique distinc- 
tion. Much credit should be given 
to Dr. Atlee for having directed 
the attention of the world to 
ovariotomy as a justifiable pro- 
cedure in given conditions. 

During the closing period of 
the War of the Revolution, the 
population of Philadelphia was 
approximately 40,000, of whom 50 
were physicians. Among those who 
helped to advance Philadelphia 
medicine by means of institutional 
and practical measures still oper- 
ative was Samuel Powell Griffith, 
who was born in this city in 1759. 
It was to him that Benjamin Rush 
suggested the founding of the Col- 
lege of Physicians, of which he 
later became one of the founders 
and was Vice-President at the time 
of his death in 1826. Dr. Griffith 
was one of the founders of the 
Philadelphia Dispensary (in 
1786), the first institution of its 
kind in America. He was also one 
of the founders of the Friends 
Asylum in Frankford, and at the 
early age of thirty years was ap- 
pointed Professor of Materia 
Medica and Pharmacy in the first 
Medical School. 

No history of the achievements 
of Philadelphia medicine would 
be complete without reference to 
Benjamin Rush, conceded to have 
been one of the greatest clinicians 
this country has ever produced 
and styled by Lettson the "Syden- 
ham of America." Besides bein«: 
an acknowledged leader in prac- 
tical medicine, he was an essayist 
in many lines, an orator, investi- 
gator, a scholar, statesman, phil- 
osopher, scientist, a highly success- 
ful teacher and a Christian gentle- 
man. Among his pupils were many 
men who added luster to the rep- 
utation of Philadelphia as a 
medical center. For example, Dr. 



Philip Syng Physick, a Philadel- 
phian, previously mentioned, who 
has been called the father of 
American surgery; also Dr. John 
Redmond Coxe, the founder of 
medical journalism in America, 
and the first subject to be success- 
fully vaccinated in Philadelphia. 

To Dr. Thomas E. James goes 
the credit of first opening lying-in 
wards in the Pennsylvania and 
Philadelphia hospitals. The first 
medical text-book in America was 
published by a Philadelphian, Dr. 
Caspar Wistar, whose anatomical 
specimens form the nucleus of the 
present Wistar Museum of the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania. An event 
worthy of mention was the found- 
ing of the first medical journal in 
America, the Philadelphia Medical 
and Physical Journal (1804-09). 
In 1820 Nathaniel Chapman 
founded the Philadelphia Journal 
of the Medical and Physical Sci- 
ences; in 1827 he started a new 
series of this journal under the 
title "American Journal of the 
Medical Sciences," which has been 
the best of the American monthly 
medical periodicals. 

Subsequently, the supreme dom- 
inance of the individual physician 
ceased for all time, and collective 
effort, which had its origin first 
with Morgan and his associates 
and later many former pupils of 
Rush, now became the established 
rule, and as knowledge grew, the 
tendency toward specialism in- 
creased. This fact explains the 
multiplication of schools and pri- 
vate institutions during the latter 
part of the eighteenth and the 
first half of the nineteenth century. 

Among the greatest exponents 
of scientific medicine of that pe- 
riod, the following are deserving; 
of special mention: William P. 
Dewees, William E. Horner, Rob- 
ert E. Hare (the inventor of the 
oxyhydrogen blow-pipe in 1801), 
George B. Wood, Samuel Jackson 
and William W. Gerhard, the 
greatest pathologist of this day, 
whose paper on differential diag- 
nosis of typhus and typhoid fevers 
in 1837 definitely settled the clin- 
ico-pathologic status of the two 
diseases. The founding of the Path- 
ological Society of Philadelphia in 
1838, by Norris, Pennock, Stille, 
Goddard, Pepper, Mutter, Carson, 
and others, was an event of much 



importance. The present Patho- 
logical Society, however, was or- 
ganized in 1857 in the old "picture 
house" of the Pennsylvania Hospi- 
tal, where an address was delivered 
by the late Sir William Osier on 
the occasion of its Fiftieth Anni- 
versary. 

Among other men who left their 
lasting impress upon Philadelphia 
medicine, at a somewhat later 
date, were: Dr. George McClellan, 
the founder of Jefferson Medical 
College in 1825; Dr. Robley Dun- 
glison, who, while teaching six 
branches of medicine simultan- 
eously in the University of Vir- 
ginia, published a work on human 
physiology, a medical dictionary, 
and a work on therapeutics, and 
later occupied the chair of Insti- 
tutes of Medicine in the Jefferson 
Medical College for thirty-two 
years; Dr. Ann Preston, who re- 
organized the Woman's Medical 
College of Philadelphia, and Dr. 
George P. Oliver, who organized 
the Medico-Chirurgical College. 

Medical schools of low standard 
and short courses requisite for the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine in- 
vited opprobrium, and these con- 
ditions were directly responsible 
for the origin of the American 
Medical Association, designed as a 
moral uplift to secure a better state 
of medical ethics and service in 
the land. The first National Con- 
vention was held in New York in 
1846, with only one Philadelphia 
School to join in the movement, 
namely, the Medical Department 
of the Pennsylvania College, one 
of the two schools founded by Dr. 
George McClellan. 

"In the following year, repre- 
sentatives of 28 medical colleges 
and 40 medical societies assembled 
in Philadelphia. A report on 
medical ethics was submitted, and 
a plea for higher educational re- 
quirements was made to the col- 
leges. Dr. Nathaniel Chapman of 
the University of Pennsylvania was 
the first president, Dr. Alfred 
Stille, one of the two secretaries, 
and Dr. Isaac Hays, treasurer. All 
of these men, be it observed, were 
Philadelphians." 1 Philadelphia, 
therefore, may be said to have 
been the birthplace of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association. 



» 1 



=4 - 



i 



1 Founders* Week Memorial Volume, p. 54. 



■ ' —- 



mam 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



This movement resulted in the 
stimulation of the local profession 
to better things, and also led to the 
organization of the Philadelphia 
County Medical Society on Janu- 
ary 16, 1849, which Society has 
done so much to promote medical 
progress in Philadelphia. At that 
time the city proper of Philadel- 
phia lay between the Delaware and 
the Schuylkill Rivers, and Vine 
and South Streets, and its popula- 
tion was 120,000, while the popula- 
tion of the entire county, which in- 
cluded various districts and town- 
ships, such as Frankford, North- 
ern Liberties, Kensington, Moya- 
mensing, Southwark, West Phila- 
delphia and so on, was about 400,- 
000. As stated by J. Chalmers Da 
Costa 2 this city was then "the 
medical center of the country, its 
medical authorities were revered 
far and wide, and every ambitious 
medical man in the United States 
looked towards a chair in a Phila- 
delphia college as the crowning 
point of his career." The Hahne- 
mann Medical College and Hospi- 
tal of Philadelphia, the first Home- 
opathic Medical School in this 
country, was organized in 1848 by 
Dr. Constantine Hering, Dr. Jacob 
Jeanes and Dr. Walter Williamson. 
It may be justly claimed that Phil- 
adelphia was the pioneer in medi- 
cal education for women, the 
Woman's Medical College being 
organized in 1850. The second 
children's hospital was established 
in 1855 in Philadelphia, the first 
having been organized in 1851, in 
New York. 

The founders of The Philadel- 
phia County Medical Society and 
those counted among its earliest 
members visualized in outline the 
plan of organization of the medi- 
cal profession, subsequently 
adopted by the American Medical 
Association. They passed a resolu- 
tion calling for the admission of 
delegates from county and state 
medical societies to the American 
Medical Society — a plan subse- 
quently adopted by the national 
organization. The Society also be- 
came actively interested at once in 
professional and public welfare, 
showing that the members were 
endowed with no blunted sense of 
proportion and relative values in 



8 75th Anniversary. The Philadelphia County Medi- 
al Society, p. 79. 



the sphere of medical organiza- 
tions. Among accomplishments 
worthy of notice which we owe to 
the County Medical Society are: 
The advocacy of members famil- 
iarizing themselves with the 
United States pharmacopoeia and 
also adhering to it strictly in their 
prescriptions. On the other hand, 
connection with, or moneyed in- 
terests in, apothecary stores of 
physicians, the Society thus early 
discountenanced. 

Notwithstanding the fact that 
the physician was at that time to- 
tally without modern laboratory 
aids and instruments of precision, 
we owe many achievements of note 
to his ingenuity, versatility and 
highly cultivated powers of ob- 
servation. Among those who con- 
tributed most largely to Philadel- 
phia medicine in the period were : 
Doctors George B. Wood, John K. 
Mitchell, the first to describe 
neurotic spinal arthropathies in 
1831, Nathaniel Chapman, a 
student of Rush and Abernethy in 
London, Charles D. Meigs, Joseph 
Pancoast, famous both as teacher 
and operator, Thomas D. Mutter, 
Samuel Jackson, John Rhea Bar- 
ton, William E. Horner, Robert 
Hare, George W. Norris and many 
others. The movement to reform 
and advance medical education to 
higher standards in this country 
was inaugurated by three members 
of the local medical profession, 
namely, Doctors William Pepper, 
Horatio C. Wood and James Ty- 
son, in co-operation with Elliott of 
Harvard, Sir William Osier and 
William Welch of Johns Hopkins. 

The College of Physicians of 
Philadelphia was founded in 1787, 
it being the third Medical Society 
to be formed in Philadelphia, the 
first being the Philadelphia Medi- 
cal Society, which continued in ex- 
istence only until November 11, 
1768, and the second, the Ameri- 
can Medical Society founded in 
1773, by medical students attend- 
ing lectures in Philadelphia. The 
prototype of the College of Physi- 
cians was doubtless the Royal Col- 
lege of Physicians of London. Its 
organization, however, was agi- 
tated as early as 1767, by Dr. John 
Morgan, but strenuously opposed 
by one of the proprietors, Thomas 
Penn, and this resulted in the 



abandonment of the project until 
1787. 

The work of the College stood 
out conspicuously during the first 
half century of its life, since few 
societies existed during that pe- 
riod. It was then frequently called 
upon to express its opinon and 
rendered valuable aid to the City, 
State and Nation. The College can 
boast of a library second in size 
only to that of the Surgeon Gen- 
eral at Washington, D. C; it has 
been of unlimited service in 
extending the treasures of it col- 
lection of bound journals and 
standard works to thousands of 
physicians and students. The Col- 
lege has ever protected the inter- 
ests of science and taken a firm 
stand in favor of experimental 
medicine, and on more than one 
occasion thwarted attempts at en- 
croachments on the right to use 
animals for purposes of vivisection 
under proper and humane super- 
vision. For many years it gave in- 
terested attention to the subject of 
quarantine. 

The College of Physicians has 
been intimately associated with 
the developmental history of our 
city, and its founders clearly rec- 
ognized the true relationship of 
medicine to the public health. 
Later on it became less active in its 
relation to the domain of sanitary 
science and preventive medicine. 
More recently, however, it has 
been availing itself of opportun- 
ities to promote the health and 
well-being of the general public 
through the establishment of a 
standing committee on Public 
Health and Preventive Medicine 
and also the formation of a section 
covering the same field, including 
industrial medicine. The College 
is now prepared to play an im- 
portant role in the future preserva- 
tion of the health of the commun- 
ity. 

To sketch the history of The 
Philadelphia General Hospital 
would not be possible within the 
limitations of this article, but 
many of the scientific contribu- 
tions to various departments of 
medicine by its visiting and teach- 
ing staffs, including not a few orig- 
inal discoveries, have become his- 
toric classics. The words of Dr. 
Charles K. Mills,' 5 written in 1890 



3 Philadelphia Hospilal Reports, Vol. I, pp. 80-81 



■" - .' " 



T™'™^ , ""~~~™""~ 



8 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



— "On pathology the hospital has 
furnished contributions without 
number and some of great value, 
particularly during the last fifteen 
years" — are even more true of the 
intervening period of forty years 
to date. Unquestionably, this in- 
stitution has been an outstanding 
factor in the progressive develop- 
ment of Philadelphia medicine. 
As stated by the late Dr. D. Hayes 
Agnew: 4 "It is difficult to over- 
estimate the importance of this 
Institution, to either the profession 
or the community." The Philadel- 
phia Pathological Society has in- 
creasingly drawn from this hospi- 
tal for its material. 

An outstanding landmark in 
Philadelphia medicine was the en- 
dorsement of the efforts of medical 
authorities to widen the scope and 
functions of the Division of Child 
Hygiene (in 1914), whose accom- 
plishments in safeguarding the 
lives of infants and young children 
have been distinctly noteworthy. 
Here may be stated the fact that 
during the past two decades there 
has been a sympathetic co-opera- 
tion between the medical organiza- 
tions of Philadelphia as repre- 
sented by our Philadelphia County 
Medical Society and the College of 
Physicians, and those who have 
represented the citizens in public 
health work, and from this close 
co-operation have sprung influ- 
ences that have greatly assisted the 
Department of Public Health in its 
efforts to improve the sanitary 
status of Philadelphia and prevent 
communicable diseases. 

The recent establishment of a 
creditable working and reference 
library by the County Medical So- 
ciety may be viewed as an achieve- 
ment fraught with great possibil- 
ities for the advancement of the 
future scientific interests of the So- 
ciety. The birth of the Weekly 
Roster, founded by Dr. A. B. 
Hirsch, marked a step in advance, 
inaugurating, as it did, meeting 
notices of all Philadelphia's Medi- 
cal Societies, together with ab- 
stracts of papers and additional 
items of interest to the medical 
profession. Among notable 
achievements may be appropri- 
ately mentioned the Volunteer 
Medical Service Corps, founded by 
Dr. William Duffield Robinson and 



* History of Blockley, Croskey, p. 3. 



his associates, during the World 
War. This organization was devel- 
oped numerically until it became 
the largest in the world (about 74,- 
000 men) up to Armistice Day. 

The organization of the Gradu- 
ate School of Medicine (formerly 
the Medico-Chirurgical College 
and Hospital) by the University of 
Pennsylvania in 1916 constitutes 
a real landmark in the progress 
and development of medical teach- 
ing in Philadelphia. The prime 
object was to provide a compre- 
hensive series of long systematic 
graduate medical courses, with a 
view to preparing acceptable grad- 
uates to begin special medical 
practice, or teaching, and to stim- 
ulate productive research in medi- 
cine. Its faculty consists of a large 
group of Philadelphia clinicians, 
representing twelve major clinical 
departments. Certificates and de- 
grees are awarded to successful 
regular course student physicians. 
To approved students there is of- 
fered a wide range of opportun- 
ities in their chosen fields of medi- 
cal science. The Graduate School 
of Medicine of the University of 
Pennsylvania, it may be reason- 
ably claimed, has led all other in- 
stitutions in the land with similar 
aims. 

It remains for me to speak of 
the achievements of men, most 
of them no longer in the flesh, 
who have contributed mightily 
to the development of practical 
medicine, not only in Philadel- 
phia, but throughout the world. 
Of these I would make special 
mention of Dr. S. Weir Mitchell, 
poet and novelist, author of "The 
Rest Cure for Nervous Disorders;" 
Sir William Osier, the illuminator 
of internal medicine by his mas- 
terly work; Dr. Joseph Leidy, the 
world-famed naturalist, who dis- 
covered, in 1847, the intermediate 
host of the trichina, namely, the 
hog; Dr. J. M. Da Costa, the mar- 
velously acute diagnostician, au- 
thor of classic contributions to the 
knowledge of cardiac derange- 
ments; Dr. Horatio C. Wood, 
founder of clinical pharmacology, 
or modern system of rational sci- 
entific therapeutics; Dr. William 
Pepper, untiring worker . for a 
higher standard in medicine^ au- 
thor of many excellent published 
works, the first to aspirate for 



pleural effusion in America; Dr. 
W. W. Keen, pioneer in brain lo- 
calization and surgery; Dr. Louis 
H. Duhring, founder of American 
Dermatology; Dr. C. E. de M. 
Sajous, the father of Endocrinol- 
ogy; Dr. Joseph Price, nestor of 
abdominal surgery in America; 
Dr. William L. Rodman, famous 
for breast amputations. Among 
many others whose names should 
be recorded here are; Dr. John B. 
Deaver, a renowned specialist in 
appendicitis and surgery of the 
upper abdomen; Dr. George E. 
Pfahler, noted X-ray Therapeutist; 
Dr. William G. Spiller, first to ad- 
vocate operation for tic douloureux 
(1898); Dr. Francis X. Dercum, 
the first to describe adiposis dolo- 
rosa; Dr. Thomas G. Morton, au- 
thor of Metatarsalgia; Dr. L. Web- 
ster Fox the brilliant operator on 
the eye; Dr. John A. Kolmer, Was- 
serman and other Researches; Drs. 
Shamburg and Rawiss, who gave 
us "Arsphenamin;" Dr. B. B. Vin- 
cent Lyon, gall bladder drainage; 
Dr. George E. de Schweinitz, world 
famous Ophthalmologist; Dr. W. 
Wayne Babcock, pioneer in spinal 
anesthesia and others. Dr. Joseph 
Price, a pioneer in modern asep- 
sis, which hastened the surgical 
triumphs in the fields of gynecol- 
ogy and obstetrics; Dr. J. H. Mus- 
ser, who first recognized typhoid 
cholecystitis as a pathologic basis 
of a relapse in typhoid fever; Dr. 
J. Solis-Cohen, the pioneer laryn- 
gologist and advocate of a present- 
day recognized operation for car- 
cinoma of the larynx; Dr. E. E. 
Montgomery, the first to advocate 
the interval operation in appendi- 
citis, and Dr. Thomas H. Fenton, 
the founder of the American So- 
ciety of Tropical Medicine. 

It should be the pride of the lo- 
cal medical profession that Phila- 
delphia has led all other cities of 
the Union in the tuberculosis cru- 
sade. The magnificent Phipps In- 
stitute, the Department of Public 
Health, and the Philadelphia 
Health Council and Tuberculosis 
Committee, have unitedly made a 
most impressive showing in hu- 
manity's fight against this dreaded 
disease. The Philadelphia Heart 
Association and the Children's 
Heart Hospital are together achiev- 
ing practical results quite worthy 
of mention here. 



*■> 



(\- 



* 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor/^'5 Medical Centre 



Within the period of time of 
those living the most notable prog- 
ress in medicine of all times has 
taken place, and not a few of the 
men who made this progress pos- 
sible have been residents of Phila- 
delphia; they are a part of a long 
legiance to the great masters and 



line of investigators, specialists, 
physicians and surgeons who have 
adorned their profession. 

Philadelphia's traditions are an 
inspiration to the present genera- 
tion, and whilst we owe filial al- 
movements of the past, we must 

^n> 



also concern ourselves with the 
present and the future; and to this 
end we must set high standards in 
the profession, and with sustained 
earnestness of purpose provide for 
the advance of theory and prac- 
tical achievement in the days to 
come. 



A Brief History of The Philadelphia County 

Medical Society 



By JAMES M. ANDERS, M.D. 
PHILADELPHIA 



1 Abstract, History of the Philadelphia County Medical Society. 
Seventy-fifth Anniversary, The Philadelphia County Medical Society. 



I HAVE been requested 
by the President for the 
year, 1924, Dr. F. Hurst 
Maier, and the Board of 
Directors, of The Philadel- 
phia County Medical So- 
ciety to relate briefly its 
history. This society was 
organized in 1849 and re- 
cently observed its 75th an- 
niversary celebration. Its 
founders were men of high 
standing in the profession, 
and the list included such 
well-known names of doc- 
tors of that day, as George 
B. Wood, Joseph Pancoast, 
Isaac Parrish, Alfred 
Stille, George W. Norris, 
Joseph Carson and others 
equally renowned. It is of 
interest to note that some 
of these men are still alive 
in the memories of many 
living persons. The society 
grew and before the end of 
the fifth year it numbered 
upwards of 200 members. 
The membership subse- 
quently fluctuated, but 
since the year 1900, the en- 
rollment has shown leaps 
and bounds, until now it is 
well above the 000 mark. 
Included in the member- 
ship of this society have 
been, and are, practically 
all of the leading medical men and 
women of the city. 




SAMUEL JACKSON, M.D. 

First President of The Philadelphia County Medical Society, 

1848-1852 



One of the main objects of the 
County Medical Society has been, 



from the beginning, the 
advancement of our 
knowledge of the causes, 
nature and treatment of 
human diseases, so as to 
better prepare the doctors 
to care for the sick. The 
society has been no less 
active and zealous in its 
efforts to prevent disease 
and to promote the health 
and welfare of the com- 
munity. In this field of 
public health work, it has 
always sought to co-oper- 
ate with, the Department 
of Health of the city, now 
so ably headed by Dr. 
Wilmer Krusen. 

Back in 1849, when this 
society was only a few 
months old, it became ac- 
tive in the promotion of 
matters of public interest. 
As the result of resolutions 
then passed by the society 
and the agitation which 
took place subsequently, 
the present law providing 
for the registration of 
births, marriages and 
deaths was enacted. While 
still in its swaddling 
clothes, the County Medi- 
cal Society had its Commit- 
tee on Public Hygiene 
which reported on its own 
activities in the interests of the 
public health from time to time. 



^m 



mmi 



10 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Again, on April 17th, 1849, just 
three months after its birth, the 
Society urged the legislature of 
Pennsylvania to grant to each 
county in the State, provision for 
the general practice of vaccination 
against smallpox. At various times 
since then, when smallpox pre- 
vailed, e g., in 1900, 1901 and 
again in 1903, general vaccination 
was strongly urged in a series of 
resolutions passed by this society. 
A committee of the society, com- 
posed of Drs. S. Weir Mitchell, 
Wm. M. Welch and Richard Clee- 
man, was instrumental in prevent- 
ing the passage of an anti-vaccina- 
tion measure, introduced in the 
legislature of Pennsylvania during 
the session of 1898-1899. Strangely 
enough, not a few persons are at 
the present writing opposed to vac- 
cination, which is the only known 
certain means of preventing small- 



pox. We have a compulsory vac- 
cination law in Pennsylvania, 
which these misguided persons 
will, it is believed, attack during 
the coming session of the legisla- 
ture at Harrisburg, with a view to 
repealing it. May God preserve the 
citizens of Pennsylvania from such 
a calamity as they would precipi- 
tate, if successful! 

We have a Medical Legislative 
Committee in Pennsylvania, of 
which an officer of this society, Dr. 
George A. Knowles, is chairman. 
This body, with the aid of the 
strong moral support of the Col- 
lege of Physicians, which recently 
adopted resolutions protesting 
against any change in the com- 
pulsory vaccination law, as well as 
of other professional organizations 
throughout the State, will, it is 
confidently believed, preserve this 
law without change. Dr. W. W. 



Keen, that world-famed and ven- 
erable surgeon, has volunteered to 
go to Harrisburg, if his services 
should be needed, and help to con- 
vince our legislators that the pres- 
ent compulsory vaccination law 
must remain in force. 

Through the labors of a special 
committee of this society, ap- 
pointed in 1903, to report on 
means to prevent the spread of 
contagious diseases, many regula- 
tions were proposed and afterward 
adopted by the Department of 
Health, some of which are in force 
today. The citizens of Philadel- 
phia have long owed a debt of 
gratitude to the County Medical 
Society for its real concern for 
their health and happiness, as 
shown by the moral support it has 
ever given to the health depart- 
ment of the city. 




&. 



• 



. 



. ■ #> <*■ 



HOME OF THE PHILADELPHIA COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETY 

Southeast Corner Twenty-first and Spruce Streets 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



11 



After a single year of active life, 
or seventy-four years ago, this so- 
ciety urged the laying out of pub- 
lic parks in the more crowded sec- 
tions of the city, with a view to 
lessening infantile diseases during 
the warmer months. Indeed, Phila- 
delphia is indebted to this society 
for some of its earliest parks, e. g., 
that at Lemon Hill, a public 
square in Kensington, and another 
in Soixthwark. The society at this 
early date (1850) urged the invest- 
ing of the city with entire control 
of nearly a mile of the river front 
north of Fair mount Dam — a 
timely action having for its object 
an improved water supply for the 
city. These pioneers in medical 
organization work seemed to visu- 
alize and labor for many of the 
things we are striving to accom- 
plish at the present day, in the 
interests of the people. 

I shall, for want of time, merely 
mention some additional official 
acts of the County Medical Society 
for the benefit of the general pub- 
lic. In 1859, Councils was shown 
the vital importance of preventing 
by law or ordinance the future 
burying of the dead in the closely 
built-up portions of the city. A lit- 
tle later, a successful movement 
was started by this society to pro- 
tect the public against important 
diseases, by suitable quarantine 
laws. In May, 1897, the society 
endorsed Act 536, which was 
aimed to prevent the erection of 
very tall buildings in cities of the 
first class, on account of their ill 
effect upon health. This question 
of the height of buildings, many 
of us think at the present day, 
should be regulated by an appro- 
priate zoning ordinance. In Janu- 
ary, 1898, this society sent a com- 
mittee to Mayor Ashbridge and 
Councils to urge the nitration of 
the water supply of Philadelphia, 
in view of the city's responsibility 
for the prevention of typhoid 
fever; and it was also instrumental 
in starting the Division of Child 
Hygiene of the city's Department 
of Health. 

In 1873, before the germ of 
typhoid fever was discovered, it 
investigated the question of the 
relation of the milk supply to 
typhoid fever during the previous 
year, and also endeavored to as- 



certain what regulations existed 
for insuring the purity of milk, 
just as it had previously done, as 
regards the drinking water supply. 
Recently a standing committee of 
which Dr. O. H. Petty is chairman, 
was appointed to urge all citizens 
to visit their physicians at least 
once each year for a physical ex- 
amination. It is not possible for 
any one, however intelligent, to 
discover in himself or herself cer- 
tain ailments before damage that 
cannot be remedied has occurred. 
And not to have children exam- 
ined annually, with a view to de- 
tecting physical defects and latent 
complaints is, to say the least, in- 
excusable in the present state of 
our knowledge. A universal re- 
sponse to the appeal of this com- 
mittee would save many lives, not 
to speak of the prevention of an 
enormous economic loss, which is 
now taking place, on account of 
human illness. 

In 1873, Dr. Goodell urged the 
society to recommend condensed 
milk, condemning cow's milk 
churned by hauling over the 
streets of Philadelphia, which were 
then paved with cobble stones. At 
the present time, however, on ac- 
count of better paved streets and 
improved dairy sanitation, as well 
as a pasteurized milk supply, the 
use of cow's milk is advocated as a 
rule. 

In 1874, the society, by a resolu- 
tion of Dr. Samuel D. Gross, in- 
vited "the medical brethren of the 
world, to assemble in medical con- 
gress in Philadelphia on July 4, 
1876." This important congress 
was held and was presided over by 
Dr. Gross. Recently, the society 
appointed a special committee to 
convene a National congress in Phil- 
adelphia in 1926, during the ses- 
qui-centennial celebration, and it 
is believed that the proposed 
congress will once more give our 
society a truly national signifi- 
cance. It is pretty certain that 
the members of this body will 
show interest and enthusiasm, and 
it may be safely prophesied that 
they will aid materially to make 
the sesqui-centennial celebration a 
creditable affair. 

Following the semi-centennial 
celebration of the County Medical 
Society in 1900, its work and activ- 



ities rapidly expanded and new 
members were added in large num- 
bers until at the end of the year 
1919, there were only about 200 
physicians in Philadelphia, who 
neglected to join the society, either 
through indifference or owing to 
the expense it would incur, ac- 
cording to Dr. Stahl, who was then 
its President. 

The medical profession was 
formerly opposed to the female 
physician, but by and by "woman 
had her way, as usual," and in 1888 
Dr. Mary Willets was elected to the 
society. How different the attitude 
of the profession toward the fe- 
male doctor at the present day; 
she is welcomed and respected 
everywhere. 

During the World War, this so- 
ciety displayed a truly patriotic 
spirit, the members offering them- 
selves by a unanimous vote for 
service in any field into which they 
might be called. 

In 1923, the society established 
a permanent office in charge of the 
Executive Secretary, Mr. Franklin 
M. Crispin, at 2046 Chestnut 
Street, while its meetings have 
been, for many years, held in the 
College of Physicians. 

In concluding, I trust that my 
hearers have been impressed with 
the many official actions taken by 
The Philadelphia County Medical 
Society to promote human welfare 
and public health measures in par- 
ticular. While I have stressed the 
earlier achievements, the society's 
efforts in the interests of the pub- 
lic have been even more notable 
in recent years, and today an un- 
usually large body of loyal, promi- 
nent members are bearing the bur- 
den of the society's ever-increasing 
activities. 

On October 13, 1924, The Eve- 
ning Bulletin of this city had this 
to say about the County Medical 
Society : 

"Through a standing committee 
on 'Public Preventive Medicine' it 
now aims to keep the public in- 
formed in public health topics, 
advise the city in matters of mu- 
nicipal hygiene and secure the co- 
operation of the physicians to that 
end. Through sectional branches, 



.-...-> .-=..;--* . 



12 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



in various districts of the city, it 
maintains also a neighborhood and 
local interest, enabling special 
studies of district problems to be 



made, and, although its general 
concern is the elevation of the 
ethics and practice of the profes- 
sion and the increase of its works, 



the public spread of its activities 
makes the 'County Medical' much 
more than a mere professional as- 



sociation. 



ATZ>- 



Philadelphia General Hospital 



By JOHN WELSH CROSKEY, M.D. 
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



WHEN William Penn sailed 
for America, on the ship 
Welcome, he left a letter 
addressed to his wife and children, 
in which he said: "Pity the dis- 
tressed and hold out a hand of 
help to them; it may be your case; 
and as you mete to others God will 
mete to you again." The "Friends" 
who came with Penn to this 
country, which was to be the 
"haven of rest for the oppressed 
of all nations," were no doubt men 
of sterling qualities; they believed 
in the sentiments expressed in the 
letter left by Penn with his wife 
and children. It is, therefore, not 
surprising that the first almshouse 
established in the Colonies was 
that of the Friends. A few years 
after the landing of Penn, in 1684, 
he conveyed to one John Martin, 
a tailor by trade and a member of 
the Society of Friends, two city 
lots, each 51 feet bv 260 feet on 
the south side of Walnut Street, 
between "Delaware, Third and 
Fourth Streets." John Martin died 
in 1702, leaving his two city lots to 
the Monthly Meeting of the So- 
ciety of Friends, expressing the 
wish that they should be disposed 
of in any way the Monthly Meet- 
ing saw fit, for the use of poor 
members of the Society of Friends. 
The Monthly Meeting accepted the 
gift, and eleven years later, 1713, 
when the need of a House of 
Refuge for poor and aged Friends 
became evident, decided to use 
"John Martin's lots on Walnut 
Street" as a site for an almshouse. 
Accordingly, on the rear of the lot 



fronting on Willing's Alley, the 
Monthly Meeting built several 
stone cottages as a place of resi- 
dence for impoverished members 
of the society, and sixteen years 
later, in 1729, built a larger build- 
ing on the Walnut Street front, 
which became known for over a 
hundred years after as the Friends' 
Almshouse. This lot was laid out 
with stone cottages on each side 
and flower beds down the center, 
with several large shade trees on 
the Willing's Alley front, and for 
over a century poor members of 
the society were permitted to re- 
side there rent free with a weekly 
allowance for food, fuel and cloth- 
ing. Those of them who were able 
to supplement their weekly allow- 
ance by working at some trade or 
handicraft were permitted to do so. 

In 1841 the Monthly Meeting, 
having made other provision for 
many of its poor members, demol- 
ished the building on Walnut 
Street front and built a three-story 
office building on the site. The 
stone cottages in the rear, however, 
were still preserved and for thirty- 
five years served the purpose for 
which they were built. Entrance 
to them was given through Will- 
ing's Alley or through a gateway 
on the Walnut Street front. In 
1876 all of the buildings were de- 
molished and the present office 
building built on the site. The 
almshouse lot is mentioned in half 
a dozen deeds from 1731 to 1902, 
but always as being conveyed by 
trustees or substitute trustees of 



the Society. The lot has never left 
ownership of the Society of 
Friends once it was bequeathed in 
1702 by the will of John Martin 
until when it was purchased in 
1924 by the Maryland Casualty 
Company as a site for a large office 
building to be devoted to insur- 
ance interests. 

This Quaker Almshouse was 
strictly sectarian, and none but 
members of the Society of Friends 
were received within its walls. It 
had but few inmates, as the 
Quakers were generally thrifty and 
economical and did not have to be 
supported in an almshouse. A few 
old women were there, and it was 
frequently called the "Quaker 
Nunnery." 

This almshouse or hospital did 
not provide for the idle persons 
who came drifting in among the 
early settlers. Sickness and mis- 
fortune overtaking them, they re- 
quired assistance from the more 
fortunate. This was rendered pri- 
vately, until it became so burden- 
some to a few, that it was deemed 
essential to have some public way 
of relieving the necessities of the 
unfortunate, and to levy an equal 
tax on all to provide the means 
for that purpose. Tramps were not 
encouraged and idleness was not 
considered good form in those 
days. 

In 1713 Council passed a resolu- 
tion which declared: The poor of 
the city, "Dayly increasing, it is ye 
opinion of this Council that a 



fcg&g. 



mm 



88^5 



'•■-'■ 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



13 






5 




o 




k. 




*•■■» 




.a 




u 








"C „• 




3 ** 




*co 








V-C 




~ ~ 




O K 




cv 












2 fcd 




~-8 








53 




«»c 




C « 




v s 








- 




1--^ c; 








Per 




faa"" 




v 




-8 u 




C 3 




3 S- 












•»-.c/i 




u 




-3 >> 




SJ "O 




os-tt 




. a* 


Tfl 


S!2 


c-o 


**-- s 


CO 




1—1 


4) o 


r-> 


'■a 


I— 






2 ° 


c 


i-S ■* 


fcJ 


C/j 


^ 9) 


i-> 


S -C 


O 


*■> 


H 


o 2f 


C/2 


•S 


s 


*« £ 


J 


2 5" 





3 H 


-< 


as 8 


X 


60 tn 

C 6C 


n 






k. -M 


-J 


CD *— i 


fcJ 


2 r* 


Q 


a, 2 
P.* 


-J 


CO 


l"M 


0) .« 


X 


-fj « 


Ph 


T s 




-L-s 




O V 








■~ Co 












V) 0) 




p£ 




^ 




W 




"a 5 




«j k. 




K O 




0) o 




O (X 








-c *? 












**»■ q 




^ *-X 




H* 




N.J Jj 








# 5 




a, S 




*3 




rS °o 








"SS 




»» t^ 




© ^o 




♦3 t^ 








U 












^ 




4) 




«C 




fcl 



< 

H 
i— i 
Cu 
en 

O 

X 

< 

W 

w 

o 



ffl 

Oh 

w 

Q 

I— < 

B 
PL. 

W 
S 
H 



14 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/rf'5 Medical Centre 



workhouse be immediately hired 
to Imploy poor P'sons and suffi- 
cient P'sons appointed to keep 
them at work." 

In 1717 an order was issued com- 
pelling all receiving relief from 
the Overseers of the Poor, to wear 
upon the right sleeve of the outer 
garment the Roman letter P, to- 
gether with the initials of the 
county or place of which the 
pauper was an inhabitant. 

In 1729 the Overseers of the 
Poor presented a memorial to the 



Assembly which explained the dif- 
ficulty of providing for the great 
number of poor persons from 
foreign ports and neighboring 
provinces, as well as for the insol- 
vent debtors, their wives and chil- 
dren. The city recommended the 
application for relief, and the 
Legislature resolved to "loan the 
Mayor and Commonality one thou- 
sand pounds, to be applied to the 
purchase of ground and erection 
of an Almshouse or Hospice for 
the use of the poor of the city." 



The money was received in 1730, 
and the Mayor, Alderman Plum- 
stead, and James Steel were' ap- 
pointed a committee to select a 
place, prepare plans and make 
estimate. 

A square of ground, known as 
the Green Meadow, bounded by 
Third and Fourth, Spruce and 
Pine Streets, was bought from 
Alden Allen, for two hundred 
pounds, and a brick building was 
erected in 1731 or 1732 known as 
the Philadelphia Almshouse, 



f 



Y 




& 



4 



f 



An aerial view of the new $4,000,000 Philadelphia General Hospital which replaces the ancient 

"Blockley" at Thirty-fourth and Pine Streets. The new group of buildings, modern in 

every way, is the outgrowth of a group built in 1831, which in turn sprang from the 

old Philadelphia Almshouse erected at Third and Pine Streets in 1732. 



A, 






mmmmmmmHmmmmmm 



m^m 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



15 



which was to house the poor, the 
sick, infirm and the insane. This 
was without doubt the first large 
house or building in America, 
which performed the function of 
a hospital, and this system con- 
tinued until December 31, 1919. 
Upon this date, the almshouse, by 
legislative Act No. 274, Common- 
wealth, known as the New City 
Charter, was separated from the 
hospital, the former being trans- 
ferred to a new city department 
called the Department of Welfare. 
The Philadelphia General Hos- 
pital was continued under the De- 
partment of Health, Bureau of 
Hospitals. 

In English we have no equiva- 
lent to the French word "hospice" 
so that the word hospital has been, 
and is still used in the double 
sense, viz., as a place for medical 
treatment, and also as a retreat or 
almshouse for the poor, the in- 
firm, etc. 

It is not known who were the 
first physicians to attend the 
Philadelphia Almshouse. The de- 
struction of records through van- 
dalism, "the dust of ages," the 
"eating tooth of time" leaves us 
little information. There exists, 
however, a formal announcement, 
dated May 18, 1769, of the re-elec- 
tion of Drs. Cadwalder Evans and 
Thomas Bond. In 1759 Dr. Bond 
was 57 years of age, so it is very 
probable that he had served for a 
number of years previous to that 
date. Dr. Bond, having enjoyed 
the advantages of the Almshouse, 
felt it necessary to have a place 
where he could take his more af- 
fluent patients, where they could 
pay for the services rendered, and 
it was with this thought in mind 
that he was instrumental in start- 
ing the Pennsylvania Hospital in 
1752. 

Philadelphia physicians can, 
therefore, feel justly proud of hav- 
ing the first hospital in the United 
States started in Philadelphia, the 
first medical text-book published 
in America was printed in Phila- 
delphia and the first clinical medi- 
cal lecture was delivered in the 
City of Brotherly Love. 

By the year 1765 the applicants 
for admission had become so many 
at the Almshouse that there were 



not sufficient accommodations, and 
on February 8, 1766, an act was 
passed forming the Almshouse 
Corporation, and a lot of ground, 
bounded by Spruce, Pine, Tenth 
and Eleventh Streets, belonging to 
the widow Callender, was pur- 
chased for eight hundred pounds. 

The plans for a new building 
were agreed upon and on its com- 
pletion was opened in October, 
1767, and was known as the Alms- 
house, which had its infirmary and 
the House of Employment, often 
referred to as the Bettering House. 
This title was supposed to indicate 
that the house caused a betterment 
of the condition of the poor in- 
mates who were mere beggars and 
justified Dr. Agnew, who, in his 
history, stated that in some way 
the title is derived from the Ger- 
man "Bettler Haus." In time this 
name came to be used as a con- 
temptuous appellation. 

Some idea of the care taken of 
the sick may be had from the fol- 
lowing notes taken from the Jour- 
nal of the Reverend Manasseh 
Cutler, Volume 1, pages 253 to 285, 
written in 1787. Mr. Cutler had 
been out driving with Dr. Gerardus 
Clarkson, then a member of the 
hospital staff. "We returned to 
Philadelphia between ten and 
eleven o'clock. When we came to 
the hospital Dr. Clarkson left me 
and went into the city on his son's 
horse. Young Mr. Clarkson con- 
ducted me into the hospital (the 
young Mr. Clarkson referred to is 
in all probability the Dr. William 
Clarkson who later became a mem- 
ber of the staff. ) Dr. Rush arrived 
in a few minutes after. This build- 
ing is in the form, as you approach 
it from the city, of an inverted T. 
It is surrounded with a high wall, 
and has back of it a very large 
kitchen garden. The door in the 
center opens into a large hall. On 
each end are apartments for the 
nurses, cooks, etc. We ascended 
the stairway out of this hall into 
another hall in the second story, 
at one end of which is a large 
room, which contains a fine medi- 
cal library, where the Directors 
were sitting, and a smaller room 
where the medicine is placed. On 
the opposite .end are the apart- 
ments for the attending physicians. 



The third floor is formed in the 
same manner. On one side of this 
hall is the Museum, where there 
is a collection of skeletons and 
anatomies. 

"After we had taken a view of 
the Museum, we returned to the 
upper hall, where several physi- 
cians and all the young students in 
physics in the city were waiting. 
Dr. Rush then began his examina- 
tion of the sick, attended by these 
gentlemen, which I judged to be 
between twenty and thirty. We 
entered the upper chamber of the 
sick, which is the leg of the T. 
It is a spacious room finely venti- 
lated with numerous large win- 
dows on both sides. There were 
two tiers of beds with their heads 
towards the walls, and a small 
chair and a small table between 
them. The room was exceedingly 
clean and nice, the beds and 
bedding appeared to be of good 
quality, and the most profound 
silence and order were preserved 
upon the doctor's entering the 
room. There were only women, 
and about forty in number. Dr. 
Rush makes his visits with a greal 
deal of formality. He is attended 
by the attending physicians, who 
give him an account of everything 
material since he saw them last, 
and by the apothecary of the hos- 
pital who minutes his prescrip- 
tions. We next took a view of the 
maniacs. Their cells are about ten 
feet square, made as strong as a 
prison. On the back part is a long 
entry, from which a door opens 
into each of them. From this dis- 
tressing view of what human na- 
ture is liable to, and the pleasing 
evidence of what humanity and 
benevolence can do, we returned 
to the room where the doctors 
were. The scene I had now been 
attending upon was totally the re- 
verse of at Gray's but such is the 
elegance of this building, the care 
and attention to the sick, the spa- 
cious and clean apartments and the 
perfect order in everything, that it 
seemed more like a palace than a 
hospital, and one would almost be 
tempted to be sick, if they could 
be so well provided for. We then 
took a view of the bettering house, 
which is a large and spacious 
building with good room and well 
furnished." 



VJ-*i»**S 



16 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



With the growth of the city new 
quarters had to be secured, and on 
January 1, 1829, the present site 
was purchased from Henry Beckett 
and his wife, Mary, for the sum of 
fifty-one thousand, five hundred 
and twenty-eight dollars and 
twelve and one-half cents, and 
there were erected buildings which 
were called, respectively, the Alms- 
house, House of Employment, Hos- 
pital and Children's Asylum. The 
building commissioners reported 
that two of these buildings would 
be ready for the inmates on Oc- 
tober 1, 1833. There is an admis- 
sion card in existence with the 
name of Mary Canon and the date 
August 22, 1833, which is supposed 
to have been the first card issued 
at the present location. 

In 1658 Captain Warner settled 
on the west bank of the Schuylkill 
River where he obtained posses- 
sion of an extensive tract of land 
to which he gave the name "Block- 
ley," in memory of the happy 
home in England which he was 
compelled to desert. Later this 
tract of land became known as 
Blockley Township and the name 
Blockley Almshouse was used in 
connection with the establishment. 

When first purchased, the prop- 
erty consisted of about 158 acres. 
This has been reduced by sales to 
various parties, so that today the 
hospital occupies only about one- 
tenth of the acreage. At the time 
the Act of Consolidation went into 
effect the Almshouse was under 
the control of a board known as 
the Board of Guardians of the 
Poor, one of which was selected by 
the voters of each ward. The 
Board then constituted was abol- 
ished by the Act of Assembly 
dated 1859, which directed that the 
Board of Guardians should there- 
after be appointed; three by the 
District Court; three by the Court 
of Common Pleas and three by the 
Common Council. By the Act of 
June 2, 1871, the election of the 
guardians was placed entirely with 
City Councils. The management of 
the Almshouse and hospital con- 
tinued under the Board of Guard- 
ians thus elected until the Act 
entitled "An Act to provide for 
the better government of cities of 
the first class of the Common- 
wealth," familiarly known as the 



Bullitt Bill, came into force on 
the first Monday of April, 1887. 
Under this Act, the executive 
power was invested in a Mayor and 
certain departments, one of which 
was known as the Department of 
Charities and Correction, which 
was under the charge of a presi- 
dent and four directors, to whom 
were confided the care, manage- 
ment, administration and super- 
vision of the Almshouse, Hospital, 
House of Correction and other 
similar institutions, the govern- 
ment of which was entrusted to 
the city, except the Municipal 
Hospital, the Lazaretto, and insti- 
tutions under any city trust then 
existing. Under the Bullitt Bill, 
the Board of Charities and Correc- 
tion was divided into two bureaus, 
one having charge of the Alms- 
nouses and the other the House of 
Correction. On April 8, 1903, the 
State Legislature passed an Act 
amending the Bullitt Bill, pro- 
viding for a Department of Public 
Health and Charities in lieu of the 
Department of Charities and Cor- 
rection. An Ordinance was passed 
putting into effect this Act of As- 
sembly after May 1, 1903. The 
almshouses, hospitals and allied in- 
stitutions were placed under the 
control of the new department, 
which had for its head a director. 
The House of Correction and other 
interests confided to the old Bu- 
reau of Correction were trans- 
ferred to the Department of Pub- 
lic Safety. In 1906, during the 
administration of Mayor John 
Weaver, 874 acres of ground was 
purchased at Byberry and since 
that date buildings have been 
erected. In 1914, the sum of $250,- 
000 was appropriated by City 
Council and $200,000 by the State 
of Pennsylvania for the construc- 
tion of a building for feeble- 
minded at Byberry. This building 
formed the nucleus of the present 
Philadelphia Hospital for Mental 
Diseases at Byberry. The Alms- 
house, by Legislature Act No. 374, 
an Act for the Better government 
of cities of the first class of this 
commonwealth, known as the New 
City Charter, was separated from 
the hospital, the former being 
transferred to a new city depart- 
ment called the Department of 
Welfare. The Philadelphia Gen- 
eral Hospital was continued under 



the Department of Health and the 
Bureau of Hospitals. For about a 
half a century, public opinion was 
gathering force and men in public 
life being informed of community 
needs, brought about renewed 
pressure for the rebuilding of the 
City Hospital. Beginning then, in 
1920, the Philadelphia General 
Hospital has metamorphosed from 
an old group of buildings, housing 
the indigent, the insane and the 
physically ill, into a great general 
hospital. In 1924, the sum of $4,- 
000,000 was appropriated as a re- 
sult of a loan for the rebuilding 
of the Philadelphia General Hos- 
pital, and on Monday, September 
21, 1925, work was begun and 
today we have a hospital which 
every citizen should feel exceeding 
proud, for in the Philadelphia 
General Hospital centers the 
growth of medicine in Philadel- 
phia, a growth as interesting to the 
searching mind as is the growth of 
a thought, the growth of a seed, 
as important contributions to 
medical literature have been made 
by men who have been members 
of the staff of the Philadelphia 
General Hospital; Gerhard and 
Pennock on the differential diag- 
nosis between typhus and typhoid 
fever; Osier on malaria; Stille on 
cholera and epidemic cerebro- 
spinal meningitis; Pepper and 
Parry on relapsing fever; Parrish 
on puerperal septicemia, and other 
contributions which have become 
almost classics in the history of 
the subjects which they discuss. 
These are only a few striking ex- 
amples of the great work done at 
the Philadelphia General Hos- 
pital; work that is not confined to 
material furnished from the do- 
main of which is commonly spoken 
of as general medicine and sur- 
gery, but every recognized medical 
specialty. Though the hospital 
today is known under its official 
name, the Philadelphia General 
Hospital, the medical men once 
connected with it call it "Block- 
ley," which to them is a term of 
endearment, the same as it was to 
Captain Warner. Well may the 
City of Brotherly Love be proud 
of its hospital, the oldest hospital 
in the United States and the finest 
of its kind. There it stands, a 
tribute to the spirit of the humani- 
tarian founder of the city. 



jilted 






mm 




PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



17 



On one occasion a number of 
years ago an old woman went to 
the Almshouse, under the influence 
of liquor. She wanted to be ad- 
mitted but the doctor who ex- 
amined her found that she did not 
require any medical treatment and 
refused to assign her to the sick 
ward. She became very indignant 
and exclaimed in a loud voice: 
"I'd have you to know that Mr. 
Blockley left his money for the 
benefit of us poor people and not 

for a lot of you d doctors and 

white caps." She applied the term 
"white caps" to the nurses in the 
hospital, and it is evident that she 
thought that Mr. Blockley was a 
man something like Stephen Gi- 
rard. 

The word Blockley was used in 
connection with a number of other 
institutions: The Blockley Baptist 
Church; Blockley Library, in the 
old Hestonville Hall; Blockley 
Post Office, in the antiquated store 
which stood at Lancaster and 
Paschal Streets, now Master Street; 
the Blockley Brass Band, after- 
wards called the Washington Cor- 
net Band. The old Lancaster Road 
was called, for many years, the 
Blockley and Merion Turnpike or 
Plank Road; a portion of what is 
now Sixty-third Street was called 
Blockley Avenue. 

Quoting from Sir William Osier: 
"This venerable institution origi- 
nally the Philadelphia Almshouse, 
which in 1742 was 'fulfilling a 
varied routine of beneficial func- 
tions,' has just claim to be the 
oldest hospital in the States. Hav- 
ing migrated twice during the 
growth of the city, it finally, in 
1834, moved from the 'Bettering 



House,' in what is now the heart 
of Philadelphia, to a farm in the 
suburbs in the then Township of 
Blockley on the west side of the 
Schuylkill. Here, far out in the 
country, the indigent poor and af- 
flicted, the alcoholic and insane of 
Philadelphia came to be housed — 
'went over the hills to the poor- 
house.' " 

The following notes are taken 
from the Hospital Records: 

In the year 1767 Dr. Gerardus 
was paid one pound, fourteen shill- 
ing for sundry medicines admin- 
istered to a poor woman. 

June, 1770, an order was drawn, 
payable to Dr. Bond and Cad- 
walder Evans, the two physicians 
of the institution, for fifty pounds 
each. 

January 3, 1771, notice being 
given to Dr. Bond, he attended 
this evening, when he was desired 
not to permit any pupils under his 
particular direction or any of 
those attending the Medical 
Schools in this city to be present 
at the delivery of the women in 
the said ward, but those who were 
of decent manners and suitable 
age to attend operations of that 
kind, which regulation the doctor 
heartily approved of, and that he 
would strictly observe the same. 

February 28, 1771, Dr. Evans 
agreed to vaccinate the children in 
the Almshouse who had not had 
smallpox, and to charge the insti- 
tution only with the medicine to 
be given. 

In 1790 the following physicians 
were on duty at the Almshouse: 
Drs. Samuel Powell Griffitts, John 
Morris, Samuel Duffield, William 
Clarkson, William Shippen, Cas- 



par Wistar, Michael Leib and 
Nathan B. Waters. 

During the month of August, 
1807, an epidemic of influenza 
broke out in the house, attacking 
both officers and inmates and pre- 
vailing in so violent a form and so 
general as to interrupt the ordi- 
nary routine of business. 

Previous to 1839, the resident 
physicians paid the sum of $250.00 
for the privilege of serving in the 
hospital for the term of one year; 
during this year the price was re- 
duced to $125.00 and $50.00 was 
charged for their board. 

One person not a physician 
whose name stands out in bold re- 
lief in Blockley History is "Daddy" 
Owens. On December 7, 1909, a 
bronze tablet in his memory was 
placed in position on the wall of 
the corridor of the men's medical 
floor. The following is a copy of 
the inscription thereon: 

To The Memory of 

THOMAS J. OWENS 

1838 1908 

For Thirty Years Head Nurse of 

The Men's Medical Floor of The 

Philadelphia General Hospital 

Erected By His Friends 

The Ex-resident Physicians 

November, 1909 

The term "Resident Physicians" 
was formerly used to apply to all 
physicians residing in the hospital. 
In recent years this term has been 
used to describe physicians who 
have supervisory duties, and are 
paid a salary, and the word "In- 
terne" is descriptive of the recent 
graduate in medicine, who is un- 
paid. 




• ■ 






_ 4 . ..-. — . ~:-~W «W*"^*«*B 



18 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 






Reminiscences From the Early Days of the 

Pennsylvania Hospital 



By EDWARD A. STRECKER, M.D. 
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



IN this day of jazz, cubism, fu- 
turism and individualism, his- 
torical monuments are not apt 
to be overwhelmed by attention. 
Furthermore, it is axiomatic that 
"the prophet is without honor in 



in order that "they may be re- 
stored to reason and become use- 
ful members of the community." 
It was principally out of considera- 
tion for those unfortunate beings 
who through loss of reason had be- 



which when completed in 1756 
provided better accommodations. 
That the needs of the mentally 
sick were constantly in the minds 
of the Managers was evidenced by 
constant improvements in housing 



t 



( 



$ 



tf&j- 




f 



asaasSsfiiLiV 



PENNSYLVANIA HOSPITAL FOR MENTAL DISEASES 

(Kirkbride's) 

Market Street, Fohty-fourth to Forty-ninth 



* 



his own land" and it is a common 
observation that we travel thou- 
sands of miles to stand on the sa- 
cred soil of history while at the 
same time we may be blissfully 
unaware of the historical wealth 
which is at our very doors. 

How many of us realize that our 
own Pennsylvania Hospital is the 
cradle of American Psychiatry? 
The principal motive which had 
inspired the founders of the Penn- 
sylvania Hospital as well as the 
main argument expressed in the 



petition to the Provincial Assem- 
bly afterwards embodied in the 
Act of May 11, 1751, was "the 
cure and treatment of lunaticks," 
come "a terror to their neighbors," 
and for whom no adequate provi- 
sion had hitherto been made, that 
the Managers felt the necessity of 
providing, temporarily, the build- 
ing known as Judge Kinsey's Man- 
sion, for hospital purposes. Of the 
two patients who were admitted 
on the first day after the doors 
were opened February 11, 1752, 



one was a "lunatick" recom- 
mended by the Visitors of the 
Poor of the City. 

It soon became obvious that the 
apartments provided for the in- 
sane were in the language of that 
day "not convenient" and in 1755 
building operations were begun, 
conditions, which in 1835 culmi- 
nated in the following resolution: 
"Resolved, that in the opinion of 
this meeting it is expedient that 
the Lunatic department of the 
Pennsylvania Hospital should be 



§=* 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



19 



removed from the City of Phila- 
delphia to the country in its vicin- 
ity, provided that the removal can 
be effected upon such a plan as 
will promote the comfort and im- 
prove the health of the patients 
and admit of the superintendence 
and control essential to a good ad- 
ministration of the institution." 

The corner-stone of the building 
which now stands at 44th and Mar- 
ket Streets was laid on July 22, 
1836, and for many years this 
building was the model for mental 
hospitals all over the world. It 
may not be beside the mark to 
mention that on September 17, 
1928, ground was broken at 49th 
and Market Streets for the erection 
of a modern and scientific Psychia- 
tric Institute. 

It is interesting to note that at 
as early a date as 1756, almost 
forty years before Pinel began to 
preach his doctrine of humanita- 
rianism, the Pennsylvania Hospi- 
tal had provided for the insane 
not only extensive grounds, but 
also "a gallery eighty feet in 
length for such of them as may be 
trusted to walk about, with a place 
for bathing." 

The therapeutics of those early 
days was complicated and decid- 
edly unpleasant for the unfortu- 
nate patient." The medical treat- 
ment appears to have been di- 
rected principally to the acute or 
sthenic forms of lunacy, or cases 
of so-called Phrenzy. These were 
douched or played upon with 
warm and cold water; their scalps 
were shaved and blistered; they 
were bled to the point of syncope; 
purged until the alimentary canal 
failed to yield anything, but mu- 
cus, and, in the intervals, they 
were chained by the waist or the 
ankle to the cell wall. Under 
this heroic regimen, some, prob- 
ably the most sthenic, recovered 
their reason. There appears noth- 
ing in the records to indicate any 
special mode of treatment for mel- 
ancholia, or for the stuporous 
forms of mental disorder. Later 
there were mentioned certain spe- 
cial appliances for rousing such 
patients, which, judging from the 
description, must have, tempora- 
rily, at least, effected the desired 
object." 



Restraint was freely utilized. 
For instance, an account of March 
7, 1752, read as follows: "John 
Cresson, blacksmith, against ye 
hospital, 1 pair of handcuffs, 2 legg 
locks, 2 large rings and 2 large 
staples, 5 links and 2 large rings 
and 2 swiffells for legg chains. 
To 3 locks, 13 keys, chains and 
staples for cells Ll.10.3 5th Mo. 
25th, 1752. On 5th Mo. 1754 Paid 
for 7 yds. of Ticken for Mad 
Shirts, L0.16.4l/ 2 ." 

To those of us who lose our tem- 
pers if a Wassermann report or a 
blood count is delayed several 
hours, it may be salutary to recall 
that in the days of which I am 
speaking the Managers and Physi- 
cians were concerned with more or 
less and principally with less suc- 
cessful attempts to protect the pa- 
tients from rats and to furnish 
them with heat and light. The 
cells for the insane were without 
adequate heat for almost 80 years, 
until 1833. In this connection the 
historian of that day observes 
that "The insane were not sup- 
posed to require, nor to quite de- 
serve, the usual comforts of life 
at this period, when even the sane 
dwelt in cold houses, slept in cold 
apartments, and sat through the 
long winter evenings by candle or 
fire light." 

The formalities of admission 
were exceedingly simple. There 
was little required beyond the ap- 
plication of a friend or, as has 
been noted in the history of the 
hospital, an enemy of the patient, 
to one of the Managers or Physi- 
cians. The informality of the day 
may be expressed by quoting a few 
of the records of admission — "Dr. 
Moore's Negro man, a lunatick 
was received 3rd. Mo. 26th, 1753. 
His master promised payment. 
1st. Mo. 23rd. 1754. Admitted 
Negro Adam, a Lunatick and pay 
patient belonging to Mrs. Mar- 
garet Clymer, under the care of 
Dr. Thos. Bond. 2nd. Mo. 16th, 
1754. Black Adam, at ye request 
of his Mistress Margaret Clymer, 
was this day discharged. 6th. Mo. 
26th, 1754. Admitted Negro 
George, a Lunatick belonging to 
Mr. Carrington of Barbadoes, a 
pay patient at 10s a week, under 
ye particular care of Doctor Ship- 
pen who engages for his board." 



It may be worth while and in- 
teresting to quote from the earlier 
records and minutes: 

"May 10th, 1762. The great 
crowds that invaded the Hospital 
give trouble and create so much 
disturbance, that Samuel Rhoades 
and Jacob Lewis are directed to 
employ a workman to make a suit- 
able hatch door and get an in- 
scription thereon notifying that 
such persons who come out of curi- 
osity to visit the house should pay 
a sum of money, a Groat at least, 
for admittance." 

Later, this rule seems to have 
fallen into disuse, as, on April 27, 
1767: 

"Orders were renewed that the 
Hatch door be kept carefully shut 
and that no Person be admitted 
into the House without paying the 
gratuity of Four Pence formerly 
agreed upon, and that care be 
taken to prevent the Throng of 
people who are led by Curiosity, 
to frequent the House on the first 
day of the week, to the great dis- 
turbance of the Patients." 

From time to time other meas- 
ures had to be taken to preserve 
order. On August 30, 1784: 

"Dr. Foulke recommended that 
some regulations may be made in 
respect to persons visiting the Hos- 
pital, particularly in adopting such 
Rules as would tend to preserve 
the Lunatic Patients from being 
interrupted and disturbed in their 
course of Medicine. Ordered that 
the Sitting Managers consult with 
as many of the Physicians as they 
conveniently can and report such 
rules and regulations at our next 
Stated Meeting as will be most con- 
ducive to remedy any present Evil 
on that head which may now ex- 
ist." 

Whereupon, on October 4, 1784 : 
"They Reported that they had 
found it useful in adopting the fol- 
lowing regulations respecting the 
Lunatic Patients : viz : The putting 
up an Advertisement or Rule for- 
bidding more than two Persons at 
one time to be permitted to go into 
the Cells and those Persons to be 
attended by the Cell-Keeper and 
not suffered to speak to such Pa- 
tients." 



.,■:.. L--.-'-g3r y^WMllMU Xm 



_...'_ . 



— M ^ — - -' — --- i-ifiTiiviaiM ■ i iT 



.--,iy : _=— 5,-^. 



20 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



In 1791, as complaints had been 
made by the Physicians that com- 
pany was too freely admitted, to 
the great injury of lunatics, it was 
resolved : 

"That no Person whatever 
should be hereafter allowed to en- 
ter the Grounds, or Cells inclosed 
for their Accomodation, unless in- 
troduced or allowed by one of the 
Managers, Physicians or by the 
Steward, to which resolution the 
Cell-Keeper was strictly to Attend, 
and to keep the Gates and Wards 
locked in future, to prevent all In- 
truders who might attempt to en- 
ter therein, without such permis- 
sion being first obtained." 

"May 28th, 1758 Admitted, Mar- 
tin Higgins, a Mad Person, who 
having, as many others do without 
leave, gone though the House to 
the Top, and there Carelessly and 
Imprudently running about, fell 
thence to the ground and was so 
much Hurt that his recovery was 
doubtful. 

July 28, 1758. Escaped Jacob 
Ashton by boring thro' the Door 
of his Cell & forcing out the 
Steeples of ye Iron Bolts. 

August 28th, 1758. Admitted A. 
D. an Outrageous person. 

January 27th, 1759. Discharged 
the lunatick Jane Hughes at the 
Request of her husband who paid 
L3 to the Matron in full for her 
Accommodation. The Damage 
done to the Cells & c. is Forgiven 
in Consideration of her Poverty. 

January 27th, 1759. Escaped 
J no. Jones, a Lunatick; he forced 
Barrs of his Cell in ye night and 
fled without Notice. 

November 26th, 1759. Admitted 
Hariott Hamilton a Lunatick, re- 
puted Daughter of the late Duke 
of Hamilton, to bee in ye Hospital 
till a Vessel sails. 

December 31st, 1759. Admitted 
Solomon C, A Drunken Mad Man, 
at the Request of his Brother, & 
by Desire of T. Stampe, ye Mayor, 
the former agreed with ye Board 
of Managers for his Maintenance. 

In the same year 1759, Admitted 
Mark Kuhl junr., an Irregular 
Person on pay @ Ten Shillings 
P. Week." Evidently Mark was 



quite irregular since there is a 
further notation that "He left the 
cells Irregularly i. e. broke the 
window and ran away. 

William, son of Joseph Hart, a 
Lunatick and pay Patient. He is 
also to pay for a Negro man he 
has to tend him. 

Alexander McCurdy — pay pa- 
tient, bro't down by ye Overseers 
of ye Poor of the Townships of 
New Gulfhahoppen Alias Upper 
Hanover. 

Thomas Dugan, a Lunatick. 
taken upon the Streets naked the 
20th inst. Said to come from ye 
East Jerseys." 

These quaint entries illustrate 
the kind of cases commonly re- 
ceived and the mode by which 
they were admitted, as does also 
the following ancient manuscript 
order: 

"City of Philadelphia, ss. : 

Several Persons of good Reputa- 
tion having appeared before me ye 
Subscriber, one of ye Justices of 
ye Peace for ye City of Philada, 
& complayned that Thomas Ack- 
ley, Chairmaker, hath frequently 
behaved in a very disorderly man- 
ner to ye great Terror of his Fam- 
ily & Annoyance of his neighbours, 
Wherefore, Apprehend ye sd. 
Thomas & take him to ye Work- 
house of this City, the Keeper 
whereof is hereby required to re- 
ceive & Employ him in ye Com- 
mon Labour of the House, till 
further orders. 

But if ye sd. Thomas or his Wife 
shall when he is arrested, request 
that his Confinement may be at ye 
Pennsylvania Hospital, in that 
case deliver him to ye Steward of 
ye sd. Hospital, or to ye Keeper 
of Lunaticks there, who shall then 
receive and safely keep him till 
he is discharged by proper Au- 
thority. 

Given under My Hand & Seal 
December ye 22d, 1763. 

To any Constable. 

Samuel Rhoads." 

Mary, the wife of Stephen Gi- 
rard, was admitted on December 
31st, 1790, as a pay patient at a 
rate of 25 s. per week. The rec- 



ords state that "on the 3rd, In- 
stant, Mary, the wife of Stephen 
Girard was delivered by Dr. 
Hutchinson and William Gardner 
of a child, named, in the presence 
of Edward Cutbush and others, 
Mary, which on the 7th instant 
was put out to nurse with John 
Hatcher's wife, at 10 s. Per Week." 

This infant, which was the only 
child of Philadelphia's great ben- 
efactor, died August 26, 1791, aged 
5 months and 23 days. Mrs. Girard 
remained a patient until her 
death, which occurred September 
13, 1815, after she had dwelt con- 
tinuously in the Hospital for 
twenty-five years. At the request 
of Stephen Girard she was buried 
in the Hospital enclosure. Girard 
gave the Hospital $2000 on Oct. 
30, 1815, and bequeathed the In- 
stitution $30,000 by his will. 

I cannot resist retailing a single 
incident from the life of Polly, a 
beautiful girl, whose insanity was 
attributed to disappointment in 
love. The story has the authority 
of Mr. Samuel Coates who was one 
of the Managers of the Hospital 
during Polly's residence. I give 
you the tale in the words of Mr. 
Coates: "I was walking on the 
Commons, and heard a great noise. 
Where it came from I could not 
tell, but list'ning Attentively, I 
discovered it was from the blue 
house, and directing my course 
there, I found it to be the Shout- 
ing of a great number of people. 
They were Assembled to a Bull 
baiting, which in those days, was 
a common practice. 

The Animal appeared to be in a 
great rage, tho' much exhausted 
by the Dogs, before I reached the 
Scene of Action. Soon after I got 
there, a Small Mastiff was sett on, 
which he threw about ten feet 
high, & he fell to the Ground with 
his upper Jaw broke & Every tooth 
Out. 

A short rest was now again given 
to the Bull, when a presumptious 
little Man, to shew what he cou'd 
do, run toward the Animal, but 
Returned faster than he went, for 
the creature took him under his 
breech & tossed him about 12 feet 
from the end of the Rope. 



t 



> 



> 






mmmm 



PHILADELPHIA -World's Medical Centre 



21 



A New pack of clogs being pro- 
cured to renew the fight, every 
Eye was turned to the Onset. 

At this moment, Polly scaled 
the high fence, thro' the Cracks 
of which she saw the battle & pity- 
ing the Bull, She pierced unseen 
thro' the Circle & ran up directly 
to the Ring; and without Shoes 
or Stockings on: with her Bosom 
all open; her neck bare and her 
beautiful Ringlets wildly dangling 
over her Shoulders— her other 
Cloathing was her Shift only and 
a white petty coat; so that she ap- 
peared more like a Ghost than a 
human Creature. When She 
reached the Bull, (tho' previously 
& almost immediately before, he 
was in a Rage) She Accosted him 
thus — 'Poor Bully! have they hurt 
you? they shall not hurt you any 
more,' & stroking his forehead & 
his face She repeated 'they shall 
not, They shall not hurt thee.' This 
was indeed Wonderful; but the 
Animal's behavior was not less so, 
for he no Sooner saw her ap- 
proaching him, than he dropt his 
head & became Mild & Gentle, as 
tho' he knew She was sent to de- 
liver him. 

The whole Concourse of Spec- 
tators saw it, and were Struck with 
Astonishment — not one of whom 
dared to enter into the Ring to 
save her; but Stood Trembling for 
Polly's life, afraid to stir a Step 
and even to follow her on the Re- 
turn, when she darted thro' the 
Ring, Thro' Midst of the dumb 
Struck Company, like an Arrow 
from the Bow, Over the high fence 
again to the Hospital from which 
she eloped." 

The Pennsylvania Hospital ex- 
tended its gracious and helping 
arms to the sick in mind long be- 
fore the days of humanitarianism. 
It must be remembered that it was 



the age of man's inhumanity to 
man. The insane were huddled to- 
gether irrespective of sex and were 
kept in order by "Keepers." They 
were hired to keep the patients 
and their cells clean, to perform 
all the menial drudgery which 
that involved, to watch the luna- 
tics when they exercised in the 
yard and keep those who worked 
about the garden and lots from 
running away. One of their chief 
duties was to preserve discipline 
and order among the unruly, 
which was done with a strong hand 
and in a punitive spirit. The in- 
sane were chained to rings of iron, 
let into the floor or wall of the 
cell, or were restrained in hand- 
cuffs or ankle-irons ; and the 
straight-waistcoat, or "Madd- 
Shirt," was in frequent requisition. 
This was a close-fitting, cylindrical 
garment of ticking, canvas, or 
other strong material, without 
sleeves, which, drawn over the 
head, reached below the knees, 
and left the patient an impotent 
bundle of wrath, deprived of ef- 
fective motion. In the earlier years, 
it was not considered improper or 
unusual for the keeper to carry a 
whip and to use it freely. These 
methods begat violence and dis- 
order in the insane, who were then, 
for that reason, a much more vio- 
lent and dangerous class than they 
now are, and the keeper's life was 
neither an idle nor a happy one. 
From the number of his duties, 
about the house and grounds, un- 
connected with the care of the in- 
sane, it is evident that the patients 
must have passed the greater part 
of their time locked up in the 
cells. 

In 1782, a patient, in a letter 
addressed to the Managers, says: 
"I am Confined here in Chains at 
the instance of a Relative of my 
Wife's — I hope you will Desire the 



Steward to unchain me; but, as 
his Duty, he could do no less." 
Later he writes — "The present 
serves to Inform you that pursuant 
to your Orders, I am Unchained." 
The spirit of humanity was doubt- 
less as strong in those early days 
as it is with us; but the ideas as 
to what constituted humane care 
were very different; they were in 
process of gradual evolution from 
primitive modes of life and crude 
social customs to the advanced 
ideas of non-restraint and kind 
treatment which now prevail. 

From the very beginning the 
Managers sought to lighten the 
burden of the suffering patients. 
Always the Hospital was in ad- 
vance of its time. Better physical 
conditions, separation of sexes, ex- 
ercise, light, air and sunshine were 
provided. Dr. Benjamin Rush 
had constantly in mind the needs 
of the mentally sick and at his in- 
itiative many improvements were 
put into operation. It would be 
pleasant to reflect that the shades 
of those Managers and Physicians 
who in the early days of the Hos- 
pital labored so effectively against 
almost overwhelming odds might 
now be able to realize that their 
labors were not in vain. Down 
through the years in unbroken 
line, other Managers, often the de- 
scendants of those who gave the 
Hospital its birth, have continued 
to devote their lives to the care of 
those who are mentally afflicted; 
have kept pace with the develop- 
ment of scientific psychiatry, but 
have never departed from that 
great law of God and Man, "Do 
unto others as you would have 
them do unto you." It would be 
good to be able to believe that the 
first Managers of the Hospital 
could know that those who came 
after them have kept the faith. 



" ■• .- - 



m 



','j'fr^Jil!^ 



22 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Four Bronchoscopic Clinics of Philadelphia 



:> 



THE first Bronchoscopic Clinic 
in Philadelphia was estab- 
lished at Jefferson Hospital 
in 1916. Professor Chevalier Jack- 
son, then of the University of 
Pittsburgh, was invited to take 
charge of it. In 1919 the University 
of Pennsylvania invited Dr. Chev- 
alier Jackson to establish a Bron- 
choscopic Clinic at the University 
Hospital a Bronchoscopic Clinic 
teaching at the Graduate School 
of Medicine and at the University 
of Pennsylvania. Subsequently an 
additional clinic for the University 
teaching was deemed necessary 
and this was established at the 
Graduate Hospital. There is now 
being organized at the Samaritan 
Hospital a Bronchoscopic Clinic 



in connection with the Temple 
University. 

All three of the clinics have in- 
creased enormously in attendance 
until now they are crowded to full 
capacity. A personnel of about 
eight physicians is necessary. Four 
special operating room graduate 
nurses are on duty besides the pu- 
pils in training. Six secretaries are 
required to keep the records fully 
up to date and to carry on the vol- 
u m i n o u s correspondence. The 
average daily census of patients 
ranges between one hundred and 
one hundred and fifty patients. 

The clinics are known all over 
the world and patients have come 
fifteen thousand miles, which of 
course means the other side of the 
earth, for care at these clinics. 



When bronchoscopy was first 
developed, it was concerned almost 
altogether with the removal of 
foreign bodies from the air and 
food passages, but the statistics of 
last year show that the patients 
with foreign bodies represent only 
2% of the work at the clinic. The 
other 98% of the patients are suf- 
fering from diseases for which 
bronchoscopy, or esophagoscopy, 
or gastroscopy are required. This 
is the more remarkable because 
the number of foreign body cases 
is 150% greater now than it was 
five years ago. 

Bronchoscopy and esophagos- 
copy are now recognized as an im- 
portant development in the well- 
equipped modern hospital. 



The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 



THE prototype of the college 
was the Royal College of Phy- 
sicians of London, but to 
whose initiative its foundation is 
due is not definitely known. 
Doubtless to more than one man 
this credit belongs. 

As early as 1767 John Morgan 
made proposals to Thomas Penn 
for the erection of a College of 
Physicians. These proposals, how- 
ever, failed to meet with a favor- 
able reception, and a charter was 
refused. A number of Philadel- 
phia physicians, who subsequently 
became Fellows of the College 
went after their graduation from 
the Medical School of the College 
of Philadelphia (later the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania) to Edinburg 
for the completion of their studies. 
It is not unlikely that the success 
of the society in that city stimu- 
lated them, as Weir Mitchell sug- 
gests, to imitate it here. Moreover, 
these physicians naturally formed 
friendships with influential men in 
Scotland and England and doubt- 
less in the correspondence which 
was carried on between them, the 
foundation of a College of Physi- 
cians was frequently broached. 

Dr. Ruschenberger's researches 
indicate that the College of Phy- 



sicians was not actually instituted 
until September, 1786, the first 
election of officers having been 
held in October of the same year. 
But the first meeting after its full 
organization at which nine senior 
and four junior Fellows were pres- 
ent did not take place until Janu- 
ary 2, 1878, and this day, there- 
fore, by common consent is re- 
garded as its official birthday. The 
minutes of this meeting record that 
the officers of the College were 
President John Redman, Vice- 
President John Jones, Treasurer 
Gerardus Clarkson, Secretary 
James Hutchinson, Censors Wil- 
liam Shippen, Jr., Benjamin Rush, 
John Morgan and Adam Kuhn. 

The College was chartered on 
the 26th of March, 1789. 

The name "college" was chosen 
with the understanding that it 
should have the same significance 
it had in Roman Law: a number 
of persons associated together by 
possession of common functions; 
i. e., a body of colleagues. 

The College never has been a 
teaching institution in the ordi- 
nary sense of that term, nor has it 
the power to confer degrees. This 
collegium, therefore, is a scientific 
body. 



The first meetings of the Col- 
lege were held in the old Academy 
at 4th and Arch Streets. 

The gatherings of the Fellows of 
the College have not always been 
concerned alone with the discus- 
sion of scientific matters, but in 
the language of Dr. Tyson, the Col- 
lege early assumed a guardianship 
over the health, safety and even 
the morals of the community. 
During the earlier years of its 
existence the activities of the Col- 
lege pertaining to the maintenance 
of the public health and the im- 
provement of public morals were 
noteworthy. 

Although in recent years the 
College in its deliberations has 
confined itself in largest measures 
to the discussion of scientific mat- 
ters and has shown less inclination 
than in former times to take an 
active official part in public af- 
fairs, doubtless due to the rise in 
influence in these particulars of 
the County and State Medical So- 
cieties, it has by no means disre- 
garded them and from time to 
time is consulted in these respects. 

Of the many achievements of the 
College the establishment of its 
library, which now has a promi- 
nent position among the great 



=^ 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



23 



medical libraries of the world, 
must take the place in the fore- 
most rank. 

Since the institution of the Col- 
lege, on the 2nd day of January, 
1787, until its removal to its pres- 
ent splendid quarters, five homes 
have sheltered the members of its 
guild and housed the treasures of 
its library. These abodes in the 
language of Dr. Tyson were: first, 
the Academy Building on 4th 
Street for nearly five years; sec- 
ond, the hall of the Philosophical 
Society for nearly fifty-three years; 
third, the Mercantile Library for 
seven years; fourth, the Picture 
House in the Pennsylvania Hos- 
pital grounds for eleven years and, 
fifth, its own hall at 13th and 
Locust Streets from March, 1863, 
until November 10, 1909, when it 
moved into its present quarters. 

The sixth home of the College 
of Physicians is noble in structure 
and unrivaled in equipment. The 
style of architecture is English of 
about the 17th Century. 



One of the adjuncts of the Col- 
lege is the Mutter collection of 
specimens, casts, oil paintings, 
water colors, etc. Not only did 
Dr. Mutter present his museum to 
the College, but with it came a 
handsome endowment and the 
legacy provides for the appoint- 
ment once in three years of a lec- 
turer who shall discourse on some 
subject connected with surgical 
pathology. 

The museum has grown to fine 
proportions. The Hyrtl collection 
of Human Skulls and preparations 
by erosion, and the Politzer ear 
specimens, are among its most 
notable possessions. 

Memorable dates in the history 
of the College of Physicians of 
Philadelphia : 

Institution of College, January 

2, 1787. 
Institution of Library, March 3, 

1788. 
Incorporation of the College, 

March 26, 1789. 



Institution of the Pathological 
Museum, June 5, 1849. 

Institution of the first building 
fund, November 2, 1849. 

Institution of the Mutter Mu- 
seum, December 11, 1858. 

Institution of the second build- 
ing fund, April 7, 1875. 

The College first occupied its 
own premises March, 1863. 

Completion of a third story for 
accommodation of the Mu- 
seum, May 31, 1886. 

Celebration of the Centennial 
Anniversary, January 3, 1887. 

Institution of a third building, 
January 21, 1903. 

Purchase of lot at 22nd and Lud- 
low Streets, May 29, 1903. 

Laying of cornerstone of new 
building at 22nd and Ludlow 
Streets, April 29, 1908. 

References: An Account of The Col- 
lege of Physicians of Philadelphia by 
G. E. De Schweinitz, A.M., M.D. "The 
College of Physicians" by J. Norman 
Henry, M.D. 




COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS 
15 South Twenty-second Street 



.--Mtr-r-^*. ec-as**^**;. 



2£5E5^^5 



2£3 



24 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



History of Philadelphia College of 
Pharmacy and Science 






WILMER KRUSEN, M.D., D.S.C., LL.D., Pres. 



IN 1821 Pharmacy was probably 
at a lower ebb than it had 
been for many years. The dis- 
pensing of drugs and medicines 
had fallen into the hands of those 
who, for most part, were simply 
tradesmen. The division of labor, 
as the economist has termed it, in 
a commercial center like Philadel- 
phia, has produced the druggist 
(a name reserved for the whole- 
sale druggist), the manufacturing 
chemist, the drug grinder, the oil 
and paint dealer, the varnish 
maker, and the apothecary, who 
was a compounder of prescriptions 
and retail drug dealer, though in 
many cases these branches of trade 
were still combined. 

The retailer, while the physician 
was dispensing his own medicine, 
had been little more than a store- 
keeper, i. e., he simply kept drugs 
in stock for sale to physicians. 
Now that he was performing diffi- 
cult and important tasks in the 
compounding and dispensing of 
drugs, he needed scientific train- 
ing, which he had but imperfect 
opportunities of obtaining. He 
possessed but the most rudi- 



mentary knowledge regarding the 
properties of the materials he sold. 
Tests were not applied to deter- 
mine the purity, quality and 
strength of products. Arsenic and 
cream of tartar were sold over the 
counter most carelessly. Fatal re- 
sults now and again resulted from 
ignorance and worse. Many of the 
more eager, with commercial ends 
in mind, lowered their prices. 
Older and better established shops 
must follow to meet such compe- 
tition, and in consequence the 
market was filled with inferior, if 
not entirely spurious, drugs and 
preparations. 

Alum was mixed with cream of 
tartar, corn and ginger, in the 
drug mills. The bark which was 
available for use for fever and 
ague, a physician in Upper Merion 
Township, near Philadelphia, com- 
plained was "actually inferior to 
oak saw dust." And, as Samuel 
Jackson stated in 1821, this condi- 
tion of affairs was not solely due 
to the druggist and apothecary; 
"the great body of practitioners, 
especially those residing in the 
country, knowing medicines only 



by their names, have been ignorant 
of the very different qualities sub- 
sisting among them. In their pur- 
chases, incapable of making a 
selection as to quality, the lowest 
price was preferred. 

"Inferior, deteriorated and so- 
phisticated medicines and drugs 
met with a ready sale, while the 
choicest and most select, because 
of higher price, could very seldom 
meet with a purchaser." 



Highlights in the History of 

the Philadelphia College 

of Pharmacy 

The history of the Philadelphia 
College of Pharmacy — the first col- 
lege of pharmacy in the New 
World — covers practically the his- 
tory of pharmaceutical education 
in this country. From the time of 
its institution as the Philadelphia 
College of Apothecaries in 1821, 
and its incorporation as the Phila- 
delphia College of Pharmacy in 
1822, it has exerted a potent in- 
fluence in developing pharmaceuti- 
cal education, initiating many of 




PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE OF PHARMACY AND SCIENCE 
Forty-third Street and Kingsessing Avenue 



L 



mn 



^m 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



25 



its most forward steps, while indi- 
rectly, through the daily work of 
its thousands of graduates, it has 
rendered a nation-wide service for 
the relief of human suffering and 
the conservation of public health. 

The College was founded by 
sixty-eight druggists and apothe- 
caries of the City and Liberties of 
Philadelphia on February 23, 
1821, the result being crystallized 
by the decision of the Board of 
Trustees of the University of Penn- 
sylvania on February 6, 1821, to 
institute a course of instruction for 
students in pharmacy leading to 
the degree of Master of Pharmacy, 
which decision, however distaste- 
ful to the druggists and apothe- 
caries, had a certain ground of 
reasonableness, and aroused their 
dormant pride and self-respect, 
compelling them to take action for 
the protection and advancement of 
their profession. Dr. Edgar Fahs 
Smith, of the University of Penn- 
sylvania, has stated that "the Uni- 
versity pharmacy course was never 
given" — which is to the everlasting 
credit of that great institution — 
although on April 5, 1821, the Uni- 
versity did, indeed, proceed so far 
as to confer the honorary degree 
of Master of Pharmacy upon six- 
teen apothecaries of Philadelphia, 
the first granting of a pharmaceuti- 
cal degree in this country. 

The College was founded in his- 
toric Carpenters' Hall, a building 
occupied in 1774 by the Provincial 
Assembly which recommended a 
general Congress of all the Amer- 
ican Colonies, which Congress also 
met in this hall, and within it in- 
augurated those measures which 
led to the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence, and terminated so favor- 
ably for civil liberty in America 
and throughout the world; and so, 
within this hall the "sixty-eight 
druggists and apothecaries" met 
and wrote a new declaration of in- 
dependence: That pharmaceutical 
education shall be of pharmacists, 
by pharmacists and for the public 
welfare. 

Prior to 1821, "in this new 
country with its sparse population 
and vast territorial extent — its few 
small but growing cities scattered 
along the seaboard — the occasion 
had scarcely arisen to put into 
practice the obvious educational 



means fitted to meet these require- 
ments; but now the time had evi- 
dently come. Every intelligent 
druggist and apothecary felt that 
the instruction which might be 
suitable for the student preparing 
himself for the duties of the phy- 
sician would be only partially 
fitted for one who was to assume 
the widely different responsibili- 
ties of the drug store and dispen- 
sary. 



Election of Officers of the 
College 

On March 27, 1821, the first 
stated meeting of the College was 
held, and officers were elected. 
Very properly the dean of Phila- 
delphia's apothecaries, Charles 
Marshall, though nearly eighty 
years of age, was chosen President. 
William Lehman, a cousin of Peter 
K. Lehman, who had discussed the 
subject in the first instance with 
Henry Troth, an A.B. of the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, and also 
a graduate of the medical school 
of that institution, now for some 
years a prominent druggist and a 
member for Philadelphia in the 
Pennsylvania State Legislature, 
and Stephen North, who had pre- 
sided at the first meeting, were 
elected Vice-Presidents. Daniel B. 
Smith, learned philanthropist and 
public spirited Philadelphian, des- 
tined to play so large a part in the 
history of the College, as in the 
direction of other movements in 
the city, was elected Secretary, and 
William Heyl, Treasurer. The fol- 
lowing made up the first Board of 
Trustees : 

Samuel P. Wetherill, Dr. Samuel 
Jackson, Daniel Elliott, Charles 
Allen, Henry M. Zollickoffer, Jere- 
miah Morris, Henry Troth, Peter 
K. Lehman, Charles Marshall, Jr., 
Warder Morris, Peter Williamson, 
Daniel Thatcher, Samuel Biddle, 
Thomas McClintock, Frederick 
Brown and Thomas Wiltberger. 



Establishment of the School 

The Board of Trustees organ- 
ized on March 29, 1821, by electing 
Samuel Price Wetherill, of the 
Wetherill firm, as its chairman, 
while Peter Williamson, active in 



the meeting for organization, be- 
came its Secretary; and committees 
were appointed to take into con- 
sideration the subject of establish- 
ing a school of pharmacy and to 
draft by-laws for the government 
of the Board of Trustees. On April 
9, an adjourned meeting of the 
Trustees was held, at which the 
committee on by-laws presented a 
draft which was adopted, and the 
committee on school of pharmacy 
reported a plan recommending lec- 
tures on materia medica and phar- 
macy, and on pharmaceutical and 
general chemistry, three times a 
week, which was adopted also. A 
week later rules for the regulation 
of the school were approved as fol- 
lows: 

"First. There shall be two lec- 
turers to the College, viz., one on 
materia medica and pharmacy and 
the other on pharmaceutical and 
general chemistry. 

"Second. They shall be elected 
by ballot at a meeting of the 
Trustees called for that purpose, 
and shall continue in office unless 
removed by a vote of two-thirds of 
the board. 

"Third. The Trustees shall have 
a general power of superintending 
and regulating the lectures of the 
two professors, fixing the price of 
tickets, etc. 

"Fourth. The lectures shall com- 
mence in the first week in the 
eleventh month (November) and 
continue three times a week at 
such place and hour as the 
Trustees shall direct until finished. 

"Fifth. The price of tickets for 
the present shall be for the course 
of materia medica and pharmacy 
$15.00; and the other branch, 
S12.00; and apprentices to persons 
following the drug business who 
are not members of the college 
shall pay in addition $5.00 as a 
matriculating fee. 

(On April 16, 1821, however, the 
price of the tickets was reduced 
from $15.00 to $12 00 for the first 
course, and from $12.00 to $10.00 
for the second course. Matricula- 
tion fee to non-members to be 
$5.00.) 

"Sixth. The members of the 
College shall have free access to 
the state lectures of the two pro- 
fessors. 



'"-•^s;. ■' 



&a*i2rsK*v 



rrrrrj' 



26 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



"Seventh. The lecturers shall re- 
ceive all the emoluments arising 
from their respective courses of 
lectures, except the matriculating 
fee. 

"Eighth. The Board of Trustees 
shall provide a suitable lecture 
room for the institution and make 
such other provisions to accommo- 
date the lecturers as they may 
deem expedient. 

"Ninth. Every person upon 
whom a diploma of this College 
shall be conferred must be of good 
moral character, have arrived at 
the age of 21 years, have attended 
two courses of each of the lectures, 
and have served out an apprentice- 
ship of at least four years with a 
person qualified to conduct the 
drug and apothecary business. 

"Tenth. All persons who have 
attended two courses of each of 



the lectures shall have free access 
to the future lectures of the pro- 
fessors." 

The College has had four homes: 

1. Hall of German Society on west 
side of 7th Street between 
Market and Chestnut Streets — 
1821-1832. 

2. Zane Street— from 1832-1868. 

3. 145 North 10th Street— dedi- 
cated on October 7, 1868. 

4. 43rd Street and Kingsessing 
Avenue — new building and 
equipment which was dedicated 

in 1923. Address by the Hon. 

Hampton L. Carson, son of Dr. 

Joseph Carson, Professor from 

1836-1850. 
It is now the Philadelphia Col- 
lege of Pharmacy and Science. In- 
stead of two lecturers it has a staff 
of 53 professors and instructors. 

dJQ 



The Philadelphia College of 
Pharmacy and Science has had 
during 108 years of its existence 
eleven presidents. The first, 
Charles Marshall, was 77 years of 
age when elected and served until 
1824. My immediate predecessor, 
Admiral William C. Braisted, 
served from 1921 to 1927, resigning 
on account of ill health., 

The list of distinguished men 
who have served on the faculty 
includes the names of George B. 
Wood, Joseph Carson, Franklin 
Bache (great grandson of Ben- 
jamin Franklin), Robert Bridges, 
William Proctor, John M. Maisch, 
Samuel P. Sadtler, and Joseph P. 
Remington. 

The present faculty will be no 
less distinguished when viewed 
from the perspective of time. 



The History of Medical Education at the 

University of Pennsylvania 

From A Speech Delivered By DR. JOSIAH H. PENNIMAN 

Provost of the University 



I. Pioneer Work 

THE University of Pennsylva- 
nia is one of the six Colonial 
Colleges upon which the 
higher educational system of this 
country has been built. Tn the or- 
der of their foundation they are 
Harvard, 1636; William and Mary, 
1693; Yale, 1701; University of 
Pennsylvania, 1740; Princeton, 
1746; and Columbia, 1754. We 
honor Benjamin Franklin as our 
founder. His proposals for the 
education of youth were put into 
effect in this city and the Univers- 
ity of Pennsylvania of today is 
their monument. 

One hundred and sixty-two years 
ago on April 16, 1765, the School 
of Medicine of the University was 
founded, the first such school 
connected with a University on this 
continent. 

It is to Dr. John Morgan largely 
that the University owes its en- 
trance into the medical field be- 



fore any other educational institu- 
tion in America. It is to him also 
that it owes in large measure the 
firmness and breadth of its founda- 
tion in medical teaching and 
investigation. 

Dr. Morgan's Inaugural Address, 
delivered at Commencement, May 
30, 1765, so soon after he had been 
elected Professor of the Theory 
and Practice of Physic, contained 
his vision which has been so well 
justified. He was far ahead of his 
times and he looked far into the 
future. He anticipated some of 
the best medical requirements of 
today, for he felt that more than 
mere technical expertness was ne- 
cessary for the medical practi- 
tioner. A well-rounded humanity 
for those who were to prescribe for 
the ills of others was his aim and 
he advocated that they acquire a 
classical, literary and scientific 
background for their work. 

In those days it was stipulated 
that, before a man could take his 



doctor's degree, he must be full 
twenty-four years of age; three 
years must have elapsed since 
being awarded the degree of 
bachelor of medicine; and he must 
write a thesis and defend it openly 
in the college. Then, mark you, 
if the thesis were approved he 
must publish it at his own expense. 

After a few months Morgan was 
joined by William Shippen, Jr., 
who became Professor of Anatomy 
and Surgery. Adam Kuhn, in 
1768, was elected Professor of 
Botany and Materia Medica and in 
the year following Benjamin Rush 
became Professor of Chemistry. 

These were our Four Evangelists 
of Medicine and names to conjure 
with. They gave the School of 
Medicine and in turn all our other 
medical departments the Spirit 
which has animated them. That 
Spirit is represented in Morgan's 
own words: 

"Perhaps this Medical Institu- 
tion, the first of its kind in 






*£***»■• 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



27 



America, though small in its be- 
ginning, may receive a constant 
increase of strength and annually 
exert new vigor. It may collect a 
number of young persons of more 
than ordinary abilities and so im- 
prove their knowledge as to spread 
its reputation to distant parts." 

How prophetic a statement! 

Conditions of teaching were very 
different in those days. The Medi- 
cal Professors virtually each ran a 
business within the University. 
Their students, in return for in- 
struction, paid them fees in Pounds 
Sterling, which the Professors 
themselves collected. Indeed until 
1881 this system persisted when it 
was changed by Dr. William Pep- 
per, that great physician who was 
also Provost of the University. 

The first class graduated was 
that of 1768 and had ten members. 
The first home of the School was 
known as Surgeon's Hall and was 
located on the east side of Fifth 
Street, between Liberty and Wal- 
nut Streets. 

What a development from that 
day to this. 

The population of the United 
States in 1765 was less than 3,000,- 
000. Today it is nearly 115,000,000. 

Philadelphia had fewer than 
25,000 inhabitants. Today it has 

2,000,000. 

These figures will give you some 
comprehension of the enormity of 
the development of Medicine. 
With this development the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania has kept 
pace. 

From Surgeon's Hall of 1765 
with Dr. Morgan and Dr. Shippen, 
our Medical work has grown into 
a great Medical Centre, comprising 
virtually all branches of curative 
and preventive medicine. We have 
graduated 15,000 physicians of 
whom 5,000 are still living and 
practicing in every civilized coun- 
try — and some uncivilized. We 
have nearly 500 young men and 
women as students at present. In 
addition to the original School of 
Medicine, we possess the first 
Graduate School of Medicine, the 
School of Dentistry, The Henry 
Phipps Institute for the Prevention 
and Relief of Tuberculosis, the 
School of Veterinary Medicine, 
three great hospitals, one of which 



the University Hospital, was the 
first teaching hospital in this coun- 
try; a variety of clinics and medi- 
cal foundations; and a close 
relationship with the leading 
hospitals and medical organiza- 
tions of the city and state. 

From an investment of almost 
nothing, since Dr. Morgan and Dr. 
Shippen financed themselves in 
1765 by the collection of fees 
from their students, we have 
grown until today the University 
has nearly $16,000,000 invested in 
its medical activities, and an an- 
nual budget of more than $2,000,- 
000. From this Faculty of two we 
have grown until now in the 
School of Medicine alone we have 
nearly 250 teachers of whom 100 
are professors, associate professors 
and assistant professors. 

This growth, this conscious evo- 
lution, has, it is interesting to note, 



which we may call the Era of 
Great Lecturers, our Medical 
School had divided control of and 
access to the facilities of the Penn- 
sylvania Hospital and the Philadel- 
phia Hospital, and in addition the 
school instituted the innovation of 
having ward beds and a dispensary 
in the Medical Building; in the 
years from 1875 to 1925, which we 
may call the Era of Direct Service, 
there was constructed this first of 
teaching hospitals. 

Throughout all of these periods 
the relationship of the Medical 
School to the University has been 
intimate and important. In the 
early days, indeed, the School was 
the predominating asset of the 
University, and its enrollment far 
outnumbered the College. A hun- 
dred years ago there were 500 stu- 
dents in the University and of these 
more than 400 were in the medical 




MEDICAL SCHOOL OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA 

1765-1802 

East side of Fifth Street, Between Liberty and Walnut Streets. This building was 

known as Surgeon s Hall 



been accomplished in cycles. In 
the 60 years from 1765 to 1825 
which we may call the Era of Great 
Clinicians, our Medical School had 
virtually complete control of the 
Pennsylvania Hospital in that our 
students had the same privileges 
in that institution that they do to- 
day in the University Hospital; in 
the fifty years from 1825 to 1875, 



department. It was many years 
later before the College out- 
stripped the Medical School in 
size. The School has remained 
remarkably constant in the num- 
ber of students it has admitted and 
in years a century apart there is 
a difference of not more than 
seventy-five. This is an example 
of the consistency with which the 



" yfs^u: 



£ J W--'--7" 



TnmiilinwtaaaataraiBi 



mm 



== 



mmamammam 



28 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 




Architects: Tilden-Recister & Pepper, Philadelphia 

Builders: Day & Zimmermann Engineering and Construction Co. 

MARTIN MELONEY MEMORIAL CLINIC BUILDING 
(University of Pennsylvania) 

Thikty-sixth and Spruce Streets 






T1 



.*..._.*,. i,.;-*^ ■. ■,.*<*.*&,•*<*.*&&*•. ^ 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



School has striven for quality 
rather than quantity, and of its 
adherence to the sound principles 
upon which it was founded. 

Medical graduates have had an 
integral part in all University 
activities, and before there were 
restrictions anywhere upon the 
participation of professional school 
students in University athletics, 
they played upon our University 
teams and were important factors 
in intercollegiate competition. 



29 



they had a much greater part than 
any other. 

We are now in the beginning of 
a New Era. How will it be char- 
acterized a hundred years from 
now? Perhaps as the Era of Re- 
search, the period in which great 
new discoveries were made. What- 
ever it becomes, its course will be 
shaped by the development of the 
medical schools and institutes of 
the country, and so it is essential 
that these schools be equipped 



and other diseases which are re- 
sponsible for untold suffering and 
great mortality. 

It is not impossible that such 
things will happen. It is not im- 
possible that they will happen 
within the year. 

Every year it is becoming more 
possible for such things to happen 
and this is so because of the con- 
tinued devotion of scholars and 
scientists and because of the 
growing understanding on the part 




LABORATORY OF ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY 

(University of Pennsylvania) 

Thirty-sixth Street and Hamilton Walk 



They have always taken an active 
part in Alumni life and the Medi- 
cal Alumni Society was a strong 
organization before the present 
General Alumni Society was 
formed. 

Medical men have also served as 
Trustees of the University, and at 
present three are serving in that 
capacity. In every way Medical 
students and Alumni have been as 
much a part of the community life 
of the University as those of any 
other school, and for many years 



with the weapons which will en- 
able them to cope with this future. 
It is natural to let the mind roam 
freely among the possibilities of 
the future. In especial it has inter- 
ested me to conjecture what may 
happen during the coming years in 
the field of science, including 
medicine. Supposing a new Pas- 
teur were developed, how well we 
should be rewarded for our efforts 
and our anxiety. Supposing a cure 
should be found for such scourges 
as cancer, pneumonia, tuberculosis 



of the public generally that the 
men who are devoting themselves 
unselfishly to the solution of these 
secrets must be encouraged and 
supported. 

Research is the term that best 
describes these efforts. It is a term 
whose real meaning is not always 
exactly understood. In effect, re- 
search is that effort, the only aim 
of which is the discovery of truth 
and new knowledge. That is the 
kind of research we have in mind 
at the University of Pennsylvania 



53WJ 



ESm^SSSiflfl 



30 



PHILADELPHIA— Wor/cTs Medical Centre 



GRADUATE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE 
(University of Pennsylvania) 

Lombard Street, Eighteenth to Nineteenth 
Cornerstone laid June 14th, 1927 




PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



and the kind for which we ask the 
support of our friends. 

It has been pointed out that to 
such research the origin and real 
nerve of all other kinds of research 
are to be traced, and while we are 
not unaware that these other kinds 
of research are necessary and de- 
sirable, we know that if we pro- 
mote the Mother Spirit of Research 
these kinds will develop in their 
turn. 

It has always been our pride at 
the University that above all things 
we have had regard for the quality 
of the men who have done our 
work. In spite of the materialism 
of our age, we adhere to this prac- 
tice in full measure, and it will 
continue and must continue to be 
the first of our purposes in the de- 
velopment of our medical facilities 
and of all the rest of the University. 

The statement that the real col- 
lege would be Mark Hopkins on 
one end of a log and a student on 
the other is old by now, but it has 
lost none of its force. We must 
find new Mark Hopkinses, and 
while the log is gone forever we 
must keep the idea alive. Men 
who do this work should have fine 
buildings, adequate equipment 
and encouragement, and these 
things we want and propose to 
have for they increase beyond 
measure likelihood of results. But 
unless there are Men of Devotion 
and Men of Attainment and Men 
of Consecrated Purpose to people 
these buildings they will be bricks 
and mortar and nothing more. 
When they are used by such men, 
they become Temples of Accom- 
plishment. 

I believe that we are as consist- 
ent in our practice as we are in 
our theory. The matter we are 
discussing, includes in right pro- 
portion the provision for men and 
the places and tools they shall use. 

These are days of portentous im- 
portance for educational institu- 
tions. They are days of change 
and flux in an age of competition. 
The lamp of knowledge is burning 
as steadily as of old, but new con- 
ditions have arisen which change 
the method of progress towards it. 
At the University of Pennsylvania 
we are keeping our faces turned to 
the light, and are adjusting our- 
selves to the new situation created 



31 



in/ large part by the vastly in- 
creased demand for higher educa- 
tion, the tide of which began to 
rise in the year 1910 and is still 
rising. Up until that time the de- 
mand had been a constant one, 
increasing with population in 
fairly even ratio, with the country's 
wealth and the general desire for 
education that characterizes an en- 
lightened civilization. 

I think the extent and rapidity 
of this increase is scarcely realized. 
There are nearly 800 colleges, uni- 
versities and professional schools 
in the country and to them in the 
five years from 1910 to 1915, 
35,000 more men alone went for 
education than had done so during 
the 5 previous years. That increase 
seemed abnormal, but it was noth- 
ing to what happened in the five 
years from 1915 to 1920 when the 
increase amounted to 70,000. 

In the next two years from 1920 
to 1922 a still more astounding 
condition resulted. In those two 
years alone the increase reached 
50,000, but from then to 1924 the 
climax seemed to be reached when 
187,000 more men went to college 
than ever before, and the number 
of women students also showed a 
vast increase. 

The responsibility of universities 
and colleges in these circumstances 
of abnormal demand is obviously 
enormous. What the future holds 
we cannot say definitely, but it is 
certain that facilities for educating 
are overtaxed and that a solution 
providing accommodation for this 
mass of seekers after knowledge 
must soon be found. Yet at no time 
may more be taken than can be 
properly trained. 

Coincident with this increased 
demand has come a change in the 
method of financing educational 
institutions. Prior to 1910 the so- 
called campaign for funds was 
scarcely ever heard of. Now this 
has become one of the principal 
means of furnishing the sums of 
money that must fill in the gap 
between income from tuition fees 
and endowment, and expenditures. 

Medical Development is talked 
of everywhere. Cities are espous- 
ing it because it brings them glory 
and reputation, universities are 
pursuing it because it is the chan- 
nel through which the most direct 



and evident work for the physical 
betterment of mankind may be 
done. 

I tell you these things because 
I think they are interesting and 
because they indicate the gravity 
of the problems which confront us 
here at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania in the city of Philadelphia, 
as we seek to keep our medical 
facilities in a condition where none 
can excel them and only few can 
equal them. They are heavy prob- 
lems and for their complete solu- 
tion we require the wise counsel 
and hearty good-will of the people 
of this community, in addition to 
the co-operation of our own gradu- 
ates. I think the burden rests 
equally upon both. 

You have heard, of the generous 
action of Mr. Martin Maloney in 
contributing $250,000 towards the 
erection of a medical clinic and of 
the family of Mr. Henry Phipps in 
contributing $500,000 towards the 
endowment of the Phipps Insti- 
tute. It is a pleasure to acknowl- 
edge again the fine spirit of service 
that underlies these gifts. 

The Maloney Clinic will enable 
us to do a work in advance of any- 
thing now in operation in this 
country, and will add still further 
distinction to the reputation of our 
medical school. The history of 
Phipps Institute is perhaps fam- 
iliar to most of those here. 
Organized in 1903 by Dr. Lawrence 
F. Flick, it was through the gen- 
erosity of Mr. Phipps, taken over 
in 1910 by the University as one of 
the departments of its medical 
work. Its development as a center 
of research and of scientific effort 
in the application of the results of 
research in tuberculosis has put 
the University in the very forefront 
of the crusade against that disease. 
The remarkable contribution of 
the Institute to medical science has 
been recognized from time to time 
by support from such organizations 
as the Carnegie Foundation, the 
Welfare Federation of Philadel- 
phia, and by various individuals. 

Of equal interest with these are 
the two other items of the program 
of the Medical Committee, the en- 
dowment of the Joseph Leidy Pro- 
fessorship of Anatomy and of the 
Philip Syng Physick Surgical 
Foundation. What can be said 



4 .,,.„..-- 



• '<>*£{ 



32 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



that will add lustre to the names 
of these great figures in our medi- 
cal history — Leidy, the master ana- 
tomist of his time and a Professor 
in the Medical School from 1853 to 
1891; and Physick, the Father of 
American Surgery. They were in 
every way worthy of the honor 
which it is proposed to show them. 
The achievements of our long 
history have not gone unrecognized 
and there have been many out- 
standing examples where generous 
aid has been furnished by others 
than our own graduates. It is well 
that this has been so, for the cost 
of furnishing an education has al- 
ways been considerably more than 
the revenue that can be derived 
from it. The result has been that 
we have been able to keep our 
place in the sun with the help of 
these benefactions. 



The State Legislature has for 
many years appropriated funds to 
the University with especial refer- 
ence to those departments which 
are rendering notable service of 
definite public benefit, such as our 
hospitals and other branches that, 
because much of their work must 
be charitable, which would not 
have income sufficient for their 
needs if aid did not come from this 
quarter. 

The Welfare Federation of 
Philadelphia has likewise proven a 
firm friend and various of our 
medical departments receive help 
from that source. Similar organi- 
zations from time to time have 
shown like substantial interest in 
our medical work. 

One of the most gratifying evi- 
dences of interest and approval 



that has been shown in recent 
years was the action of the Rocke- 
feller Foundation and the General 
Education Board in appropriating 
$250,000 each towards the con- 
struction of a Laboratory of Anat- 
omy. 

The work of our medical group 
has been recognized by one of 
those great humanitarian organi- 
zations which have helped so im- 
measurably in recent years in the 
battle against disease and in the 
effort to improve the intellecual 
and physical status of the human 
race. 

The Carnegie Corporation ap- 
propriated the sum of $250,000 to 
the University for the endowment 
of Medical Research in the School 
of Medicine. 



-^JTD- 



University Firsts 



THE University of Pennsylva- 
nia was the first American 
University to have a teaching 
hospital, that established in 1874 
by the efforts of the late William 
Pepper, Horatio C. Wood, and 
William F. Norris. 

This was the first American Uni- 
versity to have a laboratory of 
clinical research (Pepper, 1894) 
housed in a separate building. 

This was the first American Uni- 
versity to have an institute (Wis- 
tar, 1892) devoted exclusively to 
advanced study and research in 
anatomy and biology. 

This was the first American Uni- 
versity to have a School of Hygiene 
and Public Health, established by 
the gift of the late Henry C. Lea 
in 1892. 

The Phipps Institute, a depart- 
ment of the University founded in 
1903, was the first American 
Organization associated with a uni- 
versity to fight tuberculosis by in- 
tensive scientific research. 

This was the first American 
University to have a Department 
of Research Medicine, created in 
1910. 



This was the first American, and 
is still the only American Univers- 
ity to have a comprehensive 
Graduate School of Medicine, 
established in 1916. 

This was the first American 
University to have a Department 
of Surgical Research. 

This was the first American Uni- 
versity in which medical students 
formed clubs for the purpose of 
advancing diagnosis by means of 
the "case" system. 

Pioneer Work 

The work of the individual 
pioneer in medical development 
today differs from that of a century 
and a half ago in being intensive. 
The four members of the original 
faculty of the Medical School had 
to cover the whole field. Shippen 
introduced the formal, scientific 
study of obstetrics to this country. 
Large-scale programs are carried 
on today not by individuals, but by 
institutions, through a co-operative 
system, in the manner just out- 
lined. Obviously, it is not to be 
expected that many faculty suc- 
cessors of those four men will stand 



out in the large proportions 
which they assumed. Yet the list 
of University Firsts given before 
— which pictures the first Medical 
School in the country steadily 
broadening by the possession of a 
teaching hospital, a laboratory of 
clinical research, a school of 
hygiene and public health, an 
institution centered in the scien- 
tific study of tuberculosis, depart- 
ments of research medicine and 
research surgery, and a com- 
prehensive graduate school of 
medicine — shows the big original 
pioneering spirit still at work. 

What has characterized that 
spirit in every period is imagina- 
tion, coupled with sound under- 
standing. 

Caspar Wistar (1761-1818) 
wrote a text-book of Anatomy at a 
time when there were no others in 
this country. 

Philip Syng Physick (1768- 
1837) was the first to use absorb- 
able animal ligatures in a surgical 
operation. 

James Woodhouse (1770-1809) 
helped to break down an old 
theory — having the ominous name 






"W—WWWBUIilW 



'i >a^«L y fr>«a tw»?».. 



PHILADELPHIA-Ifor/(/'5 Medical Centre 



33 



"phlogistic" — which stood in the 
way of all chemical advance. He 
demonstrated that oxygen is given 
off by living plants, a fact funda- 
mental to all our present views as 
to animal heat and respiration, and 
therefore essential to the under- 
standing of either health or disease. 

Joseph Leidy (1823-1891), while 
eating a ham sandwich, noticed a 
curious speck in the meat. His 
investigative mind prompted him 
to take it to his laboratory, where 
his researches led to the discovery 
that these little bodies in the meat 
of hogs were the same as those 
known to occur in human muscle. 
Thus it was revealed that the tri- 
china spiralis, which caused human 
disease and frequently death, 
gained its entrance into the human 
body through the ingestion of pork 
improperly cooked or merely 
smoked. This investigation of 
Leidy's led to the present super- 
vision and inspection of animal 
food products. He also discovered 
the role of houseflies in transmit- 
ting disease. Leidy was the father 
of paleontology in this country. 
He was a towering figure, "an 
exemplar among the men of 
science," as President Eliot aptly 
described him on the occasion of 
awarding him an honorary degree 
at Harvard. 

Horatio C. Wood (1841-1920) 
was another dynamic figure whose 
mind illuminated whatever it 
viewed. He led the profession to 
an intelligent study of the physio- 
logical action of drugs, and thus 
reformed pharmacology. His orig- 
inal studies of sunstroke — what he 
called "thermal fever" — attracted 
world-wide attention. He was by 
far the ablest pioneer in the study 
and practice of therapeutics. 

Leonard Pearson (1868-1909) 
introduced into this country and 
was the first to use tuberculin for 
the diagnosis of tuberculous cattle. 
As a result, the disease has been 
eradicated from whole States. 

Charles Lester Leonard (1861- 
1913), who died as a result of in- 
juries received in his experiments, 



was a pioneer in the establishment 
of the X-ray method of diagnosing 
stone in the kidney, ureter, and 
bladder. 

Edward Tyson Reichert (1855- 
) , who was head of the Depart- 
ment of Physiology from 1886 to 
1920, had the vision to see far into 
an enormous mass of facts. He has 
produced two monumental works, 
each of them throwing fresh light 
on the development of life. In 
one, "The Crystalography of the 
Hemoglobins," Professor Reichert 
was able, by crystallizing the color- 
ing matter of the blood of animals, 
to show various stages of develop- 
ment. Thus, in the blood of the 
donkey were seen likenesses to the 
hemoglobins of both the ass and 
the horse. The second work, "The 
Differentiation and Specificity of 
Starches in Relation to Genera, 
Species, etc.," represents a minute 
study of 12,000 plants, and like- 
wise throws fresh light on the de- 
velopment of life. Kuhn would be 
gratified to know that Professor 
Reichert's contribution to the 
knowledge of plant development is 
the greatest since the days of the 
famous Swedish botanist, Linnaeus, 
under whom Kuhn studied. 

Such work is going on at the 
University today in large volume. 
Shippen would have been pleased 
to know that his concern over 
obstetrics was to produce such re- 
sults as the University can now 
show. Rush, who sensed the possi- 
bility of veterinary medicine, 
would be glad to see the Univers- 
ity's clinics for horses and small 
animals, and to know that, through 
the University's representatives, 
such an ailment as the foot-and- 
mouth disease has been eliminated 
from the State for long periods of 
time. 

The tic douleureux operation — 
often known as the Frazier-Spiller 
operation — by which the sensory 
nerve is cut (without resultant 
paralysis in order to relieve excru- 
ciating neuralgia of the face not 
responsive to morphine, is the 
work of this University. 



By means of the bronchoscope, 
an invention by a member of the 
Faculty of this University, foreign 
bodies can be safely and quickly 
removed from the aesophagus and 
lungs. The same Faculty member, 
again by the use of the broncho- 
scope, has discovered the cause and 
cure of so-called post-anesthetic 
pneumonia — a most significant 
achievement. Investigating partial 
collapse of the lungs, following 
abdominal, and particularly upper 
abdominal, operations, he discov- 
ered that this was caused by plugs 
of mucus which obstructed pul- 
monary tissues. When the plugs 
of mucus were removed through 
the bronchoscope, it was observed 
that the pulmonary tissues again 
expanded with air and that the 
patient speedily recovered. The 
investigation has an important 
bearing upon the choice of anes- 
thetic agents. It becomes manda- 
tory to use such agents as have the 
least irritating effect upon the 
bronchi. 

The University may also claim 
highly important and original in- 
vestigations, now going on, to 
determine more accurately the 
functions of the kidney and of the 
gall bladder. 

The co-operation of the Depart- 
ment of Ophthalmology and those 
of Physiology, Medicine, and Neu- 
rologic Surgery is achieving note- 
worthy results in medical educa- 
tion and research. 

Most important original work is 
progressing at the University on 
the relationship of dental diseases 
and unhygienic mouths to mental 
deficiencies and intellectual back- 
wardness of children. These are 
samples. 

No better proof of the existence 
at the University today of big 
pioneering genius could be asked 
than the activities which center 
about the Graduate School of 
Medicine and constitute its "Penn- 
sylvania Plan," the workings of 
which have been briefly outlined. 



/ 



~-r*—rrr~~~i^~?-?~ —— — v ;;- -- 



rnrnimrninrnTfiri 



■ 



■IBi 



34 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



The Jefferson Medical College 

of Philadelphia 



THE Jefferson Medical College, 
one of the oldest and most 
famous medical schools in the 
United States, was founded in 1825 
as the Medical Department of Jef- 
ferson College, Canonsburg, Penn- 
sylvania. Having graduated 15,193 
students, the institution has more 
medical alumni than any other 
school on the continent. 

In 1838 the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania, by legislative enact- 
ment and charter, made Jefferson 
Medical College a separate and in- 
dependent University. The advan- 
tage of this lies in having a Board 
of Trustees who devote their in- 
terest and talents to the adminis- 
tration of a single College rather 
than an assemblage of them. 

The institution has always been 
noteworthy for its distinguished 
clinicians and the extent of its 
clinical teaching. Clinical instruc- 
tion has always been an important 
feature. Indeed, systematic clini- 
cal methods of instruction were 
here first inaugurated in the 
United States, a dispensary having 
been established within its walls 
in advance of the opening of the 
first session, and from cases which 
it supplied, surgical clinics were 
here for the first time in this coun- 
try conducted by Dr. George Mc- 
Clellan, a leading surgeon and 
teacher of his day, the Founder of 
the College and its guiding spirit 
during the first year of its exis- 
tence. 

The first faculty consisted of 
Drs. Eberle, Theory and Practice 
of Medicine; B. Rush Rhees, Ma- 
teria Medica and Institutes; Jacob 
Gheen, Chemistry; Nathan R. 
Smith, Anatomy; Francis S. Beat- 
tie, Midwifery, and George McClel- 
lan, Surgery. Among other men of 
national and international reputa- 
tion who have occupied chairs in 
Jefferson may be mentioned John 
Mitchell, first advocate of the 
cryptogamous origin of the acute 
infectious fevers; Thomas D. Mut- 
ter, who first exhibited in Phila- 
delphia at the clinic of the Jeffer- 



son Medical College, December 23, 
1846, the anesthetic power of sul- 
phuric ether; Robley Dunglison, 
known as the "Father of American 
Physiology," an original investiga- 
tor, and the most popular writer 
of his generation; Franklin Bache, 
who, with Wood, brought out the 
first edition of the United States 
Dispensatory; Joseph Pancoast, 
anatomist and a famous surgeon; 
Charles D. Meigs, the anthropol- 
ogist; Samuel D. Gross, the first 
and greatest of Modern American 
surgeons; John H. Brinton, the 
founder of the Great Army Medi- 
cal Museum; Jacob M. Da Costa, 
the foremost medical diagnostician 
of his day; Bartholow, eminent for 
his early recognition of the impor- 
tance of sanitary science; Drake, 
Dickson, Chapman, Rogers and 
many others, all of whom exercised 
a profound influence upon medical 
history in the United States, and 
by their work and teaching in Jef- 
ferson made the school famous in 
Medical Annals. 

Having no endowment where- 
with to build, the first Faculty 
rented, in 1824, the old "Tivoli 
Theatre," at 518 Prune Street (now 
Locust) and altered its interior to 
suit their purpose, and announced 
a course of lectures for the winter 
of 1825-1826. 

Shortly after the opening of the 
first session the question was raised 
on the part of those opposed to a 
second chartered medical school as 
to the right and power to confer 
degrees on the graduates of the 
Jefferson Medical College. To re- 
move all doubt, immediate re- 
course was had to the Legislature 
to secure the passage of an en- 
abling act. This act was passed 
and the bill approved by Governor 
J. Andrew Schultze on April 7, 
1826. 

The first address was made on 
March 8, 1825, by Dr. B. Rush 
Rhees, the first Dean of the Facul- 
ty, in advance of the opening of 
the first session. 



The first course of lectures be- 
gan in November, 1825, and the 
first Commencement was held on 
April 14, 1826. Out of a class of 
107 students, the degree of medi- 
cine was conferred upon 20 of 
these students. 

In the summer of 1826 Dr. W. P. 
C. Barton was appointed to a new 
Chair of Materia Medica. 

The old theatre building proved 
entirely inadequate. A member of 
the Board of Trustees, Rev. Ezra 
Styles Ely, D.D., offered to advance 
the money to erect a suitable build- 
ing, the College to take a lease 
upon it for five years. This build- 
ing was constructed upon a lot sit- 
uated on Tenth Street between 
what are now called Sansom and 
Moravian Streets. In August, 1828, 
the College was moved to a new 
building on the site now occupied 
by the present Hospital. 

The session of 1835-1836 wit- 
nessed many substantial improve- 
ments in the affairs of the College 
and material progress in every de- 
partment. There were 364 regu- 
larly matriculated students and at 
the end of the session 131 young 
men were awarded the doctor's de- 
gree. 

In June, 1836, a new Chair of 
Institutes of Medicine and Medical 
Jurisprudence was established and 
Dr. Robley Dunglison, its first oc- 
cupant, became a part of the life 
and history of the College. 

The year 1838 was memorable 
to the history of the College due 
to several important changes in the 
character of the Institution. Larger 
classes called for more commodious 
quarters and it was decided that 
the old building must be altered 
and enlarged. This would involve 
a considerable outlay of money 
and it was desirable that the title 
of the property, hitherto vested in 
Rev. E. S. Ely, should be acquired 
and held by the Trustees. As these 
Trustees in Philadelphia were sub- 
ordinate to the parent Board and 
could hold property in their 






■ ijj & \ www,w!Hmi>mj * m*m 



33TSBB 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



35 




THE JEFFERSON MEDICAL COLLEGE OF PHILADELPHIA 



*/j", ■faVj-^p r% 



awfi • 



0* ".- •-' 



iatama^attmeBS^Mmi 



36 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/(/'j Medical Centre 






I 



name only, a necessity arose for a 
distinct charter, which would en- 
able the Philadelphia Trustees to 
hold and modify the Medical Col- 
lege property as a separate institu- 
tion. 

Early in 1838 the Legislature 
granted a Charter creating "The 
Jefferson Medical College of Phila- 
delphia" as an independent cor- 
poration "with the same powers 
and restrictions as the University 
of Pennsylvania," and the Trustees 
then holding office were reap- 
pointed with "power to increase 
their number to fifteen" and to be 
self-elective. 

The new charter was accepted 
and a resolution of appreciation 
conveyed to the members of the 
Mother Board of the parent insti- 
tution for their kind and fostering 
care. 

The Trustees executed a lease on 
the College premises for twenty 
years which gave them the privi- 
lege of paying off the principal at 
any time before the lease expired. 
In time, they came into full own- 
ership of the property, having 
made from time to time the altera- 
tions called for by the growth of 
the school. 

The happy outlook was soon be- 
clouded by the personal difficulties 
of the faculty. These dissensions 
became so urgent that on the tenth 
of June, 1839, the Trustees dis- 
solved the faculty and organized 
another out of the more congenial 
members of the previous body, 
with some new appointments. The 
name of Dr. George McClellan did 
not appear in the reorganized fac- 
ulty. In his place was Dr. Joseph 
Pancoast; and Dr. R. M. Huston 
replaced Dr. Samuel McClellan. 

Dr. George McClellan is con- 
ceded to have been the master 
spirit in founding the school. He 
had shown a marked aptitude for 
surgery before he studied medi- 
cine. In ten years after beginning 
practice he was among the fore- 
most surgeons of the world, show- 
ing in his operations consummate 
skill joined to an alertness of mind 
which made him ready for the 
most trying emergency. His lec- 
tures evinced enthusiasm, clearness 
and thoroughness. His methods 



were characterized by brilliancy 
and dash, rather than by cool cal- 
culation. It was very hard for him 
to submit to authority or to control 
the impulses of his ardent temper- 
ament. 

In 1841 new difficulties came to 
a crisis and on the second of April 
all the Chairs were again vacated 
and the wonderful faculty recon- 
stituted as follows: Drs. Robley 
Dunglison, Institutes; J. K. Mit- 
chell, Practice of Medicine; Joseph 
Pancoast, Anatomy; R. M. Huston, 
Materia Medica; T. D. Mutter, 
surgery; Charles D. Meigs, obstet- 
rics; Franklin Bache, Chemistry, 
succeeding to the Chair on the 
death of Dr. Jacob Green. At last 
was brought together a group of 
teachers of approved merit who 
would work in harmony. Under 
their regime came the reign of 
peace, order and good fortune. 
There were no changes in the fac- 
ulty for fifteen years. The confi- 
dence of the public and of the pro- 
fession was given in full measure, 
to the friendly body of talented 
men and as a result the College 
was prosperous to a degree sur- 
passing any other medical school 
of its time. 

Prominent among the features 
contributing to its usefulness and 
popularity must be ranked its 
clinic. The virtual founder of the 
College, Doctor McClellan, whose 
name is intimately associated with 
every phase of its early history, 
was also the chief agent in creating 
its clinic. Having cultivated a 
charity practice at his office, he 
easily supplied the infirmary at the 
College building, and on May 9, 
1825, before the first session, he 
performed the first operation in 
its amphitheatre. When the new 
building was erected in 1828, a 
small room in front, with an en- 
trance under the staircase, was 
used by him as a dispensary for 
his patients. He would draw upon 
these for illustrating his lectures. 
From such small beginnings the 
clinic grew, under the new faculty, 
to such dimensions that in a single 
year, 1856, no less than 802 medi- 
cal and 813 surgical cases were 
treated and capital operations of 
the rarest kind were performed be- 
fore the class by such adroit opera- 



tors as Pancoast and Mutter. The 
accommodations at the College had 
been so poor that as late as 1841 
even those who had undergone se- 
rious operations were sent to their 
homes in carriages. 

In 1844 two rooms were rented 
over a shop at the southwest corner 
of Tenth and Sansom Streets, and 
grave cases were treated here after 
operation. About 1849 the surgical 
clinic used two floors of a building 
adjoining the College on the north. 
Later this was remodeled to ac- 
commodate fifteen patients. In 
these narrow quarters the clinic 
was maintained until the Hospital 
was built in 1877. 

To accommodate the larger 
classes, in 1846 more ground on 
the north side was purchased for 
a new entrance and stairway, the 
lecture rooms were enlarged and 
the old gable front altered by the 
erection of a classic portico and 
pediment. 

On the death of the President, 
Rev. Ashbel Green, in 1848, the 
Rev. C. C. Cuyler served for one 
year and then was succeeded by 
Hon. Edward King, LL.D., who of- 
ficiated until 1873. 

The failing health of Professor 
Mutter, in 1856, caused him to re- 
sign. He was elected Professor 
Emeritus. He had been assistant to 
Dupuytreu in the Paris hospitals 
and while abroad had worked for 
months under other surgeons of 
equal celebrity. He has the credit 
of having been the first to intro- 
duce into this country the Edin- 
burgh "quizzing" system. He died 
at the early age of forty-eight, in 
1859. The extensive Mutter Mu- 
seum and its liberal endowment 
under the administration of the 
College of Physicians serve to keep 
his name in grateful minds of the 
new generations. 

His place was taken by Dr. Sam- 
uel D. Gross, recently Professor in 
the University of Louisville, a grad- 
uate of the Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege of the class of 1828, who had 
made a great reputation as a surg- 
eon, writer and lecturer. 

In 1857 Doctor Huston resigned, 
was made Professor Emeritus and 
was succeeded by Dr. Thomas D. 



^^■w^. 



■^--^^iri^^^W^a^^W*.-.-*?*-. 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



37 



Mitchell, Professor in the Medical 
School of Transylvania University, 
Lexington, Kentucky. 

In the following year the faculty 
was bereft of one of its most valued 
members by the death, in harness, 
of Dr. John Kearsley Mitchell, 
whose son was the eminent Dr. S. 
Weir Mitchell, who graduated in 
the class of 1850. Upon the death 
of Dr. J. K. Mitchell, the profes- 
sorship of the Practice of Medicine 
was conferred on Dr. Samuel H. 
Dickson, recently of the University 
of South Carolina. 

When the Civil War broke out, 
as two-fifths of the class usually 
came from the Southern States, it 
is not surprising that in two years 
the roll of students shrank from 
630 (the largest class which up to 
that time had attended any medi- 
cal college in this country) to only 
275. 

The last course of lectures deliv- 
ered by Dr. C. D. Meigs was in the 
session of 1861-1862. As Professor 
Emeritus for that year he took the 
place of the new appointee, Profes- 
sor Keating, whose health would 
not permit him to take the Chair. 
In the following year the Chair of 
Obstetrics was permanently filled 
by Dr. Ellerslie Wallace. 

In 1864 the Chair of Chemistry 
lost its occupant, Dr. Franklin 
Bache, the great-grandson of Ben- 
jamin Franklin. He was succeeded 
by Dr. B. Howard Rand. 

After eight years of his connec- 
tion with the College, Dr. Thomas 
D. Mitchell died in 1865. His suc- 
cessor in the Chair of Materia Med- 
ica was Dr. John B. Biddle, an ac- 
complished lecturer, who had won 
popularity as professor of that 
branch in the Pennsylvania Medi- 
cal College. 

In the session of 1866-1867 the 
clinical opportunities were much 
enlarged by the establishment of 
a daily clinic, medical cases being 
alloted to Dr. J. M. Da Costa as 
lecturer on clinical medicine. In 
the same year more extended facil- 
ities for learning the specialties of 
medicine and surgery were pro- 
vided in a "summer course." The 
work of the faculty was supple- 
mented by Drs. W. H. Pancoast, 



S. W. Gross, J. Aitken Meigs, R. 
J. Levis and F. F. Maury. In the 
following year this list was aug- 
mented by the names of Drs. J. H. 
Brinton and W. W. Keen. 

After filling for twenty-five years 
the Chair of Institutes of Medicine 
and for fourteen the office of Dean, 
in 1868, Dr. Robley Dunglison was 
compelled to resign because of ill 
health, which in the next year 
(1869) caused his death. In his 
thirty years of medical teaching 
this "Father of American Physi- 
ology" signed his name to at least 
five thousand medical diplomas. 
The Chair of Institutes was next 
occupied by Dr. J. Aitken Meigs, 
a physician and anthropologist of 
repute. 

In 1870 the Alumni formed an 
association to promote the interests 
of the College and medical edu- 
cation. 

In 1872 Hon. J. R. Burden be- 
came president of the Board of 
Trustees, and Dr. J. M. Da Costa 
received the appointment of Pro- 
fessor of Theory and Practice of 
Medicine, made vacant by the de- 
mise of Dr. Samuel Henry Dickson. 
At this time the Hospital and Dis- 
pensary of the College were treat- 
ing annually about six thousand 
free patients with one thousand 
surgical operations, in quarters 
wholly inadequate. 

At the session of the Legislature 
of Pennsylvania in 1873, April 9, 
an Act was passed for the endow- 
ment of a new college hospital by 
which the sum of one hundred 
thousand dollars was appropriated 
to the Trustees of the Jefferson 
Medical College. To the same pur- 
pose large private subscriptions 
were made by the alumni and oth- 
ers. There was much anxious de- 
liberation on the proposition of a 
removal to a more roomy neigh- 
borhood. The present central lo- 
cation was considered most con- 
venient to the patients who were 
the material for the clinics. A 
spacious lot nearby was purchased 
for the new hospital. At the same 
time, measures were taken to en- 
large and improve the college 
buildings, to add a new front and 
to equip new laboratories. The 
Hospital was formally opened Sep- 
tember 17, 1877. 



It was found that more money 
was needed from the State, and 
after petition, an Act appropriat- 
ing an additional one hundred 
thousand dollars was passed and 
approved by the Governor June 
17, 1878. The cost for building 
and furnishing was $185,919.83. 

On the twenty-seventh of Novem- 
ber, 1878, provision was made for 
the creation of a pathological mu- 
seum. A collection of wet prep- 
arations, casts and wax models was 
soon made and arranged under the 
direction of the curator, Dr. Mor- 
ris Longstreth. 

In 1874, after a service of more 
than a third of a century, filled 
with honors, Dr. Joseph Pancoast 
resigned the chair of Anatomy. 
The vacancy was filled by his son, 
Dr. William Pancoast, who as his 
demonstrator acted as his substi- 
tute and carried the prestige of 
his name. Dr. Joseph Pancoast's 
greatest distinction was won as 
surgical clinician. Among the 
great surgeons who played their 
parts in the history of the institu- 
tion, -he had been a most conspicu- 
ous figure. 

On the death of President J. R. 
Burden in 1877, the Board of Trus- 
tees elected E. B. Gardette as his 
.successor. 

The failing health of Doctor 
Rand having necessitated his resig- 
nation, Dr. Robert E. Rogers was 
appointed Professor of Chemistry 
in 1877. 

In this year the new hospital was 
completed and in operation. It 
was 107 feet square, five stories in 
height, and could easily accommo- 
date 125 patients. 

Dr. Roberts Bartholow, of Ohio 
Medical College, was elected 
to the Chair of Materia Medica 
and General Therapeutics upon 
the death of Dr. Biddle in 1878. 

In the session of 1879-1880 Dr. 
J. Aitken Meigs being in his last 
illness, Dr. H. C. Chapman was 
called upon as Demonstrator of 
Physiology to deliver the course of 
lectures in that branch. In the 
following summer Dr. Chapman 
was promoted to this Chair, va- 
cated by the death of Dr. Meigs. 



«j| 



'*> ' ■ • l ^.-, ■ | 



* ■" ' ..' . I ji - — •i-^-- ^ r - — ---« 



ss^^^^mmmmm mMBwimwm* 



38 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



!i 



Dr. Samuel D. Gross resigned the 
Chair of Surgery after twenty-six 
years at Jefferson. He was con- 
sidered the greatest surgeon of his 
time. He received the honor of 
being named Professor Emeritus. 
After two years of retirement he 
died in his seventy-ninth year. 

In their endeavor to make good 
the loss entailed by the withdrawal 
of Doctor Gross, the Trustees pro- 
vided that surgical instruction 
should be given by two professors, 
and elected his son, Dr. Samuel W. 
Gross, Professor of the Principles 
of Surgery and Clinical Surgery, 
and Dr. J. H. Brinton, Professor of 
Practice of Surgery and Clinical 
Surgery. The last named, a 
teacher of many years' experience. 
The declining health of Doctor 
Wallace compelled him, in 1883, 
to resign the Chair of Obstetrics, 
which he held for many years. 
This vacancy was filled by the 
election of Theophilus Parvin, 
M. D., LL.D., of Indianapolis, wide- 
ly known as a writer, and as a pro- 
fessor in several medical colleges. 

The long and distinguished 
service of Dr. H. E. Rogers as a 
teacher of chemistry came to a 
close by his death in 1885. For 
the session of 1884-1885 the lec- 
tures were delivered by Prof. J. W. 
Mallet, M. D., who at the end of 
the session, returned to his former 
position in the University of Vir- 
ginia. The Chair was filled by Dr. 
James W. Holland, who had thir- 
teen years' experience as Professor 
of Chemistry in the University of 
Louisville. 

By the resignation of Dr. W. H. 
Pancoast, in 1886, of the Chair of 
Anatomy, Dr. W. S. Forbes was ap- 
pointed to fill this vacancy. To 
Doctor Forbes belongs the title of 
the "Father of the Anatomical 
Act." 

Doctor Bartholow laid aside 
the cares of the Deanship in 1887- 
1888 and the Faculty chose Doctor 
Holland for this duty. 

The death of President Gardette 
was followed by the election of 
Hon. James Campbell in the year 
1889. The untimely death of Dr. 
S. W. Gross occurred in the spring 
of that year. In his stead was ap- 



pointed Dr. W. W. Keen, who has 
since become one of the world's 
greatest surgeons. 

At the close of the session of 
1890-1891, Dr. J. M. Da Costa, hav- 
ing taught clinical medicine and 
practice of medicine to loving and 
admiring classes for twenty-four 
years, resigned. His successor, Dr. 
J. C. Wilson, had made his mark 
in medical letters and teaching 
while engrossed with the cares of 
a large practice. 

Owing to the poor health of Pro- 
fessor Bartholow in this session, 
the course of Materia Medica and 
Therapeutics was conducted by 
Professor Holland and Dr. A. P. 
Brubaker. In place of Doctor 
Bartholow the Trustees elected 
Dr. Hobart A. Hare, who had made 
a name by his researches in physi- 
ological therapeutics and as a lec- 
turer on the diseases of children. 
Dr. Morris Longstreth was pro- 
moted from the lectureship to the 
professorship of General Pathology 
and Pathological Anatomy. 

In 1882, Hon. Joseph Allison, 
LL.D., was elected President of the 
Board of Trustees, and Dr. E. E. 
Montgomery, recently professor in 
the Medico-Chirurgical College, 
was appointed Professor of Clin- 
ical Gynecology. The next five 
years form a period of active evo- 
lution, with many additions to the 
teaching corps. The first incum- 
bent of the chair of Ophthalmol- 
ogy was Dr. William Thomson. 
After his resignation, the Chair 
was occupied by Dr. George E. de 
Schweinitz, late Professor in the 
Polyclinic College; while Dr. W. 
M. L. Coplin, recently Professor in 
Vanderbilt, became the successor of 
Doctor Longstreth, in the Chair of 
Pathology and Bacteriology. 

When attempting to raise en- 
dowments to carry out the expen- 
sive improvements they had pro- 
jected, the Trustees and Faculty 
often encountered the objection 
that as the receipts in excess of ex- 
penditures were divided among 
the Faculty, they were practically 
asking for money to be given to 
the Faculty, and not to the cause 
of medical education. In order to 
end this system, complete reorgan- 
ization was effected by the Trus- 



tees which was cheerfully accepted 
by the Faculty. By their act of 
February 1, 1895, entire control 
of the College and Hospital was as- 
sumed by the Trustees. The Col- 
lege was put under the supervision 
of a standing committee of seven 
Trustees, elected annually. Hon. 
Edwin H. Fitler had succeeded 
Judge Allison, as President of the 
Board of Trustees in 1893. After 
holding office for two years, he had 
retired, and at the time of the re- 
organization, Hon. Joseph B. 
Townsend, LL.D., was President. 
His death in 1896 left a vacancy 
which was filled by the election 
of Hon. William Potter. President 
Potter, unlike his venerable pre- 
decessors was in the prime of life. 
In carrying out his College and 
Hospital enterprises, he had need 
for all his native energy and ten- 
acity of purpose. 

In 1892 the maternity ward was 
removed from its cramped and un- 
suitable quarters in the Hospital, 
to a rented building, at 327 Pine 
Street. It was soon found that this 
building was overtaxed and accord- 
ingly a more commodius house at 
224 South Seventh Street, was 
taken in the autumn of 1894. 



In 1891 a Training 



School for 
Nurses was established in connec- 
tion with the Hospital. 

In the winter of 1897 occurred 
the death of Professor Theophilus 
Parvin. The vacant chair was filled 
by giving to the Clinical Profes- 
sor, Dr. Edward P. Davis, the title 
of Professor of Obstetrics. In 1897, 
Prof. F. X. Dercum was given a 
seat in the faculty with the title 
of Professor of Neurology and 
Mental Diseases. At the same time 
Prof. J. Chalmers Da Costa was 
elected to share in the didactic 
work with duties as a member of 
the faculty. His title was Profes- 
sor of the Principles of Surgery 
and Clinical Surgery. 

On December 17, 1905, occurred 
the death of Professor Forbes, at 
the age of seventy-four. The course 
of lectures in Anatomy for the re- 
mainder of the session were de- 
livered by Dr. Addinell Hewson. 

Dr. Edward A. Spitzka, from 
Columbia University, was made 
Professor of General Anatomy. 



1 






PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



39 



Dr. George McClellan, a grandson 
of the founder, was elected Profes- 
sor of Applied Anatomy. Upon 
the death of Professor Brinton, at 
seventy-three, on March 18, 1909, 
Dr. John Gibbon was elected his 
successor. Doctor Brinton had 
graduated at the College fifty-seven 
years before, and through all that 
time was connected with its teach- 
ing corps, with the exception of 
the Civil War period, when he 
served as Surgeon and Medical Di- 
rector in the Federal Army. 

Having established laboratories 
and some of the clinics in the old 
building it was soon found that, al- 
though the Hospital congestion 
had been relieved somewhat, every 
inch of floor space was occupied 
and more room demanded. The 
urgency of this need developed a 
more far-reaching plan which 
would provide for the needs for 
a new building. This great hope 
began to be realized in the erec- 
tion of the present Medical Hall 
and was begun in the summer of 
1898. A year later the building was 
completed and the Class of 1899, 
numbering 85, was the first class 
to graduate from the new struc- 
ture. 

A great modern hospital was 
projected to supplement the new 
Medical Hall, the ground for that 
purpose being the site of the old 
College building, extending from 
Tenth to Juvenal Streets and from 
Sansom to Moravian Streets. The 
new structure, costing over $1,500,- 
000, was completed and opened on 
June 7, 1907. 

In 1906 the office of Sub-Dean 
was created and Dr. Ross V. Pat- 
terson was chosen for the place. 
Doctor Patterson was a graduate 
of the Class of 1904. 

On December 28, 1906, after 
twenty-seven years of active serv- 
ice as a teacher, Doctor Keen re- 
signed as Professor of Surgery. 
In December, 1908, after a period 
of thirty years as a teacher in the 
College, Dr. Henry C. Chapman re- 
signed the Chair. Doctor Chap- 
man died on September 10, 1909. 
In April of this year the Chair of 
Bacteriology and Hygiene was 
created with a seat in the faculty 
and Dr. Randle C. Rosenberger 



was elected to the place. At the 
same time, Doctor Albert P. Bru- 
baker was elected to the full Pro- 
fessorship of Physiology and 
Medical Jurisprudence. 

The most munificent gift to the 
College, was that of Mr. Daniel 
Baugh, a member of the Board of 
Trustees, in 1911, in presenting a 
building with its entire equip- 
ment, which the Trustees have 
named in honor of its founder the 
"Daniel Baugh Institute of Ana- 
tomy of Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege." This building was dedicated 
on September 26, 1911. 

In February, 1910, Dr. W. 
Joseph Hearn was made an Emeri- 
tus Professor of Clinical Surgery, 
and in March, 1910, Dr. Francis T. 
Stewart was elected Professor of 
Clinical Surgery. Dr. James C. 
Wilson resigned the Chair of Prac- 
tice of Medicine, to take effect at 
the close of the session of 1910- 
1911. Dr. James W. Holland re- 
signed as Professor of Medical 
Chemistry and Toxicology. 

With the opening of the session 
of 1912-1913, several changes in 
the faculty occurred. Dr. Thomas 
McCrae, Associate Professor of 
Medicine in the Johns Hopkins 
Medical School, was elected to suc- 
ceed Doctor Wilson, as the head of 
the Department of Medicine. 
Philip B. Hawk, M.S., Ph.D., was 
elected to the vacancy caused by 
the resignation of Doctor Holland. 
Dr. Hiram R. Loux, for many years 
assistant to Dr. Orville Horwitz, 
Professor of Genito-Urinary Sur- 
gery, was elected to succeed him 
upon his resignation in May, 1912. 
Doctor Horwitz died on January 
28, 1913. 

Beginning with the academic 
year, 1913-1914, a Medical Prepar- 
atory Course in Physics, Chem- 
istry, Biology and German, was 
given in the College, under the im- 
mediate supervision of the faculty. 
This course was discontinued with 
the ending of the 1915-1916 ses- 
sion, and announcement was made 
that after January 1, 1917, the re- 
quirements for admission would 
be two years of study in an ap- 
proved college of Arts and Sciences 
with specified courses in Physics, 
Chemistry and Biology. 



The clinical facilities in the De- 
partment of Medicine were ex- 
tended in 1913 by the acquisition 
of the old Phipps Institute prop- 
erty at 236 and 238 Pine Street. 
These buildings were completely 
renovated and modernized and 
now constitute the Department for 
Diseases of the Chest. Modern 
facilities are provided for mem- 
bers of the third and fourth year 
classes for group teaching and in- 
dividual study of ward and ambu- 
latory patients. The department 
is under the Department of Medi- 
cine of the Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege. The Medical Director is Dr. 
Burgess L. Gordon. 

Commencing with the session of 
1914-1915, Dr. Jacob Parsons 
Schaeffer, Professor of Anatomy 
in Yale University, was elected to 
the Chair of Anatomy and Direc- 
tor of the Daniel Baugh Institute 
of Anatomy, made vacant by the 
resignation of Dr. Edward A. 
Spitzka in May, 1914. 

After serving as Dean of the Col- 
lege for twenty-nine years, Profes- 
sor James W. Holland relin- 
quished this post, and in July, 
1916, Dr. Ross V. Patterson was 
made Dean. 

The death of Prof. D. Braden 
Kyle, who occupied the Chair of 
Laryngology for twenty years, oc- 
curred on October 23, 1916. Dr. 
Chevalier Jackson, of Pittsburgh, 
was elected to fill his place. 

Dr. H. Augustus Wilson, Profes- 
sor of Orthopedic Surgery, 
resigned his chair in 1918 and was 
succeeded by Dr. J. Torrance 
Rugh. Dr. Henry W. Stelwagon, 
Professor of Dermatology, resigned 
in 1918, and Dr. Jay F. Schamberg 
filled this vacancy for the session, 
1918-1919, holding the Chair for 
one year. Dr. Frank C. Knowles 
was elected Professor of Dermatol- 
ogy in 1919. 

The Samuel Gustine Thompson 
Annex to the Jefferson Hospital 
was opened November 1, 1924. It 
was erected on the site of the first 
Jefferson Hospital Building and 
the old Clinical Amphitheatre, 
built in 1877. It occupies a plot 
of ground 107 feet by 107 feet, and 
consists of sixteen stories. A new 
teaching Clinical Amphitheatre 



■"'~*mfz;.. ■ 



^Wfflf^ '"" — 



■ JJUlUljlLJLl- l ilJUW J j J.U .L I J, 



££uais6Bi^£ 



rin niin lnrrFiiii 







40 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



with a seating capacity for 550 
persons is located at the southeast 
corner of the building, extending 
from the basement through the 
first and the second floors. Rooms 
adjacent to it will provide every 
facility for the preparation of pa- 
tients for operations and demon- 
strations, with retiring rooms for 
members of the Staff. The new 
building includes a Maternity De- 
partment and Bronchoscopic 
Wards providing the most modern 
facilities for the care of patients 
and the instruction of students. A 
new Clinical Laboratory is located 
upon the roof of this building with 
provision for the practical instruc- 
tion of students in this important 
adjunct of medical diagnosis. 

The Accident Department, oc- 
cupying detached fully equipped 
quarters, maintains two motor 
ambulances and affords every facil- 
ity for the prompt reception and 
treatment of recent injuries. 
Through this Department all ac- 
cident cases are admitted; during 
the year ending May 31, 1928, 18,- 
698 emergency cases were cared 
for by this service. The Out-Pa- 
tient service of the Jefferson Hos- 
pital is one of the largest in the 
world. 

It was due to the efforts of Hon. 
William Potter, President of the 
Board of Trustees, that Jefferson 
Medical College, in later years, 
grew to be one of the greatest 
Medical Schools in this country. 
Not only did he give his time, but 
was most generous in his gifts to 
the College and Hospital. Mr. Pot- 
ter was admired, esteemed and be- 
loved by all. He was elected a 
Trustee in 1894 and became Presi- 
dent of the Board of Trustees in 
1897. Until his death, on April 
29, 1926, he labored strenuously 
and faithfully in behalf of the in- 
stitution. 



Alba B. Johnson, LL.D., became 
President of the Board of Trustees 
of the Jefferson Medical College 
in 1926, following the death of Mr. 
Potter. He had previously served 
as a member of the Board of 
Trustees since 1904. Ever active in 
promoting the interests of the Col- 
lege, Mr. Johnson looked forward 
to a "Greater Jefferson" and 
through his efforts and the support 
of the entire body of Trustees of 
the Jefferson Medical College 
there is under construction one of 
the most up-to-date Medical Col- 
leges in this country. 

THE NEW COLLEGE AND 
CLINICAL BUILDINGS 

The building has a frontage of 
two hundred and sixty feet on 
Walnut Street by a depth of one 
hundred and eight feet: it cost ap- 
proximately three million dollars, 
and is erected upon a plot of 
ground valued at one million dol- 
lars. 

Seven floors, including the first 
six and the ground floor, have been 
definitely allocated. The seventh, 
eighth and two tower floors are 
available for future development. 
A large lecture auditorium occu- 
pies the central part of the ground 
and the first floors. On the west 
side of the ground floor are locker 
accommodations, a lounging room 
for students, and a meeting room 
for the various student organiza- 
tions. On the east side a room for 
general storage and a stockroom 
for the library, which will house 
over thirty-eight thousand volumes. 

The Library is particularly note- 
worthy for its spaciousness and 
beauty of design. It will provide 
ample space to house the books and 
comfortably seat one hundred and 
thirty readers. The Florentine de- 



sign of the room effects a combina- 
tion of rare beauty and utility. 

Two lecture rooms occupy the 
west part of the second floor. On 
the east side, above the library, 
there is an assembly or recreation 
hall, having a capacity large 
enough to seat the entire student 
body and faculty. 

One part of the third floor 
is devoted to Chemistry; labora- 
tories, a recitation and demonstra- 
tion room, hall lockers, (for the 
use of students who are in chem- 
istry section; similar lockers are 
provided on each laboratory 
floor) ; a recitation room and de- 
partment offices. The other part of 
the floor is given to Clinical 
Medicine. 

The departments of Physiology 
and Pharmacology occupy the 
fourth floor. The Pathology De- 
partment and the Museum will be 
found on the fifth floor. The Bac- 
teriology Department and facilities 
for research, individual rooms and 
provisions for housing animals for 
experimental purposes, occupy the 
sixth floor. 

The left wing will make provi- 
sion for the heating plant of the en- 
tire group of Hospital and College 
buildings; adequate provision for 
the Accident Department; lecture 
rooms and laboratories for the 
Nurses' Training School, which 
now has enrolled two hundred and 
thirty pupil nurses; and ample 
space for the out-patient service of 
every Department of the College 
and Hospital, special attention be- 
ing given for teaching facilities in 
each department. 

Thus the completed new building 
has adequate accommodations for 
all College activities, and gives 
Jefferson one of the best and most 
modern medical buildings in this 
country. 



i 



npmpRS 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



41 



The Hahnemann Medical College 

of Philadelphia 



THE Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege of Philadelphia is the 
oldest homoeopathic medical 
college in existence. It was incor- 
porated as the Homoeopathic Medi- 
cal College of Pennsylvania, April 
8, 1848, and opened its doors for 
instruction the fall of that year. 
In April, 1869, consolidation of the 
Homoeopathic Medical College of 
Pennsylvania and the Hahnemann 
Medical College of Philadelphia 
was authorized and effected under 
the new corporate name of The 
Hahnemann Medical College of 
Philadelphia. In 1885 the corpora- 
tion of the Hahnemann Medical 
College and Hospital of Philadel- 
phia was brought by merger into 
existence and located at its present 
site. In 1916, the Trustees and 
Faculty were completely reorgan- 
ized under a new charter, the pro- 
visions of which allow many de- 
sirable and valuable educational 
improvements. 

In 1928, the old college was 
razed and replaced by a modern, 
twenty story hospital. The old hos- 
pital was then altered and adapted 
to provide most suitable quarters 
for the college. Both college and 
hospital now have the advantage 
of much increased space and 
equipment definitely directed to- 
ward the improvement of medical 
teaching. The College and Hos- 
pital are one corporation under a 
single Board of Trustees. Like- 
wise, the Faculty of the Medical 
School and the Staff of the Hos- 
pital are one. The advantages of 
such co-ordination are numerous 
and obvious. 

During the first years of this col- 
lege, the requirements for admis- 
sion and the duration of courses, 
though they corresponded approxi- 
mately with those of contempo- 
raneous medical schools, were lax 
compared with the rigid require- 
ments of today. These changes, as 
usual, came about gradually. In 
1886, three years, and in 1894, four 



years of study became compulsory. 
In 1908, the requirements for ad- 
mission included a standard four- 
year, high-school course. In 1913, 
one year of acceptable collegiate 
work was added, and in 1918, two 
years of collegiate study were 
necessary. Today two years of col- 
lege work is the minimum and 
preference is given to those appli- 
cants with more preparation. The 
Medical School offers a standard 
four years' course. The academic 
year begins the first Tuesday in 
October and ends the second 
Thursday in June. There is twelve 
days' Christmas recess. Commence- 
ment is held the second Thursday 
in June, at which time the success- 
ful graduation candidate has con- 
ferred upon him the degree of 
"Doctor of Medicine" and the spe- 
cial degree of "Doctor of Homoeo- 
pathic Medicine," this college con- 
ferring both degrees by the pro- 
vision of its charter granted by the 
State of Pennsylvania. 

It is the prime object of this 
school to give a broad and 
thorough medical education, and, 
to this end, it has availed itself of 
the benefits derived from the most 
recent advances in medical teach- 
ing and scientific equipment, while 
not departing from that conserva- 
tion which gives stability, nor 
standardizing its course to the ex- 
tinction of initiative. The facilities 
of the institution and the methods 
of instruction are given in detail 
later. 

Special attention is directed to 
the Department of Materia Medica 
and Therapeutics. The materia 
medica of Hahnemann, Hering, 
Dunham and other noted investi- 
gators is thoroughly elucidated 
throughout the course, and a num- 
ber of enthusiastic and experi- 
enced clinical teachers demonstrate 
the principles and efficiency of 
homoeopathy in practical work. 
The magnificent endowment of Mr. 
Walter E. Hering has established 



for all time the Constantine Hering 
Chair of Homoeopathic Materia 
Medica and Therapeutics, an im- 
mediate outgrowth of which is the 
Hering Research Laboratory. 

THE college building is five 
stories high and contains six 
lecture rooms, a large library 
and museum, laboratories of chem- 
istry, pharmacology, anatomy, 
physiology, pathology and bacteri- 
ology, animal quarters, rooms for 
operative surgery and practical ob- 
stetrics, offices for administration, 
faculty and reading rooms. 

In the basement is a lecture 
room, the hospital autopsy room, 
students' recreation rooms and ac- 
commodations for lockers. The 
front of the first floor is occupied 
in one wing by the administrative 
offices and in the other by the De- 
partment of Materia Medica and 
the Hering Laboratory. The Her- 
ing Laboratory, endowed by Mr. 
Walter E. Hering, has in past years 
investigated the properties of 
homoeopathic drugs, with special 
reference to their effects on the 
healthy human body. A number 
of proving squads are arranged 
every year, and with its recent re- 
organization and increased person- 
nel, a much wider scope of labo- 
ratory study is possible. The 
middle and north of the first floor 
houses the library. The remainder 
of the floor is occupied by the De- 
partment of Pathology and Bac- 
teriology. For this work there are 
two large laboratories and two 
smaller ones. Also preparation 
rooms, stock rooms, photographic 
room and private quarters. The 
department passes, in the rear, di- 
rectly into the hospital laboratories 
and these in turn into the hospital, 
permitting and encouraging corre- 
lation of clinical and pathological 
material. 

The second floor is devoted en- 
tirely to anatomy. Isolated in the 
front are the laboratories of gross 



'""imfc... 



-^ — -T- — ~- -~- 



SS3=== 



' 



iSamm 






42 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 




HAHNEMANN COLLEGE AND HOSPITAL 
Broad above Race Street 



=7 ■— ; — 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor/</'5 Medical Centre 



43 



anatomy. In the rear are the labo- 
ratories of histology and embry- 
ology, and a large lecture room. 
On the southern side are private 
and preparation rooms. On the 
north side is the museum contain- 
ing many wet and dry specimens, 
models and plates especially 
adapted for teaching. One speci- 
men is worthy of special mention, 
the dissection of the entire cere- 
brospinal nervous system by Dr. 
Rufus B. Weaver. 

The third floor is occupied by 
the Department of Chemistry. 
There is one large and one small 
lecture room. There are four stu- 
dent laboratories and private offices 
and laboratories for the staff. 
There are also two balance rooms, 
a Kjeldahl room, a digestion room 
and large stock rooms. 

The fourth floor houses the De- 
partment of Physiology. The front 
is arranged for students' labora- 
tories and very completely equip- 
ped. In the rear are two lecture 
rooms. The rest of the floor is 
occupied by a research laboratory, 
a special laboratory for electro- 
cardiography, stock-room, work 
shop and instructors' offices. On 
the fifth floor are quarters for ob- 
stetrical laboratory instruction and 
three animal rooms. 

The College Library may be di- 
vided into two departments. One 
containing about 15,000 volumes, is 
especially of historical interest. 
Here are found Dr. Hering's most 
complete collection of the writings 
of Paracelsus; Dr. A. R. Thomas' 
collection of very old and rare 
anatomical books; all of Hahne- 
mann's works in the original; and 
the most complete library of 
homoeopathic literature in ex- 
istence. The other, by virtue of re- 
arrangement and additions, consti- 
tutes a valuable working library 
and reading room for students. 
Here are found the later volumes 
and editions on the major and 
minor subjects of medicine, to- 



gether with a file of the principal 
medical and scientific journals. In- 
vestigation in medical literature is 
considered an essential part of the 
college course. 

In addition to the main College 
Library, the college laboratories 
and hospital clinic rooms possess, 
in many instances, small reference 
libraries appropriate to the sub- 
jects studied and immediately 
available to the student. 

The new Hahnemann Hospital, 
fronting on Broad Street, was 
opened September 29, 1928. This 
ultra-modern structure is twenty 
floors high and has a total capacity 
of 700 beds, 370 of which are pub- 
lic. Everything and anything that 
can aid and further the diagnosis 
and treatment of disease and the 
comfort of the patient are found 
in this building. 

With the very much enlarged 
facilities over 10,000 bed patients 
per year are being treated. In the 
out-patient department, 15,000 pa- 
tients made 63,000 visits during the 
past year. In the first-aid depart- 
ment, 16,000 persons received 
emergency care. This enormous 
amount of clinical material is di- 
rectly available for teaching pur- 
poses and is used constantly. 

Part of the first and all of the 
second floor are devoted to out- 
patients, and accommodate, besides 
quarters for the various depart- 
ments, electrocardiographic, fluo- 
roscopic, basal metabolism and 
clinical laboratories. On the third 
floor are seventeen rooms equipped 
in every detail for all kinds of 
fluoroscopic, radiographic and 
therapeutic work. Adjoining the 
Department of Roentgenology is 
the Radium Department. Isolated 
on the same floor are the birth 
rooms. There are also on this floor 
six surgical operating rooms, in- 
cluding special rooms for urologi- 
cal and orthopedic work, both of 
which have the very latest roent- 



genological apparatus. These oper- 
ating units of the new building are 
on the same level and in direct 
communication with the operating 
rooms and clinic on the second 
floor of Clinical Hall. All of this 
part of the old building has been 
altered and rebuilt to merge into 
one large operating floor. The ad- 
vantage of this arrangement with 
the roentgenological department 
on the same floor and the clinical 
and pathological laboratory of the 
hospital on the floor immediately 
beneath is apparent. The clinical 
laboratory of the hospital, which 
occupies the first floor of Clinical 
Hall, enjoys a new and complete 
equipment through the generosity 
of Miss Lydia T. Morris. The large 
surgical clinic, known as the Wil- 
liam L. Elkins Memorial Amphi- 
theatre, the gift of Mrs. George D. 
Widener, remains as it was, but 
this clinic along with the nine 
other operating rooms, have the 
benefit of the latest types of tables, 
electrical appliances and illumina- 
tion. They are all supplied with 
nitrous-oxide, oxygen, vacuum and 
air pressure, piped from a central 
plant in the basement. The clini- 
cal amphitheatre is also furnished 
with modern moving picture ma- 
chinery, furnished by Mr. Walter 
E. Hering and Mr. Chas. S. 
Hebard. 

On the fourth floor are 64 ob- 
stetrical beds and 47 cribs. The 
fifth floor is surgical and has 78 
beds. On the sixth floor are 78 
medical beds. The seventh floor is 
divided into two definite separated 
parts, one with 42 children's beds 
and the other with 31 gynecologi- 
cal beds. The eighth floor has 29 
more surgical beds. All the fore- 
going are public wards and rooms 
used for clinical teaching and each 
floor has one or more assembly 
rooms for students in sub-clinics. 

To the north of the college are 
three large buildings which house 
the nurse and interne staff. 



I ,;,;.,.. -. 



.k : --■■■- -J g l i -. ' . - i- ! . l --i l "-JUM^^JJ T 



mm-m*mmmm»m 



^^^^^^ 



■ mm 



^s 




44 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Temple University Medical School 



THE School of Medicine of 
Temple College was organized 
in 1901. It was not until 1907 
that the name of the institution 
was changed to Temple University. 
There were 31 students matricu- 
lated for the session 1901-1902. 
The first graduating class consisted 



the school's first female graduates. 
This school of medicine was the 
first co-educational medical school 
to be established in Pennsylvania. 
In 1907 the Philadelphia Dental 
College and Garretson Hospital be- 
came affiliated with Temple Uni- 
versity and the commodious dental 



the honor of being the first to 
graduate under the long sought for 
rating. The prophetic dream of 
Founder Russell H. Conwell, 
finally had come true. 

The Samaritan Hospital is the 
teaching hospital of the medical 
school and affords 330 beds. The 






'"IfcflSKfciKiw* 



ftp FV!^fetep F; SripS#%i^ 



**mrr 



FT^'iEf^n^ 




Architect: William H. Lee, Philadelphia 



TEMPLE UNIVERSITY MEDICAL SCHOOL 
Broad Street and Montgomery Avenue 



This modern building being built at a cost of over one million dollars for the study of medicine and research 



of two men, who had been admit- 
ted to advanced standing and were 
graduated in 1904. Two more grad- 
uates went forth in the class of 
1905. Of these first four heroic 
pioneers, but one is now living, 
Dr. Ferdinand Dammasch, of Port- 
land, Oregon. There were four- 
teen in the third graduating class, 
two of whom — Sara Allen and 
Mary E. Sheperd (deceased) were 



building became the home of the 
School of Medicine. The former 
Garretson Hospital building is now 
occupied exclusively by the depart- 
ments of Anatomy, Physiology, 
Chemistry, Bacteriology and Path- 
ology and Pharmacology. 

The rating of the school of 
medicine was advanced to Class 
"A" in June, 1928 and the forty- 
nine graduates of that year, had 



former Greatheart Maternity Hos- 
pital, now known as the Garretson- 
Greatheart Hospital, carries the 
bulk of the load in teaching obstet- 
rics. 

The students are also assigned 
to the Philadelphia General Hos- 
pital, the Philadelphia Hospital 
for Contagious Diseases, the Jew- 
ish Hospital and the Eagleville 
Sanatorium for instruction in the 



-*^-~7 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



45 



operating rooms and the bedside. 

The new medical school build- 
ing is being erected at Broad and 
Ontario Streets, opposite to the 
Samaritan Hospital. 

Beginning with the session 1929- 
1930, the number of admissions to 
the first and second year classes 
will be increased from sixty to one 
hundred. 

This medical school is co-educa- 
tional. The course is of four years' 



duration of eight and a half 
months each. The entrance re- 
quirements are two years of col- 
lege study, including the sciences, 
English and a modern language. 

The course of instruction is a 
carefully graded and eminently 
practical one. The fundamental 
branches are correlated during the 
first two years with full laboratory 
courses. During the junior and 
senior years the practical subjects 



are correlated which scheme is fol- 
lowed where possible by the spe- 
cialists. For practical teaching at 
the bedside and in the dispensaries 
the classes are divided into small 
sections, so that individual teach- 
ing is possible. There are two hos- 
pitals directly under the control 
of the faculty. 

The new college building will 
be ready for occupancy September, 
1930. 



-e^D- 



History of the Aid Association 

of Philadelphia 



By JAMES M. ANDERS, M.D., Sc.D., LL.D. 



TIME and events have abun- 
dantly proven that the Aid 
Association of Philadelphia 
has been fruitful of unique and 
noble achievements. And whilst 
it will not be possible to give the 
details of the philanthropic work 
of this organization within the lim- 
its of this paper, it is hoped that 
its principal activities and achieve- 
ments, in more or less chronologic 
order, can be presented. It is 
pleasing to note that there are to 
be found in the medical profession 
those who have a burning passion 
for helping needy members and 
their dependents; that brotherly 
love and mutual helpfulness are 
among the noble characteristics of 
our guild. 

In February, 1878, Dr. Henry H. 
Smith, President of the Philadel- 
phia County Medical Society, in- 
augurated a movement for the 
"establishment of a 'Beneficial 
Fund' for the relief of the families 
of such members as may require 
the fostering care of the Society." 

On May 6, 1878, the organization 
of a Mutual Aid Association was 
approved and completed by the 
Philadelphia County Medical So- 
ciety, which further recommended 
its beneficial objects to the 
members. Its organization was 
promptly effected and called the 



Mutual Aid Association of the 
Philadelphia County Medical So- 
ciety; and it was incorporated on 
the 25th of September of the same 
year (1878), (a charter having 
been granted by the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas of the City of Philadel- 
phia) and marked a step of 
epochal significance in the history 
of the parent Society. 

The purpose of the Association 
is purely benevolent; it offers pe- 
cuniary relief to needy physicians 
and their dependents, including 
the widows and orphans, without 
being harassed by canvass or dis- 
tressed by publicity. Unfortu- 
nately, the purpose of the Asso- 
ciation has not always been fully 
understood, since applications have 
been received from time to time 
for a loan to tide needy persons 
over temporary difficulties; to such 
it has been explained that the As- 
sociation is prepared only to give 
aid outright to the needy without 
expectation of its return. The fact, 
however, is to be stressed that the 
Association is the only resource of 
the profession in times of financial 
trouble. 

The organization has, from the 
beginning, consisted of a President, 
Vice-President, Treasurer, Secre- 
tary, a Board of Directors, of 
twelve members, and various stand- 



ing committees, the chief one of 
which is the Committee on Benevo- 
lence. The Treasurer's accounts 
have been regularly audited by a 
Certified Public Accountant. 

All members of the Philadelphia 
County Medical Society were eligi- 
ble to membership in the Mutual 
Aid Association. The benefactions 
for a considerable period of time 
after the organization was effected 
and incorporated, were "paid at 
Christmas and at the end of June"; 
and orphan annuitants were given 
a sum of money as an "outfit" 
when they (reached the period of 
life at which the annuity ceased. 
In order tof enable the Society to 
carry on its* work the members of 
the Philadelphia County Medical 
Society were earnestly requested 
to join, since — during the earlier 
years of its life — its sole financial 
assets were the dues of the mem- 
bers. And to the undying credit 
of the founder, Dr. H. H. Smith, 
be it said, that he repeatedly urged 
the claims of the Mutual Aid Asso- 
ciation upon the members of the 
Philadelphia County Medical So- 
ciety. These efforts to arouse in- 
terest were uniformly supple- 
mented during the last quarter of 
a century by giving the affairs of 
the Association suitable mention 
in the Weekly Roster and Medical 



- — I^^MMM j 



immmmm&m 



■ '"^TfC^ vnt - 



46 



PHILADELPHI A— W or Id's Medical Centre 



Digest, thanks to the editors of 
that periodical. The response to 
such appeals, however, was not as 
prompt and satisfactory as was ex- 
pected by the small coterie of the 
members, who were keenly inter- 
ested in the aims and objects of 
this altruistic movement. 

At first only the contributing 
members were allowed to partici- 
pate in its benefits. Later, these 
were extended to all members of 
the Philadelphia County Medical 
Society and their families. After 
the change of name help was also 
extended to many needy physi- 
cians or their families, not mem- 
bers of the Philadelphia County 
Medical Society. Indeed, during 
the last quarter of a century the 
benefactions have been, to a con- 
siderable extent, to those who are 
not members, its officers remem- 
bering the fact that the organizers 
and those who have succeeded 
them, have made it a part of their 
life work to create a fund with 
which to relieve professional dis- 
tress wherever found to exist. 

Here may be mentioned the fact 
that the Committee on Benevo- 
lence of the Aid Association, com- 
posed of three members, has been 
distributing help without ostenta- 
tion, no names of those aided 
being presented to the Board of 
Directors, "but only the facts con- 
cerning each person requiring as- 
sistance being given ; the Com- 
mittee alone having knowledge of 
the beneficiaries." So carefully are 
the applicants investigated by the 
Committee that none of those who 
have received financial aid have 
been found to be unworthy. This 
Committee was able to afford sub- 
stantial assistance to all applicants 
during the earlier years of the life 
of the Aid Association; during the 
last decade, however, it has been 
compelled \ to? deny assistance to 
many applicants for lack of funds. 
It would appear, therefore, that 
the financial "stress of recent years 
has been unusually great on physi- 
cians and their dependents. The 
Committee *on" Benevolence has 
further aimed to aid the benefici- 
aries and annuitants to help them- 
selves, rather than make them feel 
that they were dependent upon 
charity. 



In view of the somewhat surpris- 
ing and unusual indifference on 
the part of the medical profession 
of Philadelphia to the Aid Asso- 
ciation, more particularly during 
the first decade of its existence, 
special efforts to induce members 
of the Philadelphia County Medi- 
cal Society, not also to join, as be- 
fore stated, but also to otherwise 
aid this charitable organization, 
were made during the years 1889, 
1890 and 1891 by the Society. In- 
deed, two stated meetings of the 
Philadelphia County Medical So- 
ciety were devoted to the subject 
of this and similar organizations 
in New York and Boston. 

At a meeting held on December 
16, 1891, it was "Resolved, That 
the proceedings of this evening be 
abstracted and referred to the 
Committee on Publication; and 
that a copy of said abstract with 
an appeal to assist the Mutual Aid 
Association be sent to every mem- 
ber of the profession, in Philadel- 
phia." A few years later (1897) a 
committee was regularly appointed 
"to serve continuously for the pur- 
pose of furthering the interests of 
the Mutual Aid Association," and 
it .was further voted "that this 
committee have authority to 
change from time to time, the 
wording of the announcements 
printed upon the postal card no- 
tices of the meetings of the So- 
ciety." ' It' had long ■ been known 
to the officers, of the Aid Associa- 
tion that' there is considerable des- 
titution in the medical profession 
— more than is apparent to the 
casual' observer. Unfortunately, 
many of. those in urgent' need, of- 
ten lacking in "actual sustenance, 
are too proud to call the attention 
of their friends to their dire con- 
dition. The minutes* of the* pro- 
ceedings of the Aid Association set 
forth not only the < signal need, for 
the philanthropy ! extended, but 
also "the noble- spirit in which the 
benevolent designs are carried for- 
ward." $ 

Among the well-known physi- 
cians of Philadelphia who mani- 
fested a lively interest in those 
members of the medical profession 
who, through '' misfortune, failing 
health or the ,: infirmities of agfe, 
have fallen info poverty and dis- 
tress, or in other words, in the 



activities of the Aid Association, 
mention should be made of the 
following: J. Solis-Cohen, William 
M. Welch, Lewis H. Adler, Jacob 
R. Shellenberger, Richard A. 
Cleeman, Charles A. E. Codman, 
Oscar H. Allis, I. P. Strittmatter, 
E. J. G. Beardsley, E. E. Mont- 
gomery, Samuel W. Morton, De 
Forest Willard, James B. Walker, 
William T. Hamilton, William S. 
Wray, Samuel D. Risley, James 
Tyson, J. B. Turner, and many 
others. 

It may be stated that the real 
merits of the organization have 
never been fully recognized by the 
immense majority of the members 
of the parent Society, and that a 
surprising degree of ignorance of 
and lack of interest in, this unique 
and worthy charity, exists at pres- 
ent writing. Perhaps it would not 
be too much, however, to say that 
in recent years the spirit of broth- 
erly love and charity have been 
working their way slowly and grad- 
ually to a more gratifying extent 
among the members of the medical 
profession of Philadelphia. r 

Under date of January 15, 1902, 
the Mutual Aid Association of the 
Philadelphia County Medical So- 
ciety announced to the parent 
Society that its name henceforth 
would be "The Aid Association of 
the Philadelphia County Medical 
Society," and that provision would 
be made for broadening the charit-, i 
able work of the organization. This v - 
name is still retained by the So- 
ciety. 

There has never been the slight- 
est "business and commercial" at- 
mosphere surrounding this organi- 
zation. On the other hand, it has 
proven conducive to closer rela- 
tions between many of the mem- 
bers of the Philadelphia County 
,Medical Society, and provocative 
of an intimate, "family" feeling in 
serving their own household in 
times of need, as it were. During 
the fiscal year 1918-10, a special 
committee appointed from the 
members of the Board of Directors 
to insure closer relations between 
the Aid Association and the Phila- 
delphia County Medical Society, 
reported a donation of two hun- 
dred and fifty (250) dollars from 
the parent Society, thus showing a 






-."■ • s* 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



47 



real paternal interest in the work 
of this Association. 

At a meeting of the Aid Asso- 
ciation held on November 8, 1920, 
for the purpose of considering the 
new By-Laws, Dr. E. E. Montgom- 
ery reported that the charter had 
been secured from the Court and 
that it placed the Association in a 
position to give its financial aid to 
all members of the profession who 
may need help, without regard to 
their being members of this or- 
ganization. Thus the work and ac- 
tivities of the Aid Association were 
broadened. 

It has been a fixed policy of the 
Aid Association to expend for its 
charitable work only the income 
from its Endowment Fund, which 
it started to create immediately 
after its birth. This fund is in- 
vested in safe securities which 
yield a somewhat low rate of in- 
terest, hence, the available income 
is restricted. The growth of the 
organization during the first de- 
cade and a half was, as before in- 
timated, slow. For example, in 
1892 the treasurer's report showed 
that the total permanent fund at 
that time amounted to but $7,568. 
During the ensuing twenty-three 
years, however, or in 1915, the 
total fund had reached the sum of 
about $50,000, as the result of an 
increasing interest in the organiza- 
tion during that period. Since the 
latter date the membership roll 
has been growing somewhat more 
rapidly, although with rather 
marked variations. 

In 1910, after the death of Dr. 
De Forest Willard and of Dr. 
James Baynes Walker, two "Funds" 
were started in memory of their 
long, earnest work for the Aid As- 
sociation. These funds were to be 
allowed to accumulate until they 
reached $5,000 each, when they 
were to become operative charities. 
At present the De Forest Willard 
Fund amounts to $4,059.09, and 
the James Baynes Walker Fund to 
$3,301.93. The following legacies 
have been received: 

Estates of: 

Dr. Albert Fricke $9,679.05 

Dr. Louis A. Duhring. . 5,160.00 
Dr. George B. Dunmire 95.00 
Mrs. Adeline G. Fry. . . 1,679.79 



Mrs. Caroline Emily 

Richmond 

Dr. De Forest Willard. 
Mrs. Helen B. Roberts. 
Dr. Eugene I. Santee. . . 
Miss Henrietta M. Hays 

Mrs. John D. Moore (in 
memory of Dr. John L. 
Bromley) 

Major Henry Hatfield (in 
memory of Dr. Nathan 
L. Hatfield) 



1,000.00 
4,500.00 
1,000.00 
5,000.00 
1,000.00 



3,000.00 



5,000.00 



Dr. George Woodward. . . 1,750.00 

Mrs. John D. Moore (in 
memory of Dr. John D. 
Moore) 10,000.00 

From benefactions who pay one 
hundred (100) dollars or more 
each, the Association received $10,- 
300. From the life members who 
pay fifty (50) dollars each, $10,- 
650 was paid into the Treasury of 
the Association. At present there 
are two hundred and ten annual 
members who are paying five (5) 
dollars per annum. Thirty of the 
Annual Members, 120 Life Mem- 
bers and 48 Benefactors are de- 
ceased. 

The principal Endowment Fund 
at present writing, made up as it 
is from the above-mentioned lega- 
cies, donations and membership 
dues, now amounts to $88,935.39. 
The income from this Fund, only 
as above stated, is utilized to meet 
the material needs of members of 
the local profession and their de- 
pendents. For example, in 1928 
the chairman of the Committee on 
Benevolence, Dr. Samuel W. Mor- 
ton, reported a grand total of ben- 
efactions of $4,715. The recipients 
of aid are divided into two classes, 
namely, Annuitants and Benefici- 
aries; the former receive definite 
amounts quarterly, while the bene- 
ficiaries receive single payments in 
amounts varying all the way from 
$10 to $500. During 1928 there 
were ten Annuitants, of whom two 
died during the year, and the re- 
maining eight received $500 each. 
It may be of interest to note that 
"of the ten Annuitants, four are 
physicians, two of them suffering 
from paralysis, the third from a 
very advanced case of arthritis, the 
fourth from senile dementia. Six 
of the ten Annuitants are widows 
of physicians, three of whom were 



prime movers in and managers of 
this Association." The relief has 
been extended, not as a charity, 
but by the hand of loving friends. 
Moreover, no record has been left 
upon the books of the Society of 
the name of any beneficiary or an- 
nuitant. Again, the Association 
has never paid any rent, nor any 
salaries to officers. 

In 1912 the Aid Association con- 
sidered plans for the establishment 
of a home for aged, needy physi- 
cians. Among the most zealous 
and earnest advocates of such a 
home where members of the medi- 
cal profession and their wives 
would be cared for during their 
declining years, was the late Dr. 
Roland G. Curtin, then President 
of the Philadelphia County Medi- 
cal Society. In making a plea be- 
fore the County Medical Society he 
pointed out that "zealous ministers 
to the afflictions of the world often 
find themselves, as the evening of 
life draws on, worn out and pre- 
maturely aged by work, and with 
no financial staff to lean on, family 
needs having rapidly absorbed 
their all too scanty incomes." 

Subsequently, the Chairman of 
the Board of Directors of the Aid 
Association, Dr. Samuel D. Risley, 
stated in his annual report that a 
source of disappointment to the 
Board was the fact that the com- 
mittee to whom was intrusted the 
formulation of plans for the estab- 
lishment of a home for aged and 
indigent physicians, was not able 
to report progress because of the 
difficulty in providing for the finan- 
cial requirements. He added: "the 
urgent need for such a home was 
made obvious by the annual report 
of the Committee on Benevolence." 
Despite the enthusiasm of a few 
physicians who were keenly inter- 
ested in the movement, no further 
efforts were made, although the 
Aid Association arranged for sev- 
eral admissions of aged and indi- 
gent physicians to suitable homes 
already established. 

On the occasion of the meeting 
of the Medical Society of the State 
of Pennsylvania held in Allentown, 
Pennsylvania (1928), that organi- 
zation voted to increase the annual 
dues of members of the County 
Medical Societies of the State to 



-'■■-";- 



mmmmumSBBm 



i ; 



; 



48 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



the extent of $2.50, one of the ob- 
jects of which was to strengthen 
its Benevolent Fund; this was done 
by the Board of Trustees, who al- 
lotted one (1) dollar from each 
member's dues to that Fund. The 
income alone is used "only for the 
relief of pecuniary distress of sick 
or aged members, or the parents, 
widows, widowers or children of 
deceased members. There is a 
Benevolence Committee which has 
jurisdiction over the distribution 
of such part of the Benevolence 
Fund as may be placed in its 
hands. This Committee may so- 
licit subscriptions, donations and 
legacies to be added to the prin- 
cipal of the Medical Benevolence 
Fund. It may also receive sub- 
scriptions to be used for relief of 
members in distress from the ef- 
fects of any special catastrophe." 

Upon the basis of $1.00 for each 
member, the Philadelphia County 
Medical Society contributes about 
$2,200.00 to the Benevolence Fund 



of the Medical Society of the State 
of Pennsylvania annually. And 
since the income alone of that 
fund is available for cash benefits 
to eligible needy members and de- 
pendent relatives, those residing in 
Philadelphia are entitled to a frac- 
tion only of the amount now dis- 
tributed among worthy annuitants 
and beneficiaries in Philadelphia. 

On April 9, 1929, at the regular 
quarterly meeting of the Board of 
Directors of the Aid Association of 
the Philadelphia County Medical 
Society to Article 3 was added Sec- 
tion 3, which reads as follows: 

"No person who is an officer of 
an organization having for its ob- 
ject or one of its objects the dis- 
pensing of charity to physicians or 
their families, shall be eligible for 
election either as an officer or as 
a director of this Association." 

At the same meeting to Article 
10 was added Section 2, as follows: 

"This Association shall, during 
the term of its charter, remain in- 



dependent of all other organiza- 
tions of any kind, and no amalga- 
mation, absorption or merger shall 
ever be made with any other or- 
ganization. No agreement or un- 
derstanding with any organization 
for joint activities shall at any 
time be made." 

This action was taken with a 
view to preventing confusion of 
the work and activities of the Aid 
Association with other organiza- 
tions having similar aims. Surely 
there is room for both the Aid 
Association and the help afforded 
by the State Benevolent Fund in 
this unique field of sweet charity. 
The Aid Association still has a 
definite service to perform, and, to 
accomplish it, the help of all suc- 
cessful members of the medical 
profession of Philadelphia is ur- 
gently needed, remembering that 

"They are least to be envied 
in whose hearts the great 
charities ... lie dead." 



-e^s- 



The Philadelphia Health Council and 
Tuberculosis Committee 



THE campaign against tubercu- 
losis in Philadelphia began 
with the organization of the 
Pennsylvania Society for the Pre- 
vention of Tuberculosis in 1892. 
This was the first association for 
the prevention of this disease on 
record anywhere in the world. In- 
stitutional care of the tuberculous 
had received attention in Philadel- 
phia prior to that time, however, 
as the hospital for diseases of the 
lungs at Chestnut Hill dates back 
to 1876. 

For fifteen years the work of the 
Pennsylvania Society, maintained 
by the voluntary activities of phy- 
sicians and laymen, was chiefly 
concentrated iri Philadelphia and 
consisted of scientific study and 
popular education as to the nature 
of tuberculosis and the possibili- 
ties of its prevention. 

In 1907 the Pennsylvania Society 
began a definite campaign through- 



out the State to secure the estab- 
lishment of agencies for combating 
tuberculosis. Philadelphia shared 
in this work. Through these efforts 
in 1911 the first open-air school in 
Philadelphia was established and 
in 1914 educational and clinic 
work for combating tuberculosis 
among Negroes was undertaken 
in co-operation with work already 
begun by the Henry Phipps Insti- 
tute. Special efforts to disseminate 
information regarding tuberculosis 
among working people were made. 

A Philadelphia Committee of 
the Pennsylvania Society was 
formed in 1916 and focused its en- 
tire attention on the tuberculosis 
problem of the city, using the 
major part of the funds from the 
Christmas Seals sold in the city 
for Philadelphia work. The Phila- 
delphia Committee employed an 
executive and staff and conducted 



an active campaign against tuber- 
culosis. 

During the three years' work of 
the Philadelphia Committee of the 
Pennsylvania Society the number 
of contributors to the Christmas 
Seal sale was more than doubled, 
the staff of the organization 
greatly increased, its work ex- 
tended into various sections of the 
city and, in the last of these years, 
1919, the work of the committee 
reached nearly seven times as 
many persons as had been reached 
three years before.. 



Health Council Organized 

This steady development led to 
the separation in 1919 of the 
Philadelphia Committee from the 
Pennsylvania Society, although it 
has continued an affiliation with 
that organization and with the 



I 



! 



! 

! 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



49 



National Tuberculosis Association 
up to the present time. It became 
incorporated as the Philadelphia 
Health Council and Tuberculosis 
Committee. 

The functions of the newly or- 
ganized Health Council were con- 
ceived as broader than those of a 
tuberculosis committee. In fact, 
although the Council has con- 
tinued to function chiefly in the 
field of tuberculosis prevention. 
The word tuberculosis does not ap- 
pear in the text of its charter, 

The charter of the Health Coun- 
cil states that its purposes are "The 
promotion of the health of the 
citizens of Philadelphia by educa- 
tional and other methods as may 
from time to time be adopted, 
through the efficient administra- 
tion of the energies of private citi- 
zens in conjunction with the munic- 
ipal, state and national health 
authorities." It bears the names of 
the first directors chosen: Charles 
W. Churchman, Dr. Joseph S. Neff, 
Dr. Elmer H. Funk, Dr. Oliver P. 
Cornman, Edward C. Dale, Dr. 
Charles J. Hatfield, Mrs. Janice 
Reed Lit, Dr. H. R. M. Landis, Dr. 
Charles Scott Miller, Louis Nus- 
baum, Dr. Harry Toulmin and Dr. 
Charles H. Willits. Mr. C. W. 
Churchman served as President of 
the Council from 1919 to 1923. 

The change in the organization 
effected in 1919 did not immedi- 
ately alter the program which had 
been carried out. Health educa- 
tion, school work, special efforts 
for combating tuberculosis among 
Negroes, industrial activities, co- 
operation with the Department of 
Public Health and with other 
health and social welfare agencies, 
remained as they are today, pri- 
mary interests of the Council. 



Early Accomplishments 

A decade ago the problem of 
the undernourished school child 
claimed the attention of public 
health workers throughout the 
country. In Philadelphia the 
Health Council gave special atten- 
tion to this work for a number of 
years. It promoted the establish- 
ment of nutrition classes in the 
city schools and for more than two 



years maintained such classes until 
the value of this method of meet- 
ing the problem of the under- 
nourished child was demonstrated 
and such classes became a part of 
the public school system. 

During these years the system- 
atic measuring and weighing of 
school children was carried on in 
many schools, and information re- 
garding proper food and hygiene 
for children was carried into thou- 
sands of homes. . 

In the summer of 1920 the 
Council, with the co-operation of 
the Department of Public Wel- 
fare, established Camp Happy, a 
summer nutrition camp for under- 
nourished children. In that year 
161 children received the benefits 
of the camp. But in subsequent 
years this number was increased to 
250, 867, 744 and 1,106. In 1925 
the entire maintenance of the 
camp was transferred to the De- 
partment of Public Welfare, under 
whose auspices the camp equip- 
ment has been greatly improved 
and the number of children in- 
creased, until at the present time 
more than 3,000 children each year 
enjoy its benefits. A winter pre- 
ventorium for seriously under- 
nourished children was a part of 
the original Camp Happy plan 
and was conducted for a time but 
finally given up, as the equipment 
available did not appear to justify 
the enterprise. 

The Modern Health Crusade was 
conducted in the public schools 
for a number of years. This plan 
for teaching health habits to 
school children, using the ranking 
and symbolism of chivalry, demon- 
strated the importance of that type 
of instruction and in 1924 a course 
of study embodying the health 
teachings of the Crusade and much 
in addition was prepared by the 
school authorities and adopted as 
a part of the curriculum of the 
public schools. The Crusade was, 
therefore, discontinued in the pub- 
lic schools as no longer necessary 
but was continued in parochial 
schools where it is still carried on. 

For the purpose of stimulating 
the interest of children in health 
and nutrition, an extensive de- 
velopment of health dramatic ac- 
tivities was inaugurated and con- 



tinued for a number of years. 
Numerous plays and pageants illus- 
trating various health principles 
were prepared and presented by 
school children in most of the 
schools of the city. Hundreds of 
requests for this material from 
other localities were received. 
Later the use of health entertainers 
in schools was fostered and Cho- 
Cho and the Jolly Jester became 
the friends and inspirers of school 
children in the Crusade for health. 

A continuous health education 
campaign to inform the public and 
keep it informed regarding the 
prevalence of tuberculosis, its man- 
ner of communication and the 
methods of its prevention and cure 
was carried on by the Health 
Council during its early years and 
is still an important part of its 
activities. Motion pictures, ex- 
hibits, leaflets and health talks, 
and various other methods of 
reaching the public were in con- 
stant use. 

A Night Clinic for industrial 
workers also was an enterprise of 
the early years of the Health Coun- 
cil. This later gave place to an 
industrial program providing for 
the health examination of em- 
ployes and the systematic super- 
vision of industrial workers in the 
plants themselves with the co- 
operation of employers. 



Tuberculosis Survey of 
Philadelphia 

In 1922 a tuberculosis survey of 
Philadelphia was made under the 
auspices of the Health Council by 
Dr. Murray Horwood, of the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology. 
For the first time a comprehensive 
study was made of the tubercu- 
losis problem of Philadelphia and 
of the various agencies which had 
been developed since 1907 to meet 
this problem. 

There are two important results 
of this survey. A request by the 
State Department of Health had 
been made that Philadelphia as- 
sume the maintenance of the tuber- 
culosis clinics which had been 
established and conducted for a 
number of years by the State De- 



■ „■,,■,.-. 



wmmmmmmmm. 



tff&iV?'- 



mm '•-Qmyi 



50 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



partment in the city. Following 
the recommendation of Dr. Hor- 
wood's survey this was done, and 
a Division of Tuberculosis in the 
Department of Public Health was 
established to take over these 
clinics and conduct them. In con- 
nection with this a corps of tuber- 
culosis nurses, including those who 
had been in State service, were also 
employed by the city. 

Another outcome of this survey 
was the expansion of the program 
of the Health Council and the or- 
ganization of its work in 1923 into 
departments or services which 
have since been maintained. At 
that time a statistical and research 
service was begun for the study of 
health conditions and the more 
effective planning of work. Some 
of the accomplishments since that 
time follow. 



Negro Clinic and Nursing 
Service 

The increase in the Negro popu- 
lation of the city during the last 
ten years, and the high mortality 
from tuberculosis among them, has 
demanded increased efforts to com- 
bat the disease among this part of 
the population. These efforts are 
needed not only for the sake of 
the Negro people but also in the 
interest of the health of the city as 
a whole. The wide employment of 
Negroes throughout the city, fre- 
quently in occupations involving 
personal service and the prepara- 
tion and handling of food, renders 
the problem of tuberculosis among 
them peculiarly a community 
problem. 

In order to correlate efforts in 
this field, a co-operative arrange- 
ment under the name of the Negro 
Bureau was effected between the 
Henry Phipps Institute, the Chest 
Department of the Jefferson Hos- 
pital, the Whittier Centre and the 
Health Council. Since 1923 under 
this arrangement the clinic and 
nursing service carried on by the 
Health Council as part of the Bu- 
reau work has been expanded each 
year. That work constitutes one of 
the most effective pieces of tubercu- 
losis prevention done anywhere in 
the city and has proved to be a 
model for similar activities in 



other localities. Four clinics are 
now maintained by the Bureau, 
with Negro physicians and nurses. 
Each year more than 10,000 phy- 
sicians' examinations and 16,000 
nurses' home visits are made. For 
two years the Health Council 
maintained a special educational 
worker to stimulate interest and a 
sense of responsibility of health 
matters on the part of the Negro 
population. 



Sun-Cure Service 

A demonstration of the sun-cure 
for children with tuberculosis of 
the bones, joints and glands was 
undertaken in 1925 in co-operation 
with the Home for Consumptives, 
Chestnut Hill, and is still being 
carried on. This appealing work 
has been signally successful and, 
under the present arrangement, 
will continue until the end of 1930. 



Heart Disease Prevention 

A co-operative arrangement was 
made in 1925 with the Philadel- 
phia Heart Association. By this 
the Health Council agreed to assist 
that Association in educational 
work on the prevention of heart 
disease and by establishing a 
Placement Service. This service 
finds suitable positions for persons 
with tuberculosis in arrested forms 
and also for persons with heart 
defects referred by the clinics 
fostered by the Heart Association. 



Health Work in Industry 

In 1923 the Council began as a 
part of its industrial program 
making health examinations of em- 
ployes as a demonstration in plants 
with less than 300 workers. By 
this means cases of tuberculosis 
were discovered, the need and value 
of health work in industry shown, 
and intensive health education 
work carried out. This was done 
in some 40 plants during the next 
two years, 3,800 employes being 
examined. 

At the same time a survey to 
determine the extent of medical 
work in Philadelphia industries 
was made. This showed that while 



many of the large plants main- 
tained such departments, they 
were almost entirely lacking in 
plants with less than 500 employes. 



Joint Health Service 

On the basis of this study and 
of the experience found in making 
health examinations, which showed 
clearly the need for regular and 
systematic service in smaller plants, 
the Council worked out a plan for 
joint health service in groups of 
small plants. Through the co- 
operation of employers who were 
willing to bear the expense of the 
medical and nursing service in 
their plants and to provide a clinic 
room, the Council has been able 
to demonstrate the practicability 
of such a joint health service to 
20 plants with a total of approxi- 
mately 6,000 employes. 

After a period during which this 
joint service is administered by the 
Health Council it is turned over to 
the groups of plants. This has 
been done in all but one group of 
plants and efforts are now being 
made to secure additional demon- 
stration plants. Under the Coun- 
cil's administration this service has 
proved of much value in the dis- 
covery of tuberculosis, improve- 
ment of the health of employes 
and of working conditions. It is 
believed that these medical de- 
partments established in industry 
will prove to be permanent centers 
of much value in the prevention 
of tuberculosis. 



Tuberculosis Deaths by 
Districts 

A study of tuberculosis deaths in 
the city according to census enu- 
meration districts was made in 
1926 by the Statistical Service of 
the Council. Maps showing the 
death rates in each of the 1800 
census enumeration districts were 
prepared. This is the most inten- 
sive study of the location of tuber- 
culosis throughout the city which 
has ever been made. Similar 
studies have been made in New 
York City and Chicago, but had 
never before been attempted in 
Philadelphia. For purposes of this 
study the city was divided into six 
districts. 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor/^5 Medical Centre 



51 



Associate Members 

In 1927 the Council took action 
providing for the appointment of 
groups of Associate Members in 
each of these districts. This has 
been done in five of the six dis- 
tricts and is nearly completed in 
the other. The data secured by the 
study just mentioned are being 
brought before the Associate Mem- 
bers in each district as a stimulus 
to efforts against this disease in 
their own localities. 



Present Program 

The present activities of the 
Health Council include the follow- 
ing services: (1) Health Educa- 
tion, (2) Negro Clinic and Visiting 
Nursing, (3) Child Health, (4) In- 
dustrial Health, (5) Placement 
Work, (6) Statistics and Research, 
(7) Co-operation in prevention of 
Heart Disease, (8) Co-operation in 
Control of Cancer, (9) Christmas 
Seal Sale. With the exception of 
the industrial health service, which 
is partly self-supporting, all the ac- 
tivities of the Health Council are 
maintained solely by the annual 
sale of Christmas Seals. 



Decline of Tuberculosis in 
Philadelphia 

During the eleven years since the 
Health Council was formed the 
death rate from tuberculosis in 



Philadelphia has declined from 
162 per 100,000 eleven years ago 
to 80 in 1929. 

The factors which have brought 
about this decline are many. Im- 
provements in economic and liv- 
ing conditions, the work of the 
Department of Public Health and 
the establishment of its Division of 
Tuberculosis, the efforts of the 
medical profession and the expan- 
sion of agencies aiding in the treat- 
ment and prevention of this 
disease, have all played their part. 

A telling part also has been 
played by the Philadelphia Health 
Council and Tuberculosis Commit- 
tee during the ten years in which 
it has served the citizens of Phila- 
delphia. 



The Fight Not Yet Won 

A special committee of the 
Health Council recently made a 
study of the tuberculosis situation 
in Philadelphia and of the volume 
of work of the various activities 
carried on to combat the disease. 
This committee consisted of Dr. E. 
H. Funk, Chairman; Dr. Oliver P. 
Cornman, Dr. Charles J. Hatfield, 
Dr. H. R. M. Landis and Dr. 
Thomas McCrae, assisted by the 
Director of the Council. It pointed 
out some of the needs which must 
be met and concluded with these 
words: "The fight against tuber- 
culosis in Philadelphia is a win- 
ning fight. But it has not yet been 



won. The hardest part of the 
struggle may still lie in the future." 

The report of this study which 
was adopted by the Philadelphia 
Tuberculosis Conference of that 
year spoke as follows of the future 
of this campaign. "In early ma- 
turity and middle age tuberculosis 
far outranks every other disease, 
both in number of deaths and in 
destructive social consequences. 
Tuberculosis stands first in the 
break-up of homes, poverty, or- 
phanage, handicaps to children, 
and in perpetuating and increasing 
nearly every family and social ill 
whose burden society has to bear. 
Notwithstanding the decrease in 
the death rate and loss of numeri- 
cal supremacy, tuberculosis still 
holds this terrible primacy among 
all the causes of death. 

"While every possible effort 
should be made to combat heart 
disease, cancer, pneumonia and the 
other diseases which now occur 
with greater frequency in the span 
of human life and appear with 
new prominence in death statistics, 
it is the judgment of this commit- 
tee that no effort should be relaxed 
in Philadelphia's campaign against 
tuberculosis at this time, but that 
these efforts need to be materially 
increased and expanded. We dare 
not be blinded to the vast social 
devastation which tuberculosis 
more than any other disease still 
spreads throughout the commu- 
nity." 




jB^^^MffBgjBWjgigwpwBawwg 



mmmmmmmm 



52 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



Children's Country Week Association 
A History and a Tribute 

1701 ARCH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



SEVERAL summers ago a little 
girl staying at one of the 
camps owned by the Chil- 
dren's Country Week Association 
remarked, "Country Week makes 
rosy cheeks and dimples!" 

In what a few words did the 
child sum up the object of this 
splendid charity! For how could 
any organization "make rosy 
cheeks and dimples" without good 
food, wholesome country air, 
proper care as to health and rec- 
reation ? 

To give poor children a vacation 
in the country, free of all cost, has 
been the object of the Association 
since 1875, when its wonderful 
work was established. The child 
who can afford to pay his or her 
own way is not eligible to be a 
Country Week guest. The camps 
and homes owned and conducted 
by the Association remain open for 
an average of nine weeks each 
summer. 

And what wonderful weeks they 
are for children of every creed and 
nationality, from six to twelve 
years old! There are even accom- 
modations — though limited — for 
mothers with children (under six 
years) who need country life and 
good food. Not only do they re- 
ceive every care as to health and 
diet, but under the constant super- 




vision of counselors, these chil- 
dren are taught the finest possible 
ideals of life. 

Generally each child stays two 
weeks in the country, exceptions 
being made in special cases. Often 
a convalescent is a "special case," 
though a doctor's certificate is re- 
quired in every instance, special or 
not, to prevent a child from bring- 
ing a contagious disease to the 
camp. 

Country Week owns and oper- 
ates five camps situated within a 
radius of thirty miles of Philadel- 
phia, which are ideal in location 
and equipment. Besides, they co- 
operate with Jewish and colored 
organizations so that children of 
every creed and nationality are 
taken care of in the ten camps to 
which the guests are sent. Young 
men and young women who are 
trained counselors supervise the 



1 : , "[ 


W *fmr 




<j®^. 










^r y . 








"""f ',**\ 








: %_•*"■/•■ ' •• 








h*Jr £fc* 


iflplS 


/ ■". -*.,-" s_ ' ',■**" 




l *'.°;r---L-f:-^yfit. 


(,•»»•„..» « ' £ ',. 


'"wC-. ' * &■?" "i- ■<' : '- • ,. 


.. -i 



activities of the children and a 
house-mother sees that proper 
meals are served. Vesper services 
are held, and in every way an 
effort is made to fulfill the three 
benefits to the child — physical, 
moral and spiritual. 

If a child needs sea air, he or 
she is sent to the Seaside Home at 
Cape May Point, with which the 
Association also co-operates. 

Many people ask Country Week 
workers, "Where do the children 
come from?" Many applications 
are personal and these must be 
followed up and found worthy of 
being accepted, but from social 
service agencies a large number of 
authentic cases are received. 

The most remarkable feature of 
Country Week work is that one 
hundred per cent of the money re- 
ceived by the Association goes di- 
rectly to the children. No solicit- 
ing is allowed, all contributions 
being voluntary. The officers and 
directors are volunteer workers; 
and the interest of an invested sum 
(composed of legacies received 
from former contributors) takes 
care of the overhead charges. 

Since direct solicitation is not 
allowed, editorials and news items 
in daily papers, and the distribu- 
tion of an annual report are the 
only mediums through which the 
public is reached. The Association 
must depend on these printed rec- 
ords of their work to remind the 
public that contributions are neces- 
sary for the forwarding of that 
work. 

It costs only $7 to send one child 
to the country for one week. But 
every year there are scores of poor 
children who must be turned away. 

What a wealth of happiness that 
87 means! But what a disappoint- 
ment to turn away a child because 
that small sum is lacking. 

On the generosity of a great pub- 
lic depends Country Week's ability 
to "make rosy cheeks and dimples" 
— in other words, to make health. 






PHILADELPHIA-^or/rf'5 Medical Centre 



53 



The American Oncologic Hospital 

33D STREET AND POWELTON AVENUE, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1904 



Bed Capacity: 40 



Services Rendered 
Treatment, Prevention and Control of Cancer 



MEDICAL STAFF 



Chief of Clinic 

George M. Dorrance, M.D. 

Chief Pathologist 

William C. Hueper, M.D. 

Director of Research 
Ellice McDonald, M.D. 

Clinical Pathologist 

Harold G. Palmer, M.D. 

Pathological Technicians 
Miss Margaret F. Dill 
Miss Anna M. St. Germain 



Physicist 

A. J. Allen, Ph.D. 

Biochemists 

Russell J. Fosbinder, Ph.D. 
Miss Gladys E. Woodward 
Miss Edith G. Fry 

Director of Radiologic 
Department 
William S. Newcomet, M.D. 

Radiological Technician 
Mrs. Gladys Stacy 



Clinical Rudiologist 
Jessie W. Smith, M.D. 

Physicians and Suhgeons 
Albert E. Bothe 
Charles A. E. Codman 
George M. Dorrance 
William C. Hueper 
Brady A. Hughes 
C. B. Longenecker 
John B. Ludy 
Samuel McClary, 3d 
Ellice McDonald 



William S. Newcomet 
Harold G. Palmer 
Damon B. Pfeiffer 
William Duffiehl Robinson 
Jesse W. Smith 
William H. Spencer 
S. E. Tracy 

Consultants 
Charles H. Frazier, M.D. 
William E. Hughes, M.D. 
Joseph McFarland, M.D. 



-£^>- 



American Hospital for Diseases of the Stomach 

1809 WALLACE STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1896 



Bed Capacity: 42 



Services Rendered 

Surgical, Medical, Gynecological, Eye, Ear, Nose, 
Throat, X-ray, Out-patient Department, Laboratory 



STAFF 



Medical Director 
Dr. Frank White 

Roentgenologist 

Dr. E. W. Spackman 

Pathologist 

Dr. Eugene Asnis 

Surgeons 

Dr. Frank White 

Dr. A. W. Hammer 

Dr. F. A. Mantz 

Dr. Herbert Hawthorne 

Dr. James E. Wadsworth 

Assistant Surgeons 
Dr. Wilbur Oaks 
Dr. Paul Neese 
Dr. Edward H. Dench 

Medical Staff 

Dr. Robert Walker 
Dr. John R. Martin 
Dr. Robert Rhein 
Dr. Hart B. Baxter 
Dr. Harry Metzger 



Ophthalmologist 
Dr. George Denny 

Ear, Nose, Throat 
Dr. David N. Husik 
Dr. J. Allan Bertolet 
Dr. Max Ruttenberg 
Dr. Homer Peacock 

Gynecological Staff 
Dr. Thad Montgomery 
Dr. George Laws 
Dr. J. N. Grossman 

Neurologist 

Dr. Max N. Bocbroch 

Proctologist 

Dr. Frederick Smith 

Dermutologist 

Dr. Michael Wolffe 

Urologist 

Dr. Lourain E. McCrea 



The American Hospital for Diseases of the Stomach was 
established in 1896 for the specific purpose of treating diseases 
of the gastro-intestinal tract and allied conditions. This was 
the first institution to specialize in this important branch of 



medicine. The need of specialization was imperative, conse- 
quently several public spirited men and women donated money 
for the establishment of this hospital. 

After incorporation under the laws of the State of Pennsyl- 
vania, the first meeting of the Board of Managers was held in 
the hall of the College of Physicians. Col. Clayton M. 
McMicbael was elected President; G. Heide Norris, Esq., Sec- 
retary; Barclay Warburton, Treasurer; and a Board of Man- 
agers of fifteen men was elected. The chartered members of 
the Medical Staff were Doctors Jacob M. DaCosta, William 
Osier, W. W. Keen, John B. Deaver, David D. Stewart and 
Lewis Brinton. 

A new building was erected for Dispensary, Laboratory and 
X-Ray facilities. Physicians not associated with the Hospital 
may send their patients either to the Dispensary or bouse for 
examinations. These patients are referred back to their physi- 
cian with complete diagnosis and suggestions for treatment. 

The Hospital is maintained by contributions and appropria- 
tion from the state of Pennsylvania, which helps to take care of 
free patients. The services of the doctors associated with the 
Hospital are gratuitous. 

Philadelphians should he willing to support this Hospital 
and help it to make greater progress, partly because it was the 
first institution of its kind in this country, although there are 
greater reasons than civic pride for meriting support. Thou- 
sands of people have been treated gratuitously and have 
received skillful medical and surgical attention with the aid of 
modern appliances. 

The patients come from various sections of Pennsylvania 
and some come from adjacent states. 

The contributors to the Hospital meet yearly to elect Mana- 
gers who conduct the affairs of the Hospital. 



' •'■■.- ' 



=^ 



—■— 



MrUiL^i 



54 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



The Babies' Hospital of Philadelphia 

7TH AND DELANCEY STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1911 



Bed Capacity: 14 



Services Rendered 

Surgical, Medical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose, Tbroat, 

Accident, Out-patients, Laboratory, Dental, Oral 

Hygiene, Physiotherapy, Nutrition and Well 

Baby 



STAFF 



MEDICAL STAFF 

Medical Director and Chief of 
Staff 
John F. Sinclair, M.D. 

Attending Pediatrist at 
Llanerch 
E. W. Rodenheiser, M.D. 

Surgical Consultants 
J. B. Carnett, M.D. 
E. B. Hodge, M.D. 

Attending Surgeon 
William Bates, M.D. 

Medical Consultant 
Arthur Newlin, M.D. 

Cardiologist 

James E. Talley, M.D. 

Obstetrician 

Alice W. Tallant, M.D. 

Bronchoscopist 

Chevalier Jackson, M.D. 

Consulting Laryngologist 
Ralph Butler, M.D. 

Laryngologist 

Samuel Cohen, M.D. 

Neurologist 

George Wilson, M.D. 

Radiologists 

Henry K Pancoast, M.D. 
Eugene Pendergrass, M.D. 



Orthopedist 

F. DeForrest Willard, M.D. 

Urologist 

Joseph Birdsall, M.D. 

Dermatologist 

F. Crozier Knowles, M.D 

Opthalmologist 

H. Maxwell Langdon, M.D. 

Oral Surgeon 

Robert H. Ivy, M.D. 
Physicians to Dispensary 

Medical 

Albert A. Burros, M.D. 
Ralph Melman, M.D. 
Israel Binder, M.D. 
John C. Traugh, M.D. 
Harold Nichols, M.D. 

Physiotherapy 

M. V. Loef, M.D. 

Dental 

A. R. Lewis, D.D.S. 

Oral Hygienist 
Mary Slattery 

Chief Resident 

Frederick Rank, M.D. 

Ao.se and Throat 

Samuel Cohen, M.D. 
Jacob Averbach, M.D. 
11. M. Parris, M.D. 




!lJ!,IHlI|f 



3. *'• 




The Babies' Hospital is more than a hospital. It is a system 
for the promotion of health in young children, dedicated to the 
prevention of disease as well as to its treatment. It concerns 
itself with the welfare of children from their prenatal existence 
to their school age. 

THREE GEOGRAPHIC CENTERS 

City Branch. At Seventh and De Lancey Streets the head- 
quarters building houses: a Prenatal Department which, 
through clinics and home visits, averts disasters to the mothers 
and reduces disease and death in the newly born; an Ob- 
stetrical Department which provides the services of a physi- 
cian in the homes; a Post-natal Observation Service in the 
Out-patient Clinics, where the normal development of the 
newly born is fostered; various Out-patient Medical, Surgical 
and Specialty Clinics to which mothers are urged to bring not 
only their sick children but also, at regular intervals, those 
whom they consider normal; Dental and Prophylactic Dental 
Clinics for children and expectant mothers; a Diagnostic Clinic 
for parents, conducted for the purpose of detecting in families 
diseases that might affect the welfare of the children; classes 
for Mothers in Dietetics and in Nutrition, and a Hospital 
Section. 

The chief purpose of this city branch is to care for babies 
in their homes, to order to avoid the separation of mothers and 
children and to permit health guidance of a vastly greater 
number than would be possible in hospital wards. But a small 
proportion of babies require special study or treatment; for 
these, beds are provided. 

The Hospital Section with its unique series of cubicles; the 
laboratories; the administration offices; the Social Service 
Department, and quarters for the resident executive, medical 
and nursing staffs, are located on the upper floors. The roof 
during the warmer months provides a fine solarium in which 
badly undernourished and debilitated children are very satis- 
factorily treated. 

Country Braiuzh. The Country Summer Hospital at Llanerch 
comprises an administration and staff building and five canvas 
houses. Each of the latter is divided into five cubicles large 
enough for two babies. Acutely ill, noncontagious patients are 
received here from any of the child-caring agencies or on 
request of physicians. Beds are also provided for a limited 
number of convalescent and debilitated infants. Country hos- 
pital treatment for the summer diseases of babies has been 
most gratifying. 

Seashore Branch. The Ethel Burnham Worcester Memorial 
at Beach Haven is for convalescing mothers and babies, who 
require greater reserve strength than can be obtained in town 
or country and who are sent to Beach Haven for two weeks or 
longer. The mothers here receive valuable instruction. 

The Follow-up Work, by trained nurses in the home, imme- 
diately begins when a baby leaves any department of the hos- 
pital, in the hope of making each home better for the baby and 
through him for the whole family. Visits are made as fre- 
quently as necessary, but not less than once a month until the 
child reaches the age of six years, when he comes under the 
supervision of the School Nurses. 

Prevention of Disease. The work of the hospital is especially 
directed toward preventing disease among infants, and toward 
inciting improved health development by bringing — through its 
workers who visit and teach in the home — knowledge of better 
sanitary conditions and scientific supervision of diet and health 
needs. In many ways this hospital offers a unique contribution 
to the health of Philadelphia. 

Charles A. Fife, M.D., 

Chairman of Committee of Medical Administration. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



55 



A Nursery School — under the supervision of a trained direc- 
tor — for malnutrition and poor food-habit cases, as well as 
recognized behaviour problems. It is in session daily from 
8 A. M. to 4.30 P. M. 

Nutrition classes for mothers of all pre-school children, 
which include instruction in the buying and preparing of foods 
as well as something of their composition. The nutritionist 
also participates in the education programs for prenatal mothers 
and for the health-habit classes for school age as well as pre- 
school age children. Further developments in the Nutrition 
Department include educational conferences with the public 
health nurses, individual conferences with the mothers of 



patients referred to her by physicians and the supervision of 
the nutrition of the Nursery School children. 

Prenatal Classes, by which mothers are instructed in the hy- 
giene of pregnancy and in the care of the new-born baby. 
These classes cover a definite outline of instruction, and are 
complementary to the Prenatal Clinics. 

Health Habit Classes — in which the pre-school children are 
taught by individual conference, and group instruction, as well 
as by health "games" the importance of proper Health Habits, 
including, of course, those of Nutrition and Dental Hygiene. 

A daily service from both the dentist and Oral Hygienist for 
prenatal patients as well as for the children. 



-QJ^)- 



Chestnut Hill Hospital 

8835 GERMANTOWN AVENUE, CHESTNUT HILL, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1901 



Dr. J.M. Ellzey 

Dr. Radcliffe Cheston 



by 



Dr. J.F. McCloskey 
Dr. Russell Johnson 



Bed Capacity: 112 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




STAFF 



MEDICAL STAFF 
Joseph Ullom, M.D. 
Edward McCloskey, M.D. 
Frank Ramsay, M.D. 

Assistants to the Medical Stuff 
Roy Langdon, M.D. 
Philip Lukens, M.D. 
Harry Holland, M.D. 

SURGICAL STAFF 

John F. McCloskey, M.D. 
Wm. Sheehan, M.D. 
Wm. B. Swartley, M.D. 



Assistants to the Surgicul Staff 
Lester Hergesheimer, M.D. 
S. Dana Weeder, M.D. 

Ear, Nose and Throat 
Surgeons 
Benjamin Parish, M.D. 
John R. Davies, M.D. 

Obstetrician 

Edward A. Schumann, M.D. 

Assistants to Obstetrician 
Harold Barrett, M.D. 
Charles E. Towson, M.D. 
D. G. Ornston, M.D. 



Gynecologist 

Charles A. Behney, M.D. 

Pathologist 

Robert Cadman, M.D. 

Dental Surgeon 

T. D. Wilcox, M.D. 

Neurologist 

Frederick H. Leavitt, M.D. 

Pediatrician 

James H. McKee, M.D. 

Roentgenologist 

Henry A. Cleaver, M.D. 



Opthulmologist 

Carl N. Williams, M.D. 

Urologist 

Alexander Randall, M.D. 

Orthopedic Surgeon 

DeForest Williard, M.D. 

Assistants 
Norman Taylor, M.D. 
Merritt Stiles, M.D. 

Dermatologist 

Edward F. Corson, M.D. 



w p y is 



~"' '■ " -■■"-- : '! 



mmwmm 



iMiinifiniirfi* 



i mnhmf (- i-ivr ifir'n ,*' J?**i 



56 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



The Children's Heart Hospital 

FALLS ROAD. PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



1923 



Founded: 
by 
Philadelphia Heart Association 
Bed Capacity: 72 



Services Rendered 
Heart Convalescents Only 



Medical Directors 



Dr. Wm. D. Stroud 
Dr. Thos. M. McMillan 

Associates 

Dr. Francis Wood 
Dr. John Mitchell 

Consulting Physicians 

Pediatrist 

Dr. John Scott 



Oto-Laryngologist 
Dr. John Davies 

Opthalmologist 
Dr. Hunter Scarlet 

Resident Physician 

Dr. Margaret H. Richter 



HISTORY OF OUR WORK OF CONVALESCENT CARE FOR 

CHILDREN SUFFERING FROM HEART DISEASE 

By Dr. Wm. D/Stroud, M.D. 

The work of convalescent care of children threatened with 
or suffering from heart disease originated at the Children s 
Heart Hospital, Brookline, Mass., in 1913. Our ohject seems 
hest expressed hy Dr. Morse of Boston: "The Children's Heart 
Hospital was founded to meet the needs of these children 
(that is, children recovering from the acute infections which 
are apt to damage the heart: inflammatory rheumatism, St. 
Vitus' dance, pneumonia, scarlet fever with painful joints, ton- 
sillitis, sinusitis and infected teeth) and to give them the rest 
and attention which they so urgently require. Proper care at 
this time means everything for their future. A certain number 
can be cured by such care, and the vast majority can he greatly 
helped. When permanent damage to the heart cannot he pre- 
vented, the damage can be so limited that they may recover 
with hearts that are functionally little impaired and which are 
sufficient to meet the ordinary demands of life. If these chil- 
dren do not receive proper care, serious damage to the heart 
almost always results, and they become cardiac invalids, in- 
capable of carrying on the ordinary duties of life, and die. 
sooner or later, from chronic cardiac disease." 

In the spring of 1922, Miss Anne Thomson offered "Little 
White Cottage," at Devon, to the Philadelphia Heart Associa- 
tion, for the summer months, to care for children convalescing 
from heart disease. The association accepted this offer, and in 
May, 1922, opened the cottage as a convalescent home with 18 
children, the number which could be accommodated at one 
time. During the first summer, from May until October, 27 
children were cared for and over 100 applicants had to be 
refused for lack of space. We decided that this work was very 
badly needed, as there was only one bed in one convalescent 
home in the vicinity of Philadelphia for children with heart 
disease, and that the work should be continued. We began 
looking about for a winter home, as "Little White Cottage" 
was not very accessible, and the Delta Kappa Psi Fraternity 
came to our rescue by offering us the Broomall Holiday House. 
Our patients were moved there and increased to twenty. 

In the meantime we went before the Welfare Federation of 
Philadelphia and stated our need of money to carry on this 
work, and were granted a budget to operate a home containing 
20 beds. 



Through the most generous offer of co-operation by the 
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, in the spring of 1923 an 
arrangement was made whereby we took over their country 
branch at Wynnefield, to be used as a permanent hospital for 
our little heart patients. After extensive alterations, we moved 
to our new quarters in June, 1923. We have been operating as 
a heart hospital for six years, our patients being sent to us 
from the hospitals in and near Philadelphia. During this 
period, 297 children have been cared for, 960 applicants have 
been turned away for lack of beds and money, and in many 
instances the hospitals did not refer needful cases, as they knew 
we had no beds available. 

Although the lack of finances have prevented the follow-up 
of our children in the way which we plan to carry it out in 
the future with a full time social worker, yet the records of 
the social service departments of the various hospitals have led 
us to believe that the majority of the children sent to our home 
are carrying on their daily routine in a satisfactory manner. 
Of the 297 children sent to us during the past six years, 35 
have died, the majority of these, however, were sent to us with 
far advanced damage to their hearts, in other words— too late. 
These cases really did not come up to our requirements for 
admission, but as our work was young and there was no one 
else to care for them we did the best we could. 



REQUIREMENTS FOR ADMISSION 

1. Age Limit: Boys, 3 to 12 years; Girls, 3 to 13 years. 

2. Children shall either have or he potential cases of heart 
disease. 

3. No cases which have had congestive heart failure or with 
a hopeless prognosis admitted. 

4. Before admission each child shall spend at least two 
weeks in a hospital. 

5. All possible foci of infection shall, so far as possihle, 
have been removed. 

6. Parents shall agree that children will remain in the home 
from 3 to 6 months or longer at the doctor's discretion. 

Thanks to the generosity of Mrs. Henry W. Stelwagon, a 
separate building was equipped to care for a week-end visit by 
our former patients during the summer months. In this way we 
were able to see 12 children over each week-end and observe 
the benefits, or failure of our treatment. It is planned to 
have a similar building on the property of the new Children's 
Heart Hospital. 

It is difficult to give statistics as to how greatly our treat- 
ment has benefitted the children, but we feel that anyone who 
will visit the hospital, and will look at the pictures on the 
center pages of this report cannot help but agree that this 
work is adding many years of usefulness and happiness to the 
lives of those children in Philadelphia threatened with or 
suffering from heart disease. 



J 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



57 



Children's Hospital of the Mary Drexel Home 

2100 SOUTH COLLEGE AVENUE, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1889 



Bed Capacity: 50 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat, X-ray, 

Physiotherapy, Baby Health Clinic, Accident, 

Out-patient, Laboratory 



Surgical 

Dr. John B. Deaver 
Dr. Harry C. Deaver 
Dr. E. G. Alexander 



Ear, Nose and Throat 
Dr. Ralph Butler 
Dr. James A. Bahhitt 
Dr. W. B. McKinnev 



STAFF 



Medical 

Dr. Charles Fife 
Dr. A. A. Hand 
Dr. Emily P. Bacon 
Dr. Charles J. Cole 



Eye 

Dr. J. C. Knipe 



-<E^rs- 



r" 



Children's Hospital of Philadelphia 

EIGHTEENTH AND BAINBRIDGE STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 




There will be three neiv buildings added to the present institution at a cost of close to three million dollars. One 
of the new buildings, that shown in the center, facing the south court opening on Fitzwater Street, to obtain full benefit 
of sunlight, will provide eight wards with seventy beds. Lou building to the center rear will contain an auditorium 
for health instruction. The third building on the right in rear will house a department for prevention of disease. 



'=3?' ~ "" "" :-"•—---" : - 



^= 



K^^^^^H^^H 



\mmmwmmmmm 



!== 



58 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Frederick Douglass Memorial Hospital 

and Training School 



By ALFRED GORDON, M.D. 




T 



HE Frederick Douglass Me- 
morial Hospital, first of its 
kind established in Pennsyl- 
vania, fighting an uphill battle 
from its humble start, has an envi- 
able record of service to its credit. 
Founded in 1895 by Dr. N. F. 
Mossell, in a modest three-story 
building, located at 1512 Lombard 
Street, it has grown to a Class A 
Hospital, so recognized by Na- 
tional, State and County medical 
associations, with buildings and 
equipment modern in every detail 
and with a money value of three 



hundred thousand dollars ($300,- 
000.00). The attending and con- 
sulting staffs of the hospital are 
composed of the most prominent 
doctors and surgeons in Philadel- 
phia. 

The hospital is provided with 
four public wards, a maternity 
ward, an emergency ward, a num- 
ber of private and semi-private 
rooms, two diet kitchens, well 
planned and always kept under 
expert supervision. There are 
operating and sterilizing rooms 
and a special X-ray room for diag- 



nosis with modernly equipped 
pathological and histological labo- 
ratories. The institution has 75 
beds and at the completion of the 
Nurses' Home, now in process of 
construction, will add 25 beds, 
making it a hospital of 100-bed 
capacity. 

No one is ever turned away from 
its doors because of creed or color, 
or because they are too poor to 
pay. Of the 4,531 bed patients 
cared for during the past five 
years, thirty percent (30%) were 
(Continued on Next Page) 



^^.^. 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



59 



f 




FREDERICK DOUGLASS 

unable to pay for either services 
or treatment. One hundred and 
fifty thousand (150,000) patients 
have received treatment since 
Douglass Hospital first opened its 
doors. Ten thousand social serv- 
ice visits were made by the nurses 
and more than 125,000 persons 
visited and examined, who re- 
quired emergency or clinical at- 
tention. The first bed, endowed at 
a cost of $7,000, was the gift of a 
humble Negro citizen. 

The hospital has graduated hun- 
dreds of nurses, many of whom are 
engaged as supervisors in other 
hospitals and many others doing 
public health work in numerous 
cities. There are fifty-four Doug- 
lass Hospital ex-internes engaged 
in regular practice in the City of 
Philadelphia, while an equal num- 
ber are located in other cities, in 
different States, all of them doing 
faithfully their daily work in re- 
lieving the sick, soothing the 
dying, helping the poor and pro- 
moting in general the moral and 
material welfare of mankind. 

Clinical demonstrations at the 
Douglass Hospital have proven the 
most valuable adjuncts in its 
health program. It maintains 
clinics in general medicine, sur- 
gery, dentistry, obstetrics, gyne- 
cology, a chest clinic, an eye clinic, 
one for the ear, nose and throat, 
and one for the study of nervous 
diseases. The work done in its 
chest clinic has been fundamental 
to the health of the population. 
The Douglass Hospital was among 
the first to direct a city-wide edu- 
cational campaign during the need 
for early diagnosis of tuberculosis. 
Recently another forward step was 



taken in the opening of a night 
chest clinic where day workers 
may secure attention in the even- 
ing hours. The chest clinics are 
supported by the Department of 
Public Health of the City of Phila- 
delphia, and is in recognition of 
the potential work in combating 
and preventing diseases, which has 
featured the Douglass Hospital 
from its incipiency. 

These clinics and laboratories 
have been used to marked advan- 
tage by numerous visiting phy- 
sicians from rural districts in vari- 
ous parts of the country taking 
post-graduate studies. This brings 
us to record a disagreeable fact. 
The American hospital, with its 
many virtues, has not lived above 
the manifestation of racial exclu- 
siveness. It is not only quite diffi- 
cult for young colored physicians 
to secure interneships, but many 
practicing physicians find them- 
selves barred from numerous post- 




graduate schools because of racial 
prejudice. 

Doctor Mossell says: "With all, 
we wish it had not been necessary 
to establish the Douglass Hospital. 
We deprecate the present trend in 
the dominant public mind to cre- 
ate in many sections of the country 
hospitals and medical schools, es- 
pecially for colored people — it 
means extravagance, inefficiency, 
duplications of effort, and is un- 
democratic in that it establishes 
caste. Because of the Douglass 
Hospital's attitude in this matter, 
and because it has persistently re- 
fused to accept a subordinate man- 



agement subject to a powerful 
medical institution, it has been 
embarrassed financially; has con- 
tinued faith however in the final 
triumph of righteousness." 

Nathan Francis Mossell, physi- 
cian, the founder of the Frederick 
Douglass Memorial Hospital, was 
born on July 27, 1856, at Hamil- 
ton, Canada, the son of a brick 
manufacturer, Aaron Mossell, and 
of his wife, Eliza Bowers Mossell. 
His family environment was pecu- 
liarly one of charming manners 
and large mental accomplishments. 
Reared in an abolition atmos- 
phere, hearing at his mother's knee 
the recital of the story of runaway 
slaves, or men, women and chil- 
dren who were fleeing from the 
prison-house of bondage, eluding 
the keen scent of the bloodhound, 
or dodging the more dangerous 
pursuit of the avaricious slave- 
hunter, his sympathies were nat- 
urally listed with the downtrodden 
and unfortunate. 

The youth, having the strength 
and activity of a great and original 
genius, was attracted to scientific 
career at an early age. At the age 
of 20, young Mossell graduated 
from Lincoln University, Pennsyl- 
vania, receiving the degree of 
Master of Arts. The following year 
he entered the medical department 
of the University of Pennsylvania, 
being the first Negro student to 




NATHAN FRANCIS MOSSELL, M.D. 
(Continued on Next Page) 






SBgaggj ^juiijj.iWipj pBg'WBwp 



aail^H 



'■ii-1 "■' '- :r/ i"l 



»in~ii---rr : ~- ■ , 



60 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



■ 



enter and the first to graduate 
from this celebrated school of 
learning. The city of Philadelphia 
and its earlier history impressed 
his youthful imagination. The 
Quaker City had led off in the 
challenge to African slavery. Just 
one year prior to the signing of 
the Declaration of Independence 
Thomas Jefferson, Thomas Paine, 
Benjamin Rush and Benjamin 
Franklin had joined in a protest 
against slavery — had actually par- 
ticipated as organizers of the first 
Abolition Society formed upon 
this continent. 

So, upon finishing his college 
course, he opened an office at 924 
Lombard Street, at the center of 
the city's black belt. Shortly after- 
wards he was selected by the cele- 
brated surgeon, Dr. D. Hayes Ag- 
new, to be one of his assistants in 
the Out-Patient Surgical Clinic in 
the University Hospital, a position 
which Mossell filled admirably for 
several years and which gave him 
his inspiration and training in sur- 
gery. He was elected a member of 
the Philadelphia County Medical 
Society in 1888, being the first 
physician of color to receive this 
honor; subsequently he went 
abroad, taking post-graduate stud- 
ies at St. Thomas Hospital, Lon- 
don, England. 

These became busy days in the 
life of this young physician. Con- 
tacts widened. A serious, strong, 
steadfast, sincere man, living near 
the heart of realities — in a great 
metropolitan city, he attracted 
equally strong and courageous men 
and women. His office became a 
common meeting ground — a sort 
of clearing house — where helpful 
souls drawn together in efforts to 
find a solution for problems affect- 
ing the welfare of both races could 
think and plan. In addition to ad- 
vancing the domain of pure and 
applied science, he took leader- 
ship in promoting the cumulative 
achievement of his group in edu- 
cation, in industry, in art, in mu- 
sic and in literature. His search 
for better educational and indus- 
trial opportunities for the young 
brought him face to face with the 
ugly facts of racial exclusiveness 
and discrimination. Thus he 
founded the Frederick Douglass 



Memorial Hospital, as a protest 
asainst segregation of nurses and 
internes, which was then the rule 
and not the exception in the hos- 
pitals of this day. He dedicated 
it as a monument to Frederick 
Douglass, the incorruptible leader 
of his race, of whom Theodore 
Roosevelt said: "Frederick Doug- 
lass never compromised a right 
principle, nor truckled to the mean 
in high places." The Douglass 
Hospital stands primarily for the 
manifestation of the Frederick 
Douglass spirit, and Nathan Francis 
Mossell is the incarnation of that 
Spirit! 

Rallying to his support were 
many of Philadelphia's celebrated 
surgeons and philanthropists, not- 
ably S. Weir Mitchell, D. Hayes 
Agnew, W. W. Keen, Cadwallader 
Biddle, William Pepper, Joseph 
Leidy, James Elverson, Edward M. 
Wistar, R. A. F. Penrose, John 
Ashurst, James Tyson, Roland G. 
Curtin, Samuel B. Huey, Talcott 
Williams, Caroline H. Pemberton, 
James Gay Gordon, Jacob C. 
White, Bishop Daniel A. Payne, 
Mrs Catharine D. Wentz, Mrs. 
Mary A. Campbell, Mrs. Henry P. 
Borie, Levi Cromwell, Miss Mary 
Converse, Mrs. Emily C. Jacobs, 
Miss Mary A. Dobbins, Miss Han- 
nah P. Fox, Edwin H. Vare, Char- 
les J. Harrah, Miss Mary A. 
Burnham, Bishop L. J. Coppin, 
Thaddeus M. Daly, John H. Con- 
verse, Misses Harriet and Anna 
Blanchard, A. K. McClure, J. 
Campbell Harris, Mayer Sulzber- 
ger, Joshua L. Bailey, Justice C. 
Strawbridge and Mrs. John B. 
Taylor. 

This formidable group became 
impressed with the sincerity of 
their struggling protege. They 
recognized in him, one of those 
characters who live for tomorrow, 
a reformer, who doggedly advo- 
cates and carry out new ideas, new 
things, for which they themselves 
get neither thanks nor profit. In 
the formation of the original con- 
sulting staff of the infant hospital, 
many of Philadelphia's most dis- 
tinguished physicians and surgeons 
were listed and continued their 
connection during the remainder 
of their lives. 



ROSTER 

The following are the names of 
the Board of Managers and the At- 
tending and Consulting Staffs of 
the Frederick Douglass Memorial 
Hospital : 

Board of Managers: Augustus 
Trask Ashton, Jerome Baptiste, 
Rev. J. C. Beckett, Bishop J. S. 
Caldwell, John T. Gibson, Rev. W. 

F. Graham, Charles B. Hall, 
Bishop W. H. Heard, W. S. 
Hagans, Rev. W. E. Jones, Mrs. 
Mildred P. Lewis, John E. Mc- 
Cully, Dr. N. F. Mossell, Paul F. 
Keene, Arthur Lynch, E. Washing- 
ton Rhodes, Robert Savage, Mrs. 
Charlotte Smith, Rev. C. A. Tind- 
ley, Dr. A. E. West and Cornelius 
H. Garlick. 

Attending Staff: Dr. J. Q. Mc- 
Dougald, Dr. Charles A. Lewis, Dr. 
T. L. Powell, Dr. K. L. Curd, Dr. 
M. T. Morris, Dr. D. L. Maddox, 
Dr. Bruce Fleming, Dr. J. T. Irish, 
Dr. L. F. Appleeman, Dr. A. E. 
West, Dr. John P. Turner, Dr. G. C. 
Brannon, Dr. G. H. King, Dr. J. G. 
Moore, Dr. DeHaven Hinkson, Dr. 

G. M. Rogers, Dr. T. S. Burwell, 
Dr. P. J. Taylor, Dr. B. C. Truitt, 
Dr. J. S. Lennon, Dr. M. W. Scott, 
Dr. W. H. Barnes, Dr. N. S. Duff, 
Dr. C. A. Scott, Dr. R. P. Matthews, 
Dr. R. W. Henry, Dr. N. F. Mossell, 
Dr. S. E. Robertson, Dr. R. W. 
Bailey, Dr. W. L. Brown, Dr. T. W. 
Georges, Dr. W. B. Carter, Dr. P. 
M. Edwards, Dr. W. A. Forsythe, 
Dr. M. N. Pannell, Dr. L. A. Clark, 
Dr. Granville Clark, Dr. S. Hamill, 
Dr. W. F. Jerrick, Dr. J. W. Rob- 
erts, Dr. J. W. Shirley, Dr. S. G. 
Smith, Dr. D. C. Wilson, Dr. C. G. 
Wooding, Dr. Alfred Gordon, Dr. 
Wm. H." Rodgers, Dr. T. A. Wil- 
liams, Dr. Charles B. Howard, Dr. 
C. T. C. Nurse, Dr. Agnes P. Berry 
Monttier, Dr. James Padgett and 
Dr. Virginia M. Alexander. 

Dentists: G. A. Jenkins, D.D.S.; 
A. R. Thomas, D.D.S.; C. E. Allen, 
D.D.S.; S. Parks, D.D.S.; J. M. 
Mosby, D.D.S., and J. Max Bar- 
ber, D.D.S. 

Consulting Staff: Dr. Howard 
F. Hansell, Dr. John B. Deaver, 
Dr. Chas. K. Mills, Dr. Edw. J. 
Klopp and Dr. John M. Fisher. 



fiMfUmimn^^y^mmggmt 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



61 



The Hospital of the Protestant Episcopal Church 

FRONT STREET AND LEHIGH AVENUE, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1852 



Bed Capacity: 450 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose, Throat, 

X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




DISPENSARY BUILDING 



STAFF 



THE MEDICAL BOARD 

"President 
Dr. Thomas R. Neilson 

''Secretary 
Dr. John H. Arnett 

Dr. Emory G. Alexander 
*Dr. John B. Carson 
Dr. Charles C. Biedert 
"Members of Executive Commi 

Surgeon Emeritus 

Dr. Thomas R. Neilson 

Consulting Physician 
Dr. Elliston J. Morris 
Consulting Obstetrician 
Dr. William E. Parke 
Consulting Opthalmologist 
Dr. G. Oram Ring 
Consulting Neurologist 
Dr. Charles W. Burr 



Dr. Ralph S. Bromer 

* Dr. John B. Carson 
Dr. Win. R. Watson 
Dr. Courtland Y. White 
Dr. Harold G. Von Goldberg 
Dr. Frederick Krauss 
Dr. Louis H. Mutschler 
Dr. H. C. Deaver 

*Dr.A. G.Fewell 

"Dr. James Kay 

ttee. 

VISITING STAFF 

Medical Service 

Service A 

Chiefs 
Dr. John B. Carson 
Dr. James Kay 

Associates 
Dr. John Davis Paul 
Dr. Walter H. Lindsay 
Dr. James E. Cottrell 



Assistant 
Dr. Charles S. Hooker 

Clinical Assistants 
Dr. Robert C. Colgan 
Dr. John W. Klopp 

Chief 
Dr. John H. Arnett 

Associate 
Dr. Archibald McLean Cook 

Assistant 

Dr. A. H. Boyer Drake 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. Charles F. Long 

Pediatric Section 

Associate 
Dr. James J. Riley 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. Vincent Curtin 



Neurological Section 
Associate 
Dr. George "NY ilson 

Assistant 
Dr. Fred H. Ehmann 

Clinical Assistants 
Dr. Ralph Holtzhausser 
Dr. Franklin A. Weigand 
Dr. Samuel B. Hadden 

Dermatological and Syphilo- 
logical Section 

Associates 
Dr. Warren Walker 
Dr. John B. Ludy 

Diabetic Section 
Associate 
Dr. John Davis Paul 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. A. L. Sherk 

(Continued on Next Page) 



pS&*?J2!)>v i >iAi<tW 



^^HH 



Ail'^r; 



■ «■!■.!! | .ft r II h M ■ Tit 



- -*"* ■ '. 



62 



PHILADELPHIA— PTor/t/^ 5 Medical Centre 



SURGICAL SERVICE 
Service A 
Chiefs 
Dr. H. C. Deaver 
Dr. Emory G. Alexander 

Associate 
Dr. H. S. Carmany 

Assistants 
Dr. Harry E. Knox 
Dr. Edgar Weber 

Service B 
Chiefs 
Dr. Louis H. Mutschler 
Dr. Astley P. C. Ashhurst 

Associates 
Dr. Irvine M. Boykin 
Dr. Edward T. Crossan 

Assistant 
Dr. William R. Brown, Jr. 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. John W. Klopp 

Orthopedic Section 
Associate 
Dr. Rutherford L. John 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. Varnum C. Southworth 
Dr. Albert A. Martueci 



Neurosurgical Section 
Associate 
Dr. Temple Fay 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. Nicholas Cotten 

Genito-Urinary Section 
Associate 
Dr. John B. Haines 

Clinical Assistants 
Dr. Irving G. Klaus 
Dr. Frederick J. Fox 

Oral and Dentul Section 
Associate 
Dr. Robert H. Ivy 

OPTHALMOLOGICAL 
SERVICE 
Service A 
Chief 
Dr. Frederick Krauss 

Associate 
Dr. Nelson M. Brinkerhoff 

Assistant 
Dr. J. B. Feldman 

Clinical Assistants 
Dr. Thomas E. Longshaw 
Dr. William 0. Kleinstuber 



Service B 
Chief 
Dr. Harold G. Von Goldberg 

Associates 
Dr. David J. Boon 
Dr. Andrew Knox 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. D. Wood Catford 

Section C 
Chief 
Dr. A. G. Fewell 

Associate 
Dr. J. B. Rudolphy 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. W. K. Knotts 

Refractionisl for Eye Services 
Director 
Dr. John P. O'Brien 

AURAL AND LARYNGEAL 

SERVICE 
Service A 
Chief 

Dr. Charles C. Biedert 
Associate 

Dr. Thomas R. Currie 
Assistant 
Dr. William Matthews 



Chief 
Service B 

Dr. Win. R. Watson 

Associate 
Dr. Edward W. Collins 

Assistants 
Dr. Otto C. Hirst 
Dr. George E. Shaffer 

Department of Anesthesia 
Director 
Dr. Irvine M. Boykin 

Pathological Laboratories 
Director 
Dr. Courtland Y. White 

Clinical Assistant 
Dr. John W. Klopp 

Roentgenological Laboratories 
Roentgenologist 

Dr. Ralph S. Bromer 
End-Result Clinic 
Director 
Dr. Edward T. Crossan 
Department of Physiotherapy 
Director 
Dr. Rutherford L. John 
Registrar 

Dr. Emory G. Alexander 



Founded: 1904 



-«£)- 



Fabiani Italian Hospital 

S. W. COR. 10TH AND CARPENTER STREETS 



Bed Capacity: 40 



Services Rendered 

Nose and Throat, Oculist, Genitro-urin., Obst-gyne- 

col., Intern. Medic , Surgical, Dental 




Established and incorporated under the laws of Pennsylvania 
in June, 1904. Initial capacity of the hospital, 10 beds; present 
capacity, 40 beds. Hospital is privately operated as business 
enterprise and thereby does not receive any support from 
church or charitable societies. Hospital has no stock issue, 
being a first class corporation. 

Type of building: bricks and columns. Area: 95 x 75 ft. — 
4 stories — value, hospital and equipment, $120,000. Kind of 
cases treated: medical and surgical. 

Hospital has a closed staff with the following physicians: 
Vincent Joseph Fabiana, M.D. Arthur Wagers, M.D. 

Francis Fabiani, M.D. William Seibert, M.D. 

William VonDolsen, M.D. Albert DiLauro, M.D. 



The officials of hospital are: 

Vincent J. Fabiani, President. 

Mrs. Francis Fabiani, Vice-President. 

Francis Fabiani, Treasurer and Secretary. 

Average number of hospital cases: 150 surgical with 2400 
days hospitalization. 

Average number of hospital cases: 130 medical with 2600 
days hospitalization. 

Average number of dispensaries' cases (20 per day), 7300 
a year. 






PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 



63 



Frankford Hospital 



FRANKFORD AVENUF AND WAKELING STREET, FRANKFORD, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
Medical, Surgical, Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat, Obstet- 
rical, Gynecological, Children's Diseases, Genito- 
Urinary, Neurological, Skin, X-ray, Accident, 
Out-patient, Lahoratory 



Founded: 1903 



Bed Capacity: 142 




STAFF 



HOSPITAL STAFF 

Consulting Surgeon 

Prof. J. Chalmers Da Costa 

Surgeon-in-Chicf 

Charles F. Nassau, M.D. 

Surgeons 

Samuel Bolton, M.D. 
Louis D. Englerth, M.D. 

Consulting Physician 
Arthur C. Morgan, M.D. 

Physician 

John J. Lynch, M.D. 

Obstetrician 

Geo. C. Hanna, M.D. 

Gynecologists 

Win. E. Parke, M.D. 
Edward A. Schumann, M.D. 

Consulting Opthalmologist 
Paul J. Pontius, M.D. 

Opthalmologist 

William H. Chandlee, M.D. 



Otologist and Laryngologist 
Frank Emhery, M.D. 

Pathologist 

fm. L. C. Spaeth, M.D. 

Neurologist 

Max H. Bochroch, M.D. 

Consulting Pediatrists 
J. Claxton Gittings, M.D. 
Charles A. Fife, M.D. 

Pediatrist 

Charles N. Sturtevant, M.D. 

Dermatologist 

Joseph P. Ball, M.D. 
Roentgenologist 

F. F. Borzell, M.D. 

ASSISTANT HOSPITAL 
STAFF 

Assistant Surgeons 

George E. Levis, M.D. 

Warren B. Davis, M.D. 
Assistant Gynecologists 

W. D. Baun, M.D. 

Frederick E. Keller, M.D. 

Alfred H. Diehel, M.D. 



Assistant Opthalmolo gists 
M. K. Henry, M.D. 

Assistant Pediatrist 
D. P. Boyer, M.D. 

OUT-PATIENT STAFI« 

Surgical Department 

Surgeon-in-Chief 

Charles F. Nassau, M.D. 

Surgeon 

Samuel Bolton, M.D. 
Louis D. Englerth, M.D. 

Clinical Assistants 

Thomas C. Ross, M.D. 
John S. Scouller, M.D. 
Benjamin Chandlee, M.D. 
Gerald E. Pratt, M.D. 
Thomas B. Getty, M.D. 
Philip S. Clair, M.D. 
Ralph W. Lorry, M.D. 
William H. Morrison, M.D. 



Gynecological Department 

Gynecologists 

Win. E. Parke, M.D. 
Edw. A. Schumann, M.D. 

Clinical Assistants 

Francis J. Kownacki, M.D. 
Victor L. Baker, M.D. 
Frederick E. Keller, M.D. 
W. D. Baun, M.D. 
Samuel Stern, M.D. 

Obstetrical Department 

Obstetrician 

Geo. C. Hanna, M.D. 

Clinical Assistants 

Wallace M. Martin, M.D. 
John M. Laferty, M.D. 
Donald W. Broadhent, M.D 
David Promin, M.D. 

Medical Department 

Physician 

John J. Lynch, M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



ro»»«w«m»jjwj> 



assays 



= 



• — ■ n.«t». — 




64 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Clinical Assistants 

Jos. F. Cunningham, M.D. 
Samuel F. Gordon, M.D. 
F. M. Schilling, M.D. 
Ralph Blumenfield, M.D. 
Louis Robinson, M.D. 
Armand J. Miller, M.D. 
Franklin A. Weigand, M.D. 

Opthalmolocical 
Department 

Opthalmologist 

William H. Chandlee, M.D. 

Clinical Assistants 
M. K. Henry, M.D. 
Andrew Knox, M.D. 
L. Thomas Morton, M.D. 



Otolocical and Laryngo- 
logical Department 

Otologist and Laryngologist 
Frank Embery, M.D. 

Clinical Assistants 

Thomas H. Price, M.D. 
George A. Richardson, M.D. 
Robert Watt, M.D. 
M. A. J. Roseman, M.D. 

Pediatric Department 

Pediatrist 

Chas. N. Sturtevant, M.D. 



Clinical Assistants 

D. P. Boyer, M.D. 
Leonard F. Bender, M.D. 
Scott P. Verrei, M.D. 

Pathological Department 
Pathologist 

fm. L. C. Spaeth, M.D. 

Dermatolocical Department 

Dermatologist 

Joseph P. Ball, M.D. 
Clinical Assistants 

E. L. Drake, M.D. 

R. Vernon Moss, M.D. 



Neurological Department 
Neurologist 

Max H. Bochroch, M.D. 

Genito-Urinary Department 
H. W. Lambert, M.D. 

Dental Department 

Emmett O'Neill, Jr., D.D.S. 

HOUSE PHYSICIANS 

Medical Director 

Charles F. Nassau, M.D. 

Registrar 

Benjamin Chandlee, M.D. 



r^>- 



Friends Hospital 



ROOSEVELT BOULEVARD, FRANKFORD, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1813 



Bed Capacity: 190 



Services Rendered 
Nervous and Mental Hospital 



MEDICAL STAFF 

Dr. Albert C. Buckley 
Dr. Percy G. Hamlin 
Dr. MintaP. Kemp 
Dr. Ethel C. Russell 
Dr. Edward B. Robertson 




ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 



< tl l !A.UU ll «M ! J" 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/^5 Medical Centre 



65 



The Germantown Dispensary and Hospital 

EAST PENN AND CHEW STREETS, GERMANTOWN, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1863 

by 

Mrs. Pauline E. Henry 

Bed Capacity: 360 



Services Rendered 
All Services of a General Hospital Including Dis- 
pensaries Covering All Medical and Surgical 
Classifications 




MEDICAL AND SURGICAL 
STALL 

Department of Surgery 
Chiefs 
Charles L. Mitchell, M.D. 
Walter Estell Lee, M.D. 
William B. Swartlev, M D. 
Edward B. Hodge, M.D. 

Chiefs of Clinics 

Surgery 

Rohert S. Alston, M.D. 
Harry E. Knox, Ml). 
S. Dana Weeder, M.D. 
T. McKean Downs, M.D. 
R. W. Teahan, M.D. 

Urology 

John B. Lownes, M.D. 

Dentistry 
Linwood G 



Surgery 
Frede 
Frank 
Ira G 



Grace, D.D.S. 

Assistants 



iek S. Schofield, M.D. 
P. Massaniso, M.D. 
Towsori, M.D. 

D. G. Ornston, M.D. 
G. C. Engel, M.D. 

E. F. McLaughlin, M.D. 

L. N. Hergersheimer, M.D. 



Gynecology 

Harold G. Barrett, M.D. 
Orthopaedics 

V. C. Southworth, M.D. 
Urology 

Stanley Q. West, M.D. 
Dentistry 

J. Coverly Smith, D.D.S. 

J. Carl Breuker, D.D.S. 

J. B. Price, D.D.S. 

M. S. Hoeh, D.D.S. 

Sanford D. Lawyer, D.D S. 

Bertha L. Eastwood, D.D.S. 

Consultants 
Surgery 

John B. Deaver, M.D. 
Urology 

Alexander Randall, M.D. 
Dentistry 

Agnew Irwin, D.D.S. 

Department of Otolaryngology 
Chiefs 
J. Clarence Keeler, M.D. 
Horace J. Williams, M.D. 

Chiefs of Clinics 

Otolaryngology 

Jas. H. Mendel, M.D. 
Marion Hearn, M.D. 



bronchoscopy 

Louis H. Clerf, M.D. 
Assistants 
Raymond Hacker, M.D. 
Capers B. Owings, M.D. 
Charles E. Towson, M.D. 
Karl Kurz, M.D. 
Jesse W. Beeghley, M.D. 

Consultant in Bronchoscopy 
Chevalier Jackson, M.D. 

Department of Ophthalmology 
Chiefs 

Alhert C. Sautter, M.D. 

Carl Williams, M.D. 
Chiefs of Clinic 

Thomas H. Price, M.D. 

Geo. E. Berner, M.D. 

Department of Medicine 
Chiefs 
Rohert L. Pitfield, M.D. 
Harry B. Wilmer, M.D. 
C. C. Watt, Jr., M.D. 
Walter H. Andrus, M.D. 

Chilfs of Clinic 
Medicine 

J. Paul Austin, M.D. 
Frank M. Ramsey, M.D. 



Roy L. Langdon, M.D. 

Francis C. Hartung, M.D. 
Dermatology 

William G. Shields, M.D. 
Cardiology 

Charles A. Currie, M.D. 
Pediatrics 

C. F. Major, M.D. 

Joseph Stokes, Jr., M.D. 

Philip S. Barha, M.D. 

Theodore S. Wilder, M.D. 
Allergic Diseases 

Harry B. Wilmer, M.D. 
Pulmonary Tuberculosis 

Francis C. Hartung, M.D. 
Schick Clinic 

Edward L. Bauer, M.D. 

Assistants 
Medicine 

Rohert S. Rusling, M.D. 
Merritt H. Stiles, M.D. 
C. A. Whitcomb, M.D. 
Louis M. Eble, M.D. 
Arthur C. Hehn, M.D. 
Gulden Mackmull, M.D. 
Ralph A. Klemm, M.D. 
Wendell E. Boyer, M.D. 
Chas. Stewart, M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



ggr 



===== 



SESS33ZB3Z&3SS! 



■J" f 



66 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 






Pediatrics 

Ralph A. Klenim, M.D. 

Arthur C. Hehn, M.D. 
Allergic Diseases 

C. A. Whitcomb, M.D. 

Schick Clinic 

Capers B. Owings, M.D. 

Cardiology 

W. Lawrence Cahall, M.D. 

Diabetic Clinic 

C. A. Whitcomb, M.D. 

Consultants 

Medicine 

Alexis DuPont Smith, M.D. 
Frank B. Gummey, M.D. 
Robert Perry Cummins, 
M.D. 



John Hedges, M.D. 
William N. Johnson, M.D. 
James W. Wister, M.D. 
Charles A. Currie, M.D. 
Swithin T. Chandler, M.D. 
J. E. Loughridge, M.D. 

Dermatology 

Charles N. Davis, M.D. 

Pediatrics 

Edward L. Bauer, M.D. 
James H. McKee, M.D. 

Department of Neurology and 
Psychiatrics 
Chief 
Edward A. Strecker, M.D. 

Chief of Clinic 
Benjamin P. Weiss, M.D. 



Consultant 

I. P. Willits, M.D. 
Department of Obstetrics 
Chiefs 

E. P. Barnard, M.D. 

J. C. Hartman, M.D. 

Assistants 
Earl Brewer, M.D. 
J. P. Williams, M.D. 

Consultant 
Richard C. Norris, M.D. 
Advisory Consulting 
Obstetricians 
R. N. Downs, Jr., M.D. 
W. K. Muller, M.D. 
Pathology 
Chief 
Thomas A. Cope, M.D. 



Assistants 
Robert B. Cadman, M.D. 
H. Schluederberg, M.D. 
Roentgenology 
Chief 
Thomas P. Loughery, M.D. 
Consultant 
David R. Bowen, M.D. 
Records Committee 
I. P. Willits, M.D. 
Charles A. Currie, M.D. 
Wilmer Research Fellowship 
Herbert Cobe, A.M., Ph.D. 

House Staff 
Chief Resident 

E. H. Brown, Jr., M.D. 
Assistant Chief Resident 

G. T. Wood, Jr., M.D. 



-(^rs- 



Graduate Hospital - University of Pennsylvania 

MEDICO-CHI— POLYCLINIC— DIAGNOSTIC (COMBINED HOSPITALS) 
19TH AND LOMBARD STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



1 1 



Medico-Chi Founded: 1882 
Merged with University of Pennsylvania, 1916 

Polyclinic, Founded: 1882 
Merged with University of Pennsylvania, 1918 

Diagnostic 
Merged with University of Pennsylvania, 1924 



Services Rendered 
General Medical and Surgical Cases Admitted- 
Mental or Communicable Diseases 



-No 



STAFF 



HOSPITAL OF THE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE 

NEW BUILDING 

UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA 

Graduate School of Medicine 

The Medico-Chirurcical College 

Classification of the Staff of the Graduate Hospital 

of the 
University of Pennsylvania 

Corrected to July 1, 1929 
and issued hy the Dean. 

VISITING STAFF 
Consulting Staff 

By special appointment from the Faculty of the Graduate 
School of Medicine. Memhers of the Consulting Staff have 
private patient privileges. 

Emeritus Professor of Professor of Ophthalmology 

Thomas B. Holloway, M.S., 
M.D. 

Professor of Ophthalmology 
William Zentmayer, M.D. 



Medicine 
James M. Anders, M.D. 

Ph.D., Sc.D., LL.D. 
Professor of Medicine 
Judson Daland, M.D. 



Major Staff 

All memhers of the Visiting Staff who are in independent 
charge of any portion of the clinical or clinical laboratory 
work of the Hospital. Clinical members of the Major Staff 
have private patient and general ward privileges. Every gen- 
eral ward patient must be assigned to the service of an appro- 
priate member of the Major Staff. Members of the Major Staff 
may accord ward patient privileges to other appropriate mem- 
bers of the Visiting Hospital Staff, providing, however, that 
each ward patient is officially recognized as being upon the 
service of an appropriate member of the Major Staff, and he 
medically responsible in the premises. Clinical members 
starred below. Others privileged when specially arranged. 



Professor of Diseases of 
Metabolism 
* Orlando H. Petty, A.M., 
M.D. 

Professor of Medicine 
*George Morris Piersol, B.S., 
M.D. 

Professor of Medicine 
*Albert E. Roussel, O.A., 
M.D. 

Associate Professor of 
Gastroenterology 
H. L. Bockus, B.S., M.D. 

Professor of Cardiology 

James E. Talley, A.B., M.D. 

Associate Prof, of Medicine 
H. Leon Jameson, M.D. 

Associate Professor of 
Electrotherapeutics 
William T. Johnson, A.B., 
M.D. 
Professor of Pediatrics 
*Howard Childs Carpenter, 
M.D. 
Professor of Neurology 
*Charles S. Potts, M.D. 
Professor of Neurology 
*Theodore H. Weisenberg, 
M.D. 
Asst. Professor of Neurology 

Clarence A. Patten, M.D. 
Professor of Dermatology and 
Syphilology 
*Jay Frank Schamberg, A.B., 
M.D. 



Professor of Dermatology 
"Herbert J. Smith, Ph.G., 
M.D. 

Professor of Radiology 
*George E. Pfahler, M.D. 

Professor of Surgery 
John B. Carnett, M.D. 

Professor of Neurosurgery 
* Charles H. Frazier, A.B., 
M.D., Sc.D. 

Professor of Maxillofacial 
Surgery 
Robert H. Ivy, D.D.S., M.D. 

Professor of Surgery 
*John H. Jopson, M.D. 

Professor of Surgery 
*Walter E. Lee, M.D. 

Associate in Anesthesia 
Edward W. Beach, M.D. 

Professor of Obstetrics 

*George M. Boyd, M.D. 
Professor of Gynecology 

♦William R. Nicholson, M.D., 
A.B. 
Professor of Obstetrics 

*B. C. Hirst, M.D. 
Professor of Orthopedics 

*deForrest P. Willard, B.S., 
M.D. 
Professor of Orthopedics 

*Walter G. Elmer, B.S., M.D. 

Professor of Urology 
♦William H. Mackinney, 
M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/c/^ Medical Centre 



67 



Professor of Urology 
"Benjamin A. Thomas, A.M., 
M.D. 

Professor of Ophthalmology 

*L. Webster Fox, A.M., M.D., 

LL.D. 
-Luther C. Peter, A.M., M.D. 

* William T. Shoemaker 

Professor of Laryngology 
*Ralph Butler, M.D. 

Professor of Otology 

*George M. Coates, A.B., 

M.D. 
*Edward B. Gleason, B.S., 

M.D., LL.D. 

Professor of Bronchoscopy 
and Esophagoscopy 

* Chevalier Jackson, M.D., 

Sc.D., LL.D. 

Professor of Otology 
*Walter Roberts, A.B., M.D. 

Professor of Laryngology 

*Ross Hall Skillern, A.M., 

M.D., Sc.D. 
*George B. Wood, M.D. 



Associate Professor of 
Neurotology 
Lewis Fisher, M.D. 

Associate Prof, of Bronscho- 
scopy and Esophagoscopy 
Gabriel Tucker, M.D. 

Professor of Proctology 
*W. Oakley Hermance, M.D. 
-Collier F. Martin, M.D. 
Professor of Biochemistry 
George H. Meeker, Ph.D., 
Sc.D., LL.D. 

Professor of Morbid Anatomy 

Eugene A. Case, M.D. 
Professor of Pathology and 
Bacteriology 
John A. Kolmer, M.D., Dr. 
P. H., Sc.D., LL.D. 

Associate in Clinical 
Immunology 
John A. Murphy, M.D. 

Professor of Parasitology 
Damaso DeRivas, Ph.D., 
M.D. 

Director of the Diagnostic 
Clinic 
Henry B. Ingle, M.D. 



Minor Staff 

Includes all members of the Visiting Staff not otherwise 
classified, each member of the Minor Staff being a subordinate 
to some member of the Major Staff. Minor Staff members 
have private patient privileges — for ward privileges see explana- 
tion under "Major Staff." 



Assistant Prof, of Medicine 
Andrew Anders, M.D. 
James A. Shelly, M.D. 
Hugh McC. Miller, Ph.D., 

M.D. 
Edward Steinfield, M.D. 

Associate in Gastroenterology 
Joseph C. Bank, M.D. 

Associate in Cardiology 
Joseph T. Beardwood, Jr., 

A.B., M.D. 
Lawrence S. Carey, M.D. 
S. Calvin Smith, M.D. 

Instructor in Medicine 
Nathan Blumberg, M.D. 
A. David Bubbis, M.D. 
Benjamin A. Gouley, M.D. 

Instructor in Gastroenterology 
Harry N. Metzger, M.D. 
Maurice M. Rothman, M.D. 

Assistant in Cardiology 
Samuel Bellett, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant Cardiology 
Alexander Sidney Brody 
Samuel Garfield Shepherd 

Assistant in Cardiology 
Mary H. Easby, M.D. 

Assistant in Gastroenterology 
Charles M. Glassmire, M.D. 

Assistant in Medicine 

Joseph E. Kaplan, M.D. 

Henry J. Tumen, M.D. 
Assistunt in Gastroenterology 

Samuel A. Wilkinson, M.D. 
Clinical Assistant in Medicine 

Maurice S. Blieden, M.D. 
Clinical Assistant in 
Electrotherapeutics 

Rosalie M. Blitzstein, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in 
Metabolism 

Horace B. Conaway, M.D. 
Associate in Pediatrics 

J. D. Leebron, M.D. 
Instructor in Pediatrics 

J. Hart Toland, M.D., A.B. 



Clinical Assistant in Pediatrics 
S. Ball, M.D. 
D. Brooks, M.D. 
Joseph G. Wiener, M.D. 

Associate in Neurology 

Bernard J. Alpers, M.D. 
Instructor in Neurology 

William Drayton, Jr., M.D. 

William C. Keller, M.D. 

Eugene Lindauer, M.D. 

Instructor in Psychiatry 

Gerald H. J. Pearson, A.B., 
M.D. 

Instructor in Neurology 
Ross H. Thompson, M.D. 

Associate in Neurology 
Joseph C. Yaskin, A.B., 
M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Neuro 
Surgery 
William Duane, Jr., M.D. 

Clinical Assistant, Neurology 
Edward L. Clemens, M.D. 
Isador Fonnan, M.D. 
I. Harold Jubelirer, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in 
Neuropsychiatry 
Max Levin, A.B., M.D. 
Clinical Assistant, Neurology 
Winifred B. Stewart, M.D. 
Associate Professor of Derma- 
tology and Spyhilology 
Sigmund S. Greenbaum, B. 

S., M.D. 
Joseph V. Klauder, M.D. 
Associate Professor of 
Syphilology 
Charles H. deT. Shivers, 
M.D. 
Associate Professor of Derma- 
tology and Syphilology 
Carroll Wright, A.B., B.S., 
M.D. 
Instructor in Dermatology 
and Syphilology 
Simon Katz, M.D. 
Morris Markowitz, M.D. 



Clinical Assistant in Derma- 
tology 
Irving L. Chipman, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Derma- 
tology and Syphilology 
Bernard L. Kahn, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Syphil- 
ology 
Stanley M. McGeehan, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Derma- 
tology and Syphilology 
Henry H. Perlman, M.D. 

Instructor in Dermatology and 
Syphilology 
Jacques Pierre Guequierre, 
M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Radi- 
ology 
Bernard P. Widmann, M.D. 

Associate in Radiology 
Robert P. Sturr, M.D. 
Jacob Gershon-Cohen, M.D. 
Lee D. Parry, M.D. 
Edgar W. Spackman, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant, Radiology 

James L. Martin, M.D. 
Associate Professor of Surgery 

Stillwell C. Burns, M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Surgery 

William Bates, B.S., M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Neuro- 
surgery 

Francis C. Grant, A.B., M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Surgery 
Norman S. Rothschild, M.D. 

Instructor in Surgery 
Verne G. Burden, M.D. 

Instructor in Maxillofacial 
Surgery 
Lawrence Curtis, A.B., D.D. 
S., M.D. 
Assistant in Stomatology 
Victor H. Frank, D.D.S. 

Assistant in Surgery 

Charles J. Haines, M.D. 

Clin':cal Assistant in Surgery 
Edward H. Dench, M.D. 

Assistant in Surgery 

Frederick R. Robbins, M.D. 

Instructor in Surgery 

Bernard B. Neubauer, M.D. 
Russel C. Siepel, M.D. 

Assistant in Stomatology 
Maxwell B. Brenner, M.D. 
William C. Decker, D.D.S. 

Clinical Assistant in Surgery 
and Anesthesia 
J. C. Howell, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Surgery 
Thomas Summey, M.D. 
Russel C. Weimar, M.D. 

Assistant in Surgery 

Gilson C. Engel 
Associute Professor of Gyne- 
cology 
George W. Outerbridge, A. 
B., M.D. 

Associate Professor of Obstet- 
rics 
Charles B. Reynolds, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Gyne- 
cology 
Jacob K. Jaffe, M.D. 

Instructor in Otology 

Stephen Mitterling, M.D. 

Instructor in Laryngology 
Adrian V. Orr, M.D. 



Instructor in Otology 

William F. Whelan, M.D., 
M.Sc. (Med.) 

Assistant in Laryngology 
Louis S. Dunn, M.D. 
Otto C. Hirst, M.D. 

Assistant in Bronchoscopy and 
Esophagoscopy 
Chevalier L. Jackson, A.B., 
M.D. 

Assistant in Otology 
James H. Kates, M.D. 
A. H. Persky, M.D. 

Assistant in Laryngology 
John B. Price, A.B., M.D. 
Max Ruttenberg, M.D. 
Assistant in Otology 

Richard Shapiro, M.D. 
Asst. Bronchoscopy and 
Esophagoscopy 
Emily Lois Van Loon, A.B., 
M.D., M.Sc. (Med.) 

Clinical Assistant in Laryngol- 
ogy 
Samuel F. Levin, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Otology 
Arthur McGinnis, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Laryn- 
gology 
Samuel Stoumen, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Proc- 
tology 
Harry Z. Hibshman, M.D. 

Instructor in Proctology 
Frederick C. Smith, M.D., 

M.Sc. (Med.) 
Julius L. Werner, M.D. 

Clincial Assistant in Proctol- 
ogy 
Harry E. Bacon, M.D. 
Clyde C. Neese, M.D. 
Francis H. Murray 

Assistant Professor of Gyne- 
cology 
Ernest G. Maier, M.D. 
Bernard Mann, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Obstet- 
rics 

C. J. Stamm, A.B., M.D. 
Philip F. Williams, Ph.B., 

M.D. 
Associate in Obstetrics 

Ford A. Miller, Ph.B., M.D. 
Instructor in Gynecology 
Everett C. Bishop, A.B., 

M.D. 
Robert A. Kimbrough, M.D. 
Instructor in Obstetrics 

D. Randall MacCarroll, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Gynecol- 
ogy 
R. Vera Zabarkes, M.D. 

Instructor in Gynecology 
Vincent T. Shipley, A.B., 
M.D., M.Sc. (Med.) 

Instructor in Obstetrics 
Owen J. Toland, M.D. 
Isaac Andrussier, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Gynecol- 
ogy 
Maurice T. Sloane, M.D. 

Instructor in Gynecology 
Margaret H. Sutley, M.D. 

CI. Assistant in Obstetrics 
Theodore Cianfrani 

Associate Professor of Ortho- 
pedics 
C. Howard Moore, M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



gg^^^gg 



tttmammam 




68 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Assistant Professor of Ortho- 
pedics 

Clement R. Bowen, M.D. 

George W. Wagoner, A.B., 
M.D. 

James E. Wyant, Ph.B., M.D. 

Associate in Orthopedics 

Morris B. Cooperman, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Ortho- 
pedics 
Paul N. Jepson, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Urology 
Joseph C. Birdsall, A.M., 
M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Urology- 
Francis G. Harrison, M.D. 

Associate in Urology 

Lorenzo F. Milliken, M.D., 

D.Sc. (Med.) 
Stirling Moorhead, M.D. 

Instructor in Urology 
Albert E. Bothe, M.S., M.D. 
Harry C. Fish, M.D. 
Lourain Edward McCrea, 

M.D. 
Edward A. Mullen, P. D., 

M.D. 
Philip S. Rosenblum, M.D. 
Jacob Rosener, A.B., M.D. 
Lynnley G. Smith, M.D. 

Assistant in Urology 
Herbert T. Kelly, M.D. 
Edward T. Litt, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Urology 
Samuel C. Jaspan, M.D. 
Harold S. Rosenblatt, M.D. 

Professor of Ophthalmology 
H. Maxwell Langdon, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Oph- 
thalmology 
Oliver F. Mershon, M.D. 
Edmund B. Spaeth, M.D. 

Associate in Ophthalmology 
Isaac S. Tassman, M.D. 

Instructor in Ophthalmology 
Joseph I. Gouterman, M.D. 
John E. Medley, M.D. 

Assistant in Ophthalmology 
Albert F. Beck, M.D. 
Victor I. Seidel, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Ophthal- 
mology 

Samuel H. Brown, M.D. 

George H. Moore, M.D. 

Solon L. Rhode, M.D. 

Clarence C. Rogers, M.D. 
Associate Professor of Otology 

Matthew S. Ersner, M.D. 

Henry S. Wieder, A.M., M.D. 
Associate Professor of Laryn- 
gology 

William C. Wood, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Otology 
Henry Dintenfass, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Laryn- 
gology 
Harry A. Schatz, A.B., M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Otology- 
Benjamin H. Shuster, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Laryn- 
gology 
Samuel R. Skillern, Jr., M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Otology 
Philip S. Stout, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Laryn- 
gology 
Frederic M. Strouse, M.D. 
Arthur J. Wagers, M.D. 



Associate in Laryngology 
Herman B. Cohen, M.D. 
Samuel Cohen, M.D. 
William D. W. Hall, A.M., 
M.D. 

Associate in Otology 

W. Marshall Hinkle, B.S., 
M.D. 

Instructor in Laryngology 
E. John Presper 

Associate in Laryngology 
Henrv A. Laessle, Ph.G., 
M.D. 

Associate in Otology 

Douglas Macfarlan, B.S., 

M.D. 
David Nussbaum, M.D. 

Associate in Laryngology 
Arthur Padilla, M.D. 
Joseph D. Seiberling, P.D., 
M.D. 

Associate in Otology 

Marshall B. Sponsler, M.D. 

Associate in Otology 
Louis D. Sulman, M.D. 

Associate in Laryngology 
George L. Whelan, M.D., 
M.Sc. (Med.) 

Associate in Otology 
Myron A. Zachs, M.D. 

Instructor in Otology 
Louis Baer, M.D. 

Instructor in Oral Pathology- 
Michael T. Barrett, M.S., 
D.D.S. 

Instructor in Otology 
A. Otto Goldstein, M.D. 

Instructor in Laryngology 
William Hartz, M.D. 
Frank 0. Hendrickson, M.D. 

Instructor in Otology 
William Hewson, M.D. 
George E. Johnson, M.D. 
Milton V. Miller, B.S., M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Proctol- 
ogy 
James D. Schofield, M.D. 
Mary M. Spears, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Bio- 
chemistry 
Walter G. Karr, Ph.D. 

Associate in Biochemistry 
William B. Rose, M.C., M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Bacteri- 
ology 
Frederick Boerner, V.M.D. 

Instructor in Bacteriology 
Elizabeth M. Yagle, B.S. 

Instructor in Biochemistry- 
Alexander G. Keller, Jr., 
B.S., Ph.G. 

Assistant in Clinical Immun- 
ology 
J. Wesley Miller, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Immun- 
ology and Assistant in Im- 
munology Clinic 
Henry Barenblatt, M.D. 

Instructor in Pathology 
Louis Tuft, M.D. 

Clinical Assistant in Immun- 
ology 
Robert C. Golgan 



SPECIAL VISITING STAFF 

Members of the Special Visiting Staff have private patient 
privileges. The Special Visiting Staff consists of all members 
of the Faculty of the Graduate School of Medicine who are 
licensed in Pennsylvania and who are not members of the 
other Visiting Staff groups designated above. Re ward privi- 
leges see "Major Staff" above. 



Professor of Physical Diag- 
nosis 
L. Napoleon Boston, A.M., 
M.D. 

Professor of Clinical Medicine 
David Riesman, M.D. 

Professor of Medicine 

Alfred Stengel, M.D., ScD., 
LL.D. 

Professor of Therapeutics 
Horatio C. Wood, Jr., M.D. 

Associate Professor of Medi- 
cine 
Joseph C. Doane, M.D. 
Thomas Klein, M.D. 

Clinical Professor of Epidemic 
Contagious Diseases 
Samuel S. Woody, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Cardi- 
ology 
Thomas M. McMillan, M.D. 

Instructor in Cardiology 
George Cupp Griffith, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Medi- 
cine 
Ralph Pemberton, B.S., M. 
S., M.D. 

Associate Professor of Cardi- 
ology 
William D. Stroud, B.S., 
M.D. 

Associate Professor of Medi- 
cine 
Robert G. Torrey, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Medi- 
cine 
Andrew Callahan, M.D. 
Thomas A. Cope, M.D. 
Richard A. Kern, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Epi- 
demic Contagious Diseases 
Theodore LeBoutillier, 
M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Medi- 
cine 
Myer Solis-Cohen, A.B., 
M.D. 

Associate in Physiotherapy 
Joseph B. Nylin, M.D. 

Associate in Medicine 

Truman G. Schnabel, M.D. 

Associate in Industrial Medi- 
cine 
Mervyn Ross Taylor, M.D. 

Instructor in Applied Endo- 
crinology 
Claude P. Brown, M.D. 

Instructor in Epidemic Con- 
tagious Diseases 

Theodore Melnick, M.D. 
Professor of Pediatrics 

J. Claxton Gittings, M.D. 

Emeritus Professor of Pedia- 
trics 
J. P. Crozer Griffith, Ph.D., 
M.D. 
Professor of Pediatrics 

Alfred Hand, A.B., Ph.B., 
M.D. 



Associate Professor of Pedia- 
trics 
Charles A. Fife, A.B., M.D. 
John F. Sinclair, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Pedia- 
trics 
William N. Bradley, Ph.G., 

M.D. 
Horace H. Jenks, A.B., M.D. 
Charles H. Weber, M.D. 

Associate in Pediatric Hygiene 
Emily P. Bacon, A.B., M.D. 

Associate in Pediatrics 

Frederick Fraley, A.B., M.D. 
Thomas C. Kelly, M.D. 
Percival Nicholson, M.D. 
John P. Scott, M.D. 

Instructor in Pediatrics 
Arthur M. Dannenberg, 

M.D. 
Julian M. Lyon, M.D. 
James J. Reilly, A.B., M.D. 
Alvin E. Siegel, A.B., M.D. 

Assistant in Pediatrics 
A. Robert Bauer, M.D. 
Arthur Hill London, M.D. 

Professor of Psychiatry 
Earl D. Bond, A.B., M.D. 

Professor of Neurology 

Charles W. Burr, B.S., M.D. 

Emeritus Professor of Neu- 
rology 
James H. Lloyd, A.M., M.D. 
Professor of Psychiatry 
Seymour DeWitt Ludluni, 
B.S., M.D. 
Emeritus Professor of Neu- 
rology 
Charles K. Mills, M.D., Ph. 
D., LL.D. 
Professor of Neurology 
William G. Spiller, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Psy- 
chiatry 
Albert G. Buckley, M.D. 

Associate Professor of Neu- 
rology 
James W. McConnell, M.D. 

Associates in Psychiatry 
Frederick H. Allen, A.M., 

M.D. 
Daniel H. Fuller, A.B., M.D 

Associate in Neurology 
Frederic H. Leavitt, M.D. 

Instructors in Psychiatry- 
Kenneth E. Appel, M.D. 
Elmer V. Eyman, A.B., M.D. 

Instructor in Neurology 
Temple S. Fay, B.S., M.D. 

Instructor in Neuropathology 
Helena E. Riggs, A.B., M.D. 

Professor of Dermatology and 
Syphilology 
John H. Stokes, A.B., M.D. 

Professor of Dermalologic Re- 
search 
Fred DeF. Weidman, M.D. 

Associates in Dermatology- 
Edward F. Corson, M.D. 
Patricia Hart-Drant, B.S., 
M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



69 



Professor of Radiology 
Henry K. Pancoast, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Radiol- 
ogy 
Eugene P. Prendergrass, 
M.D. 
Associate in Radiology 

Ralph S. Bromer, M.D. 
Instructor in Roentgen Diag- 
nosis 
Ernest Burvill-Holmes, M.D. 

Instructor in Radiology 
Karl Kornblum, M.D. 
Professor of Clinical Surgery 
Astley P. G. Ashhurst, A.B., 
M.D. 
Professor of Surgery 

John B. Deaver, M.D., Sc.D., 
LL.D. 
Professors of Clinical Surgery 
Eldridge L. Eliason, A.B., 

M.D. 
George P. Muller, M.S., 
M.D. 
Associate Professors of 
Surgery 
Edward B. Hodge, A.B., 

M.D. 
James A. Kelly, A.M., M.D. 
Charles F. Mitchell, M.D. 
John Speese, M.D. 
Albert D. Whiting, M.D. 
Assistant Professors of 
Surgery 
Basil R. Beltran, A.B., M.D. 
Henrv P. Brown, Jr., B.S., 

M.D. 
Damon B. Pfeiffer, A.B., 

M.D. 
Calvin M. Smyth, Jr., M.D. 

Associates in Surgery 
Irvine M. Boykin, M.D. 
Edwart T. Crossan, M.D. 
Assistants in Surgery 

Fred-rick A. Bothe, M.S., 

M.D. 
W. Edgar Christie, M.D. 
Bruce L. Fleming, M.D. 
Professors of Gynecology 
William E. Ashton, M.D., 

LL.D. 
Floyd E. Keene, M.D. 
Charles C. Norris, M.D. 
Professors of Obstetrics 
Richard C. Norris, A.M., 

M.D. 
Edmund B. Piper, B.S., 
M.D. 
Associate Professors of Gyne- 
cology 
John H. Girvin, M.D. 
John C. McGlinn, M.S., 
M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Obstet- 
rics 
John C. Hirst, 2d., A.B., 
M.D. 
Assistant Professors of Gyne- 
cology 
George M. Laws, M.D. 
Charles Mazer, M.D. 
Ellice McDonald, M.D. 
Associate in Gynecology 

Myer Sahel, M.D. 
Associate in Obstetrics 
William W. Van Dolson, 
M.D. 
Associates in Gynecology 
Marnetta E. Vogt, M.D. 
Charles S. Wachs, M.D. 
Charles A. Behney 
Instructor in Gynecology 
Francis H. Eaton, A.B., M.D 



Professor of Orthopedics 
A. Bruce Gill, A.B., M.D. 

Associate Professor of Ortho- 
pedics 
William J. Merrill, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Urology 
Wilbur H. Haines, B.S., 
M.D. 

Instructor in Urology 

Henry K. Sangree, A.B., 
M.D. 
Professor of Ophthalmology 
George S. Crampton, M.D. 
Emeritus Professor of Oph- 
thalmology 
George E. deSchweinitz, 
A.M., M.D., Sc.D., LL.D. 
Professor of Ophthalmology 

J. Milton Griscom, M.D. 
Associate Professor of Oph- 
thalomology 
B. F. Baer, Jr., B.S., M.D. 
Assistant Professors of Oph- 
thalmology- 
Alfred Cowan, M.D. 
Perce DeLong, M.D. 
George H. Cross, M.D. 
A. G. Fewell, A.B., M.D. 
G. F. J. Kelly, M.D. 
Warren S. Reese, M.D. 
Hunter W. Scarlett, B.S., 
M.D. 
Associates in Ophthalmology 
Francis H. Adler, A.M., M.D. 
Benjamin H. Mann, M.D. 
Jay B. Rudolphy, M.D. 
Instructors in Ophthulmology 
R. T. M. Donnelly, M.D. 
Max R. Gabrio, M.D. 
Willard G. Mengel, B.S., 

M.D. 
John S. Shipman, M.D. 

Assistants in Ophthalmology 
DeLorme T. Fordvce, 

D.D.S., M.D. 
John C. Siggins, M.D. 

Professor of Otology 

B. Alexander Randall, M.D., 
Ph.D. 
Associate Professor of Oto- 
laryngology 
Jam s A. Babbitt, A.M., 
M.D. 
Associate Professor of Laryn- 
gology 
Louis J. Burns, A.M., M.D. 
Associate Professor of Otology 
Benjamin D. Parish, B.S., 
M.D. 
Associate Professor of Laryn- 
gology 
Robert F. Ridpath, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Bron- 
choscopy and Esophago- 
scopy 
Louis H. Clerf, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Otology 
Morris A. Weinstein, M.D. 

Associate in Otology 

Frank A. Bridgett, M.D., 
M.Sc. (Med.) 

Associates in Otolaryngology 
John R. Davies, Jr., M.D. 
Charles R. Hughes, M.D. 

Associate Professor in Laryn- 
gology 
Robert J. Hunter, M.D. 

Associates in Bronchoscopy 
and Esophagoscopy 
Robert M. Lukens, M.D . 
William F. Moore, M.D. 



Associate in Otology 

William R. Watson, M.D. 

Instructor in Otolaryngology 
Edward H. Campbell, M.D. 

Instructors in Otology 
Edward W. Collins, M.D. 
C. Calvin Fox, M.D. 
Instructor in Laryngology 
Francis V. Gowen, M.D. 
Assistant Professor in Otology 

David N. Husik, M.D. 
Instructor in Otolaryngology 

Edwin P. Longaker, M.D. 
Instructor in Laryngology 

Joseph I. Smith, M.D. 
Assistant in Bronschoscopy 
and Esophagoscopy 
Edmund Aucoin, M.D. 
Assistant in Laryngology 

Edward G. Bray, M.S., M.D. 
Assistant in Otology 

Anthony A. S. Giordano, 
M.D. 
Assistant in Otolaryngology 

Edwin D. Lunn, A.B., M.D. 
Instructor in Laryngology 

Joseph Andrew Kenan, M.D. 
Professor of Embryology and 
Histology 
William H. F. Addison, 
A.B., M.D. 
Emeritus Professor of Anat- 
omy 
Addinell Hewson, A.M., 
M.D. 
Professor of Anatomy 

Oscar V. Batson, A.B., A.M., 
M.D. 
Associate Professor of Applied 
Anatomy 
T. Turner Thomas, M.D. 
Associate in Applied Anatomy 

George Schwartz, M.D. 
Instructor in Anatomy 

Josef D. Weintraub, B.S., 
M.D. 



Assistants in Applied Anatomy 
Leslie F. Mulford, M.D. 
Edward Lodholz, M.D. 

Assistant Professor of Phys- 
iology 
Grayson P. McCouch, M.D. 

Professor of Neuropathology 
Nathaniel W. Winkelman, 
M.D. 
Associate Professor of Pathol- 
ogy 
Dr. P. H. Baldwin Lucke, 
M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Pathol- 
ogy 
John Eimann, M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Experi- 
mental Pathology 
Stanley P. Reimann, M.D. 
Associate in Pathology 

Arthur D. Waltz, M.S., M.D. 
Instructor in Surgical Pathol- 
ogy 
John T. Bauer, B.S., M.D. 
Instructor in Pathology 

William P. Belk, A.B., M.D. 
Associate Professor of Bacter- 
iology 
Courtland Y. White, M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Veter- 
inary Bacteriology 
Harry C. Campbell, B.S., 
V.M.D., M.D., D.D.S. 
Assistant Professor of Bacter- 
iology 
James C. Small, B.S., M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Clinical 
Allergy 
H. B. Wilmer, M.D. 
Director of the William Pep- 
per Clinical Laboratory 
Herbert Fox, M.D. 
Director of the Clinical and 
Sociologic Departments of 
the Henry Phipps Institute 
H. R. M. Landis, A.B., M.D. 



House Medical Staff 
Members of the House Medical Staff do not have Hospital 
privileges either for private patients or for general ward pa- 
tients. They are all under the general authority of the Hos- 
pital Director and are under the special authority of the Chief 
Resident Physician. 

Chief Resident Physician 

Under the Director the Chief Resident Physician is in au- 
thority over the members of the House Medical Staff. 

Cole, M.D. 



R. Z. Linney, M.D. 
Special Assistant Chief Resi- 
dent Physicians 
Internal Medicine 
Benjamin Wolepor, M.D. 

Surgery 
Brand A. Leopard, M.D. 
H. P. Totten, M.D. 

Urology 
Raul Ramirez, M.D. 

Resident Physicians 
C. E. Bell, M.D. 
C. A. Born, M.D. 
Frank Briglia, M.D. 



L. R. 

H. E. Earnheart, M.D. 

E. A. Farrell, M.D. 

W. R. Floyd, M.D. 

J. M. Gibbons, M.D. 

J. D. Ringwalt, M.D. 

Charles K. Mills, M.D. 

J. A. Ritter, M.D. 

D. E. Roach, M.D. 

H. A. Rothrock, Jr., M.D. 

LeRoy H. Sadler, M.D. 

J. E. Smaltz, M.D. 

A. F. Tessier, M.D. 

Frank Wood, M.D. 

R. H. Wright, Jr., M.D. 



STUDENT PHYSICIAN STAFF 
Academic Externs 
All physicians matriculated in the Graduate School of Medi- 
cine and assigned to clinical work in the Graduate Hospital 
become, ipso facto, during matriculation periods, Academic 
Externs upon the Staff of the Graduate Hospital. Academic 
Externs have neither private patient nor ward patient privi- 
leges in the Graduate Hospital. They perform such clinical 
work as is directly assigned to them by the appropriate mem- 
bers of the Major Staff or by their designated subordinates; or 
by the Chief Resident Physician acting under instructions from 
the Dean or from the appropriate members of the Major Staff. 



-AmiWiuij+JwmA 



^iiTinriimiMiriiiiniiiiriinniiiiWiMiii 



■— ■ 



" « 



HnmiZiuisHmiHAiiSidBL&i 



70 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



The Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital 



BROAD STREET ABOVE RACE STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA 

Founded: 1848 Bed Capacity: 700 



Services Rendered 
All 



STAFF 



HAHNEMANN HOSPITAL 

STAFF 
Physicians 

G. Harlan Wells, M.D. 

G. Morris Golden, M.D. 

Samuel W. Sappington, M.D. 

Harry M. Eberhard, M.D. 

George H. Bickley, M.D. 

William R. Williams, M.D. 

Joseph McEldowney, M.D. 

Garth W. Boericke, M.D. 
Assistant Visiting Physicians 

C. Dudley Saul, M.D. 

E. Roland Snader, Jr., M.D. 

Donald R. Ferguson, M.D. 

Physicians to Children 

C. Sigmund Raue, M.D. 
John L. Redman, M.D. 
Benjamin K. Fletcher, M.D. 

Assistant Physicians to Chil- 
dren 
John H. Reading, Jr., M.D. 
Chas. D. Fox, M.D. 
Win. Starke Johnson, M.D. 

Electrocardiographers 

George D. Geckeler, M.D. 
Donald R. Ferguson, M.D. 
E. Roland Snader, Jr., M.D. 

Surgeons 

Herbert L. Northrop, M.D. 
Gustave A. Van Lennep, 

M.D. 
Herbert P. Leopold, M.D. 
John Dean Elliott, M.D. 
Deacon Steinmetz, M.D. 
A. B. Webster, M.D. 
Arthur Hartley, M.D. 
William M. Sylvis, M.D. 
J. A. Brooke, M.D. 

Urologists 

Leon T. Ashcraft, M.D. 
William C. Hunsicker, M.D. 

Assistant Urologist 

J. Miller Kenworthy, M.D. 

Gynecologists 

D. Bushrod James, M.D. 
William D. Culin, M.D. 
Frank J. Frosch, M.D. 
Earl B. Craig, M.D. 

Assistant Gynecologists 

Robert M. Hunter, M.D. 

Chas. F. Kutteroff, M.D. 
Laryngologists 

Harry S. Weaver, M.D. 

Fred. W. Smith, M.D. 

L. E. Marter, M.D. 

Chas. B. Hollis, M.D. 
Assistant Laryngologists 

Richard J. Coyne, M.D. 

Albert V. Hallowell, M.D. 

Raymond T. Briggs, M.D. 
Ophthalmologists 

Frank O. Nagle, M.D. 

Fred C. Peters, M.D. 

Chas. J. V. Fries, M.D. 

Thomas M. Snyder, M.D. 
Assistant Ophthalmologists 

Marion Benjamin, M.D. 

E. Paul Kitchin, M.D. 
Wm. J. Ryan, M.D. 
Franklin Flanagan, M.D. 

Otologists 

Gilbert J. Palen, M.D. 
Joseph V. F. Clay, M.D. 



Assistant Otologists 

Joseph R. Criswell, M.D. 

Carroll F. Haines, M.D. 
Neurologist 

Edward A. Steinhilber, M.D. 
Obstetricians 

John Edwin James, Jr., M.D. 

Warren C. Mercer, M.D. 

William I. Tomlinson, M.D. 

Oliver B. Wait, M.D. 

Leon Clemmer, M.D. 

James B. Bert, M.D. 

Newlin F. Paxson, M.D. 

Carl V. Vischer, M.D. 

Albert Mutch, M.D. 

Desiderio A. Roman, M.D. 

Richard R. Gates, M.D. 

Thomas J. Vischer, M.D. 

Dermutologist 

Paul C. Wittman, M.D. 
Roentgenologists 

Jacob W. Frank, M.D. 

John J. McKenna, M.D. 

Chas. L. W. Rieger, M.D. 

A. E. Krick, M.D. 

W. E. Kepler, M.D. 

Radium Therapeutist 

Frank C. Benson, Jr., M.D. 
Pathologist 

Samuel W. Sappington, M.D. 
Assistant Pathologists 

Grant O. Favorite, M.D. 

Frank L. Follweiler, M.D. 
Anaesthetists 

Wayne T. Killian, M.D. 

James M. Godfrey, M.D. 

Everett A. Tvler. M.D. 

Henry S. Ruth. B.S.. M.D. 

Melville A. Goldsmith, M.D. 

Henry L. Somers, M.D. 

John P. Maver, M.D. 

Harry A. Fisher, Jr., M.D. 
Dentist 

J. Carl Criswell, D.D.S. 
Pharmacist 

John A. Borneman, P.D. 
Consulting Physicians 

W. K. Ingersoll, M.D. 

Oliver Sloan Haines. M.D. 

Clarence Bartlett. M.D. 
Consulting Obstetrician 

Augustus Korndoerfer, Jr., 
M.D. 
Consulting Dermatologist 

Ralph Bernstein, M.D. 
Consulting Rhinologist and 
Laryngologist 

Isaac G. Shallcross, M.D. 
Consulting Roentgenologist 

Walter C. Barker, M.D. 

Resident Physicians and 
Surgeons 

Chief Resident 

Boyden W. Kowalski, M.D. 

Internes 

Theodore Washington Batta- 

farano 
John Samuel Dunn 
Wilson Arbogast Foust 
Herbert William Goebert 
Robert Allan Hibbs 
Horace H. Hunsicker 
Donald Twining Jones 
Henry Dibert Lafferty 



James Paul Lawler 
M. Joseph Melody 
Stanley J. Miller 
Paul C. Moock 
James A. Seligman 
Ernest A. N. Seyfried 
Gabriel Eugene Tenaglia 
Paul H. Ulrich 
James William Urie 
Harry Sands Weaver, Jr. 
Adam Francis Weiss 
Maxwell Fay White 
W. G. Wosnack, M.D., Resi- 
dent Anesthetist 
Director of Hospital 
John M. Smith 

Superintendent of Nurses 
S. Annabelle Smith, R.N. 

Steward 

Chas. Minter 

Housekeeper 

Mrs. Anna Keller 

HAHNEMANN HOSPITAL 
DISPENSARY STAFF 
Department of Medicine 
G. Morris Golden, M.D. 
Wm. R. Williams, M.D. 

C. Dudley Saul, M.D. 

D. R. Ferguson, M.D. 

E. R. Snader, M.D. 
George D. Geckeler, M.D. 
A. R. Seraphin, M.D. 
Carl V. Vischer, M.D. 
Melville A. Goldsmith, M.D. 
J. Antrim Crellin, M.D. 

A. O. Katz, M.D. 
Karl F. Mayer, M.D. 
Ralph Bernstein, M.D. 
P. C. Wittman, M.D. 
H. E. Twining, M.D. 

J. J. Klain, M.D. 

D. W. Kirby, M.D. 
Garth W. Boericke, M.D. 
Charles J. White, M.D. 
W. J. Kuemmel, M.D. 

J. Hunter Cook, M.D. 
Morris Fiterman, M.D. 

B. V. MacFadyen, M.D. 

Department of Pediatrics 

C. Sigmund Raue, M.D. 
J. L. Redman, M.D. 

B. K. Fletcher, M.D. 

J. H. Reading, Jr., M.D. 

C. D. Fox, M.D. 

W. S. Johnson, M.D. 
Baby Welfare Clinic 

J. Herbert Reading, Jr., M.D. 
Department of Neurology 

E. A. Steinhilber, M.D. 
Geo. R. Neff, M.D. 

James H. Closson, 3rd, M.D. 

Paul A. Metzger, M.D. 
Department of Gastro- 
Enterology 

H. M. Eberhard, M.D. 

George Lorentz, Jr., M.D. 

Harry A. Fisher, Jr., M.D. 
Department of Surgery 

Herbert L. Northrop, M.D. 

N. Fuller Hoffman, M.D. 

Thos L. Doyle, M.D. 

Clarence L. Shollenberger, 
M.D. 



Wm. L. Martin, M.D. 
Frank E. Bristol, M.D. 
John A. Brooke, M.D. 
Wm. H. Shane, M.D. 
Edwin O. Geckeler, M.D. 
Benjamin F. Griffith, M.D. 
James D. Schofield, M.D. 
Thos. W. Phillips. M.D. 
Marguerita G. Simcox 
Edna Moch 

Department of Roentgenology 
Jacob W. Frank, M.D. 
John J. McKenna, A.M. 
Chas. L. W. Rieger, M.D. 
Arthur J. Morgan 
Olive Elizabeth Dyer 

Department of Radium 
Therapy 
Frank C. Benson, Jr., M.D. 

Department of Rhinology, 
Laryngology, Ophthal- 
mology and Otology 
Harry S. Weaver, M.D. 
Fred W. Smith, M.D. 
L. E. Marter, M.D. 
Chas. B. Hollis, M.D. 
Albert Hallowell, M.D. 
Richard J. Coyne, M.D. 
Raymond T. Briggs, M.D. 
George P. Glenn, M.D. 
Frank O. Nagle, M.D. 
Fred C. Peters, M.D. 
Charles J. V. Fries, M.D. 
Thomas M. Snyder, M.D. 
Marion Benjamin, M.D. 
E. Paul Kitchin, M.D. 
A. M. Maldeis, M.D. 
W. J. Ryan, M.D. 
W. Morris Pierson, M.D. 
Gilbert J. Palen, M.D. 
Joseph V. F. Clay, M.D. 
Joseph R. Criswell, M.D. 
Carroll F. Haines, M.D. 

Department of Gynecology 
D. Bushrod James, M.D. 
Earl B. Craig, M.D. 
Frank J. Frosch, M.D. 
John W. Sykes, M.D. 
Robert M. Hunter, M.D. 
Charles S. F. Kutteroff, M.D. 
John P. Mayer, M.D. 

Department of Obstetrics 
John E. James, Jr., M.D. 
Warren C. Mercer, M.D. 
W. I. Tomlinson, M.D. 
Oliver B. Wait, M.D. 
Leon Clemmer, M.D. 
James B. Bert, M.D. 
Newlin F. Paxson, M.D. 
Carl V. Vischer, M.D. 
Albert Mutch, M.D. 
Desiderio A. Roman, M.D. 
Richard R. Gates, M.D. 
Thomas J. Vischer, M.D. 

Department of Urology 
Leon T. Ashcraft, M.D. 
Wm. C. Hunsicker, M.D. 
J. Miller Kenworthy, M.D. 
Charles F. Leonard, M.D. 
Bernard G. Walker, M.D. 
Edward W. Campbell, M.I) 
P. G. Damiani, M.D. 
H. G. Blessing. M.D. 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



71 



The Garretson Hospital of Temple University 

1810-1812 SPRING GARDEN STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 

Founded: 1897 Bed Capacity: 60 and 50 bassinets Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Laboratory, 

Out-patient 




William N. Parkinson, M.D. 
Jesse O. Arnold, M.D. 



STAFF 

Charles S. Barnes, M.D. 
Helen M. Hayes, M.D. 

(2J^ 



Philip Fiscella, M.D. 
G. F. Sheppard, M.D. 



Institute for Mental Hygiene 

111 NORTH 49TH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Bed Capacity: 140 



Chiefs of Clinical Services 
Edward A. Strecher, M.D. 
Earl D. Bond, M.D. 



STAFF 

Medical Executive Officer 
Lauren H. Smith, M.D. 



Services Rendered 
Nervous Cases, School for Children 



Psychiatrists 

Norville C. La Mar, M.D. 
Kenneth E. Appel, M.D. 



Jeanes Hospital 



Founded: 1907 

Accommodations ; 



FOX CHASE, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Opened: 1928 Services Rendered 

A Cancer and Diagnostic Hospital 



72 Patients 



STAFF 



Medical Director 

Roscoe W. Teahan, M.D. 

Internist 

Clarence A. Whitcomh, M.D. 

Pathologist 

Willard S. Hastings, M.D. 
Roentgenologist 

Elwood E. Downs, M.D. 
Fellow 

Hoke Wammock, M.D. 



Dentist 

W. R. Dunn, D.D.S. 

Superintendent 

Miss Katharine Brown 

Chief Nurse 

Miss Rosa M. Raup 
Social Service Worker 

Miss Bessie H. Wright 



CONSULTING STAFF 



Dr. E. J. G. Beardsley 
Dr. P. B. Bland 
Dr. A.E. Bothe 
Dr. A. C. Buckley 
Dr. G. M. Dorrance 
Dr. C. C. Eves 
Dr. J. M. Griscom 
Dr. Mary Griscom 
Dr. J. A. Kolmer 



Dr. A. H. Lippincott 
Dr. H. K. Pancoast 
Dr. E. P. Pendergrass 
Dr. E. A. Rohinson 
Dr. E. W. Smith 
Dr. G. Tucker 
Dr. A. P. Underwood 
Dr. J. H. Underwood 
Mr. J. L. Weatherwax 






mm 



&2SE£33S3m 



Kivr. hrnil 



72 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



JEANES HOSPITAL 



CANCER AND DIAGNOSTIC 




THANES HOSPITAL is a modern cancer and 
J diagnostic hospital, established in 1928, at Fox 
Chase, Philadelphia. Funds provided by the will 
of Anna T. Jeanes, a prominent member of the 
Society of Friends, were sufficient to build and 
equip a million dollar institution and leave a sub- 
stantial balance as endowment. It is ideally situ- 
ated on a 64-acre tract, ten miles from City Hall, 
Philadelphia, easily reached by auto, train (Read' 
ing R. R.), trolley, or bus. 

The buildings and equipment are modern and com' 
plete. There are accommodations for 72 patients in 
the present buildings. Additions are contemplated. 

The hospital is non'sectarian. Persons who have or 
suspect they have a cancer, tumor, ulcer or any 
precancerous condition, are admitted. 



The physicians' staff is full time. The nurses are 
all registered graduate nurses. 

Rates are on a par with thos2 of general hospitals 
but where necessary are adjusted in accordance 
with the patient's ability to pay. No one is re- 
fused admission because of inability to pay the 
regular fees. 

Laboratory and X'Ray facilities are available to 
physicians at reasonable rates. The radium owned 
by the hospital is also available for rental by 
physicians. 

Ambulatory cases are treated in the Out Patient 
Department, particular attention being given to 
the early diagnosis of cancer. 



Management Society of Friends 

(^ion'Sectariany 



Roscoe W.TEAHAN,M.D.,MedioiJ Director Miss Katherine Brown, Superintendent 

JEANES HOSPITAL, FOX CHASE, PHILADELPHIA 






PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



73 



. . 



&««>»-*;« ma.i' - ««!« >>::: «K:«:-;> : i! . »K5 was ffiff : < »«:<!:•■ : **«i 3S*S'ftsK*SS3S8 »!»!; jgs8 : ■: : ! : '.: ; "iff: ■•■. ff'ffff ff'/iffs 







JEFFERSON HOSPITAL 

Tknth and Sansom Streets 



*jjyj»wjj^i 






aaasi 



~"^- .. r - 



= 






74 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



Jewish Hospital Association of Philadelphia 

YORK AND TABOR ROADS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1865 



Consulting Surgeons 
Max J. Stern 
Melvin M. Franklin 

Consulting Neurologist 

Francis X. Dercum 
Consulting Dermatologist 

Jay F. Schamberg 

Consulting Pediatrist 
Joseph B. Potsdanier 

Consulting Cardiologist 

Charles C. Wolferth 
Consulting Physicians 

Alfred Stengel 

James M. Anders 

Lawrence F. Flick 

Judson Daland 

David Reisman 

A. J. Cohen 

Nathan Bluinberg 

Solomon Solis-Cohen 

Medical Consultant in 
Metabolism 

Leon Jonas 
Consulting Oto-Laryngologist 

Arthur W. Watson 

MAJOR STAFF 

Surgical 

William H. Teller 
Moses Behrend 
Leon Brinkmann 
Frank B. Block 

Orthopedic 

Walter G. Elmer 
William J. Merrill 

Ophthalmological 
J. C. Knipe 
Aaron Brav 

Obstetrical 

Edward A. Schumann 
Philip F. Williams 

Special Obstetrical 
C. J. Stamm 

Urological 
Thomas C. Stellwagon 

Medical 

Bernard Kohn 

Ludwig Loeb 

Edwin A. Heller 

Joseph C. Doane 
Neurological 

S. Leopold 

S. H. Bochroch 

ZV 'euro-Surgeon 
Temple Fay 



Bed Capacity: 400 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, Gynecological, Proctological, Neurologi- 
cal, Neuro-Surgical, Pediatric, Gastro-Enterologi- 
cal, Asthma and Hay Fever, Physio-Therapy, 
Orthopedic, Bronchoscopic, Dental 



STAFF 



Oto-Luryngological 
A. S. Spencer 
R. F. Ridpath 
H. M. Goddard 

Pediatric 

H. Lowenburg 
Meyer Solis-Cohen 

Dermatological 
C. P. Katzenstein 

Radiologist 
S. L. Feldstein 

Clinical Laboratory 
Edward Steinfield 

Dental 

Gustav C. Tassman 

Cardiologist 

Bernard Kohn 
Chief Resident Physiciun 

Edwin A. Jarecki 
By Virtue of previous L. 
H. Service 

C. J. Swalm 

M. K. Meyers 

M. J. Karpeles 

David Kapp 

H. B. Cohen 

W. B. Fetterman 

Dispensary Representative 

S. H. Kohlman 

S. Byron Goldsmith 
Medical Director 

Joseph C. Doane 
Associates to the Hospital 

J. B. Bernstine 

Mitchell Bernstein 

J. P. Besser 

N. Bluinberg 

Sacks Bricker 

S. Bruck 

A. E. Brunswick 

Louis H. Clerf 

Herman B. Cohen 

Arthur Dannenberg 

H. J. Darmstadter 

Lewis Fisher 

Hyman M. Ginsberg 

S. Goldberg 

H. L. Goldburgh 

Ralph Goldsmith 

S. Byron Goldsmith 

Benj. A. Gouley 

John H. Gunter 

Nicholas Gotten 

Asher S. Hadler 

Sidney Harberg 

George I. Israel 



M. 



The benevolent and humanitarian interest of the Jewish peo- 
ple of Philadelphia, in those of their faith, as well as those 
of all faiths, gave concrete expression of its sincerity in the 
organization of the Jewish Hospital Association in August, 
1864. From its inception, the Jewish Hospital maintained its 
intentions "that it was dedicated to the relief of the sick and 
wounded without regard to creed, color and nationality," and 
these words have been boldly inscribed in stone above the 
main entrance. 



Maurice S. Jacobs 
Paul N. Jepson 
Samuel H. Kohlman 
David W. Kramer 
Frank Krusen 
Victor A. Loeb 
John B. Lownes 
Alexander Margolies 
I. Meyerhoff 
Samuel Moss 
A. M. Ornsteen 
J. D. Pinson 
J. M. Rosenthal 
Norman Rothschild 
Samuel L. Rubinsolm 
Chas. H. Schatz 
Louis B. Schatz 
Win. G. Shields, Jr. 
Alvin E. Siegel 
Edward Steinfield 
C. J. Swalm 
M. Segal 

Robert A. Schless 
Maurice Silverman 
Jacob Walker 
M. I. Weissman 
J. C. Williams 
N. W. Winkelman 
M. Winston 
Maurice Weisbulum 
Assistants to the Dispensary 
Simon Ball 
Abraham I. Baron 
S. Baron 

Abraham Bernstein 
J. Bernard Bernstine 
Jos. P. Besser 
Sacks Bricker 
M. Brown 
Ernest A. Brav 
Louis H. Clerf 
Herman B. Cohen 
Joseph L. Candido 
H. J. Darmstadter 
Louis S. Dunn 
Louis K. Elfman 
Nathan Epstein 
Alfred A. Euster 
Leon Felderman 
Albert A. Finn 
Lewis Fisher 
Frank Glauser 
Ellis A. Goldberg 
Samuel J. Goldberg 
H. L. Goldburgh 
S. Byron Goldsmith 
Samuel T. Gordy 
H. M. Ginsberg 



Asher S. Hadler 
Sidney Harberg 
Win. J. Harrison 
Geo. I. Israel 
Maurice S. Jacobs 
Paul N. Jepson 
Morris N. Kallen 
M. J. Karpeles 
Harry K. Katz 
Herman R. Kauders 
Irving G. Klaus 
Samuel H. Kohlman 
David W. Kramer 
Harold Lipshutz 
Chas. Francis Long 
Robert M. Lukens 
Arthur R. Leinweber 
Israel Levin 
W. E. Magaziner 
Alexander Margolies 
Samuel S. Meyers 
A. M. Ornsteen 
J. D. Pinson 
David Promin 
Samuel S. Ringold 
Benj. B. Rittenberg 
J. M. Rosenthal 
P. Rothkugel 
L. B. Schatz 
Bernard Schwartz 
A. L. Segal 
M. Segal 

D. S. Seller 
S. S. Shapiro 
Harry Shay 
Jules A. Sherman 
Maurice Silverman 
Howard D. Sivitz 
Herman B. Slotkin 
David H. Solo 
Jacob L. Strousse 
C. J. Swalm 
Harry Smuckler 
Myer Somers 
Alexander Silverstein 
Gabriel Tucker 
Henry J. Tumen 
Jacob Walen 
Joseph G. Weiner 
Louis H. Weiner 
Philip Weinstein 

M. I. Weissman 
John C. Williams 
N. W. Winkleman 
M. Winston 

E. M. Weinberger 
Myron Zacks 

R. Vera Zabarkes 



On September 23, 1865, the Jewish Hospital Association of 
Philadelphia was incorporated, and soon afterwards the prop- 
erty at Westminster Avenue, Haverford Road and Fifty-Sixth 
Street, was purchased. This consisted of an acre and a quarter 
of ground, upon which was erected a three-story house and 
barn. Subsequently, additional ground adjoining was pur- 
chased, and on August 6, 1866, the Hospital was open for the 
reception of patients, and during the first year the Hospital 
treated twenty-eight patients. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 



75 



Soon it was found that the buildings occupied by the hos- 
pital were inadequate for their service, and in 1872 the Jewish 
Hospital Association purchased property between Thirteenth 
and Tenth Streets and Olney Avenue, on which site a new 
building was soon erected. 

Subsequent to this, further purchases of land were made, 
until at the present time the hospital occupies twenty-two 
acres of ground, upon which are erected some twenty-eight 
buildings. 



building for private patients, and in 1914 the Estate of Samuel 
Kohn furnished the funds to erect a unit to be used for medical 
cases. In addition to these, other buildings had been provided 
for Nurses' Homes, Laboratories, etc., and through all of these 
expansions the Hospital has been able to increase its work and 
service to the Community. 

In 1928 the greatest expansion at any one time in the hospital 
took place through the erection of the William B. and 
Adeline Hackenburg Building. This building is dedicated to 




MATERNITY BUILDING 



The Founders of the Jewish Hospital soon saw the necessity 
of taking care of aged and infirm Israelites and shortly after 
the founding of the Hospital, this department was also added 
to its work. In erecting the new hospital building, adequate 
provision was also made for the aged. 

In 1878 a separate dispensary building was provided and in 
1889 a new building was provided for the Home for Aged and 
Infirm, in which building, in addition, were housed the physi- 
cians, superintendent and others of the staff. All these expan- 
sions constantly provided larger facilities for the hospital. 

Through the death of Mr. Lucien Moss, who had been a 
member of the Board of Trustees for many years, and whose 
will became operative in 1900, funds became available for the 
erection of a Home for Incurables. Originally this building 
provided care for those having tuberculosis, but, with the im- 
provement in the treatment of this disease numbers have 
diminished greatly, and now we take care of those having 
cardiac, carcamona and other kindred diseases. 

In 1903 Mr. Meyer Guggenheim, who, though not a resident 
of Philadelphia any longer, but who had always manifested 
his interest in the organization, provided the funds to erect a 



the service of maternity and private patients. It is the latest 
in design and construction and contains the newest features 
available for hospital service. 5 

Last vear the hospital provided 88500 patient days care and 
17928 days' care for the Home for the Aged and Infirm; and 
gave 11891 days of treatments in its dispensary. 

From its bumble beginning in West Philadelphia and follow- 
ing its removal to the present site, the growth has been con- 
stant and robust. The community, both Jewish and non- 
Jewish, whose interests were solicited through the pioneers ot 
the undertaking, has maintained a lively co-operation and by 
individual gifts enlargement of the physical welfare of the 
Hospital has been possible and the accumulation ol endow- 
ments has enabled a marked furtherance in the free services. 

The Jewish Hospital is accredited and ranks as one ol the 
foremost institutions in the city, both architecturally and medi- 
cally The management has endeavored to keep abreast with 
the best practices of the time and alert to every advancement 
of benefit to its patients and staff. Its medical direction ,s under 
the supervision of foremost medical and surgical advisors, and 
the graduates of its Nursing School are in demand in then- 
professions. 



■''■*m?c\. 



■■■■MflittKanttKfe 



76 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



Kensington Dispensary for the Treatment of Tuberculosis 

N. E. COR. HANCOCK STREET AND SUSQUEHANNA AVENUE, PHILA., PA. 

and 

River Crest — Preventorium 

MONT CLARE, PA. 




• .TC^S*'.'" ■.■* 



THE DISPENSARY 



MEDICAL STAFF 



Medical Director 

Dr. Isadore Kaufman 

Consulting Pediatrist 
Dr. J. H. MoKee 

Consulting Neurologist 
Dr. D. J. McCarthy 

Consulting Laryngologist 
Dr. George Fetterolf 

Consulting Ophthalmologist 
Dr. Win. T. Shoemaker 



Consulting Surgeon and 
Gynecologist 
Dr. Walter Eslell Lee 

Pathologists 

Frank M. Hanimell 
George L. Seifert 

Consulting Roentgenologist 
Dr. H. lv. Pancoast 

Physicians to the Dispensary 
Dr. Andrew J. Midler 
Dr. Henry C. F. Kellner 
Dr. Harry W. Coos 
Dr. M. Bernard 



I isiting Physician to the 
Home 
Dr. Henry C. F. Kellner 

Laryngologist 

Dr. Geo. E. Shaffer 

Pediatrists 

Dr. Hervey L. Bates 
Dr. Harry W. Goos 

Dental Surgeon 
Dr. Louis Herman 

Ophthalmologist 
Dr. John R. Foist 



Serologist 

Dr. John A. Kolnier 
Physicians to "River Chest" 
Preventorium 
Mont Clare. Pa. 

Physiciun-in-Chief 
Dr. C F. Doran 

Associate Physician 
Dr. J. Elmer Gotvvals 

Examining Physician for 
Reading and Vicinity 

Dr. Margaret Hassler 
(Continued on Next Page) 



■tAJ-Jm. p ,. i . » .in.m 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



77 




RIVER CREST PREVENTORIUM, MONT CLARE, PA. 



Instituted 1905 "For the purpose of assisting persons suffering 
from Tuberculosis, without distinction ot race, creed, color or 
condition." 

March 29, 1906, to January 1, 1930. 

Number of applicants treated, 6,453. 

Treatments given at Dispensary, 90,915. 

At homes of patients by physicians, 7,43i>. 

Visits by Nurses, 32,433. 

Milk sent free, 174,764 quarts. 



Comforts of the sick room provided the needy. 

River Crest Preventorium— open the year round— first chil- 
dren admitted 1913- capacity 26 beds. 

New buildings dedicated 1929— capacity 100 beds. 

Medical supervision— fresh air— nourishing food— kindly care, 
result in rebuilding wasted tissue. Gain in weight— general all- 
round happy improvements. 

Both institutions are the outgrowth of the work of a group or 
Lutheran women. 

Supported by memberships and voluntary contributions. 



iQ- 



Kensington Hospital for Women 

130-136 DIAMOND STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1883 



Bod Capacity: 101 



Services Rendered 
Surgical, Obstetrical, X-ray, Out-patient, Laboratory, 

Gynecology 




STAFF 



Surgeon-in-Chief 

Harry C. Deaver, M.D. 

Consulting Chief 

John B. Deaver, M.I). 



Associate Surgeons 

William E. Parke, M.D. 
E. G. Alexander, M.D. 
Adrian W. Voegelin, M.D. 



Obstetricians 

William E. Parke, M.D. 
Associate Obstetricians 

Earl L. Brewer, M.D. 

Walter Harriman, M.D. 



Consulting Obstetrician 
Daniel Longaker, M.D. 

Consulting Ophthalmologist 
Harold G. Goldberg, M.D. 
(Continued on Next Page) 



"''yWf^C 



wmmmmmmm 



mm. 



mmltiWrtt ■ s . 



78 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Consulting Rhinologist 
Curtis C. Eves, M.D. 

Bacteriologist and Pathologist 
Courtland Y. White, M.D. 

Urologist 
John B. Haines, M.D. 

Surgeons to the Dispensary 
William E. Parke, M.D. 
Philip Moffses, M.D. 
Paul B. Bender, M.D. 
Adrian W. Voegelin, M.D. 



Frank H. Krehs, M.D. 
Ralph S. Holtzhausser, M.D. 
Howard Myers, M.D. 
Earl L. Brewer, M.D. 
L. Thos. Morton, M.D. 

Resident 

Joseph A. McLean, M.D. 

Superintendent 

Mary J. Glinz, R.N. 

Assistant 

Bernice M. Stine, R.N. 



OBJECT 

The ohject of the "Kensington Hospital for Women" is the 
relief of women suffering from diseases peculiar to their sex, 
from diseases of the urinary organs, and from those of the 
alimentary organs. 

Patients are admitted without regard to race or religion. 

The first ohject is the charitable treatment of the poor. But 
the Institution is not intended to he a pauperizing agency, hence 
a nominal sum is received for board from those patients who 
are aide to pay. Well appointed rooms and wards are pro- 
vided also for private patients. 



THE Kensington Hospital for 
Women was organized in Feb- 
ruary, 1883, by Dr. Howard A. 
Kelly, in a very humble manner. 
The start was made at 2821 C 
Street, in the home of a woman on 
whom he had previously operated, 
by name, Mrs. Kate Wood, who 
took tender care of Dr. Kelly's pa- 
tients, consisting of three at the 
start. His success was almost im- 
mediate, as Philadelphia had 
never before had a hospital de- 
voted exclusively to the care of 
women. He was compelled to 
move into larger quarters in 1885, 
again in 1886, and finally to the 
present location on Diamond 
Street, in 1890. The hospital was 
incorporated, and a charter 
granted in 1887, with the following 
gentlemen making up the original 
Board of Directors: Rt. Rev. Ozi 
W. Whitake, Protestant Episcopal 
Bishop of Pennsylvania, as Presi- 
dent; William P. Ellison, Secre- 
tary and Treasurer; Dr. D. Hayes 
Agnew, Lewis H. Redner, George 
Junkin, John B. Stetson, Hon. 
George D. McCreary and Dr. 
Kelly. In 1890, Dr. Kelly resigned 
as Surgeon-in-Chief, and associated 
himself with the Johns Hopkins 
Hospital, in Baltimore, Md. He 
was succeeded at Kensington, by 
Dr. Charles P. Noble, who held 
that position until 1910, and was 
in turn succeeded by Dr. Harry C. 
Deaver, the present Surgeon-in- 
Chief. 



Such eminent surgeons and phy- 
sicians, as Doctors D. Hayes 
Agnew, George M. Boyd, H. E. 
Applebach, A. H. Deekins, W. W. 
Keen, John B. Roberts, H. Au- 
gustus Wilson, William Pepper, 
Robert P. Harris, Franklin Brady, 
G. G. Faught, William E. Parke, 
John B. Deaver, E. G. Alexander, 
Daniel Longaker, Curtis C. Eves, 
Adrian W. Voegelin and a host of 
others, just as prominent, have 
been connected with this hospital. 

The Board of Directors has had 
such well known Philadelphians 
as; Samuel Disston, John E. Baird, 
Hon. William Potter, William 
Rodman Ellison, Thomas E. Mur- 
phy, Ewing L. Miller, Harry C. 
Deaver, A. Merritt Taylor, Ed- 
ward Bromley, Albert H. Disston, 
Maxwell Wyeth, Charles A. Porter, 
Jr., Frederick T. Chandler, Dr. 
Jos. S. Neff, F. J. Heppe, William 
Findlay Brown, Samuel W. Clem- 
ent, Dr. Judson Daland, J. Hasel- 
tine Carstairs, Thomas M. Royal, 
Hon Howard A. Davis, Samuel B. 
Stinson, Ewing L. Miller, Jr., Ed- 
ward M. Malpass. 

The hospital depends upon an 
annual appropriation from both 
the Commonwealth of Pennsyl- 
vania, and also the Welfare Feder- 
ation of Philadelphia for its up- 
keep. Many good friends have left 
legacies from time to time, in the 
form of endowed beds, etc., and 



the Maternity building was pre- 
sented as a memorial to Mr. 
Bromley. The Nurses Home was 
presented by Mr. John E. Baird. 
as a memorial to his mother. Mr. 
Frank W. Ellis bequeathed one 
hundred thousand dollars to the 
endowment fund as a memorial to 
his mother. These are but a few 
of the numerous gifts received by 
the institution, the most recent of 
which is a thoroughly up-to-date 
X-Ray department, fully equipped 
with the latest instruments that 
modern science can produce. 

Connected with the Hospital is 
a Nurses' Training School, duly ac- 
credited, which was organized in 
1888, and from which 238 nurses 
have been graduated to date. 

The following have occupied the 
office of President of the Hospital: 
Ozi W. Whitake, John E. Baird. 
Thomas E. Murphy, Wm. R. El- 
lison and Charles A. Porter, Jr. 
The office of Secretary and Treas- 
urer has been held by Wm. P. 
Ellison, Ewing L. Miller and 
Ewing L. Miller, Jr. 

Present Board of Directors is 

made up of: Charles A. Porter, Jr., 

President; Ewing L. Miller, Jr., 

Secretary and Treasurer; Thomas 

E. Murphy, J. Haseltine Carstairs, 
Dr. Harry C. Deaver, Maxwell 

Wyeth, Florence J. Heppe, William 
Findlay Brown, Dr. Judson Dal- 
and, E. M. Malpass, Thomas M. 
Royal and Hon. Howard A. Davis. 






j-, j-ujv p »-uutui«t-,i. i |jut.iLWi i »JWiJLi.iB »tg?;M<r-^gii 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



79 



The Lankenau Hospital 



GIRARD AND CORINTHIAN AVENUES, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Eye, Ear, Nose,- Throat, Obstetrical, 

Gynecological, Urological, Dermatological 



Founded: 1860 Opened: 1866 

Bed Capacity: 260 




STAFF 



HOSPITAL STAFF 

Medical Department 
James C. Wilson, M.D. 
Harvey Shoemaker, M.D. 
Henry F. Page, M.D. 
Frederick L. Hartman, M.D. 

Clinical Associates in Medi- 
cine 
Edward L. Bortz, M.D. 
Archibald M. Cook, M.D. 
William S. Magee, M.D. 

Surgical Department 
John B. Deaver, M.D. 
A. D. Whiting, M.D. 
J. Bernard Mencke, M.D. 
Damon B. Pfeiffer, M.D. 

Ophthalmological Department 

William T. Shoemaker, M.D. 

Edward A. Shumway, M.D. 

Joseph I. Smith 

William J. Creighton, M.D. 
Laryngological and Aural De- 
partments 

Ralph Butler, M.D. 

Ellwood Matlack, M.D. 

James A. Babbitt, M.D. 
Neurologist 

Charles S. Potts, M.D. 
Maternity Department 

E. P. Barnard, M.D. 
Obstetricians 

Joseph Schenberg, M.D. 

John Calvin Hartman, M.D. 
Dermatological Department 

John B. Ludy, M.D. 
Clinical Laboratories 

Stanley P. Reiman, M.D. 

Carl E. Becker, M.D. 

E. P. Barnard, M.D. 



Harvey Shoemaker, M.D. 

Maude T. Shutt 

Mary A. Bennett, Ph.D. 

Dorothy Zoll 

Elaine Crossett 

Elizabeth Maynard, A.B. 

Ruth Thompson, A.B. 

Dorothy Smith 

Eleanor M. Keighton, A.B. 

Deaconess Bertha Muller, 
P.D. 
Department of Roentgenology 

Robert Shoemaker, 3rd., 
M.D. 

Paul S. Seabold, M.D. 

Florence S. Moody, R.N. 

Deaconess Maria Schwenk, 
R.N. 

Ethel Dentzer 
Electro-Cardiographic Depart- 
ment 

Archibald M. Cook, M.D. 

Margaret Larsen, R.N. 
Medical 

Henry F. Page, M.D. 
Dentist 

William C. Sharkey, D.D.S. 
Registrar 

A. D. Whiting, M.D. 
Apothecaries 

John K. Thum, Ph.M. 

Deaconess Ada Madden, 
Q.A. 

Deaconess Frida Wente, 
Ph.G. 
Directing Deaconess 

Magdalene von Bracht 
Night Supervisor 

Deaconess Florence Bech- 
told 



Assistant 
Helen Poulson, R.N. 

Operating Room 

Katharine G. Rittmann, R.N. 
Irene Kuntz, R.N. 
Alice Shearer, R.N. 
Mabel Knapp, R.N. 

Anesthetists 

Elizabeth Rapp, R.N. 
Beatrice Hagenbach, R.N. 
Katharine Gagliardi, R.N. 

Physio-Therapeutic Depart- 
ment 
Perry E. Schantz 
Elizabeth J. Hediger 

Office 

Deaconess Alice Fisher 

Deaconess Louise Altivater 
Follow-Up Clinic 

Annie Jastrow 

F. Ellen Jacobs, R.N. 
Social Service Department 

Deaconess Fredericka Fess- 
ler 

Minnie I. Collins, R.N. 

Deaconess Anna Cressman 

Dietitian 

Deaconess Emma Tappert 

Medical Board 

John B. Deaver, M.D. 
William T. Shoemaker, M.D. 
Henry F. Page, M.D. 
Robert Shoemaker, 3rd, 

M.D. 
Stanley P. Reiman, M.D. 
Ralph Butler, M.D. 
Edward A. Shumway, M.D. 
A. D. Whiting, M.D. 



Medical Clinic 

Dr. Paul F. Bremer 
Dr. Edward L. Bortz 
Dr. Archibald M. Cook 
Dr. William S. Magee 
Ruth Gorham 
Benita Shubert 
Marie Wenrick, R.N. 

Surgical Clinic 

Dr. J. Bernhard Mencke 
Dr. Damon B. Pfeiffer 
Dr. Richard F. Gerlach 
Dr. Harry E. Knox 
Dr. Gilson Colby Engel 

Urologic Clinic 

Dr. William H. Mackinney 
Dr. Wilbur H. Haines 
Dr. Aaron Ruth 

Clinic for Diseases of Women 
Dr. William B. Small 
Dr. E. L. Brewer 

Clinic for Diseases of the Eye 
Dr. Joseph I. Smith 
Dr. William J. Creighton 
Dr. Albert N. Legg 
Dr. William H. Chandlee 
Dr. John F. Gorman 

Clinic for Diseases of the 
Throat, Ear and Nose 
Dr. Ellwood Matlack 
Dr. James A. Babbitt 
Dr. Robert J. Hunter 
Dr. Harrington S. Dickson 
Dr. Edward H. Campbell 

Clinic for Diseases of the Skin 
Dr. John B. Ludy 



"¥li "iTiriitllil I 111 ii JTiBfili fflililTiSri ffi^M 



■w 



B^ 



• i ii miii in'r ' 



80 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Memorial Hospital 



PA. 



RIDGE AVENUE AND JAMESTOWN STREET, ROXBOROUGH, PHILADELPHIA, 

Services Rendered 
Founded: 1890 Bed Capacity: 115 Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 

STAFF 



Pediatrician 

Dr. P. S. Barba 
Obstetrician 

Dr. H. G. Barrett 
Pediatrician 

Dr. E. L. Bauer 
Pediatrician and Assistant 
Surgeon 

Dr. N. M. Bekir 
Opthalmologist 

Dr. M. W. Blair 
Opthalmologist 

Dr. D. J. Boon 
Pediatrician 

Dr. A. A. Burros 
Surgeon 

Dr. H. S. Carmany 
Roentgenologist 

Dr. L. S. Cohen 
Assistant Physician 

Dr. H. D. Conaway 
Assistant Opthalmologist 

Dr. W. H. Crowley 
Tuberculosis Chief and 
Assistant Surgeon 

Dr. C. R. Entwistle 
Assistant Surgeon 

Dr. B. L. Fleming 
Oral Surgeon 

Dr. J. J. Foran 



Assistant Obstetrician 
Dr. H. C. Funch 

Medical Chief 

Dr. A. H. Gerhard 

Assistant Physician 
Dr. jean Cowing 

Medical Chief 
Dr. H. L. Hansell 

Assistant Physician 
Dr. Jos. F. Howicz 

Assistant Surgeon 
Dr. V. J. Hoffman 

Medical Chief 
Dr. H. W. Jones 

Surgical Chief 
Dr. E. J. Klopp 

Medical Chief 

Dr. J. D. Lehman 
Urologist 

Dr. W. H. MacKinriey 
Assistant Physician 

Dr. M. G. Mackmull 
Assistant Neurologist 

Dr. Leroy Maeder 
Neurologist 

Dr. J. W. McConnell 
Laryngologist 

Dr. M. V. Miller 



Orthopedic Chief 
Dr. A. F. Moxey 

Assistant Urologist 
Dr. E. A. Mullen 

Dermatologist 
Dr. H. U. North 

Surgical Chief 
Dr. O. A. Rath 

Assistant Laryngologist 

Dr. B. F. Roberts 
Pathologist and Chief 
Metabolism 

Dr. H. W. Schaffer 
Obstetrician and Gyn. Chief 

Dr. E. A. Schumann 
Assistant Opthalmologist 

Dr. B. F. Seltzer 
Assistant Roentgenologist 

Dr. M. Steinbach 
Assistant Laryngologist 

Dr. C. E. Towson 
Assistant Dermatologist 

Dr. Carl A. Stauh 
Assistant Obstetrician 

Dr. I. G. Towson 
Assistant Surgeon 

Dr. L. Turner 
Assistant Surgeon 

Dr. C. L. Willauer 



Laryngologist 

Dr. H. J. Williams 
Assistant Physician 

Dr. Frank E. Wolcoff 

HOMEOPATHIC STAFF 

Assistant Physician 

Dr. A. Flanagan 
Assistant Laryngologist 

Dr. F. Flanagan 
Medical Chief 

Dr. G. M. Golden 
Assistant Physician 

Dr. F. H. Hoffman 
Surgical Chief 

Dr. H. P. Leopold 
Opthalmologist 

Dr. F. C. Peters 
Urologist 

Dr. J. D. Schofield 
Assistant Physician 

Dr. C. Stephany 
Medical Chief 

Dr. A. B. Webster 
Assistant Laryngologist 

Dr. C. J. White 
Assistant Surgeon 

Dr. H. K. White 
Medical Chief 

Dr. W. R. Williams 






Methodist Episcopal Hospital 



Founded: 1892 



BROAD AND WOLF STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
General Hospital, All Departments 






/>erZ Capacity: 300 



STAFF 



■..■.■..■■■■■■ . ■ . ■ ■ ■ . . ■■■ ■■ . 




THE MEDICAL STAFF 

Officers of the Medical 
Board 
President 

Dr. Damon B. Pfeiffer 

Secretary 

Dr. Russell Richardson 

Executive Committee 
Dr. Russell Richardson 
Dr. E. Paul Reiff 
Dr. J. Leon Herman 
Dr. Damon B. Pfeiffer 
Dr. George J. Schwartz 



Committee on Operating 
Room and Extra-Mural 
Privileges 

Dr. Schwartz 

Dr. Rugh 

Dr. Roberts 

Dr. Calvin M. Smyth, Jr. 

Committee on Scientific Work 
and Correlation of 
Services 

Dr. J. L. Herman 

Dr. A.E. Siegel 

Dr. J. C. Hirst, 2nd 

Dr. George Outerbridge 



Committee on Out-Patient De- 
partment and Records 
Dr. E. Paul Reiff 
Dr. Jesse Hall Allen 
Dr. James H. Baldwin 
Dr. Russell Richardson 

Committee on Internes and 
Nursing 
Dr. Wm. R. Nicholson 
Dr. John B. Ludy 
Dr. George M. Piersol 
Dr. Marshall B. Sponsler 

The Visiting Staff 
Consulting Surgeon 

James P. Hutchinson 
Consulting Pediatricians 

Thompson S. Westcolt 

Alfred Hand, Jr. 
Consulting Neurologist 

James Hendrie Lloyd 

Physicians 

E. Paul Reiff 

George Morris Piersol 

H. Annan Stecker 

Harold R. Keeler 
Gynecologists 

Richard C. Norris 

William R. Nicholson 

Markley C. Albright 

George W. Outerbridge 

Ford A. Miller 

Dr. J. C. Hirst, 2nd 



Pediatrician 

Alvin E. Siegel 
Surgeons 

James Harvev Baldwin 

Damon B. Pfeiffer 

George J. Schwartz 

William Thomas Lemnion 

W. R. Gilmour 

Calvin Mason Smyth 

Leslie Frank Mulford 
Ophthalmologists 

John C. Taylor 

Benjamin Harry Mann 
Aurisl and Laryngologisls 

Walter Roberts 

Marshall B. Sponsler 
Orthopaedists 

James Torrence Rugh 

Frances B. Sprague 

James R. Martin 
Urologists 

J. Leon Herman 

I. J. Carp 
Pathologist 

Russell Richardson 
Proctologist 

Jesse Hall Allen 
Dermatologists 

John B. Ludy 

Patricia Hart Drant 
Roentgenologist 

M. F. Percival, M.l). 
Registrar 

John G. Taylor, M.D. 









-*gM- 



PHILADELPHIA-^or!(/'5 Medical Centre 



81 



... ' - ■. " 




MISERICORDIA HOSPITAL 

PHILADELPHIA 



Conducted by — Sisters of Mercy, Merion, Pa. 



Superintendent — Mother M. Edmonda Medical Director — Dr. William H. Long 
Founded— 1918 Bed Capacity— 250 

Services— Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat, X-ray, Out-patient, 
Accident and Laboratory 

Number of house patients in 1928 5,833 

Number of out-patients in 1928 17,340 

Total number of patients in 1928 23,173 

Total expenditures in 1928 $339,704.15 



\ 



= 



. . 



82 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Founded: 1899 



Medical Service No. 1 
Dr. Henry B. Shmookler 
Dr. Joseph B. Wolffe 
Dr. Moses Jacob 
Dr. M. Wohl 
Dr. Joseph Stamhul 
Dr. Maurice M. Roth man 

Medical Diagnostic Clinic 
Dr. Michael Wohl 
Dr. Maxwell Scarf 
Dr. David H. Kogan 
Dr. Samuel Padget 

Cardiac Clinic 

Dr. Joseph Stamhul 
Dr. Maxwell Scarf 
Dr. Herman Weiner 
Dr. Vera Zabarkes 
Dr. Julius Love 
Dr. Leon J. Tunitsky 

Gastrointestinal Clinic 
Dr. Maurice M. Rotlimaii 
Dr. Samuel Altes 
Dr. Adeline Schoenfield 
Dr. Nathaniel Hurowitz 
Dr. S. Gorsky 

Pulmonary Clinic 
Dr. Moses Jacob 
Dr. Louis A. Dodies 
Dr. Herman Brown 
Dr. Samuel Wolf 
Dr. G. B. Gelfond 
Dr. Barenblatt 

Medical Service No. 2 
Dr. A. I. Rubenstone 
Dr. Morris Schwartz 
Dr. Abraham Trasoff 
Dr. Frank E. Leivy 
Dr. Jos. Edeiken 

Diagnostic Clinic 
Dr. Jos. Edeiken 
Dr. Samuel Gross 
Dr. Harry Bail 
Dr. Morris Rudolph 
Dr. Max Mann 
Dr. H. A. Simpkins 

Metabolic Clinic 
Dr. Frank T. Leivy 
Dr. Morris Rudolph 
Dr. Herman Beerman 
Dr. A. H. Sperling 
Dr. C. Antenson 
Dr. B. Kleiner 

Allergic Clinic 

Dr. Abraham Trasoff 
Dr. M. Steinberg 



Mount Sinai Hospital 

1429 SOUTH 5TH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Bed Capacity: 316 



Services Rendered 
Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, X-ray, Accident, Pediatrics, Neurology, 
Gynecology, Urology, Dermatology, Orthopedics, 
Physiotheraphy, Proctology and Bronchoscopy 



STAFF 



Smgicid Service No. 1 
Dr. Moses Behrend 
Dr. Clinton Herrman 
Dr. M. Walkenberg 
Dr. B. P. Seltzer 

Surgical Service No. z 
Dr. Benjamin Lipshutz 
Dr. C. S. Schafer 
Dr. ^ouis Kaplan 

Pediatric Service No. 1 
Dr. Harry Lowenburg 
Dr. Samuel Rubin 
Dr. Rose Rubin 
Dr. Eugene Rush 
Dr. Harry Rubin 
Dr. M. Brooks 
Dr. E. Dessen 

Pediatric Service No. 2 
Dr. Myer Solis-Cohen 
Dr.' Rudolph Bloom 
Dr. Samuel X. Radbill 
Dr. Samuel L. Baron 
Dr. Rachel Ash 
Dr. Myer Steinbach 

Spkcialty Clinics 
Immunological Clinic 
Dr. S. S. Meyers 

Post-Natal (Obstetrical) 
Dr. Marie Finkelstein 

Neurologic Service No. 1 
Dr. Alfred Gordon 
Dr. A. I. Barron 
Dr. David Nathan 
Dr. Philip Getson 

Department of Neuro Surgery 
Dr. F. C. Grant 

Gynecological Service No. 1 
Dr. Charles S. Mazer 
Dr. Meyer Sabel 
Dr. Jacoh Hoffman 
Dr. Henry Wilderman 
Dr. Jacob Levy 
Dr. Paul Meshberg 

Gynecological Service No. 2 
\)r. Bernard Mann 
Dr. Charles Wachs 
Dr. Benjamin Leff 
Dr. Moses Kopeika 
Dr. Jacob Lerner 
Dr. Howard D. Sivitz 
Dr. R. Task 

Otolaryngological Service 
No. 1 
Dr. Lewis Fisher 



Dr. Louis Baer 
Dr. James Kates 
Dr. Louis S. Dunn 
Dr. Julius Winston 
Dr. J. Golove 
Dr. Samuel Lipshutz 

Otolaryngological Service 
No. 2 
Dr. Morris Weinstein 
Dr. David Nussbaum 
Dr. William Bernhardt 
Dr. Martin Steinberg 

Otolaryngological Service 
No. 3 
Dr. Matthew S. Eisner 
Dr. Abraham H. Persky 
Dr. L. H. Weiner 
Dr. Israel Meyers 
Dr. Maurice Saltzntan 
Dr. William Gordon 

Otolaryngological Sen ice. 
No. 4 
Dr. David Husik 
Dr. Myron A. Zacks 
Dr. Benjamin Sinister 
Dr. William Hartz 
Dr. Louis Elfman 
Dr. Max Ruttenherg 

Ophthalmalogical Service 
No. 1 
Dr. Samuel Gittelson 
Dr. Aaron Barlow 

Ophthalmalogical Service 
No. 2 

Dr. Charles W. Le Fever 

Dr. H. 0. Sloane 

Dr. Nathan Steinberg 

Roenlogen-ray Department 
Dr. George Rosenhaum 
Dr. Louis Edeiken 
Dr. Ostium 

Cardiographic L<d)oratory 
Dr. Samuel Bellet 

Dental Service 

Dr. William Eisner 

Laboratory Service 
Dr. Israel Davidsohn 
Dr. William Steinberg 
Dr. David Meranze 

L rological Service No. 1 
Dr. Alex. Randall 
Dr. M. Muschat 
Dr. K. J. Carp 
Dr. M. Meyers 



Dermalological Service No. I 
Dr. Abraham Strauss 
Dr. B. L. Kahn 
Dr. Sam Gordon 

Dermatological Service No. 2 
Dr. Sigmund Greenbauni 

Bronschoscopic Service 
Dr. Gabriel Tucker 

Orthopedic Service 

Dr. Morris B. Coopermun 
Dr. William Gash 
Dr. G. S. Leventhal 

Physio-Therupy Service 
Attending 

Dr. Weisblu.n 

Associate 
Dr. A. J. M. Treacy 

Obstetrical Service No. 1 
Dr. Stephen E. Tracy 
Dr. Arthur First 

Obstetrical Service No. 2 

Dr. C. J. Stamni 
Dr. I. Andrussier 

Obstetrical Service No. 3 

Dr. Jacob Walker 
Dr. H. M. Ginshurg 
Dr. A. Greenburg 

Proctological 
Attending 

Dr. Julius Werner 

Associate 
Dr. Herman Trager 

Pediatrics of Maternity 

Dr. Harry Lowenburg 

Dr. Rose Rubin 

Dr. Myer Solis-Cohen 

Dr. Arthur M. Donnenhcrg 

Dr. Aaron Capper 

Consultants 
Surgeon 

Dr.J.B. Deaver 

Dermalologist 
Dr. Jay Shamberg 

Urologist 

Dr. C. S. Hirsch 

Otolaryngologist 
Dr. Arthur Watson 

Bronch oscopist 

Dr. Chevalier Jackson 

Surgeon 

Dr. Chas. Nassau 

Obstetrician 

Dr. Rebecca Cornfield 



! 



.«___.'-- — 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



83 



Northeastern Hospital of Philadelphia 

ALLEGHENY AVENUE AND TULIP STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1911 Bed Capacity: 100 



110USI-: STAFF 

Surgical 

Dr. T. Turner Thomas 
Dr. John C. Scott 
Dr. Joseph J. Toland 
Dr. E. J. Holland 
Dr. A. C. Wood 
Dr. Win. R. Gilmour 

Medical 

Dr. John A. Wagnetz 
Dr. Geo. C. Yeager 
Dr. John C. Scouller 

Cardiological 

Dr. George W.Dietz 



Services Rendered 
Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, X-ray, Dental, Proctological, Gynecologi- 
cal, Physio-therapy, Urological, Industrial Medi- 
cal, Industrial Surgical, Accident, Tubercular, 
Laboratory, Out-patient, Cardiological, Pediatric, 
Well Baby, Prenatal 




STAFF 



Dr. C. A. Barron 

Dr. Donald W. Broadhent 

Pediatric 

Dr. Leo F. Bender 
Dr. Geo. W. Firth 
Dr. Gerald E. Pratt 

Ophthahnological 

Dr. Granville A. Lawrence 
Dr. fm. H. Annesley 
Dr. R. C. Magill 

Otoluryngological 
Dr. Fielding O. Lewis 
Dr. Geo. E. Shaffer 
Dr. Morris Smith 



Obstetrical 

Dr. Jas. S. Raudenhu.di 
Dr. C. B. Kyle 
Dr. D. Austin Leho 

Urological 

Dr. J. B. Lownes 

Dr. John A. Broadficld 

Dr. Fred J. Fox 

Proctological 

Dr. Harry Z. Hihshman 
Dr. E. C. Davis 

Neurological 

Dr. M. S. Yawger 

Dr. Geo. M. Tomlinson 



Radiological 

Dr. Samuel Bruck 

Puthological 

Dr. Wm. L. C. Spaeth 

Preventive Medicine 
Dr. Ward Brinton 

Dental 

Dr. Victor Miller 

Dr. Benjamin Meremheck 

Medical Dispensary 
Dr. Maurice B. Cohen 



-e^rs- 



The Northern Liberties Hospital 



7TH 

Founded: 1922 Bed Capacit 



AND BROWN STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
v: 57 and 11 bassinets Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical Eye, Ear Nose and 

Throat, Laboratory, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient 

STAFF 



Dr. Leonard Averelt 
Dr. Aaron Brav 
Dr. Samuel Bruck 
Dr. Moses Behrend 
Dr. Samuel Cohen 
Dr. Morris B. Cooperman 
Dr. Harry E. Fineman 
Dr. Joseph M. Goldherg 
Dr. Gerson Ginshurg 



Dr. Maxwell Herman 

Dr. S. Kimmelman 

Dr. Joseph A. Langhord 

Dr. Samuel A. Loewenherg 

Dr. Bernard Mann 

Dr. Morris Markowitz 

Dr. Charles Mazer 

Dr. Ralph Mel man 

Dr. Milton K. Meyers 



Dr. David Nusshaum 

Dr. Philip S. Rosenhlum 

Dr. Leo J. Rostow 

Dr. Norman S. Rothchild 

Dr. Nathan L. Ruhin 

Dr. Harry A. Schatz 

Dr. Julius Schneyer 

Dr. Morris Segal 

Dr. D.Mitchell Sidlick 



Dr. Henry 0. Sloanc 
Dr. M. E. Smukler 
Dr. Harry A. Snyderman 
Dr. Joseph Stamhul 
Dr. Harry A. Stembler 
Dr. T. Turner Thomas 
Dr. Henry S. Wieder 
Dr. Joseph C. Yaskin 



'""-si^;...- 



^mmmmmmmmm 



j^,^^.;%sr^aja> 









84 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/rf'5 Medical Centre 



Northwestern General Hospital 






STAFF PHYSICIANS 
I. Andrussier 
J. B. Bernstine 
M. Bernstein 
F. K. Baker 
Daniel Barsky 
A. Baron 
David Budin 
H. A. Bogaev 
Robert Boyer 
S. H. Brown 
E. Cooper 
A. M. Dannenbcrg 
E. C. Davis 
C. R. Entwistle 
M. S. Ersner 
William Ersner 
H. G. Esken 
C. Fink 



2019 NORTH 22D STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory, 
Proctology, Cardiac, Genito-urinary, Gastro-intes- 
tinal, Pediatric, Metabolism, Skin, Nervous and 
Mental, Gynecology, Dental, Orthopedic 



Founded: 1907 Bed Capacity: 56 and 8 bassinets 






M. K. Fisher 
M. L. Fuchs 
Richard Gerlach 
Alfred Gordon 
M. Gradess 
Louis B. Heimer 
Ellis B. Horwitz 
Morris Kleinhart 
Morris Klinhart 
D. W. Kramer 
Arthur D. Kurtz 
Louis Lehrfeld 
A. A. Lucine 

D. W. Lewis 
I. Levin 
Benjamin Left 
J. P. Lonsdorf 
Chas. H. McDevitt 

E. Matlack 



STAFF 



Harvey Masland 
Albert Menger 
J. B. Mencke 
L. F. Milliken 
0. J. Mullen 

D. Nathan 
Frank S. Orland 

E. A. Parker 

A. H. Persky 
Chas. Pottberg 

B. Rachlis 

J. S. Raudenbush 
G. R. Rodgers 
W. R. Rodgers 
David Roth 

D. S. Seller 
M. Scarf 

E. L. Smith 
John C. Siggins 



R. P. Shapiro 
Myer Sabel 
John Smarkola 
S. Schwartzman 
James S. Schell 
G. C. Tassman 
Louis Tuft 

F. Traganza 
Linton Turner 

G. A. Ulrich 
W. M. Umstead 
W. W. VanDolsen 
S. P. Verrei 

H. S. Wieder 
R. W. Weiser 
J. B. Wolffe 
S. L. Wingrade 
Myron A. Zacks 



-e^- 



Founded: 1925 



Penn Treaty Hospital 

820 EAST GIRARD AVENUE, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Bed Capacity: 10 



Dr. L. J. Woiczynski 
Dr. F. E. Keller 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, Out-patient 

STAFF 



Dr. W. S. Nied 
Dr. V. F. Pytko 
Dr. G. E. Pratt 



Dr. A. H. Diebel 
Dr. J. H. Lock 



-e^rs)- 



Pennsylvania Hospital 

Department for Mental and Nervous Diseases 



Founded: 1751 



Consultant for Future Devel- 
opment 
Owen Copp, M.D. 

Physician-in-Chief and Admin- 
istrator 
Earl D. Bond, M.D. 

Medical Directors 

Daniel H. Fuller, M.D. 
Elmer E. Eyman, M.D. 

Laboratories 

Clifford B. Fair, M.D. 



4401 MARKET STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
Mental 



Bed Capacity: 350 



STAFF 



Consulting Dentists 

L. Foster Jack, M.D., D.D.S. 
James Edward Aiguier, 
D.D.S. 

MEDICAL AND LABORA- 

TORY STAFF 

Assistant Physicians 

Clara L. McCord, M.D. 
Charles C. Rowley, M.D. 
Elmer E. Eyman, M.D. 
Kenneth E. Appel, M.D. 
Emily F. Rorer, M.D. 



William P. Beckman, M.D. 

Louis A. Schwartz, M.D. 

Paul C. Sloane, M.D. 
Neuropathologist 

Bernard J. Alpers, M.D. 
Assistant Psychologist 

Edward Westburgh, B.S. 
Dentist 

Ollington C. Hayes, D.D.S. 

Superintendents of Nurses 
Leroy N. Craig, R.N. 
Letitia Wilson, R.N. 



Directors of Occupational 
Therapy 
Mary F. Boyd 
Kathryn I. Wellman 

Director of Physio-Therapy 
David H. Holmes 

Dietietians 

Margaret E. Hemsing 
Katharine T. McCollin 

Business Director 
Herman S. Mehring 



.. I , . Lll. , ... , . ».«t.. m ._ „, ,, ^^ 



»-}gffiga»BB^^^^w^igwwiu m m ^ ^^^^M 



*?5 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



85 



Pennsylvania Hospital 

Department for the Sick and Injured 

8TH AND SPRUCE STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 




Founded: 1751 

Bed Capacity: 298 for Sick and Injured 

150 beds and 130 bassinets, Maternity Depi. 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Urological, Pediatrical, Laryngol- 
ogical and Otological, Bronscboscopical, Ophthal- 
mological, Dermatological, Neurological, Ob- 
stetrical, Radiological, Pathological, Dental, 
Accident, Out-patient, Metabolic, Cardiography, 
Laboratory 



STAFF 



MEDICAL STAFF 
Chiefs of Service 
Medical 

George \V. Norris, M.D. 

Arthur Newlin, M.D. 

Thomas McCrae, M.D. 

Surgical 

John H. Gihhon, M.D. 

Charles F. Mitchell, M.D. 
Laryngological and Otological 

Francis R. Packard, M.D. 



Ophthulmological 

William T. Shoemaker, M.D. 

Dermatological 

Frank Crozer Knowles, M.D. 
John H. Stokes, M.D. 

Neurological 

Edward A. Strecker, M.D. 

Obstetrical 

Norris W. Vaux, M.D. 
Edmund B. Piper, M.D. 



Urologist to the Hospital and 
Chief of GenitoUrindry 
Clinic 
Leon Herman, M.D. 

I'ediatrist to the Hospital and 
Chief of Out-Patient Clinic 

Ralph M. Tyson, M.D. 

Bronchoscopist to the Hospital 
Louis H. Clerf, M.D. 



Director of Out-Patient De- 
partment 
Samuel Bradbury, M.D. 

Director of X-ray Department 
David R. Bowen, M.D. 

Director of Clinical Laboratory 
John T. Bauer, M.D. 

Chief of Dental Service 
James R. Cameron, D.D.S. 



* **%««< 



. ♦/J'vajB.,,*-: •/•>. 



mmmmmmmm 



■i turn m 'irfh,|' 



86 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 




NEW PHILADELPHIA * 

PHILADELPHIA, p 



THE BALLINGER COMPANY 

Architects and Engineers 
Philadelphia New York 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



87 





HOME FOR INCURABLES 

PENNSYLVANIA 



\VM. STEELE & SONS CO. 

Building Contractors 
Philadelphia 










WffWfliiriirrrrifl 



. 



88 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



The Philadelphia Home for Incurables 

BELMONT AND CONSHOHOCKEN AVENUES, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1877 Bed Capacity: 180 



Services Rendered 

Incurable Patients — Patients Admitted for Life, 
is a Home with Hospital care. 



It 



STAFF 



Neurologist 

Charles W. Burr, M.D. 

Physician 
J. P. Crozer Griffith, M.D. 

Surgeons 

W. W. Keen, M.D. 
John H. Jopson, M.D. 

Gynecologist 
John H. Girvin, M.D. 

Luryngologist 

Arthur W. Watson, M.D. 

Opthalmologist 

B. F. Baer, Jr., M.D. 

Dentist 

Charles R. Turner, M.D., 
D.D.S. 



CONSULTING STAFF 

Visiting Physicians 

Henry Percival Boyer, M.D. 
Dr. Charles H. Young 
Ross H. Thompson, M.D. 
Robert D. Rhein, M.D. 



Visiting Surgeon 
John Speese, M.D. 

Assistant Surgeon 

Theodore E. Orr, M.D. 

Visiting Opthalmologist 
J. S. Shipnian, M.D. 

Visiting Aurist 
John R. Davies, M.D. 

Visiting Dentist 
Leon J. Weinberg 



President 

Mrs. Charles W. Nevin 

Vice-Presidents 
Mrs. Harry G. Michener 
Mrs. Wilbur F. Litch 
Mrs. Edward O. Shakespeare 
Mrs. Alex. M. Fox 



OFFICERS 

Treasurer 

Mrs. Walter T. Baird 
Assistant Treasurer 

Miss Anna Champion 
Corresponding Secretary 

Mrs. H. S. Prentiss Nichols 
Recording Secretary 

Miss L. P. Fife 



THE NEW PHILADELPHIA HOME FOR INCURABLES 
Some fifty years ago Annie C. Inglis, a cripple from infancy, 
gave a gold dollar to her mother, requesting her to "Please use 
this in some way to help start a place to take care of poor, 
sick, suffering children." 

Some years later the movement started by this child took 
definite shape in the foundation of the Home for Incurables, 
the financial resources having grown from the original dollar to 



almost half a million. The first Home was a small rented house 
at Forty-seventh Street and Darby Road, when fourteen women 
signed the charter creating it. Later the need for increased 
room necessitated the erection of new buildings at Forty-eighth 
Street and Woodland Avenue. But these were soon outgrown, 
and were not fireproof. Then came a greater project, the build- 
ing of the new Home shown herewith, located at Belmont and 
Conshohocken Avenues, adjoining Fairmount Park, the design 
and supervision of construction of which was under the direc- 
tion of The Ballinger Company, Architects and Engineers, 
Philadelphia and New York, and erected by Wm. Steele & Sons 
Company of Philadelphia. 

The new site was formerly a private estate, and an area of 
approximately eight acres, ideally adapted to the purpose. A 
special feature of the group of buildings is the shape, a widely 
extended letter U. The architectural treatment is a modern 
adaptation of the Gothic. The interior of the U, screened from 
public view, forms a secluded court and garden where inmates 
of the Home may enjoy privacy during periods of recreation 
and exercise. 

The buildings have four stories and basement, a total length 
of 887 feet, a width of 43 feet, and contain 180 rooms. There 
is a main building with a wing for children and one for cancer 
patients, with fire door separation. 

Rough-faced stone from local quarries was used for the ex- 
terior walls. The interior walls, doors, columns and roof are 
of reinforced concrete, making the entire group sanitary and 
fire-resisting. This, together with fire towers and brick enclosed 
stairways, provides utmost safety to patients. Natural slate with 
copper flashings was used for all roofs. Three 125 h.p. boilers 
provide heating and supply high pressure steam for the kitchen, 
laundry and sterilizing equipment. They can use either coal or 
oil fuel. Complete plumbing and drainage, electric light and 
power, fire alarm and nurses' call systems have been installed. 

The Philadelphia Home for Incurables is not the only Amer- 
ican institution founded through the gift of a child, but none 
has a more interesting history nor exceeds it in altruistic 
purpose. 



f 



** 



-ej^)- 



Philadelphia Hospital for Contagious Diseases 

FRONT AND LUZERNE STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1865 



Superintendent 
Dr. S. S. Woody 



Bed Capacity: 1000 



STAFF 



Chief Resident Physician 
Dr. G. F. Lucchesi 



Services Rendered 
Contagious Diseases 



Assistant Resident Physicians 
Dr. B. B. Stein 
Dr. W. K. Bhatta 



i 



- - ■■--•v --■■ -■ 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



89 



Philadelphia Orthopaedic Hospital and Infirmary 

For Nervous Diseases 



FOUNDED 1867 




NORTHWEST CORNER SEVENTEENTH AND SUMMER STREETS, PHILADELPHIA 

For the Treatment of 

Bodily Deformities and Diseases of the Nervous System 



NERVOUS CLINICS 

MONDAYS, WEDNESDAYS, FRIDAYS 



ORTHOPAEDIC CLINICS 

TUESDAYS, THURSDAYS, SATURDAYS 



President, CHARLES SlNKLER 

Secretary, William Innes Forbes 



Treasurer, JOHJN W. BROCK 

Superintendent, Miss E. M. GARRISON 



■K ' 



Htft&tSE^gEBSZ 



.■-■■■% i .-*>•!**■' 



90 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Philadelphia Orthopaedic Hospital and Infirmary 

for Nervous Diseases 

17TH AND SUMMER STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1867 



Bed Capacity: 136 



Services Rendered 

Orthopaedic, Medical, Surgical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Out-patient, Laboratory, Nervous 

Children, Hydrotherapy, Baking, Massage, 

Electricity 



STAFF 



SUUGICAL AND MFDICAL 

STAFF 

Surgeons 

William J. Taylor, M.D. 
Astley P. C. Ashhurst, M.D. 
A. Bruce Gill, M.D. 

Physicians 

Charles W. Burr, M.D. 
Francis W. Sinkler, M.D. 
Theodore H. Weisenburg, 
M.D. 

Associate Surgeon 

Louis H. Mutschler, M.D. 

Consultants 

William W. Keen, M.D. 
Charles K. Mills, M.D. 



Consulting Ophthalniologist 
George E. deSchweinitz, 
M.D. 

Consulting Gynecologist 
Barton C. Hirst, M.D. 

Ophthalmologists 

H. Maxwell Langdon, M.D. 
L. Webster Fox, M.D. 
T. B. Holloway, M.D. 

Medical Electrician 
Henry P. Boyer, M.D. 

Laryngologist 

George B. Wood, M.D. 

Roentgenologist 

Ralph S. Bronier, M.D. 
Gynaecologist 

John C. Hirst, M.D. 



Pathologist and Bacteriologist 
E. P. Corson-White, M.D. 

Oral Surgeon 

William J. McKinley, 
D.D.S. 

Assistant Surgeons 

B. Franklin Buzhy, M.D. 
Edward T. Crossan, M.D. 
Rutherford L. John, M.D. 
Huhley R. Owen, M.D. 
DeForrest P. Willard, M.D. 
James E. Wyant, M.D. 
George W. Wagoner, M.D. 

Assistant Physicians 

Richard S. Hooker, M.D. 
Frederic H. Leavitt, M.D. 
Clarence A. Patten, M.D. 
Charles C. Watt, Jr., M.D. 
Ross C. Thompson, M.D. 



Clinical Assistants 

M. Bernard, M.D. 
C. A. Blayney, M.D. 
Henry Pleasants, Jr., M.D. 
Roy B. Richardson, M.D. 
James J. Waygood, M.D. 
Frederick S. SchofiVld, M.D 
Mrs. Mildred Willard Gard- 
ner 
Joseph C. Yaskin, M.D. 
Temple Fay, M.D. 
Varnum Southworth, M.D. 

Ophthulmological Clinical As- 
sistants 

Albeit F. Beck, M.D. 
Oliver F. Mershon. M.D. 



THE TRAINING SCHOOL FOR NURSES 



The Training School for Nurses was established in 
1887 and is one of the oldest in Philadelphia. 

Admission Requirements — 
Age — 18 to 35 years. 

Education — Certificate of two years High School 
Study or the equivalent. 

Health — Certificate of sound health from a phy- 
sician. 
Character — Testimonial as to good moral char- 
acter from a clergyman. 
Application may he made by letter hut a personal 
interview is desirable when possible. 

Length OF Course— The Training covers a period of 
three years, including the Preliminary Term of 
four months, and affiliations in the second year, 
in a large General Hospital and in a Maternity 
Hospital. 

The greater part of the first four months is spent 
in Class work. 



Supervised study periods, work in the W ards and 
recreation complete the day. 

Curriculum — The subjects taught during the Pre- 
liminary Term are — 

Practical Nursing History and Ethics of 

\ i di • i Nursing 

Anatomy and Physiology ° 

„ . n Hospital Housekeeping 

Bacteriology l r ° 

™ Nutrition and Cookery 

Chemistry 

t^ i c i .. Personal Hygiene 

Drugs and Solutions J " 

Psychology 

Instructor — A Registered Nurse is employed as an 
Instructor. No responsibilities outside of the 
class room permits her entire in teaching. 

Intermediate and Senior Years — The courses follow 
the Standard Curriculum. 

Time of Entrance — Classes enter September first and 
January first. 






PHILADELPHIA-Ifor/^J Medical Centre 



91 



The Presbyterian Hospital in Philadelphia 

51 NORTH 39TH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 

Founded: 1871 Medical, Surgical, Pediatrics, Neurology, Dermatology, Epidemiology, 

d j r •♦ ooi l io u „ \ ol . Heart. Metabolic Diseases, Gynecology, Ophthalmology, Obstetrics, 

Bed Capacity: 291 and 42 bassinets - T> i D *i i a • i + n ♦ +;„ * 

' • Laryngology, Roentsjenolooy, Pathology, Accident, Out-patient 




xMEDICAL STAFF 



MEDICAL DIVISION 
Visiting Physicians 
Ralph Pemberton, M.D. 
H. L. Bockus, M.D. 
George Jvl. Piersol, M.D. 

Associate Physicians 

Richard T. Ellison, M.D. 
Jos. T. Beardwood, M.D. 
Arthur W. Phillips, M.D. 
Harry B. Wihner, M.D. 

Assistants and Out-Patient 
Assistants 

George C. Griffith, M.D. 

j. 0. Coffey, M.D. 

Ethel G. Peine, M.D. 

Hugh McC. Miller, M.D. 

Melamed Bernard, M.D. 

Win. S. Magee, M.D. 
Visiting Pediatricians 

Charles A. Eife, M.D. 

John P. Scott, M.D. 
Assistants und Out-Patient 
Assistants 

Norman H. Taylor, M.D. 

Philip S. Barha, M.D. 

Julian M. Lyon, M.D. 

Theodore Melnick, M.D. 

E. D. Sarkis, M.D. 
Visiting Neurologist 

Williams B. Cadwalader, 
M.D. 
Visiting Dermatologist 

Frank C. Knowles, M.D. 
Assistant Dermatologist 

Henry G. Munson, M.D. 
Epidemiologist 

John E. Sinclair, M.D. 

DEPARTMENT OE 
DISEASES OF THE HEART 
Director 

James E. Talley, M.I). 
Chief of Clinic- 
Hugh McC. Miller, M.D. 



DEPARTMENT OF 
METABOLIC DISEASES 
Director 

Ralph Pemberton, M.D. 
Laboratory for Research 
Chemistry 
Lillie M. Wright, B.A., M.A. 
Asthma Clinic 
Chief of Clinic 
H. B. Wihner, M.D. 
Clarence A. Whitcomb, 

M.D. 
Wendrell Boyer, M.D. 
John Murphy, M.D. 
Gastro-Intestinal Clinic 
Chief of Clinic 
H. L. Bockus, M.D. 
Chas. M. Glassmire, M.D. 
R. L. Sharp, M.D. 
J. H. Willard, M.D. 
Chalmers Cornelius, M.D. 
Diabetic Clinic 
Chief of Clinic 
Jos. T. Beardwood, Jr., M.D. 

H. T. Kelly, M.D. 
Thyroid Clinic 
Chief of Clinic 
E. A. Bothe, M.D. 
George C. Griffith, M.D. 
Child Health Clinic 
Chief of Clinic 
Julian M. Lyon, M.D. 

SURGICAL DIVISION 
Visiting Surgeons 

John H. Jopson, M.D. 

Edward B. Hodge, M.D. 

John Speese, M.D. 
Associate Surgeons 

Damon B. Pf'eiffer, M.D. 

J. Stewart Rodman, M.D. 

Henry P. Brown, M.D. 
Assistants and Oul-Patieiil 
Assistants 

W. Edgar Christie, M.D. 

F. A. Bothe, M.I). 



Louis M. Golden, M.I). 

E. C. Williamson, M.D. 

James F. Schell, M.D. 
Visiting Gynecologist 

John H. Girvin, M.D. 
Associate Gynecologist 

George M. Laws, M.D. 
Assts. and Out-Patient Assls. 

J. I\ Lewis, M.D. 

Donald Riegel, M.S. 
Visiting Ophthalmologist 

H. Maxwell Langdon, M.D. 
Associate Ophthalmologist 

J. M. Thorington, M.D. 
Out-Patient Assistants 

Thos. V. Murto, M.D. 

R. C. Moore, M.D. 
Visiting Obstetriciuns 

Collin Foulkrod, M.D. 

Wm. R. Nicholson, M.D. 
Associate Obstetricians 

Wm. C. Ely, M.D. 

Ford A. Miller, M.D. 
Assistants and Out-Patient 
Assistants 

Vincent T. Shipley. M.D. 

Joseph D'Emilio, M.D. 

Maurice T. Cloane, M.D. 
Visiting Laryngologist 

Nathan P. Stauffer, M.D. 
Associate Laryngologist 

W. L. Cariss, M.D. 
Assistants and Out-Patient 
Assistants 

0. R. Kline, M.D. 

Douglas Maclarlan, M.D. 

A. L. Bishop, M.D. 

E. C. Town, M.D. 

R. W. Garlichs, M.D. 
Roentgenologist 

Wm. S. Newcomet, M.D. 
Assistant Roentgenologist 

Edgar W. Spackman, M.D. 
Visiting Genilo-l hinary 
Surgeon 



B. A. Thomas, M.D. 
Associate Genito-Lriuarv 

Surgeon 
Jos. C. Birdsall, M.D. 
Assistants and Out-Patient 
Assistants 
V. G. Harrison, M.D. 
Henry Sangree, M.D. 
A. E. Bothe, M.D. 
Visiting Orthopedic Surgeon 
A. Bruce Gill, M.D. 

Associate Orthopedic Surgeon 
Theodore E. Orr, M.D. 

Assistant 
Leonard D. Frescoln, M.D. 

Dental Surgeon 
J. E. Aiguier, D.D.S. 

DEPARTMENT OE 
PATHOLOGY 
Director 

John Eiman, M.D. 
Assistant Pathologist 

Ethel Rahe Hankele, M.D. 
Consultant in Tuberculosis 

Frank A. Craig, M.D. 
Physicians in Charge of 
Devon Homes 
A. H. O'Neal, M.D. 
John L. Spangler, M.D. 
Courtesy Staff with Privileges 
in Maternity Department 
Edmund B. Piper, M.D. 
Samuel Ellis, M.D. 
G. M. Boyd, M.D. 

C. B. Reynolds, M.D. 
E. G. Maier, M.D. 

P. F. Williams, M.D. 
Courtesy Staff with Privileges 
in Private Children's De- 
partment 

John Diven, M.D. 

Win. N. Bradley, M.D. 

Alfred G. Hand, M.D. 

J. P. Crozier Griffith. M.D. 



- 



I„lJtI..-i ; _-lLi^ 



■^^rW^r^rtt.^nrilnr ,.. 



92 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor/</'5 Medical Centre 



Rush Hospital for Consumption and Allied Diseases 

33D STREET AND LANCASTER AVENUE COUNTRY BRANCH, MALVERN, PA. 



Founded: 1890 Bed Capacity: 73 City; 80 Malvern 

STAFF 



John D. McLean, M.D. 



Frank Walton Binge, M.D. 



Andrew Callalian, M.D. 



Paul A. Loefflad M.D. 



-<tr^- 



St. Agnes Hospital 

BROAD AND MIFFLIN STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1879 



Bed Capacity: 335 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 
Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




STAFF 



STAFF PHYSICIANS 
I. Andrussier, M.D. 
Leonard Averett, M.D. 
J. W. Bransfield, M.D. 
N. Francis Brecker, M.D. 
John M. Cruice, M.D. 
Michael A. D'AIessandro, M.D. 
Charles N. Davis, M.D. 
J. Leslie Davis, M.D. 
Warren B. Davis, M.D. 
Alexander P. Deak, M.D. 
Nicholas P. A. Dienna, M.D. 
George M. Dorrance, M.D. 
Alfred S. Doyle, M.D. 



Thomas J. English, M.D. 
Sylvan Fish, M.D. 
John M. Fisher, M.D. 
John R. Forst, M.D. 
C. Calvin Fox, M.D. 
A. A. S. Giordano, M.D. 
Wilbur H. Haines, M.D. 
Barton C. Hirst, M.D. 
Charles J. Hohan, M.D. 
John F. X. Jones, M.D. 
Arthur P. Keegan, M.D. 
Francis J. Kelly, M.D. 
Geo. F. J. Kelly, M.D. 
John A. Kolnier, M.D. 



James P. Mann, M.D. 
Daniel J. McCarthy, M.D. 
John A. McGlinn, M.D. 
James W. McMonagle, M.D. 
James K. McShane, M.D. 
Milton K. Meyers, M.D. 
Silvo Miceli, M.D. 
Eugene C. Murphy, M.D. 
John A. O'Connell, M.D. 
Francis C. O'Neill, M.D. 
Benjamin D. Parish, M.D. 
Angelo M. Perri, M.D. 
John D. Keese, M.D. 
H. J. Sangmcister, M.D. 



Leo F. Scanlan, M.D. 
Max Schumann, M.D. 
Abraham Silverman, M.D. 
Herbert J. Smith, M.D. 
J. Howard Smith, M.D. 
Win. H. Spencer, M.D. 
B. Franklin Stahl, M.D. 
M. Angelo Steffin, M.D. 
A. A. Stevens, M.D. 
Walter Sussman, M.D. 
J. G. Taylor, M.D. 
\V. J. Taylor, M.D. 
Creighton H. Turner, M.D. 
Win. Van Dolsen, M.D. 



3aH9K 



PHILADELPHIA-^ori</'5 Medical Centre 



93 



St. Christopher's Hospital for Children 

LAWRENCE AND HUNTINGDON STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1875 



Bed Capacity: 75 



Services Rendered 
Specializing in Pediatrics, Medical, Surgical, Eye, 
Ear, Nose and Throat, Orthopaedics, Heart, Out- 
patient, Preventive Medicine 

(Children up to 14 years of age only) 




STAFF 



MEDICAL STAFF 
{'resident 

Dr. Frederick Krauss 
Secretary 
Dr. Thomas C. Kelly 

CONSULTING STAFF 
Consulting Physicians 

Dr. J. P. Crozer Griffith 

Dr. Charles A. Fife 
Consulting Surgeon 

Dr. Harry Deaver 

Consulting Dermatologist 
Dr. Joseph V. Klauder 

Consulting Nose, Throat and 
Aural 
Dr. Thomas Currie 

MEDICAL STAFF 
Attending Physicians 

Dr. Thomas C. Kelly 

Dr. Horace H. Jenks 
Attending Surgeon 

Dr. E. G. Alexander 
Ophthalmic Surgeon 

Dr. Frederick Krauss 

Nose, Throat and Aural 
Dr. E. H. Campbell 
Dr. G. T. Williams 

Orthopaedist 
Dr. R. L. John 



Neurologist 

Dr. George Wilson 

Cardiologist 

Dr. George W. Deitz 

Pathologist 

Dr. John Davis Paul 

ASSISTANT ATTENDING 
HOUSE STAFF 

Assistant Attending Physician 
Dr. Frank Bender 
Dr. Vincent Curtin 

Assistant Attending Surgeons 
Dr. H. E. Knox 
Dr. John Klopp 

Assistant Ophthalmic Surgeon 
Dr. Jacob Feldman 

Assistant Nose and Throat 
Dr. Raymond Hacker 
Dr. Joseph Hess 
Dr. J. Beegley 
Dr. E. John Presper 

Assistant Orthopaedist 
Dr. L. E. Snodgrass 
Dr. A. Martucci 

OUT-PATIENT DEPART- 
MENT 

Consultants 
Surgical 

Dr. Harry E. Knox 



Medical 

Dr. Thomas C. Kelly 
Dr. Horace H. Jenks 

Eye 

Dr. Frederick Krauss 

Nose and Throat 
Dr. E. H. Campbell 
Dr. Corner T. Williams 

Orthopaedist 

Dr. Rutherford L. John 

Venereal 

Dr. E. A. Mullen 

Neurologist 

Dr. George Wilson 

CLINIC STAFF 

Surgical 

Dr. John Klopp 

Medical 

Dr. Frank Bender 
Dr. Vincent Curtin 
Dr. David Rappaport 
Dr. R. Vernon Moss 
Dr. Yetta Deitch 
Dr. A. H. Boyer Drake 
Dr. John P. Keating 
Dr. Franklin Weigand 
Dr. Louis J. Roderer 
Dr. Harold Davis 

Health 

Dr. Herman Kotzen 
Dr. Vincent T. Curtin 



Nose and Throat 

Dr. Raymond Hacker 
Dr. Joseph Hess 
Dr. Jesse B. Beegley 
Dr. E. John Presper 
Dr. Edward Sprenkcl 

Orthopaedic 

Dr. Rutherford L. John 
Dr. Albert Martucci 
Dr. L. E. Snodgrass 

Physioth erapist 
Miss Martha Snow 
Miss Walton 

Dental 

Dr. M. P. Eaton 

Eye 
Dr. Jacob Feldman 
Dr. A. J. Brown 

Heart 

Dr. George Deitz 
Dr. C. A. Barron 
Dr. George E. Pratt 

Veneral 

Dr. Herman Kotzen 

Skin 

Dr. Morris Markowitz 

Neuropsychiatric 
Dr. James Waygood 



94 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



St. Joseph's Hospital 



GIRARD AVENUE BETWEEN ] 6TH AND 17TH STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1849 



Bed Capacity: 270 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




STAFF 



Dr. M. H. Bochroch 


Dr 


J. F. X. Jones 


Dr. 


W. J. McKinley 


Dr. C. R. Bowen 


Dr 


A. J. Keenan 


Dr. 


C. F. Nassau 


Dr. V. G. Burden 


Dr 


J. A. Kelly 


Dr 


T. A. O'Brien 


Dr. A. E. Burke 


Dr 


J. V. Klauder 


Dr. 


D. R. O'Donnell 


Dr. L. H. Clerf 


Dr 


F. H. Maier 


Dr 


P. Pontius 


Dr. M. P. Corcoran 


Dr 


E. A. Mallon 


Dr 


A. C. Sender 


Dr. J. M. Cruice 


Dr 


. G. M. Marshall 


Dr 


W. C. Sheehan 


Dr. J. C. Flynn 


Dr 


J. A. Moore 


Dr 


A. Wrigley 


Dr. M. M. Franklin 


Dr 


. P. F. Moylan 


Dr 


M. F. Herrman 


Dr. J. P. Garvey 


Dr 


. W. J. MacMurtrie 


Dr 


M. D. Bloomfield 


Dr. E. W. Gilhool 


Dr 


. N. B. MacNeill 


Dr 


R. J. Brennan 


Dr. F. V. Gowen 


Dr 


. C. T. McCarthy 


Dr 


J. F. Carrell 


Dr. C. J. Jones 


Dr 


. F. J. McCulloiigh 


Dr 


R. L. Dickson 



Dr. L. D. Englerth 
Dr. M. R. Gabrio 
Dr. C. S. Herrman 
Dr. I). J. Langton 
Dr. J. K. McShane 
Dr. W. J. Thudiuin 
Dr. F. deS. Stokes 

Dr. H. Stuckert 

Dr. J. J. Sweeney 

Dr. H. Fine 

Dr. A. E. Roberto 

Dr. R. T. M. Donnelly 

Dr. IN. J. Burden 

Dr. E. F. Milliken 









PHILADELPHIA-^or/(/'5 Medical Centre 



95 



St. Luke's and Children's Homeopathic Hospitals 

FRANKLIN, THOMPSON AND 8TH STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
Founded 1896 Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Laboratory, Accident, Out-patient 




STAFF 



Medical 

G. Morris Golden, M.D. 
F. L. Abbott, M.D. 
W. S. Ambler, M.D. 
E. A. Robinson, M.D. 
Jos. W. Shallcross, M.D. 



Carl V. Vischer, M.D. 

D. R. Ferguson, M.D. 

J. A. Fischer, M.D. 

Charles 0. W. Bartine, M.D. 

Dunne Kirby, M.D. 



Pathology 

0. F. Barthniaier, M.D. 
Neurology 

Weston D. Bayley, M.D. 

W. Lawrence Hicks, M.D. 



X.Ray 

J. Walter Post, M.D. 
Radiology 

Frank C. Benson, M.D. 

N. Volney Ludwick, M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



■'-: " 



Tnnnn»twiriiiii"f if nktiuttiTCiTur' 



96 



PHILADELPHIA-IFori(/'5 Medical Centre 



Surgery 

D. Roman, M.D. 
H. K. Roessler, M.D. 
A. B. Webster, M.D. 
Russell S. McGee, M.D. 
Robert H. Farley, M.D. 



Urology 
fm. C. Hunsicker, Sr., M.D. 
J. M. Kenworthy, M.D. 
Wm. C. Hunsicker, Jr., M.D. 

Rectal 

James D. Schofield, M.D. 



Dental 

Raymond C. Becker, M.D. 

Anaesthesia 

Clifford B. Jones, M.D. 
George P. Glenn, M.D. 
Thomas J. Vischer, M.D. 



Nose, Ear, Throat 

Frederick W. Smith, M.D. 
Wm. G. Boehringer 

Eye 
Jos. V. F. Clay, M.D. 
Marion W. Benjamin, M.D. 
Charles H. Robelen, M.D. 



Historical Review of St. Luke's and Children's 

Homeopathic Hospital and the Birth of 

St. Luke's Homeopathic Hospital 



It was a modest structure that, on January 9, 1896, 
opened its doors to the community at 3318 North 
Broad Street (in what had been a private dwelling) 
in the midst of a crying need, then more than now, 
due to the number of industries established or in 
process of development in the bounds prescribed by 
Germantown, Frankford and Wayne Junction. Then 
most of the cases admitted were the result of acci- 
dents. 

St. Luke's Hospital was really born for greater 
service than could have, at that time, even lurked in 
the minds of its progenitors, Drs. William S. Ambler, 
Frederick Van Gunten and Gordon M. Christine, who 
as far back as 1895 cherished the hope that such an 
institution could find supporters. 

To advance an interest in the wish of the founders, 
tHe attention of Drs. Vischer, Senderling and Tyson 
was invited. These three doctors, with the original 
trio, made up the temporary organization. 

It was difficult for the initial organization to func- 
tion as it should, due, largely, to the need of State 
appropriation, which was unsuccessfully sought in 
the years 1899 and 1900. The failure to secure State 
aid was the principal factor which forced the hospital 
to close its doors. 

At this juncture an organization known as the Ger- 
mantown Auxiliary stepped into the breach and en- 
tered into negotiations whereby these women took 
over the personal property of the hospital, settled its 
debts, secured changes in the charter and substituted 
trustees in place of the men, and they and their suc- 
cessors continued as trustees to the time of the mer- 
ger with the Children's Homeopathic Hospital. 



BOARD OF TRUSTEES 

ON 
CHARTER 

OF 

ST. LUKE'S HOMEOPATHIC HOSPITAL 
OF PHILADELPHIA 

William D. Kelly 

Robert H. Hinckley 

Charles I. Fireng 

Edward LeBoutillier 

John B. Stetson 

James M. Dodge 

Stanley G. Flagg, Jr. 

Thomas A. Harris 

Thomas B. Hammer 

William W. Smithers 

Finley Acker 

J. Anderson Ross 

Richard F. Loper 

John M. Zook 

John F. Simons 

William H. Senderling, M.D. 

Isaac G. Smedley, M.D. 

William H. Brown, M.D. 

James H. Clossen, M.D. 

Thomas H. Carmichael, M.D. 

G. Maxwell Christine, M.D. 

William H. Keim, M.D. 

Alonzo M. Barnes, M.D. 

William W. VanBaun, M.D. 

Pemberton Dudley, Sr., M.D. 

(Continued on Next Page) 



\ 






PHILADELPHIA-^or/(/'5 Medical Centre 



97 



The hospital was again opened, 
then with 18 beds, on October 1, 
1899, with the following officers: 
Mrs. Mary E. Stewart, President; 
Mrs. Mary S. Jeffries, Vice-Presi- 
dent; Mrs. Eliza M. Mansfield, 
Treasurer, and Mrs. Emily L. Car- 
michael, Secretary. The Board 
held its first meeting on October 
2nd. 

In December, 1904, the hospital 
was removed to more commodious 
quarters at Broad and Wingohock- 
ing Streets, due to the energy and 
far-sightedness of Mrs. Mary E. 
Stewart, and her associates. The 
mansion on the ground was re- 
modeled, that it might more fit- 
tingly serve its purpose, and later, 
what had been a stable was trans- 
formed into a complete dispensary. 

This doubled the capacity of the 
former structures, and in addition 
two public wards were completed 
and occupied in 1907. The total 
capacity of the hospital was then 
55 beds, composed of 12 private 
rooms, 15 semi-private rooms and 
28 ward beds. 

THE BIRTH OF ST. LUKE'S 
HOMEOPATHIC HOSPITAL 

Apace with the standardization 
plan, maintenance upkeep became 
in common with all other hospi- 
tals, increasingly difficult financi- 



ally. The efforts of the Welfare 
Federation to unify hospital eco- 
nomics brought to us the sugges- 
tion that inasmuch as we had in 
some ways affiliated with the 
Children's Homeopathic Hospital 
for reciprocal teaching of internes 
and nurses, that St. Luke's Hom- 
eopathic Hospital with its adult 
surgical and medical service, and 
the Children's, with its Maternity 
and Children's service, would, if 
merged, represent competently all 
departments of medicine, surgery, 
obstetrics, etc., and might effect an 
economical betterment for both in- 
stitutions, and to this end, when 
the Directors of the Children's 
Homeopathic Hospital made an 
offer to St. Luke's Homeopathic 
Hospital, it was favorably received 
by the Trustees of St. Luke's, and 
the following answer sent as of 
October 26, 1925 : 

"With the view to attaining a 
much-needed and long looked for 
expansion, and to insuring the per- 
petuity of St. Luke's Homeo- 
pathic Hospital, the undersigned 
look favorably upon and will sup- 
port negotiations between the 
Trustees of St. Luke's Homeo- 
pathic Hospital, and the Board of 
Directors of the Children's Hom- 
eopathic Hospital, in an effort to 
consolidate the two institutions 
under one management, and to the 



plan for enlargement of both 
Hospitals into an Institution repre- 
senting competently, all Depart- 
ments of Medicine, Surgery, Ob- 
stetrics and their various special- 
ties, administered under the eco- 
nomic plan of General Hospital, 
but maintaining the entity of both 
Institutions under one administra- 
tive plan." 

Isabella C. R. Leitenberger 
Ellen C. Geisier 
Harriet R. Jackson 
Mary K. Gage 
Laura L. Robinson 
Minna R. Krauss 
Katharine E. Barwood 
Clementina B. Smith 
Naomi Hollinger 
Mary E. Lewars 
Carolena D. Parke 
Carrie V. Lloyd 
Margaret G. Kuemmerle 
Helen F. Repplier 
Jessie G. Roman 
Katharine T. Roessler 
Cordelia E. Siegfried 
Katherine M. Tull 

And on April 25, 1927, the Court 
granted the decree of merger, and 
we have merged for perpetuity and 
expansion, and neither institution 
can efface the other without for- 
feiting the principles upon which 
the merger has been accepted by 
both and consummated in that and 
no other faith. 



■e^rs- 



St. Mary's Hospital 

FRANKFORD AVENUE AND PALMER STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1860 



Bed Capacity: 210 

Bassinets 42 



Services Rendered 
Complete Class A Hospital 



-(ZyTd- 



Shriners' Hospital for Crippled Children 



ROOSEVELT BOULEVARD AND PENNYPACK PARK, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Founded: 1926 Bed Capacity: 120 



Services Rendered 
Specializing in Orthopaedics 



STAFF 

L. W. Gregory, M.D. 
B. W. Whilfield, M.D. 

Chief Surgeon 

J. R. Moore, M.D. 



..■;;...■-. 



BP^= 



fejfiisri 



^HHHBMMI 



98 



PHILADELPHIA— Wor!<f'5 Medical Centre 



9 

The Stetson Hospital of Philadelphia 

1745 NORTH 4TH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1887 



Bed Capacity: 80 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




STAFF 



Gynecology and Obstetrics 


Surgery 


Dr. G. H. Severs 


Dr. 


H. C. Kellner 


Dr. S. E. Tracy 


Dr. W. T. Ellis 


Dr. C. 0. Peiffer 


Dr. 


J. W. Klopp 


Dr. T. E. Jones 


Dr. J. K. Marks 




Dr. 


C. F. Martin 


Dr. W. K. Neely 


Dr. C. Wolfrom 


Pathology 


Dr. 


G. B. Miller 


Dr. Arthur First 




Dr. W. L. C. Spaeth 


Dr. 


G. Sinnanion 


Dr. P. S. Clair 


Ear, Nose and Throat 


Dr. Ivor Griffith 


Dr. 


C. J. Stainm 


Dr. C. E. Perkins 


Dr. Carle L. Felt 










Dr. C. H. Grimes 


Roentologist 


Dr. 


G. C. Yeager 


Medicine 


Dr. I. Mvers 


Dr. Carl F. Koenig 


Dr. 


C. G. Yeager 


Dr. W. B. Odenatt 


Dr. J. C. Burns 




Dr. 


R. S. Dorset 


Dr. J. J. Schoening 


Dr. H. F. Tve 


COURTESY STAFF 


Dr. 


R. L. Grav 


Dr. P. A. Trau 
Dr. H. S. Bachman 


Neurology 


Dr. L. H. Graves 
Dr. Wm. L. Taylor 


Dr. 
Dr. 


I. W. Hollingshead 
John H. Duhhs 


Surgery 


Dr. H. P. Boyer 


Dr. J. C. Chestnut 


Dr. 


W. Duffield Rohbinson 


Dr. John A. Boger 




Dr. F. Rohert Seifert 


Dr. 


D. W. Lew 


Dr. J. D. McElwee 


Ophthalmology 


Dr. A. E. Smethurst 






Dr. I. Rodman 


Dr. E. B. Miller 


Dr. C. P. Major 






Dr. S. S. Shapiro 


Dr. W. J. Sener 


Dr. W. M. Gordon 







~~ ■-.;»- tJr ■-..... .... 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



99 



Temple University Hospital 



BROAD AND ONTARIO STREETS, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Founded: 1893 Bed Capacity: 330 

STAFF 



Services Rendered 
All Services Except Contagious 



STAFF MEMBERS 
J. M. Alesbury 
J. W. Anders 
J. O. Arnold 
G. M. Astley 
J. C. Attix 
H. Bacon 
W. W. Babcock 
S. Ball 
C. S. Barnes 

C. Barr 

D. Battuglini 
A. G. Beekley 

E. H. Berrossian 
A. D. Benedict 
M. H. Bocliroch 
II. W. Boehringcr 
H. L. Bottoinlcy 
J. 0. Bower 

J. C. Burns 

F. E. Boston 
S. A. Brody 
W. E. Burnett 

E. L. Clemens 
A. J. Cohen 
S. Cohen 

M. Cohen 

J. N. Cooinhs 

L. Cohen 

A. P. Doras 

11. Darmstadtcr 

F. C. Davis 
L. O. Davis 
T. C. Davis 

G. W. Deitz 
D. J. Donnelly 
J. Donnelly 
II. A. Duncan 
C. Q. DeLuca 
N. 1*. A. Dienna 
J. P. Emich 

F. H. Ehmann 
M. Eisner 



L. I. Fanz 

A. A. Ferry 
P. Fiscella 
II. P. Fisher 

I. Form an 

W. B. Formnn 
M. Franklin 

II. G. Fretz 
J. II. Frick 

B. Friedman 
T. Fay 

J. M. Grist 

J. I. Gouterman 

G. P. Giambalvo 

M. II. Gold 

S. Goldherg 

S. Gordon 

S. B. Greenway 

C. H. Grimes 
II. C. Groff 
J. Grossman 

B. Gouley 
Edwin Gault 

C. G. Given 

F. C. Hammond 
II. L. Hartley 
II. Hayes 
H. Hayford 
Harry Herman 
V. Hess 
II. Hihschman 
.1. C. Mickey 

E. B. Horwitz 
IT. Hudson 

W. F. Harriman 
C. S. Herrman 
Louis Herman 
J. F. Hunter 
M. Jaffe 
C. Jackson 
C. L. Jackson 

F. J. Jodzis 

F. kimmeliiiau 



E. G. Klimas 
B. lvlemm 

F. Konzelman 
F. H. Krusen 
T. Klein 

Jas. Kay 

B. W. Lathrop 
J. Lcedom 

A. N. Lemon 
A. E. Livingston 
J. P. Maus 
L. F. McAndrews 
L. F. McCrea 

C. H. McDevitt 
E. H. Mcllvain 
S. F. Madonna 
C. S. Miller 
II. \V. Miller 
II. B. Mills 

J. B. Minehart 

E. K. Mitchell 
L. F. Milliken 
A. Moxey 
Morris Myers 
M. B. Marcus 
\V. S. Nied 

II. A. K. Mengle 
M. T. Moore 
A. E. Oliensis 

F. Orland 

A. M. Ornsteen 

F. F. Osterhout 
J. I). Paul 

L. C. Peter 
\Y. C. Prichard 
\\ . N. Parkinson 

G. J. Ratcliffe 

B. F. Bidpath 
S. S. Bingohl 
W. E. Bohertson 
J. C. Rommel 
A. Buff 



H. F. Bohertson 
Victor Bohinson 

C. C. Rogers 
J. Rosen 

J. B. Roxby 
S. A. Savitz 
M. A. Saylor 
G. W. Schurch 
G. E. Sheppard 
A. E. Siegel 
A. Silverstein 
H. O. Sloane 
H. S. Snyderman 
E. B. Spaeth 
W. A. Steel 

D. Stein 

L. S. Steinberg 
A. Sterling 

A. Strickler 
H. T. Stull 

D. L. Suiter 
W. A. Swalm 
M. Scarf 

M. Schumann 
J. Evans Scheehle 
Earl Shrader 
W. H. Thomas 

E. L. Vanloon 
S. Verrei 

Michael Walkenberg 

J. T. Washleski 

H. F. Weber 

E. M. Weinberger 

H. Weiner 

J. G. Weiner 

B. Weiskrantz 
J. Winston 

J. B. Wolffe 
M. G. Wohl 
N. W. Winkleman 
L. H. Weiner 



■ mm 



,. ... ■■ . 



£*-- - 



nHHilfifirrririr 



*ji>'yy~*^- 



100 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania 

3400 SPRUCE STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1871 



Bed Capacity: 587 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory 




Dr. C. H. Frazier 
Dr. G. Muller 
Dr. E. L. Eliason 
Dr. H. K. Pancoast 
Dr. Chevalier Jackson 



STAFF 

Dr. B. Gill 
Dr. W. G. Spiller 
Dr. J. H. Stokes 
Dr. J. C. Gittings 
Dr. C. C. Norris 



Dr. F. E. Keane 
Dr. E. B. Piper 
Dr. J. B. Nvlin 
Dr. G. Fetterolf 
Dr. T. B. Holloway 



-(LsTq)- 



West Philadelphia General Homeopathic Hospital 

and Dispensary 



Founded: 1904 



1234 NORTH 54TH STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Services Rendered 
Complete General Hospital 



Bed Capacity: 85 



HOSPITAL AND DISPENSARY STAFF 
Chief Resident Chief of Staff 

Dr. Higinio Mendoza Dr. John F. Rowland 



Surgical 

Dr. Henry M. Gay 
Dr. A. B. Webster 
Dr. Ralph D. Killen 
Dr. W. A. Dunlap 
Dr. Chas. H. Harvey 
Dr. William L. Martin 
Dr. Eugene Carpenter, Jr. 

Medical 

Dr. Walter W. Cheesman 
Dr. Henry L. Somers 
Dr. Walter Norley 



Dr. M. A. Goldsmith 
Dr. Oliver B. Wait 

Obs. and Gyn. 

Dr. Newlin F. Paxon 
Dr. George P. Stubhs 
Dr. Frederick Stubhs 

Ear, Nose, Throat 

Dr. Geo. W. Alexander 
Dr. Alice Mackenzie 
Dr. Clyde F. Zapf 
Dr. Geo. W. Mackenzie 
Dr. Wm. G. Shemeley 
Dr. Howard Busier 



STAFF 



Eye 

Dr. Wm. M. Hillegas 
Dr. Jos. C. Creswell 
Dr. C. H. Robelen 

Ped. 

Dr. Austin Kimble 

Skin 

Dr. Paul C. Wittman 

G. U. 

Dr. John F. Rowland 
Dr. Edw. W. Campbell 
Dr. Wm. H. Berg 

Anesthesia 

Dr. John F. Rowland 
Dr. W. A. Dunlap 
Dr. Henry L. Somers 



X-ray 

Dr. Harry D. Evans 
Dr. Brooks Harvey 

Neuro. 

Dr. Edw. A. Steinhilber 

Path. 

Dr. Geo. A. Hopp 
Orth. 

Dr. Edw. Geckeler 
Resident 

Dr. Wm. H. Berg 
Physio. 

Miss Edna Mock, R.N. 
Medical 

Dr. Morris Fiterman 
Resident 

Dr. Higinio Mendoza 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



101 



Wills Hospital 

1810 RACE STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1832 



Bed Capacity: 126 



Services Rendered 

Eye, with All Necessary Accessory Clinics; Skin, Ear, 

Nose and Throat, Dental, Medical, X-ray, Radium, 

Laboratory and Out-patient Department 




* *■., * > *■ 



: 



STAFF 



ATTENDING STAFF 



Otolaryngologist 

Dr. William F. Whelan 

Dental Surgeon 

Dr. Gustav C. Tassman 
Dermatologist and Syphilo- 
grapher 
Dr. Joseph V. Klauder 
Director, Physiological Optics 
Department 
Dr. Alfred Cowan 

Internist 

Dr. Hugh McCauley Miller 

Neurologist 

Dr. T. H. Weisenburg 

Asst. Roentgenologist 
Dr. E. W. Spackman 

Asst. Dental Surgeon 
Dr. James J. Dempsey 

Asst. Dermatologist and 
Syphilographer 
Dr. Harold F. Robertson 

CONSULTING STAFF 
Consulting Executive Surgeon 
Dr. George E. deSchweinitz 
Consulting Surgeon 

Dr. William Campbell 

Posey 
Dr. P. N. K. Schwenk 
Dr. McCluney Radcliffe 
Dr. William Zentmayer 

The Wills Hospital is an institution devoted to Ophthal- 
mology and is located at 1810 Race Street in Logan Square It 
is one of the oldest hospitals in the United States devoted to 
this specialty, the only two others enjoying priority being the 
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary and the Massachusetts Eye 



Attending Surgeon 
Dr. Paul J. Pontius 
Dr. Burton Chance 
Dr. J. Milton Griscom 
Dr. Frank C. Parker 
Dr. B. F. Baer, Jr. 
Dr. Thomas A. O'Brien 
Dr. L. F. Appleman 
Assistant Surgeon 
Dr. Max R. Gabrio 
Dr. Aaron Barlow 
Dr. Louis Lehrfeld 
Dr. John C. Siggens 
Dr. Willard G. Mengel 
Dr. Isaac S. Tassman 
Dr. Thomas Clemens 
Dr. S. Creadick Rhoads 
Francis H. Adler 
James Shipman 
Perce DeLong 
Dr. Warren S. Reese 
Dr. George J. Dublin 
Clinical Assistant 
Dr. Clara Israeli 
Dr. Alexander J. P. Conlen 
Dr. Charles A. Rankin 
Dr. Samuel Sleath 
Dr. Carroll R. Mullen 
Dr. Benjamin Shortkroff 
Roentgenologist 

Dr. Bernard P. Widmann 



Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 



and Ear Infirmary which were established twelve and five years 
respectively before the Wills Hospital. 

It was founded by James Wills who died on January 22nd, 
1825, and devised the principal part of his estate to the City of 
Philadelphia for the purpose of a hospital for treatment of 
indigent patients afflicted with eye diseases. 

A plot of ground extending from Race south to Cherry Street 
and from 18th to 19th Street was purchased in 1833 for $20,000. 
A hospital was erected at the cost of $57,000 and was opened 
for the reception of patients on March 3, 1834. Other build- 
ings have been added as the institution expanded. 

Dr. Isaac Parrish, Dr. Squier Littel, Dr. Isaac Hays and Dr. 
George Fox were appointed as the first Surgical Staff of the 
Hospital. 

Until 1839 there was no service or clinic for Out-Patients. 
The first record of the number of Out-Patients appears in 1846, 
the number being 92 cases for the year. In 1929 this number 
has increased to 21,888. 

The growth of the institution proceeded rapidly beginning 
with 49 House Patients in 1834 until the number in the year 
1929 reached 2,151. 

From the opening of the hospital it has been conducted 
under the trusteeship of the City of Philadelphia. Prior to 
1870 it was under the care of a Board of Managers appointed 
by the City Council. In 1870 the Board of Directors of City 
Trusts, created by an Act of Assembly, took charge of the 
institution and under its management it has been steadily and 
rapidly increasing in its usefulness. 

The hospital is at the present time fully equipped to take 
care of all eye conditions and their complications and has 
besides the eye clinics, ear. nose and throat, medical, skin, 
dental, neurological and radium clinics. 

The Staff of the hospital is composed of seven Chiets ot 
eye clinics and of forty-five other physicians either in charge 
of departments or as assistants. 

There are five Resident Physicians at the hospital receiving 
training in Ophthalmology and Wills men enjoy an enviable 
reputation all through the United States. 



s 



' '' '^y .' 



' Siii* 



J^IM i iJJIIjllMlllJlJlJJ 



?Miiiiiiii'iiiiiTitirtTi-nir^ JJ 



a 



== 



-....-oik^ 



102 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



The Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia 



STAFF 



111 



Dr. Florence Ahlfeldt 

Dr. Emily Whitten Auge 

Dr. Emily P. Bacon 

Dr. Dorothy Case Blechschniidt 

Dr. Mary Buchanan 

Dr. Margaret F. Butler 

Dr. Elizabeth F. C. Clark 

Dr. Lida Stewart Cogill 



Dr. Susan Rogers Corson 
Dr. Patricia Hart-Drant 
Dr. Faith Skinner Fetterman 
Dr. Marie K. Formad 
Dr. Ann Tomkins Gibson 
Dr. Julia H. Hardin 
Dr. Blanca Hillman 
Dr. Rose Hirschler 



Dr. Elizabeth Hughes 
Dr. Catherine Mcfarlane 
Dr. Berta M. Meine 
Dr. Delia E. Mieldazis 
Dr. Elizabeth L. Peck 
Dr. Alberta Peltz 
Dr. Marion Hague Rea 
Dr. Jane Sands Robb 



Dr. Clara Horner Rodger 
Dr.Elise Whitlock Rose 
Dr. Ann G. Taylor 
Dr. Frances Van Gasken 
Dr. Emily Lois Van Loon 
Dr. Ruth Hartley Weaver 
Dr. Esther M. Weyl 
Dr. Mary R. Hadley Lewis, 
Medical Director 



Being a consolidation of The Woman's Hospital of 
Philadelphia, which has served at North College Ave- 
nue and Twenty-second Street since 1861, and The 
West Philadelphia Hospital for Women located at 
4035 Parrish Street since 1890. 

Movement for new building, to be erected at Par- 
rish, Preston and Ogden Streets, now under way. 
Capacity to be 160 beds and 60 bassinets. 

Services Rendered 

All General Services for Women and Children Only, 
and Emergency Service for Men, Women and 

Children 

A Hospital for women and children of moderate means — a 
hospital serving with real efficiency and economy, and carrying 
on a work that has assumed a noteworthy place in the city's 
history — is developing out of the building activities of the new 
Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia. A million dollar campaign 
is under way, for the building will cost more than that sum, 
and the women who have advanced the hospital's service 
through the years are expecting soon to achieve of greater use- 
fulness, in a realm where the need is urgent. 

The new hospital movement comes out of a merger of two 
hospitals, and the merger goes back to a very definite economic 
step emanating from Philadelphia's business interests. Under 
the auspices of the Chamber of Commerce, a Health and Hos- 
pital survey was instituted in Philadelphia a year ago. It was 
conducted under the supervision of Dr. Haven Emerson, with 
the co-operation of the Welfare Federation. One of its recom- 
mendations was that the Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia, 
which had served efficiently for 69 years in North College 
Avenue, and the West Philadelphia Hospital for Women, 
equally known for its good deeds over a period of 40 years 
at 4035 Parrish Street, unite as one hospital and construct a 
new building of modern efficiency on the West Philadelphia 
site. 

The boards of the institutions immediately took the matter 
under advisement, and as result a merger occurred last Sep- 
tember. The staffs were consolidated into one, the managers 
were amalgamated into one board, and since then the two 
hospitals have been serving as one, allotting the work to the 
various buildings so that there would be no duplication. 

The pressing need, however, was a new building, of greater 
efficiency. As the work and service of the hospitals have 
grown through the years, additional buildings — mostly former 
private residences — have been purchased and converted into 
hospital uses, until today the work which should be concen- 
trated under one roof is scattered through a dozen out-worn 
buildings. The remarkable work carried on has been in spite 
of this handicap. 

The time has come when demands make it imperative that 
better facilities be procured. The hospital, which is the only 
one in Philadelphia managed and staffed exclusively by women, 
and caring only for women and children, is used by persons 
from every portion of Philadelphia. In addition, the demand 
from the immediate district in which it is located is tre- 
mendous. Approximately 40 per cent of the work performed 
is charity, and since the hospitals were founded, 712,000 
women and children have been cared for in the dispensary. 
More than 29,000 Philadelphia babies have been born in the 
two institutions. 



Cognizant of the fact that the need was so urgent that delay 
was out of the question, the board of managers decided to 
proceed immediately with a money raising appeal to Phila- 
delphia's generous citizens. The movement to raise the neces- 
sary funds has been started with Mrs. George H. Earle, Jr., as 
honorary chairman; Philip H. Gadsden, president of the 
Chamber of Commerce, as general chairman ; Benjamin H. 
Ludlow, chairman of the special gifts committee; Mrs. Thomas 
Shallcross, Jr., who is president of the board of managers, as 
chairman of the campaign executive committee. 

It is planned to dispose of the buildings in North College 
Avenue, and to erect an E shaped structure on the West Phila- 
delphia site. The hospital owns property which has a frontage 
of 218 feet in Parrish Street, 306 feet in Preston Street and 195 
feet in Ogden Street. The new building will front in Preston 
Street with the dispensary entrance in Parrish Street. The 
present Elizabeth L. Peck Maternity, which is the only modern 
building of the entire hospital holdings, will be allowed to 
remain and made a part of the new building. The proposal 
is to construct five stories, with provision for increasing to 
seven when the needs call for it. Immediate capacity will be 
160 beds and 60 bassinets, with ultimate capacity of 250 beds 
and 100 bassinets. Ample provision will be made for dis- 
pensary and social service work. 

One of the first women's hospitals in the United States, The 
Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia, was founded in 1861. Its 
charter stated as its purpose: "To furnish medical treatment 
for women and children in non-contagious diseases, clinical 
instruction for women engaged in the study of medicine, and 
the practical training of nurses." The first Board of Managers 
of which Mrs. Maria Wood was president, included, among 
others, Dr. E. H. Cleveland, Dr. Rebecca L. Fussell and Dr. 
Ann Preston, and since that day many other notable women 
have been associated with the hospital, both as staff members 
and in non-professional capacities. 

Seventeen thousand, four hundred and twenty-seven babies 
have been born in The Woman's Hospital, 85,131 women and 
children cared for, and 636,223 attended in the dispensary. 

Besides the numerous other pioneering efforts of this hos- 
pital, it was first in America to use an infant's incubator, 
which was brought from Paris by Dr. Anna E. Broomall. The 
hospital instituted pre-natal care when this was virtually un- 
known in the United States. 

The West Philadelphia Hospital for Women was established 
in Ogden Street in 1889. It too came as the result of an 
established need. Its original Board of Managers included 
Dr. Elizabeth H. Comly Howell, President; Dr. Elizabeth L. 
Peck, Dr. Anna P. Sharpless, of these Dr. Peck and Dr. Sharp- 
less are living. In this grand old hospital 11,944 babies were 
born, 42,462 women and children cared for in its beds, and 
75,007 attended in the dispensary. It possesses one modern 
building, the Elizabeth L. Peck Maternity, named for the 
beloved Dean of its present staff. This will be the only struc- 
ture allowed to remain, and will be incorporated in the new 
edifice. Like the sister organization with which it has been 
merged, the West Philadelphia Hospital has grown through 
the devoted service of women, famous for their leadership in 
good works, and it, too, has pioneered in numerous paths. 

The charter for the new hospital has been granted by the 
state of Pennsylvania, and was received with formal ceremonies 
on February 18th. Mr. Gadsden made the presentation, and 
Mrs. Thomas Shallcross, the President of the Amalgamated 
Board, received it. 



■ y a ya amm 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/rf'5 Medical Centre 



103 










Architect's Drawing of the Proposed New Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia, Parrish, Preston and Ogden Streets 




Buildings of The Woman's Hospital on North College Avenue 




West Philadelphia Buildings of The Woman's Hospital, in Parrish Street 
Site of the New Women's Hospital of Philadelphia 






104 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor^'5 Medical Centre 



Hospital Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania 



2121 NORTH COLLEGE AVENUE 



Bed Capacity: 134 



Services Rendered 

Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose and 

Throat, X-ray, Accident, Out-patient, Laboratory, 

Gynecological Bronchoscopic 



STAFF 



CI 



Medical Director 
Florence Polk, M.D. 

Business Manager 
Harriet E. Mitchell 

ATTENDING MEDICAL 
STAFF 

Physician-in-Chief 

L. Napoleon Boston, M.D. 

Associates 
Frieda Baumann, M.D. 
Isabel Balph, M.D. 

Assistant 
Anna E. Gaydos, M.D. 

Gynecologist-in-Chief 

Catharine Macfarlane, M.D. 

Associates 
Margaret Castex-Sturgis, 
M.D. 
Faith S. Fetterman, M.D. 

Assistant 
Dorothy L. Ashton, M.D. 

Obstetrician-in-Chief 

Lida Stewart-Cogill, M.D. 

Associate 
Ann G. Taylor, M.D. 

Assistant 
Virginia Lane, M.D. 

Surgeon-ituChief 

J. Stewart Rodman, M.D. 

Attending Surgeons 
Hubley R. Owen, M.D. 
William Gilmour, M.D. 
Allan Parker, M.D. 

Orthopedist 

Walter G. Elmer, M.D. 

Pediatrician 

Emily P. Bacon, M.D. 

Assistants 
Jean Crump, M.D. 
Hortense Ermann, M.D. 

Oto-Laryngologist 

Margaret F. Butler, M.D. 

Assistant 
Emily Lois Van Loon, M.D. 

Opthalmologist 

Mary Buchanan, M.D. 

Gastro-enterologist 

Mary M. Spears, M.D. 

Dermutologist 
Joseph V. Klauder, M.D. 

Assistant 
Samuel Wolf, M.D. 



Syphilologist 

Mary Nelson, M.D. 

Consultant in Neurology 
George Wilson, M.D. 

Consultant in Psychiatry 
Alice E. Johnson, M.D. 

Consultant in Bronchoscopy 
and Esophagoscopy 
Gabriel Tucker, M.D. 

Dentist 

Leo Collins, D.D.S. 

Director of the Laboratory 
Florence K. Polk, M.D. 

Technician 
Helen F. Barsley 

Surgical Pathologist 

Helen Ingleby, M.D., B.S., 
London; M.R.C.P., 

Roentgenologist 

Jacob H. Vastine, M.D. 

Anesthetist 

Julia H. Hardin, M.D. 

Internes 

Elizabeth Fulton, M.D. 
Esther Peh, M.D. 
Eugenia Fronczak, M.D. 
Ruth Thompson, M.D. 
Grace Chen, M.D. 
Matilda Stander, M.D. 

Director of Nurses 

Gertrude McCormick, R.N. 
Dietitian 

Helen Taggert 
Pharmacist 

Ethel Scheinfeld 

DISPENSARY 
Main Hospital 

Medicine 

L. Napoleon Boston, M.D. 
Clinician 
Isabel Balph, M.D. 

Assistants 

Helen Angelucci, M.D. 

Clara Davis, M.D. 

Florence Polk, M.D. 
Gastro-enterology 

Mary M. Spears, M.D. 
Assistants 

Virginia Alexander, M.D. 

Florence K. Polk, M.D. 
Surgery 
Chief 

J. Stewart Rodman, M.D. 
Clinician 

Tbeodore Cianfrani, M.D. 



Orthopedics 

Walter G. Elmer, M.D. 

Gynecology 
Chief 
Catharine Macfarlane, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Margaret Castex-Sturgis, 
M.D. 

Dorothy L. Ashton, M.D. 
Winifred S. Blampin, M.D. 

Assistants 
Eleanor Goldberg, M.D. 
Mary J. Mcllvaine, M.D. 
Mary Noble Smith, M.D. 

Urology 

Faith S. Fetterman, M.D. 

Obstetrics 
Chief 
Lida Stewart-Cogill, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Ann G. Taylor, M.D. 
Mary J. Mcllvaine, M.D. 

Assistant 
Virginia Lane, M.D. 

Volunteer Clinical Secretary 
Miss Annie D. Wells 

Assistant 
Miss Katherine Rambo 

Pediatrics 
Chief 
Emily P. Bacon, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Jean Crump, M.D. 
Hortense Ermann, M.D. 
Marie Finkelstein, M.D. 

Assistants 
Catharine Vanderbilt, M.D. 
Jean Gowing, M.D. 
Ann Catherine Arthurs, 
M.D. 

Oto-Laryngology 
Chief 
Margaret F. Butler, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Emily Lois Van Loon, M.D. 
Ann Catherine Arthurs, 
M.D. 

Oplhulmology 
Chief 
Mary Buchanan, M.D. 

Assistant 
Clara Israeli, M.D. 

Dermatology 
Chief 
Joseph V. Klauder, M.D. 



Assistant 
Samuel Wolf, M.D. 

Dental Clinic 
Chief 
Leo Collins, D.D.S. 

SOCIAL SERVICE 
DEPARTMENT 

Director 

Mrs. Thomas Peyton 

Assistant 

Miss Ann Thomas 

Volunteer Secretary 
Mrs. Elizabeth Olden 

AMY S. BARTON 
DISPENSARY 

Resident 

Harriet E. MacSorley, M.D. 

Obstetrics 
Chief 
Lida Stewart-Cogill, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Ann G. Taylor, M.D. 
Matilda Beaver, M.D. 

Surgery 
Chief 
J. Stewart Rodman, M.D. 

Gynecology 
Chief 
Catharine Macfarlane, M.D. 

Clinician 
Eleanor Goldberg, M.D. 

Nose and Throat 
Chief 

Margaret F. Butler, M.D. 
Clinician 
Emily Lois Van Loon, M.D. 
Venereal Disease 

Carrie Weaver Smith, M.D. 

Medicine 

L. Napoleon Boston, M.D. 

Clinicians 
Horace Conway, M.D. 
Florence Polk, M.D. 

Pediatrics 
Chief 
Emily P. Bacon, M.D. 

Clinician 
Rose Frank, M.D. 

SOCIAL SERVICE 
DEPARTMENT 

Director 

Eleanor Lee 
Volunteer 

Mrs. J. David Hoyer 



a 






<r 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



105 



Founders 

Dr. Mary Branson 

Dr. Amelia L. Hess 

Miss Annie M. Miller 



Board of Managers 

President, Mrs. J. A. Potts 
Secretary, Miss A. M. Miller 
Treasurer, Miss B. M. Homan 



Founded: 1896 



Woman's Southern Homeopathic Hospital 

739 SOUTH BROAD STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

The Hospital for the Patient of Moderate Means 

Missouria F. Martin, R.N., Superintendent 

Services Rendered 
Bed Capacity: 110 



Medical, Surgical, Obstetrical, Eye, Ear, Nose, Throat, 
X-ray, Out-patient, Laboratory 



P 



HONORARY MEMBERS 

Dr. Amelia Hess 

Dr. Ida Virginia Reel 

CONSULTING STAFF 
Department of Medicine 
Dr. G. Harlen Wells 
Dr. W. Van Baun 
Dr. Frederica Gladwin 

Department of Surgery 
Dr. Herbert L. Northrop 
Dr. Gustav Van Lennep 

Department of Pediatrics 
Dr. C. Sigmund Raue 
Dr. John Redman 

Department of Gynecology 
Dr. A. Korndoerfer 

Department of Neurology 
Dr. W. Lawrence Hicks 

Department of Anesthesia 
Dr. James Godfrey 
Dr. Wayne Killian 

HOSPITAL STAFF 

Department of Medicine 
Chief Associates 

Dr. Edward G. Muhly 
Dr. Margaret B. Webster 
Dr. Lydia W. Stokes 
Dr. Raymond Harris 
Dr. Wm. Morford 

Jr. Attending 
Dr. R. J. McGrath 

Department of Surgery 
Chief Associates 
Dr. John D. Elliott 




STAFF 



Dr. Wm. M. Sylvis 
Dr. John A. Brooke 
Dr. T. C. Geary 
Dr. Thomas Doyle 

Department of Obstetrics 
Chief Associates 

Dr. Warren C. Mercer 
Dr. J. B. Bert 
Dr. Joseph Coscarello 
Dr. Chas. W. Dunn 

Department of Gynecology 

Chief Associates 

Dr. N. F. Lane 
Dr. J. B. Bert 
Dr. W. C. Mercer 
Dr. N. F. Paxson 

Department of Roentgenology 
Chief 
Dr. Walter C. Barker 

Department of Rhinology- 
Laryngology-Ophthal- 
mology 

Chief Associates 

Dr. Gilbert J. Palen 
Dr. Carol F. Haines 
Dr. H. Bailey Chalfont 
Dr. Howard Busier 

Department of Pathology 
Chief 

Dr. Berta M. Miene 
Department of Anesthesia 

Dr. Henry S. Ruth 

Department of Urology 
Chief Associates 

Dr. Leon T. Ashcraft 



Dr. Leander Tori 
Department of Dermatology 

Chief 

Dr. H. E. Twining 

Department of Oral Surgery 

Chief Associates 

Dr. James R. Cameron 
Dr. George V. Boyko 

RESIDENTS 

Dr. Arthur Hirshorn, Chief 
Dr. George Walker 

COURTESY STAFF 

Medical and Obstetrical 

Dr. I. Andrussier 
Dr. W. F. Baker 
Dr. G. H. Bickley 
Dr. A. J. Blakely 
Dr. R. G. Blood 
Dr. N. Blumberg 
Dr. A. D. Bove 
Dr. F. S. Bowman 
Dr. R. W. Brust 
Dr. A. Cohen 
Dr. E. B. Craig 
Dr. A. P. Deak 
Dr. B. K. Fletcher 
Dr. L. Goldstein 
Dr. J. M. E. Hindsen 
Dr. F. L. Hughes 
Dr. J. E. Hume 
Dr. E. R. Hunter 
Dr. W. T. Killian 
Dr. R. D. Killen 
Dr. W. McKeever 
Dr. Mary T. Nelson 
Dr. R. W. Rubin 



Dr. H. S. Snyderman 
Dr. W. Sussman 
Dr. O. A. Vroom, Jr. 
Dr. 0. B. Wait 
Dr. H. M. Eberhard 
Dr. O. H. Paxson 
Dr. E. R. Snader, Jr. 
Dr. W. J. Snyder 

Orthopedic Sungery 
Dr. A. M. Rechtman 

General Surgery 
Dr. F. E. Bristol 
Dr. J. M. Gagliardi 
Dr. F. L. Hughes 
Dr. E. R. Hunter 
Dr. G. J. Schwartz 
Dr. W. Sussman 
Dr. L. Vaccaro 
Dr. A. C.Wood 

Ear, Eye, Nose and Throat 
Dr. J. V. F. Clay 
Dr. M. S. Ersner 
Dr. R. M. Brickbauer 
Dr. C. B. Hollis 
Dr. G. W. MacKenzie 
Dr. W. G. Shemeley 
Dr. B. H. Sinister 

Gynecological 
Dr. E.B.Craig 

Pediatrics 

Dr. A. J. Blakely 
Dr. B. K. Fletcher 
Dr. H. S. Snyderman 

Anesthesia 

Dr. E. A. Tyler 









. 



106 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Women's Homeopathic Hospital of Philadelphia 

20TH STREET, SUSQUEHANNA AVENUE AND DAUPHIN STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Founded: 1882 



Bed Capacity: 200 



Services Rendered 
General Hospital 




' h 




STAFF 



HOSPITAL CONSULTING 
STAFF 

Francis O. Gross, M.I). 
Oliver Sloan Haines, M. D. 
C. Sigmund Raue, M.D. 
Herbert S. Northrup, M.D. 
John Dean Elliott, M.D. 
Joseph M. Caley, M.D. 
J. Lewis Van Tine, M.D. 
Warren C. Mercer, M.D. 
Joseph W. Post, M.D. 
F. C. Benson, M.D. 

HOSPITAL ACTIVE 
STAFF 
Theodore P. Gittens, M.D. 
I. Le Hoy Walker, M.D. 



John B. Szall, M.D. 
A. F. Caraccialo, M.D. 
Win. F. Griggs, M.D. 
Half Bernstein, M.D. 
Harry M. Eberhard, M.D. 
J. F. Tompkins, M.D. 
Joseph Hepburn, Ph.D. 
Donald R. Ferguson, Ml). 
Walter Strong, M.D. 
J. Robert Rochester, M.D. 
Arthur Hartley, M.D. 
Samuel W. Clover, M.D. 
Frank F. Barthmaier, M.D. 
Richard W. Saver, M.D. 
Edwin O. Geckeler, M.D. 
Francis S. Hughes, M.D. 
Joseph A. Cosacerello, M.D. 



Saverio F. Brunetti, M.D. 
Nathaniel F. Lane, M.D. 
B. Frank Biscoe, M.D. 
Robert S. Knapp, M.D. 
Frederick Win. Meng, M.D. 
Leon T. Ashcraft, M.D. 
H. W. Lambert, M.D. 
Joseph V. F. Clay, M.D. 
J. R. Coiswell, M.D. 
Chas. J. V. Fries, M.D. 
Clyde F. Zapf, Jr., M.D. 
J. Ernest Spaulding, M.D. 
Henry Brooks Harvey, M.D. 
Ceo. A. Happ, M.D. 



Richard W. Later, M.D. 
Edwin E. Geckeler, M.D. 
Urania Tyrrel, M.D. 
Henry Brooks Harvey, M.D. 
M. H. Karfunkle, D.D.S. 
C. R. McClure, M.D. 

HONORARY STAFF 

S. C. Wessels, M.D. 
W. B. Monford, M.D. 
W. S. Barris, M.D. 
Mary A. Cooke, M.D. 
Win. J. Berkenstock, M.D. 
II. Bailey Chall'ont, M.D. 



(Continued on Next Page) 



-— :.; ■ ■■ ■- ' ■ m -. . ''" 



PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 



107 





flilM 




WOMEN'S HOMEOPATHIC HOSPITAL 
Nurses' Home 




WOMEN'S HOMEOPATHIC HOSPITAL 
New Maternity Building 



*"*y*^~- 



5EZ3^^3^^3^3^^5^^^^ES3 



- - — tin i nini^iw<<ii-i^Ti l :jr^r._r..y 



108 



PHILADELPHIA— W^or/rf' 5 Medical Centre 



Women's Homeopathic Hospital of Philadelphia, situated at 
20th Street, Susquehanna Avenue and Dauphin Street was Char- 
tered in 1882. This charter states that the object of the Wo- 
men's Homeopathic Association of Pennsylvania shall be to 
establish and maintain a Homeopathic Medical, Surgical and 
Maternity Hospital, with a school of nursing connected there- 
with, and that the existence of the Association shall be per- 
petual. Also that applicants of all classes shall be admitted to 
the institution upon the most liberal terms consistent with its 
proper management and the laws of the State of Pennsylvania. 
Therefore, men, women and children are admitted for treat- 
ment. Owing to the name of the hospital, people are sometimes 
mistaken in thinking men are excluded. 

The property is owned by women who are members of the 
Women's Homeopathic Association; is governed by an Execu- 
tive Board of twenty-one women, who are ably assisted by an 
efficient auxiliary. The Executive Board annually elects an 
Advisory Board of seven men whom they may consult as occa- 
sion demands. 

The origin of this hospital was due to the philanthropic 
motives of a group of earnest women anxious to aid humanity. 
They soon interested other women and formed the Associa- 
tion which still exists. Then with infinite courage and barely 
$150.00 at their command, they decided to establish a new 
hospital, and for this purpose secured a charter. 

That the courage of this group of women was justified is 
proved by the fact that their ideals appealed to two generous 
friends of homeopathy, Mr. Charles D. Reed and his brother, 
Mr. Gideon L. Reed, whose liberality enabled the Association 
to purchase two and two-thirds acres of land, bounded by 20th 
Street, Susquehanna Avenue, Dauphin and Uber Streets. This 
lot was almost in the country at that time but the City was 
growing rapidly, and there were no hospitals in that locality. 
It was near the park and near several factories and the railroad. 

These zealous women were anxious to open a hospital at once, 
so they let their needs be known nd as a result Miss Mary 
Jeans, noted for her philanthropy, came to their assistance by 
purchasing two small houses on 20th Street near the present 
hospital. These she rented to the Association for a nominal 
sum. After her death these houses were deeded to the hospital. 
Here on March 12, 1884, the hospital was formally opened. 
One house was used exclusively for a Maternity, the other for 
general cases. 



The gift of the Reed brothers had provided a nucleus for 
the building fund, which was gradually increased by hard work 
and persistent effort. 

Ground was broken on the new lot in July, 1884, but the 
main building was not finished and ready for occupancy until 
October, 1887. It was named the Herring Building in honor 
of Dr. Constantine Herring, the father of Homeopathy in 
Philadelphia. 

Half a century ago complete Asepis had not been discovered, 
or formulated, so there was special need for a separate building 
for Maternity cases to protect them from dangerous infections. 
Consequently such a building was next erected on the hospital 
grounds and opened in March, 1898. It was the first separate 
maternity building in Philadelphia under the case of Homeo- 
pathic physicians. 

However great the need for new buildings the Executive 
Board has always been conservative about starting new con- 
struction, but step by step the hospital has grown. Starting 
with two small houses with but 12 beds, it has now on the 
grounds: the original Herring Building, to which a large addi- 
tion was made soon after the Spanish war, when the demand 
for more room for men patients made such an addition im- 
perative: a fine, large, new Maternity building, opened in 1925, 
which is supplied with the most modern equipment: a Home 
for Nurses, which must soon be enlarged: and a Children's 
Building which is bright and sunny. A recent donation has 
enabled the Executive Board to place heliograph glass in all 
its windows so that the health giving actinic rays may pene- 
trate the wards. 

The oldest portion of the Children's Building was built with 
funds raised by the family and friends of Dr. Adolph Lippe 
and was called the Lippe Building in his honor. It was orig- 
inally used as an Isolated Pavilion for contageous diseases, 
but the laws of the City made it necessary to send all such 
cases to the Municipal Hospital. 

At the present time, 1930, the hospital has 200 beds. It is 
given full rating by the Pennsylvania State Board of Medical 
Education and Licensure, and by the College of Surgeons. The 
Training School for Nurses is fully accredited by the State 
Board of Regents, and the hospital is endorsed by the Phila- 
delphia Chamber of Commerce. 




,_.... .„ — , — »-„ _. ■...■. . — —^ 



^■^^a^H^S^^^^H 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



109 



'rrrMrrrrrnrnierrrrnilTTT 




irt^ssibecfc*^* iw^say 



The Visiting 
Nurse Society 
of [Philadelphia 

THE oldest agency in the 
city for public health nurs' 
ing and the only one that pro- 
vides bedside care for the sick 
in their own homes. 

Founded in 1886, by Mrs. 
William Furness Jenks, with 1 
nurse, 1 room, $100.00, it had 
in 1929 a budget of $276/ 
365.00, a staff of 118 graduate 
registered nurses; a central 
office at 1340 Lombard Street, 
and branch offices in 

WEST PHILADELPHIA 

NORTH PHILADELPHIA 

GERMANTOWN AND 

CHESTNUT HILL 

KENSINGTON AND FRANKFORD 

MANAYUNK 

The object of the Society is to render the best possible nursing care and health super- 
vision to families in their homes. 

The Society offers nursing service for general medical, surgical, chronic, and communic- 
able disease cases; has a complete maternity service; will assist at operations in the home; has 
also a Nutrition Department, an Occupational Therapy Department, and maintains six 
health centers. These services are offered throughout the city to all ages, regardless of race, 
color, or creed. 

HOW TO GET A VISITING NURSE 

Telephone: Pennypacker 1421 

For the Regular Service 

Regular Service Hours, 8.30 
A. M. to 5 P. M. No fixed 
hour can be promised. The 
more seriously ill patients are 
visited first. Sundays and holi- 
days only essential visits are 
made. 

Cost of a visit is $1.00. The 
nurse collects as large a part of 
this fee as the patient can afford, 
giving the same service, how- 
ever, to those unable to pay. 

Visiting nurses cannot respond to night calls except in confinement cases. If in the judgment^ of the 
General Director and the physician a night nurse is required, such a nurse is procured from a nurses direc- 
tory, the patient if possible defraying the cost. For those unable to pay, the Society has a special lund. 
A NURSE IS SENT IN RESPONSE TO EVERY NEW CALL, BUT CARE IS 
CONTINUED ONLY WHEN A PHYSICIAN IS IN ATTENDANCE 

Member of Welfare Federation 



> 2 



For the Hourly Service 

Hours, 8.30 A. M. to 8.30 
P. M. Call before 8.30 A. M. 
for a morning visit, before 1.30 
P. M. for an afternoon visit, 
before 5 P. M. for an evening 
visit. 

The Society will endeavor to 
send a nurse as nearly as possible 
at the time desired. 

Charge, $1.75 per hour; 
after 5 P. M., $2.25 per hour. 



For the Maternity Service 

Any hour, day or night, for 
service at time of confinement. 

Charge for service at time of 
delivery, $5.00. Postnatal care, 
$1.25 per visit. Prenatal and 
postnatal care are given 
throughout the city. 

Service at time of confine- 
ment in all districts except 
South Philadelphia. 






11 f lirMI.-i'li-i'ilTTiiT i- ft -■-■*),■.-....-* 



110 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Hi 




H 

H 

w 

H 

1X3 

H 
p 

H 

CD 

fa 

ffl 
u 

CO 
rH 



CD 

fa 

fa 



fa 



W 
U 

fa 

w 

H 

fa 

o 

O 
i— i 

pel 

fa 

H 

15 

i— i 

fa 
H 

<! 

K 

H 
H 

fa 



)! 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



111 



LLEWELLYN'S 

Philadelphia s Standard Drug Store 
By S. W. LEIDICH, President 

FOR nearly two centuries Phil- 
adelphia has ranked as one of 
the world centers of medicine, 
her lasting glory founded on 
great names, fine hospitals and 
famous institutions of learning. 
During the last seventy-five years 
these individual and group agen- 
cies for relief of suffering and 
defense against disease have 
counted Llewellyn's an indispen- 
sable ally in the sleepless battle 
for health. It, too. has come to 
be one of the city's institutions 
— a drug store known here and 
throughout the nation as an ex- 
emplar of ethical efficiency. 

Since the day when its doors 
first were opened, far back when 





S. W. LEIDICH, President 



Lincoln's tall form began to 
tower against the horizons of 
Time, Llewellyn's prime purpose 
has been the dispensing of fresh 
pure drugs in prescriptions ac- 
curately compounded. That was 
the founder's ideal, and never in 
the long span of its existence has 
this aim been altered. Regard- 
less of trade revolutions in its 
field, this drug store has steered 
true to the course of being the 
doctor's dependable aide. 

As three generations of Phila- 
delphia's foremost practitioners 
have testified, its service to physi- 
cians and surgeons never has 
been made a secondary consider- 
ation. With equipment that has 
kept pace with progress, and 



■ • ' ■ 



J jUj-uawj.iiyAmg.wjy J MJ.jB 






ti'j-w.-HfcrfrwJ 



112 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



manned by the highest type 
of graduate pharmacists, it 
has not only typified the best 
existing standards but con- 
tinued to set new ones. Its 
name has become a synonym 
for that quality of service 
which every doctor desires. 

For more than thirty years 
the writer of these lines has 
devoted his time, thought, 
and personal attention to the 
perpetuation of these high 
purposes. Assisted by a care- 
fully chosen staff of compe- 
tent druggists he has omitted 
nothing within his power to 
increase the prestige of Lle- 
wellyn's, and professional 
and public response to this 
effort has made necessary an 
extension of this service. Last 
year a branch Llewellyn's 
was opened at Ardmore, and 
as soon as suitable locations 



can be secured in other parts 
of the city and its metropoli- 
tan area, additional branches 
will be opened. 

This extension of service 
will involve no deviation 
from the basic principles 
that have guided Llewellyn's 
for three-quarters of a cen- 
tury. As with the parent 
store, each branch will be in 
close touch with the recently 
inaugurated Llewellyn Lab- 
oratories for the compound- 
ing and manufacture of spe- 
cialties for office use of phy- 
sicians. Each will have for 
its first service the same skill 
and accuracy in prescrip- 
tions as have made the 
original institution Philadel- 
phia's Standard Drug Store. 

Recognizing the physician 
and the surgeon as prior con- 



siderations, all Llewellyn 
drug stores will continue the 
practices which have won 
and held the confidence of 
the profession. The same 
personal attention that has 
been accorded for years past 
will be continued. 

Meantime, in addition to 
this prescription service for 
doctors and patients, all Lle- 
wellyn stores will continue 
to carry complete lines of 
household drugs and sick- 
room needs, and such toile- 
tries as custom has establish- 
ed among the stocks of an 
ethical drug store. 

I can promise you full 
compliance with the best 
traditions of the past, and 
beyond this a constant ac- 
cord with the advancing 
needs of science and health. 




i 



, 






»' 






"-. 




PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



113 




Ambrose Hunsberger, Ph.M. 

The portrait above depicts the owner of the drug store operated under the title of Hunsberger- 
Apothecary, now in its third decade of Prescription Service, at 1600 Spruce Street, Philadelphia, Pa. 

During this period the owner has adhered strictly to his original purpose of specializing in Pre- 
scription Compounding. This service is being utilized by discriminating patrons, medical and lay, in 
constantly increasing numbers. Delivery of prescriptions is made throughout the City, State and 
Nation. New therapeutic agents are constantly being added to unusually complete stocks. No effort 
is spared in gathering from the far corners of the earth the invaluable remedies upon which the Doc- 
tor depends in times of emergency. Many formulas requiring special manipulation or uncommon in- 
gredients are referred here by Medical Specialists. Competent Prescriptionists, all Registered Gradu- 
ates, stand ready to serve. They are not permitted to exploit the misfortunes of the sick to make up a 
"sales quota." On the contrary, they are required to render a dignified and sympathetic service, distinctly 
professional in character. Adequate equipment is maintained through constant replenishment. Absurd 
and unrelated "side lines," with their distracting atmosphere, are excluded. Every effort is directed 
toward rendering the maximum of service in the cause of Health Conservation. Hunsberger-Apothe- 
cary, is one of the few remaining drug stores that still adheres to the fine old tradition of disclosing 
the identity of the responsible owner-in-fact iri its business title. 

While the owner of Hunsberger- Apothecary has concentrated most of his energy on Prescription 
Compounding, he has not shirked his professional and civic duties, serving in many capacities, including 
the following: President, and Member Executive Committee, National Association Retail Druggists; 
President, and Chairman War Defense Committee, Pennsylvania Pharmaceutical Association; Chair- 
man, House of Delegates, Member of Council, and Vice-President, American Pharmaceutical Associa- 
tion; President and Secretary, Philadelphia Branch, American Pharmaceutical Association; President, 
Philadelphia Association Retail Druggists; Chairman Committee Business Research, National Confer- 
ence Pharmaceutical Research; Secretary and Trustee, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science; 
Official Federal Prohibition Bureau; Member Committee on Cost of Medical Care. 

He has also written numerous papers on pharmaceutical topics including a contribution on "The 
Practice of Pharmacy under the Volstead Act" to a symposium conducted by the American Academy of 
Political and Social Science. 

He is a member of many business and professional bodies and an Associate Fellow of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association. 



*"-•<**(«•..." 



■ .■•■--■■■■ ■ • .- ■;--■:■--■ ,■. :rCS. 



i>JV,-r<tt0t*L\ 



114 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Frank E. Morgan 6? Sons 

Apothecaries 

IMPORTERS , MANUFACTURERS 

DISPENSERS 

1629 Walnut Street 
Philadelphia, Pa. 

■ 



THE DRUG-STORE at 1629 Walnut 
Street, known as "Morgan's Phar- 
macy," has never obtained any of its 
wide celebrity by means of newspaper 
advertisement. Even its modest fronting 
on the street has never been made promi- 
nent by outward show. It was established 
by Mr. Frank E. Morgan, of Concord, 
N. H., who originally opened the store at 
Sixteenth and Race Streets in 1880. Six 
years later the location was changed to 
141244 Walnut Street where an unfor- 
tunate fire on February 10, 1889, compelled 
an immediate second removal to 1629 Wal' 
nut Street, near the corner of Seventeenth 
Street, where it has continued to the pres- 
ent time. 

In establishing a reliable store of its kind, 
the proprietor, realising the vast responsi- 
bility incurred in compounding prescrip- 
tions, arranged there should be a room 
devoted to that purpose and that no pre- 
scription or medicine should be dispensed 
without being checked as to ingredients 
and quantities by some one other than the 
compounder. This policy was rigidly ad- 
hered to. A corps of prescription clerks 
was employed to compound prescriptions 
in a department isolated from the general 
store and devoted to that purpose only. 
Nothing but the BEST was used and con- 
stant supervision for deterioration was 
exercised. 



As new approved mediums and methods 
for the preparation of medicines came in 
existence they were adopted and an imme- 
diate supply of material was placed in 
stock. This included ampoules which have 
become so useful and universally employed 
as to almost revolutionize the practice of 
medicine. Morgan's Drug-store was among 
the foremost, if not the first, to manufac- 
ture the ampoule in the United States. On 
the introduction of salvarsan its immense 
possibilities were at once recognised and 
primarily Philadelphia and its vicinity were 
supplied almost entirely through the efforts 
of this store. So also Morgan's Pharmacy 
was the first to supply the Chinese drug, 
Ephedrin, being for a long while the only 
place in the United States where it could 
be obtained. 

Knowing how urgently many medicines 
were needed, every effort was made to 
insure prompt deliveries. 

Also believing that success is not often 
obtained without merit, every exertion was 
made to give the best service to physicians 
and patients, constant care and supervision 
at all times being used as the one possible 
means. This is attested in the motto 
adopted by the proprietor, "Semper para- 
tus semper fidelis." 

Fran\ E. Morgan. 
Frank E. Morgan, President 

Jacob M. Baer, Manager 






PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



115 




Frederick W. Haussmann 



FORTY-EIGHT years ago, a little German 
family consisting of father, mother and 
four boys came to America — the land of 
untold wealth and opportunity. Six months 
later, the father died. Alone with her four 
boys, the mother struggled on, through hard- 
ship and privation, to supply the needs of 
her family. A few years later the oldest 
boy, then about 14, wandered into a phar- 
macy at Fourth and Noble Streets, Philadel- 
phia, and asked for a "job." This boy was 
Frederick W. Haussmann. 

From apprentice boy to Master of Phar- 
macy, Frederick W. Haussmann mounted the 
ladder of success. He decided to study phar- 
macy while in the employ of Christian Weiss 
at the southwest corner of Sixth and Girard 
Avenue. In 1889, he graduated from the 
Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and be- 
came so devoted to his profession that, after 
many years of faithful and untiring service, 
his employer gave him part ownership in the 
store. In 1918, Weiss' Pharmacy became 
Haussmann's Pharmacy, due to the death of 
Mr. Weiss in October of that year. 

Under the leadership of Frederick W. 
Haussmann, the little old-fashioned drug 
store with its red and green globes became 
transformed into a modern pharmacy. Real- 
izing the need of large quarters, Mr. Hauss- 



mann purchased three stores at the southeast 
corner of Sixth and Girard Avenue. Modern 
in all details and equipped with the finest 
stock of crude drugs and herbs, he spared no 
expense in making this a truly ethical phar- 
macy. No soda fountain, candy department 
or cigar cases dominate the atmosphere of 
Haussmann's Pharmacy. Biologicals are 
properly cared for by means of electric re- 
frigeration. Prescriptions are compounded 
by competent, accurate pharmacists. Freder- 
ick W. Haussmann established an ethical 
pharmacy for the community and a spotless 
reputation for himself. 

In June, 1929, the College of Pharmacy 
conferred upon him the degree of Master of 
Pharmacy. In July, 1929, after a very short 
illness, his busy career came to an end. His 
death was mourned by thousands who knew 
and loved him. The memory of his many 
kind deeds and high ideals will live in the 
hearts of his associates forever. 

As a lasting tribute to their departed em- 
ployer, the personnel of Haussmann's Phar- 
macy will carry on the noble work which he 
began. The pharmacy at Sixth and Girard 
Avenue will continue in his name and in his 
honor, under the guidance of his principles 
and noble ideals. 



■ 






__ 



,-...jL 



116 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Alcluyd— Charmed Retreat for Convalescents 

and Others 



GOING back to Nature is an easy matter, if 
- it is Alcluyd in the hills and vales of Ches- 
ter County, adjacent to Devon and within 
a few minutes by motor to Wayne and Berwyn, 
with every anticipated want available. 

For about thirty years this part of the country 
has enjoyed a prestige all its own for Nature's 
endowments as expressed in an unnumbered 
variety of trees, shrubbery, a limpid stream 
through the vale and verdure that expresses in 
all shades of green as the seasons come and 
wane. 

It is not only a bird sanctuary as well but a 
haven for any sick person and distressed mind 
where, in exceptionally whoesome environment, 
vistas, atmosphere, limitless attractions and 
carefully directed personal attention of Dr. 
Elisabeth A. Ryder, Neurologist and her assist- 
ant, Delia H. Williams, Physician and Surgeon, 
with the services of Miss Grace G. K. Ryder, 
resident manager, and one's own physician, if 
desired, response to treatment and rest may be 



relied upon to effect restoration to the limit of 
the patient's physical capacity. 

A number of specially designed small build- 
ings on the tract are desirable adjuncts to the 
main building, known as Kelso House, latter 
being spacious and attractively furnished, with 
an alluring lobby wherein convalescents may 
meet and enjoy musical and other diversion. 

A feature of Alcluyd is its own herd of prize 
Guernsey cattle and their wonderful golden 
milk, always available. Motor trips are another 
diversion, the Main Line section furnishing the 
setting and making possible, the lure for the 
convalescent where miles may be covered away 
from the principal roads along which the scenic 
beauty of the famed Chester Valley ever pre- 
sents itself. 

Services are unobtrusively efficient, food excel- 
lent and abundant. The gardens provide vege- 
tables in abundance and in season, fruit from 
their own trees is provided. In fact, Alcluyd 
is a show place that should be visited by any 
person interested, individually or for another. 



Junker's Dietetic Breads Scientifically Baked 



CHEMISTRY has no small part in the prep- 
aration that is vogue in the bakery estab- 
lished by Jules Junker, in 1868. Then all 
bakery products were more or less products of 
methods as old as the times and, with due re- 
spect to the founder of the business and his 
personal attention, there were, at that time, no 
better bakery goods available. 

In later years, however, many changes, mainly 
due to supported theories about flour and their 
chemical analyses, and the enlightenment that 
was concurrent with the outgrowth of old and 
discarded notions, had much to do with the 
production of bread, of various flours and 
methods of baking for certain purposes. 

Dietetic breads were the result and now we 
have, whole wheat, gluten bread, pulled bread 
and other types wherein the food values are 
retained and represent highest content in pro- 
teins and lowest starch content. 

No small part of the scientific preparation 
and processes are the result of laboratory tests, 



d«ily practiced in the Junker bakery and the 
use of certified raw milk, sterilized wheat flour 
and all other ingredients known to be pure after 
tests. 

During the past twelve years the business has 
been under the unremitting direction of Joseph 
A. Dundas, as General Manager, and his per- 
sonal attention to every detail has been ex- 
pressed in bigger business and broader fields of 
distribution, notably an acquisition of trade 
from a greater number of physicians and insti- 
tutions than ever before. 

Mr. Dundas has indicated that the exactions 
of scientific minds of the times, notably among 
the medical profession, have been incentives to 
this old baking establishment to keep apace 
with the modern demands and provide such 
bakery goods as wanted for children and con- 
valescents, also diabetic sufferers and others, 
whose physical conditions are such as to respond 
to certain blends and formulae, as expressed 
in the health-giving products of the Junker 
bakery. 






nr*iM -liiir-nnrnii 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



117 



OF INTEREST 
TO THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 

The Resolutions . . . passed at the meeting of The Medical Society of the 
State of Pennsylvania in Erie, October 2, 1929, we believe, are of interest to 
the entire medical profession of the State. The following excerpts are especially 
important and timely: 

"Whereas: 

Much misinformation is promulgated today on the question of diets, 
causing the introduction in the American diet of food fads. 

Very few of these food fads can take the place of the older staple foods, 
good meat, dairy products, green vegetables, fruits and the better grades 
of bread prepared from white flour. 

The allegation that white bread, meat or any other staple food, when 
employed in mixed diet is responsible for certain grave illnesses, is not 
supported by scientific facts. 

Therefore be it resolved that: 

We desire in the public interest, to place on record that in our opinion: 

1 The exaggerated claims for various fad foods are entirely unwarranted 

by scientific evidence or practical experience; and the advertising and 
other propaganda furthering their substitution for the older articles of 
diet should be condemned. 

2. The danger of nutritional deficiencies has been grossly exaggerated. No 
food is a perfect food; but a diet consisting of dairy products (especially 
milk), leafy vegetables, fruits, meats and easily digested starches for heat 
and energy, furnishes an excess of all food factors necessary for proper 
irrowth and nutrition and resistance to disease. 

3. Any variation from normal diet should only be prescribed by a properly 
trained adviser after a careful study of the dietary requirements of the 
individual seeking advice." 



Reproduced for the information of the medical profession of the Stale of Pennsylvania by the 

PHILADELPHIA BAKERS' CLUB 



ss^fcHij*^ T - 



■:-•■■■■■ - ■■■ --..-:■■..■■■ 



118 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Cent 



r e 



Ideal Health Resorts on South 

Jersey Coast 

Wildwood and Wildwood Crest, N. J., have much to 
°ff er f or the upbuilding and maintaining of health. 



1 







TYPICAL BEACH SCENE AT WILDWOOD, N. J. 



Wildwood and Wildwood Crest, 
twin resorts situated on an isl- 
and in the Atlantic Ocean off 
the southern coast of New Jersey, afford 
a myriad of advantages and pleasures 
which have made them a high place 
among the most popular resorts in the 
United States. 

The natural advantages which have 
been developed to the highest degree in 



comparatively recent years by the found- 
ers of the two resorts are heritages from 
the time when the Indians of the Lenni- 
Lenape Tribe made the resorts their 
vacation headquarters centuries ago. 

The same wide sloping beach from 
which the Indians launched their canoes 
and taught their children to swim is still 
a boasted possession of the two resorts. 



(1 






^St' 






PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



119 



This beach, two hundred yards wide 
from Boardwalk to the ocean in some 
places, has come to be recognized gen- 
erally as the safest bathing beach along 
the Atlantic Coast. Free of treacherous 
gullies and eddies, it provides a safe 
place for bathing and swimming for 
even the most timid of vacationists. 

The health giving baths, ideal climatic 
conditions and other natural advantages 
for which the Lenni-Lenape Indians 
were ready to fight other tribes which 
tried to invade their private vacation- 
land, have been retained, and have been 
improved by the addition of comforts 
and luxuries best suited to the present 
day conception of resort life. 

Losing none of their original advan- 
tages, the resorts have added other 
special appeals. For instance, the ultra 
violet health-giving rays of the sun, 
which reach their ultimate in health- 
giving properties along the ocean, are 
still available to visitors, but the crude 
wells of the Indians have been improved 
by a system of artesian wells that pour 
forth water that is clean, healthy and 
palatable. 

The numerous fish of various kinds 
which provided sport and food for the 
Indians still inhabit the waters adjacent 
to the two resorts. Tens of thousands of 
visitors annually find the keenest enjoy- 
ment in landing the gamefish which 
make their home in the Atlantic Ocean, 



the back channels or the nearby waters 
of the Delaware Bay. 

With the universal recognition given 
Wildwood and Wildwood Crest as 
vacation and health building resorts has 
grown an insistent demand each year 
for additional accommodations for visi- 
tors. The two cities have kept pace with 
these constantly increasing demands, 
and housing conditions include a wide 
variety of choice in hotels, cottages, 
apartments and rooming and boarding 
houses. 

The two resorts are populated by resi- 
dents who have dedicated themselves to 
the pleasant occupation of entertain- 
ment. Each person in business and each 
resident is anxious at all times to do any- 
thing within their power to add to the 
pleasure, enjoyment and comfort of the 
visitors. 

Visit these two outstanding resorts and 
learn just how much real unadulterated 
pleasure may be obtained from either a 
short or protracted vacation trip ! 



Natural beauties of the two resorts 
include numerous hydrangea and holly 
bushes native to the soil of many beauti- 
ful pine trees. The smell of native pines 
adds an aromatic and pleasant odor to 
nearby automobile trips. 

Hundreds of thousands of visitors 
annually disport themselves in the ocean 
from the safe bathing beach of Wild- 
wood and Wildwood Crest. 



* :.;■.* ~:**1 _ ,- ,-..--.. ..., '"*■,- 



»jpinn*-&A*£i 



120 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centr 



American Guernsey Cattle Club Greetings 



to the Medical Profession 




Factor 1 
Philadelphia and vicinity has always been noted as 
having, probably, the Best Milk Supply of any large 
City. 

Factor 2 
Philadelphia and vicinity has always been noted as 
having, probably, the Best Guernsey Herds; — the first 
importations from the Island of Guernsey coming to 
this section as early as 1854. 

Conclusion 
The Best Milk Supply is, of course, dependent on 
the quality of the cattle and on their owners. The 
entire country generally knows this and appreciates 
its value. 



GUERNSEY MILK GIVES YOU 

33% More Food Value in each Quart. A More Delicious Flavor that helps Invalids and 

Almost 50% Greater Development when used in Children to Want It. 

Child Clinics. That Golden Guernsey Color. 



One Quart of Guernsey Milk Supplies 
Protein and Energy Equal to — 

PROTEINS 

7 ounces of Sirloin Steak 
6 ounces of Round Steak 
4.3 Eggs 

CD 

8.6 ounces of Fowl 

ENERGY 

11 ounces of Sirloin Steak 

12 ounces of Round Steak 
8.5 Eggs 

10.7 ounces of Fowl 




TYPICAL GUERNSEY COW 
(Courtesy of Brooknieai! Guernsey Dairies, Inc.) 

One Guernsey, as shown, will produce enough milk in a year to supply One Quart 
a day for 20 families. 



All Physicians, Dentists, Institutions and Nurses, interested in securing Golden Guernsey Dairy Products 

should address 



THE AMERICAN GUERNSEY CATTLE CLUR 

PETERBORO, NEW HAMPSHIRE 



\ 



P3IUBFT! 



wsmmm 



PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 



121 



Supported Reasons 
for Using Golden Guernsey Milk 



WERE it within the realm of sound rea- 
son to shout the praises of Guernsey 
milk it should begin by stating that most 
Guernsey Dairies are ideally maintained and 
every safeguard taken, even beyond the 
range of compulsory health regulations, not 
only to reach the pinnacle in care of the 
cattle, but in every phase of management, 
especially in matters of sanitation, to main- 
tain orderly establishments. 

The American Guernsey Cattle Club is 
an organization of doers and its members 
practically a unit of thought in the direc- 
tion of betterments that will place the prod- 
ucts of the members' farms in undisputed 
first position, from any angle of manage- 
ment, stock and products. 

The medical fraternity may be deeply in- 
terested in knowing how typical Guernsey 



milk is compared to other types of milk 
from graded stock and for that reason we 
append a statement of the natural chemical 
elements of Guernsev milk which substan- 
tiates the unusual merits and quality of that 
product as against others who consider their 
product entitled to "high quality" rating. 

Physicians and dentists will be aroused 
to new interest, we believe, when these at- 
tested figures are analysed. The compari- 
sons are the result of careful analyses based 
on the chemical contents of one gallon of 
Guernsey milk, averaging five per-cent but- 
ter fat content, arrived at by tests of several 
choice herds, mainly along the Main Line 
section and sold to discerning people by 
the appointed distributor, The Brookmead 
Guernsey Dairies, to which latter organiza- 
tion we are indebted for the comparative 
figures appended. 






Gallon 
Guernsey 

Milk Other Milk Greater 
Chemical Content Grains Grains % 

Sulphur 6V2 2 350% 

(To purify the hlood) 

Magnesia 11 " 7 57% 

(For the hotly fluids) 

Soda 42 29 45% 

(To neutralize acids) 

Potash 105 75 40% 

(To prevent body fluids 
from turning acid) 

Phosphorus 45 36 25% 

(For repair of cell tissues) 

Lime 84 70 20% 

(For the hones and teeth) 



Gallon 
Guernsev 

Milk Other Milk Greater 
Chemical Content Grains Grains % 

Chlorides 60 56 4 Grs. 

(To make acids for stomach 
and salt for body) 

Iron 06 .05 10% 

(To make red blood) 

Butter Fat 6.70 Oz. 5.20 Oz. 30% 

(Also contains Vitamin "A" 
and"B") 

Milk Sugar 6.80 6.33 47% 

(Makes galactose or food 
for the brain) 

Casein 4.9 4.9 

(The best of all the proteins 
for blood and muscle) 



* * X0M 



■■■ 



*^>. '.*«■»•■• .-,.-.--» ■ •• rv .*..-.„. '"",- 



122 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



SCOTT-POWELL DAIRIES 

Supply Many Hospitals and Other Institutions 





The following Hospitals and Institutions 

supplied daily with uniformly Pasteurized 

Mll]{: —mm 

PHILADELPHIA HOME FOR INCURABLES 

PRESBYTERIAN HOSPITAL 

PHILADELPHIA ORTHOPAEDIC HOSPITAL 

HAHNEMANN HOSPITAL 

JEFFERSON HOSPITAL 

PHILADELPHIA HOSPITAL (KIRKBRIDFS) 

U. OF P. GRADUATE HOSPITAL 

MISERICORDIA HOSPITAL 

ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL 

LANKENAU HOSPITAL 

JEWISH HOSPITAL 

U. S. VETERANS HOSPITAL (Philadelphia) 

U. S. VETERANS HOSPITAL (Perryville, Md.) 

ST. JOHN'S ORPHANAGE 
GIRARD COLLEGE PRESBYTERIAN ORPHANAGE JEWISH SHELTERING ARMS 

ST. EDMOND'S HOME HOME FOR INDIGENT WIDOWS OLD MEN'S HOME 

HOUSE OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD HOUSE OF ST. MICHAEL'S 

and many other Institutions. 





We Assume the Responsibility of Maintaining This Record 



Scott-Powell Dairies 



45TH AND PARRISH STREETS 
PHILADELPHIA 



Telephone — Evergreen 3040 






gag ^-" 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



123 



MILK In Hospitals and other Institutions 

FOR about thirty years last past the minds of the people have been actuated into a 
broader knowledge of foods and food values than in centuries prior to the dawn of this 
great era. 

Practically each and every day since something new or seemingly worthy has been 
evolved out of the mass mind. It has affected producers most largely, and consumers too, 
until the latter class has grown into a state of knowledge that is the impelling factor back 
of all movements, improvements and methods which, today more than at any time before, 
spells "good for the entire human family." 

Milk as a food and body-builder has held first position all down the ages and more since 
the standard of excellence has been determined and maintained, with local and Federal Gov- 
ernments assuming the position of joint supervision at every stage and under all circum- 
stances. 

Nowadays the consumer of good milk has greater protection and absolute reliance is 
placed on the uniformity of product throughout the year, whether their pocketbooks or 
discernment determine it shall be raw milk or the properly pasteurized product. 

The Scott-Powell Dairies, located at Forty-fifth and Parrish Streets, is the radial point 
for the distribution to thousands of yearly customers and amongst this great list it is the 
purpose of this article to proclaim the products of this old organization broadly for sup- 
ported reasons and especially because of the unique distinction of serving such scruplous 
buyers as the hospitals and many other large institutions, nearly thirty in all. 

In the institutions served daily this organization enjoys a rating second to none, based 
largely on the perfect products produced and delivered always under ideal conditions. These 
conditions begin at the dairy farms and cover every phase in production from care of the 
cattle and every phase of the complex operation from point of origin to distribution, through- 
out which eternal vigilance and inexorable rules govern which, of course, permit of no devia- 
tion at any period. 

Inquiry brings the statement that all of the hospitals and institutions are served with 
pasteurized milk which comes into the great plant within as few hours of the milking process 
as humanly possible and is always prepared scientifically to obtain absolute uniformity in 
butter-fat and be entirely fit for any of the many uses for which ideal milk is used. 

The Scott-Powell Dairies are also large distributors of Golden Guernsey milk and other 
high grades of milk and cream to meet their special uses, when and where required. 

Another product which shows a growing demand is the specialty known as Cheplin's 
"B-" Acidophilus Milk, latter product attracting the attention of the medical fraternity in 
ever-increasing numbers. 

From close personal acquaintance and observation it is unquestionably a duty fairly 
performed to cite the fact that this old Philadelphia organization has grown into added 
importance and usefulness due to the adoption of highly approved methods and equipment, 
not only at the several modern plants of this company but at the dairy farms over which they 
exercise personal supervision. 

In the last analysis, the human element is the larger part of the equation, hence to the 
directing minds of this great organization, each of the principals in his sphere of duty, 
assumes certain responsibilities and, together, the concerted and intertwined interests of 
patrons and producers, find expression in service, well rendered, because of highest ideals 
and best business practices. 



♦rt^-j^; 



as**.- . 



■■■-■■'■■ ■■■■■--■ ■■■■:■■'■ 



124 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



"Mighty Oa\s from Little Acorns Grow" 

Many years ago, two young men, Samuel B. and Julius J. Amsterdam, 
opened a modest establishment, operating under the name of Amsterdam Bros., at 
26 South 17th Street in Philadelphia. Having been associated with the best 
known manufacturers in the east, they were backed with long years of experi' 
ence in this business. 

Their High Ideals as to the conduct of the business and a desire to Satisfy 
both Physician and Patient increased their business and forced them to acquire the 
entire building. 

After 5 years, during which time they established a splendid reputation among 
the Medical Profession and Satisfied Customers, they were forced to further ex- 
pand and as a result, a new building was erected at 274 South 20th Street, with 
the main offices and fitting rooms located there. 

This building is considered the most up-to-date Surgical and Orthopedic estab- 
lishment in the Country, complete fitting rooms, which are private and sanitary 
afford restful comfort and privacy to their patients, with Separate floors for male 
and female patients. 

An expert staff of male and female attendants are constantly in attendance, 
with thorough training to follow Physicians Instructions in fitting the patient. 

To Keep Step with their progress Amsterdam Bros, have equipped their ortho- 
pedic shops with the most modern machinery, which enables them to produce 
appliances of the highest quality, manufactured strictly in accordance with the 
desires of the Physician. 

Due to the further increase of business, Amsterdam Bros, later secured the 
services of an expert, Louis Yellin, who had wide experience in various cities 
throughout the country. He was taken in the business at the time Amsterdam 
Bros, opened a branch establishment at 1060 Broad Street, Newark, New Jersey, 
a branch which met with almost instant success, and which is highly regarded by 
the medical profession in that territory. 

Another branch store at 198 Livingstone Street, Brooklyn, New York, was 
later opened under the able management of Walter R. Sievers, who had spent 
years in the business. 

The Demand of Physicians in the northern section of Philadelphia was so 
great that an office, workshop and fitting rooms were established, in June, 1929, 
at 843 East Allegheny Avenue, thus proving an added convenience to the physi- 
cian as well as the patients in that vicinity. 

The progress of this firm now necessitates the operation of six establishments 
for the making and fitting of Surgical and Orthopedic appliances, which are at 
the disposal of the Physicians and their Patients. 



< 



♦ 



' 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



125 




THE ENGELHARDT HOSPITAL AND SANATORIUM 

Lansdale Avenue Lansdale, Pa. 

For Mental and Hervous Diseases. Capacity, 45 Patients 

Founded 1909 By Carolina Sylvia Ruth Engelhardt, M. D. 




THE ENGELHARDT HOSPITAL AND SANATORIUM 

Stenton Avenue and Gravers Lane Chestnut Hill, Pa. 

For Mental and Nervous Diseases. Capacity, 1 5 Patients 
Founded 1922 by Carolina Sylvia Ruth Engelhardt, M.D. 



■ . 



■ • - -.;.. ,«.si«.(;i-;;*.;,..fcii:.v.-.i: 



-' ■■.:■ - . , r -;. •.;.. .- ,. ,. ,__ 



126 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



A Private Hospital and Health Retreat 

JSear Philadelphia 

WHEREIN SPECIAL CARE OF THE MIDDLE-AGED AND THE YOUNG IS ASSURED; 
ALSO AN ANNEX WITH UNUSUAL COMFORTS FOR THE AGED AND INFIRM. 




/^|N ONE of the highest ridges in the 
^-^ Chester Valley, famed as a beautiful 
country-side, 17 miles from Philadelphia in 
the Select Main Line Section, Dr. Elisabeth 
A. Ryder, Resident Physician, has, for 30 
years, given personal attention to hundreds 
of well-known people suffering from Nerv- 
ous Disorders and General Invalidism. 



There are several specially designed homes 
on this 30 acre tract nestled in amidst na- 
ture's beautiful and varied tree growths, in 
great variety. 

Flower beds and natural beauty spots dom- 
inate the landscape from any point of which 
the vista is an ever changing lure from self 
to other and better things — all conducive 
to calm, quiet repose and rejuvenation. 



SCIENTIFIC, EXCLUSIVE, THOROUGH, ETHICAL, RESULTFUL 

ALCLUYD 



P. 0. Box 97, Berwyn 



DEVON, PENNSYLVANIA 



I 



Philadelphia Office: No. 506, 1930 CHESTNUT STREET 



J 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



127 



"Perfect Rest 



19 



Retreat Extraordinary for Mental and Nervous Patients 

LANCASTER PIKE 
DEVON, PENNA. 

On the Main Line . . at the Gateway to Valley Forge 




Recommended by Philadelphia Neurologists 

Rates Upon Application 



Telephone 
WAYNE 831 



G. B. WHEELER 

Superintendent 



_^ — - 



128 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



W. H. LEE, Architect 



Cooperating with the 

Medical Profession and Institutions 

in Philadelphia — World's 

Medical Centre 



SCHAFF BUILDING 

1505 RACE STEET 
PHILADELPHIA 



J2££^i 



tfXiiWH 



HJl 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/(/'5 Medical Centre 



129 



THE fact that Mellin's Food makes the 
curd of milk soft and flaky when used as 
the modifier is a matter always to have in mind 
when it becomes necessary to relieve consti- 
pation in the bottle-fed baby; for tough, 
tenacious masses of casein resulting from the 
coagulation of ingested milk, not properly 
modified, are a frequent cause of constipa- 
tion in infancy. 



Constipation in 
Infancy 



Infants fed on milk 

properly modified with 

Mellin's Food 

are not troubled 

with constipation 



THE fact that Mellin's Food is free from 
starch and relatively low in dextrins, is 
another matter for early consideration in at- 
tempting to overcome constipation caused 
from the use of modifiers containing starch 
or carbohydrate compounds having a high 
dextrins content. 



THE fact that Mellin's Food modifications 
have a practically unlimited range of 
adjustment is also worthy of attention when 
constipation is caused by fat intolerance, or an 
excess of all food elements, or a daily intake 
of food far below normal requirements, for 
all such errors of diet are easily corrected by 
following the system of infant feeding that 
employs Mellin's Food as the milk modifier. 



Mellin's Food 
A Milk Modifier 




A pamphlet entitled ""Constipation in Infancy" and a liberal supply 
of samples of Mellin's Food will be sent to physicians upon request. 

MELLIN'S FOOD COMPANY, BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 



130 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



^^ 




I 

1 V 



Save Children 
From Diphtheria 



Diphtheria Toxin-Antitoxin or Diphtheria Toxoid gives an 
active immunity against diphtheria and this immunity may 
last for years. 

National Toxin-Antitoxin is prepared with refined diphtheria 
Antitoxin obtained from highly immunized ^oats therefore, 
should any serum be indicated in later life from equine source, the 
patient cannot be sensitized to horse serum with National Toxin- 
Antitoxin. It is safe because each lot is carefully standardized 
and tested for potency and is of hi^h antigenic or protective 
value. Injections are practically ne<§ii<§ible in youn^ children. 

National Diphtheria Toxoid is a carefully tested and stand- 
ardized diphtheria toxin, detoxified with formaldehyde. Many 
immunolo^ists claim the Toxoid is more stable, that it ^ives a more 
rapid immunity and reactions are less than with T-A-Mixture, 
particularly in older children and adults. 



During Gold Weather Diphtheria occurs more often than dur- 
ing the summer months. Protect young children especially of 
the pre-school a<^e, because they are more susceptible to 
diphtheria and their mortality rate is higher. 

Diphtheria can be wiped out with prophylactic injec- 
tions of National Toxin-Antitoxin or Diphtheria Toxoid! 

A package of Toxin-Antitoxin and Diphtheria Toxoid will be mailed 
free for clinical trial to physicians mentioning this Journal. 




PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



131 



ggjg^aaa 



Our Old Factory 
307 Race Street 





Our Present Factory 
451-57 North Third Street 



SURGICAL APPLIANCES 



The House of Horn, now in its eighty 'eighth year, is the oldest manu- 
facturer of Trusses, Abdominal Belts, Elastic Hosiery and other 
Surgical Appliances in existence in this city, the world's medical 
centre. It was established in 1842 by William H. Horn, the deceased 
father of our president. William H. Horn, Sr., entered the firm in 1871 
and has had approximately sixty years experience. Four generations 
have faithfully served the public in the past and will continue to do so 
in the future. 

As the introducers of "HORNBRO 11 Seam- 
less Elastic Hosiery, we are the oldest and best 
manufacturers of this product in America 
today. "Progress 11 is the motto of our house. 
Quality, comfort and service are always our 
highest aims. "Horns Standard 11 is the world's 
standard with those who know. 

WILLIAM H. HORN & BROTHER, INC. 

451-53-55-57 North Third Street 
PHILADELPHIA, PENNA. 



OUR HISTORY 

1842 — Business established. 

1881 — Built our present factory. 

1901 — Built our old fitting rooms. 

1915 — Removed to our present fitting rooms. 

1930 — Now located at our new factory and store 





Our Old Fitting Rooms 
1515 Arch St. 



Our Present Fitting Rooms 
25 S. 16th St. 



132 



PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 



150 Pounds Pressure J 



CRANE VALVES 




2500 Pounds Pressure 







This Crane Solid Porcelain Surgeon s Roll Rim Instrument Sink, No. $6 1 2 

is equipped ivith the best grade chromium plated fittings 



U.S. P. pharmaceuticals or substitutes . . 
Crane chromium or substitutes? 



Medical men, overseeing the purchase 
of drugs for the hospital pharmacy, 
would not consider purchasing any- 
thing that was not marked U. S. P. 

It would be wise to use the same stand- 
ard in selecting chromium fittings for 
hospital plumbing appointments. 

For the advantages of chromium plate 
... its hardness, its resistance to tar- 
nish, and ease of cleaning . . . are so 



marked that the great demand for it 
has caused numbers of inferior chro- 
mium plates to be marketed. 

Crane Co., exercising the scrupulous 
care that has developed through y§ 
years, experience in manufacturing, 
uses only chromium of the highest 
grade. Chromium that, like U. S. P. 
pharmaceuticals, has met all the Bureau 
of Standards' requirements. 



CRAN 

PLUMBING AND HEATING MATERIALS 

CRANE CO., 1301 LOCUST STREET, PHILADELPHIA, PENNA. 

Branches and Sales Offices in One Hundred and Ninety Cities 




^ •' ~\ — — 






>§■ 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



133 



If 



* 



i 






In comparison with the great institutions institution is unique amongst the illustrious 

that contribute so much to Philadelphia's list of Philadelphia's organizations, 

claim to the "World's Medical Center," it During the sixteen years we have been 

must be admitted that ours is but a privileged to serve outstanding 

modest contribution. ONE members of the medical profession, 

Compared, however, with t ^^ e largest and a constant effort has been 
similar facilities offered most completely equipped made to keep quarters, 
elsewhere, the contention that establishments facilities and technique abreast 
"one of the largest and most com- j or i ne of what the best minds in the pro- 

pletely equipped establishments administration fession lay down as the ideal, 
for the administration of all of all phases of Ever increasing patronage by 
phases of Physiotherapy PHYSIOTHERAPY tne profession suggests, 
is located in Philadelphia" is ' ts located perhaps, approval, 

founded upon fact. ' tn Philadelphia Quarters and facilities are 

Occupying a whole floor in our not only open at all times 

own building, with thirty-two rooms avail- for the inspection of members of the 

able for patients' needs, with a capable profession or lay men, but inspection 



staff of both sexes supplied with a host of 
devices, many of our own creation, it is 
pardonable, perhaps, to state that this 



is invited. Full explanation of tech- 
nique employed is always forthcoming 
gladly. 



Amongst the interesting devices created 
(covered by patents) during sixteen years 
experience in physiotherapy, the Honsaker 
Colonic Lavagatory is, perhaps, of most in- 
terest to members of the profession. This 
apparatus reduces to an almost completely 
mechanical operation what heretofore has 
been mainly a manual procedure lacking in 
delicacy. Drawing and tempering of water, 
gauging of temperature and maintenance of 
same, mixing of medicaments and transport 
to reservoir are matters controlled by a sim- 
ple lever. Discharge is disposed of in a 
similar manner. Ease of application makes 
for thoroughness and ensures same. Three 
models are available. 



Number One — This is the major unit for 
office and hospital installation. It is almost 
completely mechanical and the salient fea- 
tures have been enumerated in the foregoing 
paragraph. 

Price, F. O. B. Phila $685 

Number Two — This is is the mobile unit 
that meets the demand for an apparatus that 
can be moved easily and quickly. 

Price, F. O. B. Phila $265 

Number Three — A portable model, so 
compact that it may be carried in a 20-inch 
traveling bag and weighing but 6 pounds. 
Can be assembled or taken apart in two 
minutes. 

Price, F. O. B. Phila $65 



o 



Make Request for Bulletin WMC 

by phone or mail and descriptive literature covering all three 

models will be sent without obligation together with an 

outline of purchase terms to suit the inquirer. 



o 



Rittenhouse 1316 



16 Years 
of Service 

to the 
Profession 



C. Coy Honsaker 

Physio- Therapist 

131 So. Twenty-second Street 

Philadelphia 



Honsaker 

Colonic Lavagatories 

Used by Leading 

Hospitals and Physicians 




. . 



134 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Why Do Many Leading Physicians and Hospitals in 
Foreign Countries Buy Victor X-Ray Equipment? 



*■■ — - 


s* 




fc( 




''4 


h 


At 


i 


■^4 


v„ 


y 




y 



XT 




St Luke's International 
Hospital, Tokyo, Japan. 




Southern hlands Hospital, ft\)\- 
Cebu, Philippine hlands. L3«\ Ea 




Dr. A. Mayoral, Ponce, 
Porto Rico. 



£ 



IN every civilized portion of this 
great, wide world, you are sure to 
find a group of men outstanding in 
their respective professions, because 
they are inspired in their aim to 
render fellow men a service eminently 
better than the generally accepted 
standard. 

Where could such a high motive 
register greater benefits to humanity 
than through the physician in his 
community, clinic or hospital? The 
physician so inspired will invariably 
prove to be one who insists on having 
the best that science and research offer 
in drugs, instruments and equipment 
that comprise his armamentarium. 

Why is Victor equipment found in 
use in all parts of the world, notwith' 
standing the fact that foreign manu' 
factured equipment can be bought at 
prices considerably lower? The answer 
seems obvious enough. There is always 
a sufficient number of physicians and 
institutions who appreciate the advan' 
tages in having the best equipment 
available for their individual work, to 
justify the investment in a research 
and manufacturing organization that 
make possible this super'quality. 

It is of more than passing interest 
to add that this class of business has 
made Victor X-Ray Corporation the 
largest organization in the world spe- 
cializing in the manufacture of X-Ray 
and Physical Therapeutic apparatus. 

V/orld-wide Victor Service is 
available through 48 service 
organizations established in 34 
different countries, in addition 
to the 40 located in the prin' 
cipal cities of the United 
States and Canada. 



± 




Lewisham Hospital, 
Sydney, Australia. 




Kuling Sanitarium, Killing, 
Kiangsi, China. 





/H 






s 



Dr. Filberto Rivero, 
Havana, Cuba. 



£>X>- 




Red Cross Hospital, Rio 
de Janeiro, Brazil 



VICTOR X-RAY CORPORATION 



Manufacturers of the Coolidge Tube 
and complete line of X-Ray Apparatus 




Physical Therapy Apparatus, Electro* 
cardiographs, and other Specialties 



2012 Jackson Boulevard Branches in all Principal Cities Chicago, Illinois, U. S. A. 



A GENERAL ELECTRIC 







. 



o r g a n 1 y .« r » c :: 



■■■1 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



135 




v 



G)knre Juiqa^eK, is noco made 



O Q 



Toe central administration building of 



Hve neco l^pcke 'laboratories dFHultey, Hew Jersey 




The first injectable digitalis ever made 

available — Always the first choice of 

many distinguished cardiologists 

IT was 'Roche' chemists, with their exacting skill 
and unlimited facilities, who made possible the 
first use of digitalis by injection. Digalen has long 
been in extensive use. Its use is world-wide. When- 
ever the heart is still responsive to digitalis Digalen 
may be counted on to give prompt support. That is 
the point that makes and holds users of Digalen. 

A trial vial for your bag on request 



Hoffmanii'La Roche, Inc. 

akers of Medicines of Rare Quality 
NUTLEY, NEW JERSEY 



«M*f£ 



136 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/</'5 Medical Centre 




THE HISTORY 



of The Medical Protective 
Company is the history of 
Professional Protection 



<• «% <» 




*H3 



THIRTY YEAR 



PECIALIZED SERVICE 



*~(§£q Medical Protective Company 

OF FORT WAYNE, INDIANA 

360 North Michigan Boulevard : : CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 





PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



13"/ 



V 



• 



ROSSVILLE ALCOHOL 




PURE CLEAR 
ODORLESS 

Laboratory investigators unequivo' 
cally state that Alcohol made from 
Grain is superior to that made from 
other materials. 

Each package of ROSSVILLE 
GRAIN ALCOHOL is CERTI- 
FIED with a label that the contents 
is made from Grain and Grain only. 

Alcohol you like to use. 
The kind you should use. 



THEODORE NETTER 

1234 Cherry Street, Philadelphia 
Exclusive distributor to the physician 





A.- II- J 



mmmmsmm 



138 



PHILADELPHIA — World's Medical Centre 




IMPREGNABLE STRENGTH 



ONE of the most modern things about 
the modern new offices of the Aldine 
Trust Company is its vault. 

Hundreds of tons of hardened steel inv 
planted upon solid concrete will protect 
your papers, your jewels or any valuables 
you may have to put in a safe deposit box 
in this wonderful rustless steel repository. 

You can rent a box for as little as $2.50 
a month. 



Many of our clients and friends have 
made special calls to see this most modern 
of bank vaults since our recent opening. 

We extend an invitation to you. We 
will be glad to conduct you through it per- 
sonally and we assure you that the visit 
will be well worth your while. 

We also invite you to take advantage 
of Aldine's modern banking service in all 
departments at any of the three offices 
below. 




Aldine Trust Company 

of Philadelphia 

Chestnut Street at Twentieth 

49th Street and Lancaster Avenue 

52nd and Walnut Streets 




p|jy--i~m~T-p^.- t 



PHILADELPHIA — World' s Medical Centre 



139 




6 OZ. 



USONA 
JgULTURE^ 

An Active Culture 

of 

Bacillus Acidophilus 

01 W/ slow o/ m .7*. IV" 52 
■ rf «"S Ufort mtah. or mco"»» 
" P'ljuici'an'j dirKlioru. 

PREPARED BV 
„ USONA 
"O-CHEM LABORATORIES, W- 

'•Wr-PMtth and D.Un<«7 Str«» 
Philadelphia. Pa- 



Ke.„ SHAKE WELl" , fc , lc « 
w » Wei, preferably In <" e *" 



Successful Acidophilus Therapy 

depends on the number of active living cultures taken by the patient. 

B. ACIDOPHILUS (WHEY CULTURE) 

is prepared daily and contains the maximum number of living organisms. 
"Direct from the incubator to the patient." 

B. Acidophilus forms lactic acid in the intestinal tract and thus 
renders it unfavorable for the growth of harmful bacteria. 

Indications: Diarrhea, gaseous distension, mucous colitis, summer 
diarrhea, constipation and the toxemias due to the absorption of toxic 
products from the intestinal tract. 




The mark, of efficient service 

24th and Delancey Streets Philadelphia, Pa. 

Bell Phone: Spruce 3989 



Chestnut Hill 0857 



Caroline Gu 



Graduate in 

PHYSIOTHERAPY 

LAVAGE 

MASSAGE 

ELECTRO 

AND LIGHT 

THERAPY 



8419 SHAWNEE STREET 
CHESTNUT HILL 



One of Philadelphia's Leading 
Hospital Supply Houses 




EDWARD A. MERKEL 

2013 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, Pa. 



140 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 




NEW YORK 



DAY & ZlMMERMANN 

Engineering & Construction Co. 

Division of United Engineers & Constructors, Inc. 
PHILADELPHIA 

In the Philadelphia District we have had the privilege of serving 
the following institutions, as Constructors 



CHICAGO 



CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL 



DREXEL INSTITUTE 



UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA 
EPISCOPAL HOSPITAL GIRARD COLLEGE 



EASTERN STATE PENITENTIARY 



CHESTNUT HILL HOSPITAL 



ABINGTON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL 




RESULTS 

More Simply ♦ More Quickly 

MAY WE SEND YOU SAMPLES? 

THE LABORATORY PRODUCTS CO. ♦ * CLEVELAND, OHIO 

Qipc 



V£M 



CVjSi 



g3l l^li \M\ KSSi HI il 



oi si\ aa o i ^ i ImIi iifiii o ks! o m ks mI oiiaiioio 



@91»tf 



^!Mk&^ 



SCIENTIFIC FLESH 
REDUCING EXERCISES 

EXERCISE STUDIO 




M. GERTRUDE RVBERY 

Single Lessons, also Course of Lessons 

Personal Interview Required 

Men and Women Department 

809-812 Flanders Building 
15th at Walnut Street Philadelphia, Pa. 

Phone, Kingsley 1049 



'nrTrir !■!?*" 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



141 



Physicians and Surgeons Exchange 

An efficient and courteous twenty-four-hour telephone secretarial 

service protecting the physician's telephone calls 

and serving the patient. 

ENDORSED AND SUBSCRIBED TO BY THE LEADING 
PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS OF PHILADELPHIA 



"If No Answer Call Rittenhouse 8400" 
PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS EXCHANGE 

1700 SANSOM STREET 



PROSTHETIC DEVICES 



4r. 




BEFORE AFTER 

£jx,dn Attendant 



"Legpads" 
Defy Detection 

For cases of Infantile 
Paralysis, Bow ' Legs, 
Thin Legs, etc. 

Rubber Breasts 

For cases where opera- 
tions have been per- 
formed and for unde- 
veloped Busts. 

Elastic Stockings 

For varicose veins, etc. 

Certified 
Radium Products 

Radium Health Pads; 
Radium Bath Com- 
pound Bag; Radiumar 
Ointment; Radium 
Health Water Activa- 
tor, etc.; prices upon 
request. 

ABDOMINAL 
SUPPORTERS 

Sherman A. Camp 

235 Fifth Avenue 

(at 27th Street— Suite 601) 

New York 

Telephone: Ashland 5877 



K. 



National Hospital 
Supply Co* 

SPECIALIZING IN 

Hospital Supplies 

and 

Equipment 



C+3 



INQUIRIES BY 
MAIL OR TELEPHONE INVITED 

Telephone: Pennypacker 3067 



c*J 



1502-04 Spruce Street 
Philadelphia, Pa. 



*<**MI«!fl<4r: 



icBj^SSSHfcSsSiH****** «**••"--'•=->> 



142 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 




CUR PCLICy 

For more than thirty years we have conscien- 
tiously endeavored to give to the many thou- 
sands who come to us each year the best 
possible eye-service. In doing this we have 
invariably co-operated with the members of 
the medical profession and in no case, to our 
knowledge, have we prescribed glasses when 
medical treatment was deemed advisable. 

This policy was ours from the beginning and 
will be continued as long as our firm is in 
existence. We carry the names of over 200,- 
000 satisfied patients on our books, which 
may be considered sufficient proof for the 
correctness of our policy. 

HAUSSMANN 6? COMPANY 

Registered Optometrists 

726 CHESTNUT STREET 
PHILADELPHIA, PENNA. 



Examination Hours: 9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m. 
Monday Evgs. until 9 



Backward and Problem 
Children 

require intensive scientific training 
in a suitable environment 

The BANCROFT SCHOOL 

One of the oldest private boarding schools of its 
kind in the United States, provides unsurpassed 
facilities for exceptional children. The School 
maintains winter quarters in New Jersey, and a 
summer camp on the coast of Maine. It is an 
incorporated educational foundation, operated 
not for profit, and controlled by a Board of 
Trustees, whose aim it is to offer the highest type 
of scientific training and intensive education at' 
tainable at rates within the reach of all. It 
has a competent corps of nurses, a resident phy 
sician, and a medical staff of national reputation; 
organized to give the fullest possible coopera' 
tion to physicians, whether they wish to retain 
medical supervision of patients enrolled in the 
School, or prefer to delegate both treatment and 
training to the School staff. 

ILLUSTRATED CATALOG OH REQUEST 
Address Box 319, Haddonfield, N. J. 



Keeping Faith 

The formula of Antiphlogistine has 
always been known to the medical 
profession. 

The faithfulness with which this 
product has been manufactured for 
the past thirty-five years, is a source of 
pride to the original makers in whose 
stewardship it still remains. 

The unbiased reports of thousands 
of physicians, basing their opinion 
upon their experience with Anti- 
phlogistine in both hospital and pri- 
vate practice, conclusively prove its 
dependable value in those conditions 
for which it is indicated. 

THE DENVER CHEMICAL 
MFG. CO. 

NEW YORK, N. Y. 



IWIJII JJlJhl.- 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



143 



ACCIDENT and HEALTH INSURANCE 

For Physicians, Surgeons and Dentists exclusively 

Successful operation since 1902. 

Business has ALWAYS been done through the 

mail. 
Save the agent's commission for yourself. 

■ 

$800,000.00 assets — assurance of our ability to 
fulfill our promises. 

Membership in every State in the U. S. A. 

Only members of some Medical Society are eligible. 



PHYSICIANS CASUALTY ASSOCIATION 
PHYSICIANS HEALTH ASSOCIATION 



301-13 City National Bank Building 



Omaha, Nebraska 



SINCE 1870 

we have been actively engaged in the produc- 
tion of appliances used by physicians, surgeons 
and specialists, in the mechanical treatment of 
such ailments as hernia, varicosities, obesity, 
gastroptosis, and uterine, kidney and sacrc 
iliac displacements, aiming always for perfec 
tion in construction, by heeding closely the 
requirements of the most exacting practitioner. 

We are the sole ma\ers of the 

Genuine Dr. McIntosh Natural McIntosh 
Uterine Supporter 



The Hastings & Mcintosh 
Truss Company 

912 Walnut Street 
Philadelphia, Pa., U. S. A. 



Artificial Limbs 

Original Inventors and Manufact- 
urers of The DURALUMIN LIMB 

HANGER IMPROVED ARTIFICIAL LIMBS— THE 
STANDARD OF THE WORLD FOR HALF 
. A CENTURY 

Authorized Manufacturers for the 
United States and Foreign Governments 

Established 1861. 27 factories here and 

ABROAD 

100 Employees Wearing Hanger Limbs 

Our lightweight Willow and Duralumin Limbs have 
valuable improvements not contained in other limbs 
on the market. 

Accept no substitute or imitation. There is no sub' 
stitute for our many years experience making, wear- 
ing and improving ARTIFICIAL LIMBS. 

ILLUSTRATED CATALOG ON REQUEST 

J. E. HANGER COMPANY 

214 to 218 S. Twelfth Street 

PHILADELPHIA, PA. 
Telephone: Pennypacker 3798 



144 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



SPECIALISTS 

IN HOSPITAL ELECTRICAL WORK 

Let our training and experience assure you satisfaction. 
We will be glad to advise you without obligation upon request. 



Hospitals on which we have 

HAHNEMANN HOSPITAL Phila., Pa. 

JEWISH HOSP. MATERNITY BLDG Phila., Pa. 

CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL Phila., Pa. 

U. S. VETERANS HOSP Tucson, Arizona 

U. S. VETERANS HOSP Northampton, Mass. 

EASTERN STAR & MASONIC HOME. Wash., D. C. 

NEW EMERGENCY HOSP Wash., D. C. 

GALLINGER PSYCHOPATHIC HOSP., 

Wash., D. C. 

MT. ALTO VETERANS HOSP Wash., D. C. 

NAVAL DISPENSARY Wash., D. C. 

CUMBERLAND MEMORIAL HOSP., 

Cumberland, Md. 
WALTER REED MEDICAL SCHOOL. .Wash., D. C. 



performed the electrical work: 



ST. ELIZABETH'S HOSP. LABORATORY, 

Wash., D. C. 
SALVATION ARMY GROUP BLDG.. .Wash., D. C. 

CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL Wash., D. C. 

SIBLEY HOSPITAL Wash., D. C. 

NEUROLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF N. Y., 

New York, N. Y. 

BATES HOSPITAL OF N. Y New York, N. Y. 

STATE HOSPITAL OF ROCHESTER, 

Rochester, N. Y. 

FRENCH HOSPITAL OF N. Y New York, N. Y. 

MIRIAM OSBORNE MEMORIAL HOSP., 

Harrison, N. Y. 
WOMEN'S MEDICAL COLLEGE 8c HOSP., 

Phila., Pa. 



The Howard P. Foley Company, inc. 



ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS 



1528 Walnut Street 



Philadelphia, Pa. 



GEORGE KATZ 



ARTHUR W. NASH 



GEORGE KAT 
& COMPANY 

Plastering Contractors 
Hospital Work 

OUR SPECIALTY 

St. Luke's Hospital 
Episcopal Hospital 
Medico'Chi Hospital 
Scranton State Hospital 



2502 WEST HAROLD STREET 
Philadelphia, Pa. 



THOMAS S. GASSNER CO. 



53 YEARS' EXPERIENCE ARE BACK OF 




PRODUCTS 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

SPECIAL STEEL 
EQUIPMENT 

"Better Work Costs You No More" 

Steel Toilet Partitions, Skylights, Metal 
Roofings, Steel Casement Sash, Fire Re 
tardent Windows and Doors, Metal Cases, 
Cabinets, Pans, Boxes, Treads, Risers, Per' 
forated Plates, Steam Cabinets, Special 
Doors, Ornamental Steel Mouldings, Trays, 
Steel or Wire, Finished in Baked Enamel 
or Plain. 

WE CAN HANDLE ANYTHING FROM 28 GAUGE 
TO i/ 2 IN. PLATE 

Michigan 7400 Wayne Ave. 8C Apsley St. 



.-„:.,, ...... -.-.- 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



145 



Manufacturers 
Since 
1852 



Dougherty Kitchen Equipment 

is used in JEFFERSON HOSPITAL 




jhe Jefferson is one of the outstand- 
ing hospitals in the world. A leader 
in scientific research, its renowed 
staff has contributed greatly to the relief 
of suffering humanity. A widespread repu- 
tation for efficiency is truly deserved. 

And the food service departments of this 
institution use DOUGHERTY KITCHEN 
EQUIPMENT and Serving Supplies. These 
kitchens, by Dougherty of Philadelphia, 
function perfectly which is of vital im- 
portance to a hospital. A Dougherty Kit- 
chen insures lasting satisfaction. 

Send for a DOUGHERTY Catalog— free. 
Illustrated — unusual — handy. 



• •'!>$' 0*,. 3-2 »<> 





KSjft 




Jefferson Hospital 
Philadelphia, Penna. 



W.EDOUGHERTY&SONS. INC 



Everything' For ( ^§V\ The Kitchen^ 



I009ARCH STREET 



PHILADELPHIA..PA. 



Bell Phone 
Pennypacker 0177 



Established 
1858 



CHESTERMAN & 
STREETER 

INCORPORATED 



SHELBY'S 
HARD RUBBER TRUSS 

ESTABLISHMENT 

LADY ATTENDANTS 



140 SOUTH ELEVENTH STREET 
Philadelphia 



CAPITAL, $200,000 
SURPLUS AND PROFIT, $2,650,000 

Northwestern 
Trust Co. 

Ridge and Columbia Avenues 



OPEN 

MONDAY AND FRIDAY EVENINGS 

UNTIL NINE 



William Freihofer, President 
Alex. D. Robinson, Treasurer 



* 



ip| • 



"rSgJft^ 



146 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



Gray's Glycerine Tonic Comp. 



CONSTITUENTS 

GLYCERINE 
SHERRY WINE 
GENTIAN 
TARAXACUM 
PHOSPHORIC ACID 
CARMINATIVES 



FORMULA DR. JOHN P. GRAY 

DOSAGE 

Adults: Two to four tea' 
spoonfuls in a little water 
before meals, three or four 
times daily. 

Children: One-half to one 
teaspoonful in water before 
meals. 



INDICATIONS 

AUTO-INTOXICATION 

ATONIC INDIGESTION 

ANEMIA 

CATARRHAL CONDITIONS 

MALNUTRITION 

NERVOUS AILMENTS 

GENERAL DEBILITY 



"A TONIC OF KNOWN DEPENDABILITY 

THAT CAN BE PRESCRIBED 

AT ANY SEASON OF THE YEAR" 



THE PURDUE FREDERICK CO. 



135 Christopher Street, New York 



HIGH CLASS 

PHARMACEUTICAL 
PRODUCTS 

Our constant aim has been to attain and main- 
tain the highest possible degree of excellence in 
every product we issue — to furnish pure, reli- 
able and scientifically accurate products that 
will meet the highest requirements of the med- 
ical profession. 





AMPOULES 


TABLETS 


EYE OINTMENTS 


CAPSULES 


ELIXIRS 


LOZENGES 


SYRUPS 



CATALOGUE ON REQUEST 

The Zemmer Company 

Chemists to the Medical Profession 

OAKLAND STATION Pittsburgh, Pa. 



RADIUM 
INSURED 

AGAINST PRACTICALLY 
ALL RISKS 



CALL ANY OF OUR MANY AGENTS 

Telephone 
Lombard 7400 

for Application and Rates 



THE PENNSYLVANIA FIRE 
INSURANCE CO. 

Independence Square 
Philadelphia 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centr 



147 



Wm 

EraL 



Philadelphia 



City of Achievement 



Philadelphia with its big colleges and universities, its renown for music 
... its fame as a great medical center ... its rapid progress towards the 
ideal of the City Beautiful, its attainments in science, in art, in industry, in 
ideal living conditions ... has attained a unique standing among cities. 

This company . . . serving light and power ... is proud to have a part 
in the forward march of Philadelphia. 

Philadelphia Electric Company 



We specialize in all kinds of 

MEET METAL 



Composition 

Roofing and 

Water- Proofing 



Walter HL Tinney Co, 

Farrels above Woodland Ave. 
PHILADELPHIA 

Woodland 0938 West 1901 



Keystone phone 
West 1976 



Bell phone 

Evergreen 5343 



CAROLINA 

Sheet Metal Corporation 

Manufacturers and Contractors 

30094 1 Chestnut Street 
Philadelphia, Pa. 

W. Roy Eichberg, President 



THOMAS J. REGAN 

Masonry Contractor 

SCHAFF BUILDING 

1505 RACE STREET 
PHILADELPHIA 



148 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



CLEANLINESS : ACCURACY : COURTESY 



The more particular the physician is 
the better he will like this store 

The SPRUCE APOTHECARY 

1 'Where Pharmacy is a Profession, not a side line' 
Prescription Chemists 

263 S. 17TH STREET AT SPRUCE, PHILADELPHIA 

H. E. LECKS, Proprietor 
Prompt Service Bell Telephone: Pennypacker 5287 

This Store Gives Each Physician Personal Service 



PRESCRIPTION 

Merck's Chemicals Used Exclusively 



— »• 











_gsA 


In Clothes 




J^r 


the best is the cheapest. 






Business men cannot 




afford cheap surround- 




■Afk 


ings, or cheap ineffi- 




cient assistants. Cur- 




iously, however, many 




* 


imagine they can afford 
cheap clothes. 




4 V 


If you are making 




• 


this mistake, correct it 




Vi 


today. Let us help you 
properly to reflect your 
personality in your 
dress. 

For over eighty years 




ft :■■ | 


the firm of Hughes & 
Muller has made 
clothes for gentlemen. 




JS* 


The steady growth of 
business testifies that 




ir -• 


we know how. 




HUGHE 


S & MULLER 


INCORPORATED 


1527 WALNUT ST., PHILADELPHIA 



Meei 



Highest Quality 



Bread 



Rolls 



Cakes 



Southeast corner 



Hutchinson and Thompson Streets 
Philadelphia, Pa. 



'^Bjf 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



149 



"Williams' Standard' 



'Quality First' 



1876 "Over Fifty Years of Service" 1930 

C. D. WILLIAMS & CO. 

246 S. 11th St., Philadelphia, Pa. 

Designers and Manufacturers of 

NURSES' UNIFORM CAPES — made of 
best pure woolen cloths and linings 
sponged so they will not rain spot (water- 
proofed if you so desire) in all color com- 
binations, and ACCORDING TO TRAIN- 
ING SCHOOL SPECIFICATIONS. 
School Initials Embroidered on Collars if 
desired. 

CONTRACTORS for TRAINING 
SCHOOL OUTFITS comprising Uni- 
forms, Aprons, Bibs, Collars, Cuffs and 
other Accessories. 

STOCK and MADE-TO-MEASURE 
GRADUATE NURSES' WHITE UNIFORMS 

Cotton and Linen Clothing for Staff and Resident 
Physicians, Surgons, Internes and Orderlies. 

Finger Length Cape 

Our WHITE DUCK Physicians' and Internes' UNIFORMS are made of THOROUGHLY SHRUNKEN material; in 
STOCK SIZES, or MADE-TO-MEASURE; NEATLY TAILORED as they should be, and sewed with best cotton 
thread. Durably constructed throughout to withstand the rigors of repeated laundering. 

To demonstrate the merits of our products we will forward any garments, as samples, for inspection. 

Send for NURSES' CATALOG N (illustrative); Samples and Prices 

Send for DOCTORS' CATALOG D (illustrative); Samples and Prices 

OUR POLICY: To make what you want, and as you want it; to compete on quality and excellence of product rather than on price. 





7{o. 230 Duc\ Coat 



■ ! 



Walnut 

1214 



Hours: 

9 A. M. to 5 P. M. 



- 



I. SABEL 

Corrective Shoes 

for Men, Women and 
Children 



Jefferson Building 

1015 CHESTNUT STREET 
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Rooms 1103-09 




"EVERDRY" 

Rubber Blankets 

are fully guaranteed 

Sponge Rubber Pads 
Rubber Matting and Mats 
Hose and Tubing 

Stockwell Rubber 
Company, 

Incorporated 
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



MATTRESSES 

Renovated-Sterilized 

Box Springs Re-Upholstered, Feathers 
Sterilized and made into Mattresses. 
Down Quilts recovered. 

Commonwealth of Penna. Permit No. 80 

SICHEL BROTHERS 

WATER AND CALLOWHILL STREETS 

Mar\et 1135 



' rt *<^; 



■™"^ .-•■...•fc.---.W«.V.5Sii. 



= 



150 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/(i'5 Medical Centre 



THE PHYSICIANS SUPPLY CO. 
OF PHILADELPHIA 

112416 SOUTH SIXTEENTH STREET 

Dealers in 

SURGEONS' INSTRUMENTS, HOSPITAL AND INVALID SUPPLIES, BIOLOGICALS, VACCINES 
AND INTRAVENOUS MEDICATION, TRUSSES, ELASTIC HOSIERY AND ABDOMINAL SUPPORTS 

Organised June 1st, 1903, Incorporated under laws of Pennsylvania February 1st, 1905, with offices 
and store at 1118 Chestnut Street. Moved into first floor of the Otis Building (northwest corner 
Sixteenth and Sansom Streets), January 1st, 1916, and needing more room for expansion of business, 
leased the entire second floor of the same building in June, 1928. 

Their store is one of the finest in the country and well worth a visit; their wares are the best procur- 
able in their line, as they claim that "Nothing can be too good for the doctor or the patient." 

This company makes a specialty of laying out and equipping physicians 1 offices and treatment rooms, 
and points with pride to the numerous offices of well known specialists in Philadelphia where they 
have made installations. 

This business has grown from its inception to its present proportions through square dealing, honest 
prices and real personal service to the medical profession. 



Chas. M. Steinmuller, President 



The officers are. 



James Brown, Secretary-Treasurer 



Bell Phone: Walnut 1966 

HUGH R. DOWD 

Successor to Glatterer is Dowd 

RUPTURE SPECIALIST 

TRUSSES ABDOMINAL BELTS SURGICAL APPLIANCES 
PERSONAL ATTENTION GIVEN TO ALL CASES 

ELASTIC STOCKINGS 

729 Walnut St., Philadelphia, Pa. 

Treatment at your Home if desired Lady attendant 



McKennan Pharmacy 

The ETHICAL PHARMACY 

506 PENN AVENUE 
PITTSBURGH, PA. 



SERVICE to the PHYSICIANS 



Clinical Analysis 
Blood Chemistry 



Microscopy 
Micro'photography 



BELL & BELTZ, Inc. 

Chemists and Bacteriologists 
3340 N. BROAD STREET 

PHILADELPHIA, PA. 

Bell Phone— RADCLIFFE 4584 
Authorized Collection Agency 
CLAPHAM'S DRUG STORE 

Cumberland and Emerald Streets 



The Crescent-Kelvan Co. 

Pharmaceutical Chemists 

Manufacturers of 

Fine Pharmaceuticals for the 

Medical Profession 

PRIVATE FORMULA SPECIALISTS 
Let Us Quote You Prices 

677 NORTH PRESTON STREET 
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



... — . 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Centre 



151 



DIEVIYIPS CAME) 

ALLENWOOD, UNION COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Devitt's Camp is a modern sanatorium for the treatment of tuberculosis. It is situated in the White 
Deer Mountains at Allenwood, Pennsylvania, on the Buffalo Division of the Pennsylvania Railroad and the 
Williamsport Division of the Reading Railroad, and is accessible to Philadelphia, New York, Pittsburgh, 
Baltimore and Washington, D. C. 

At its inception the Camp consisted of a barn and a number of small cottages with sleeping porches 
and large enough to accommodate two people. As the Camp expanded additional ones were constructed— 
until today the Camp is modern in every respect with an Infirmary of fifty beds — including twenty-two 
private rooms — a new Dormitory for women — containing fifty-five beds — a clinical laboratory, complete 
X-ray laboratory and an Ultra Violet Lamp equipment. In addition, there is a Guest House for the 
accommodation of friends and relatives who wish to visit the patients. 

There are two resident physicians, a staff of graduate nurses and a trained laboratory technician at 
the Camp and each patient receives individual attention. 

The rate at Devitt's Camp is a very moderate one because the entire Institution has been donated. 
The rates would be higher if it were necessary to earn a return on the value of the property as shown on 
the books of the Camp and, as it is chartered under the laws of the State of Pennsylvania, no one can make 
a profit from it. 

Devitt's Camp is different from most tuberculosis sanatoria in that every effort is made to get away 
from the institutional idea, and with the personal touch each patient receives, there is created a homelike 
atmosphere rarely found in a tuberculosis sanatorium. The entire staff, by their helpfulness and cheer, are 
always trying to engender a bright and hopeful spirit in the mind and heart of those seeking rest 'and 
health within its doors. 

Artificial pneumothorax, Ultra Violet Lamp and all other modern and up-to-date methods of treating 
tuberculosis are used at Devitt's Camp. 

PATIENTS ARE ADMITTED ONLY THROUGH THEIR PHYSICIANS 

For boo\let, rates or any additional information, please address 
Dr. William Devitt, Physician in Charge, Allenwood, Pennsylvania 



W. L. CLIFFE 

Pharmacist 

The pharmacy that has successfully aimed to 
give dependable Pharmaceutic Service to the 
Kensington district of Philadelphia since 1884. 

KENSINGTON AVE. AT SOMERSET ST. 
PHILADELPHIA 



McArdle & Cooney, Inc. 

Plumbing Supplies 
519 ARCH STREET, PHILADELPHIA 

Telephone: Lombard 9390 



EVERGREEN 0240 



H. L. KLOPP 

Prescriptions a Specialty 

Established 1898 
3421 SPRING GARDEN STREET 



Adolph Soeffing & Co. 

Hardware, Cutlery, Tools 

833 ARCH STREET 
PHILADELPHIA 



S- r -. 



■"r^_-zrrrr.—rrt 



152 



PHILADELPHIA— World' s Medical Centre 



Cooperating with 

the Medical Profession 

WHIPPET 

WILLYS SIX 

WILLYS EIGHT 

WILLYS KNIGHT 

WILLYS SIX TRUCKS 

WILLYS KNIGHT TRUCKS 



MAINTENANCE 



HERBERT BROTHERS 

1409-11 North Broad Street 






Phone, Stevenson 7300 



DR. McGINTY'S 

HOSPITAL AND HEALTH FARM 



T^ervous and Alcoholic Cases Treated 



E. F. McGinty, M.D. 

Proprietor 



Mt. Pocono, Pa. 






PHILADELPHIA-Wor/rf', Medical Centre 



153 



• ■> 



A Complete Travel Service 

In addition to operating many superior Tours under our own management, the 
Bartlett Tours Company are official agents for all Tours, Cruises and Steamship Lines 

Our scope is world wide and we are happy to place at the disposal of our clients 
an unbroken record of fifty years, devoted exclusively to a protective service of our 
many patrons. 

You will at once discern the unique advantage of a service which concentrates the 
offerings of every travel management in one office. Whether you desire a steamship 
passage, a comprehensive itinerary with complete reservations, either domestic or foreign 
a hotel accommodation anywhere in the world or aeroplane tickets, you will find our 
staff courteous and attentive to your every wish. 

We offer the incomparable advantage of an unprejudiced opinion, gleaned from 
many years of direct travel experience, at no additional cost whatsoever. 

BARTLETT TOURS COMPANY 

Edward C. Dixon, President 

Established 1880 

1511 Locust Street '• :: :: Philadelphia 

"T J ravel Free From Care" 

Steamship Tickets Hotel Reservations 

Letters of Credit Baggage Insurance Travelers Checks 



1 



Positive F 
Results* 



The 

continued use of this product, by many eminent physicians and surgeons, is 
based upon positive and often excellent results. 

Dimazon Ointment is distinctive in character — there is no other. It was intro- 
duced by us in 1913 and therefore has long passed the experimental stage. 

Dimazon Ointment 

ECZEMA, Ulcus, Cruris, Conjunctivitis, Wounds, Keratitis, Burns 

Send for samples and literature 

Approved by the A. M. A. 

HEILKRAFT MEDICAL CO. 

BOSTON - - - MASSACHUSETTS 



^aKEESQ^^^KS^KRHSEmi 



154 



PHILADELPHIA-Wor/</'$ Medical Centre 



ROMAN MOSAIC 
AND TILE CO., INC. 



Mosacio 

Marble, Terrazzo 
Ceramics and Tiles 

Office: 435 Green Street 

Factory. 432 Wallace Street 

PHILADELPHIA, PA. 



Both Phones 



ANNOUNCEMENT TO 
THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 

WE take pleasure in announcing that we have 
established our own laboratory under the 
direction of an expert cereal chemist, for 

the purpose of further increasing the efficiency of 
our methods in selecting the purest ingredients, 
and also for the purpose of doing research work 
with the object of making our already famous prod' 
ucts even more digestible and nourishing. 

Our object has always been, and always will be, 
to keep the fermentation of our doughs accurate 
with pure yeast, and free from artificial chemical 
stimulation, so that the finished bread and rolls 
shall be not only as attractive as possible, but also 
as digestible and nourishing as baked goods can 
possibly be made. 

It will probably interest you to know that so 
much encouragement has already been given us 
by your profession in reference to our dietetic 
breads, and again we beg to remind you of our list 
of dietetic breads: Lister's Casein Bread and Cookies, 
which are starch and sugar free; Junker's High Pro- 
tein Gluten Bread, with the lowest starch and high- 
est protein content on the market, for starch tolerant 
patients; our Saltless bread, for a salt'free diet, 
Pulled Bread for children and convalescents with 
weak digestions; and our Pure 100% Whole Wheat 
Bread, containing all the bran, nutriment, and min- 
eral matter of the entire wheat grain. 

In view of our efforts along these lines in pro- 
viding such breads, we solicit your further co-opera- 
tion. A sample of any of our Dietetic Breads gladly 
furnished on request. 

Cordially yours, JULES JUNKER, Inc. 

A Bakery Co-operating with the Medical Profession 

Retail: 211 South Thirteenth Street, Philadelphia 

Telephone: Pen. 4027-3835 




The Pickett Sanitarium 

Springfield Rd., Aldan, Delaware Co., Pa. 



For Mental and Nervous Diseases 

An old farmstead with beautiful surroundings. 

Three minutes from Penna. R.R. at Clifton-Aldan 
station, two minutes from Sharon Hill electric line, 
five miles from Philadelphia. 

Established by Dr. William C. Pic\ett in 1906 

Dr. Elizabeth Lovelace-Pickett 

Bell Phone, Madison 68 



AMOS C. GLISE, Inc. 



Apothecary 



PENN ATHLETIC CLUB 



Eighteenth and Locust Streets 



Philadelphia, Pa. 



PRESCRIPTION SPECIALISTS 



&v 



I 






■ MMWI 



V ' ' 



PHILADELPHIA— World's Medical Cent 



r e 






-.v- 




f 3 oris chirr &ffo//nes 



founded 1889 




Inc 19ZS 



Dispensing Opticians since 1889 

OPHTHALMOLOGICAL APPARATUS 

ARTIFICIAL HUMAN EYES 
OPTICAL ACCESSORIES 

Manufacturers 0} 

Gold Spheres employed in Orbital 
Implantations and Mules Operations. 

~Ma\ers 0} 

perfect-fitting Eye-Glasses and 
Spectacles 



ICC5<^J3l 



KEENE & CO. 

OPTICIANS 

1713 Walnut Street 
Philadelphia 



Ks&OiaX 



155 



MULLEN & WOLF 
OPTICIANS 

BROAD STREET STATION BRIDGE 

COMMERCIAL TRUST BUILDING 
PHILADELPHIA 



^V^k^OPTlCIANS_J>< 



sS 



HERBERT W. LOGAN 
OPTICIAN 




121 SOUTH TWENTIETH STREET 
PHILADELPHIA,PA. 



"jjA'affliawvyiwy^w^'^'.'. ' W'Wws 



BggjggHgj g 




Bender, Off & Franks 
OPTICIANS 

1827 Chestnut Street 
Philadelphia 






- 



156 



PHILADELPHIA-^or/^'5 Medical Centre 




The Eyrie Sanitarium 

Clifton Heights, Delaware Co., Pa. 

Established twenty years. Twenty acres of 
beautiful Delaware County, seven miles from the 
centre of Philadelphia. A private hospital for 
internal medicine: heart, high blood pressure, 
pneumonia, kidney, gastro-intestinal, paralysis, 
elderly, mental and nervous diseases. Physicians 
may retain entire care of cases. Special rates for 
War Veterans. No drug cases accepted. 

W. W. HAWKE, M.D. 

Proprietor and Superintendent 

LICENSED 

Phone: Lansdowne 749 



"Health is Wealth" 

Battle Creek SanitariumTreatments 

1510 FAIRMOUNT AVENUE 
Bell Phone; Poplar 4715 

We make use of the system which has made the above 
institution famous. Electric Light Baths, Violet Rays, 
Hot and Cold Spinal Douches, Salt Baths, Radiant Bak- 
ing, Infra Red Ray, Massage, Electro Thermal Baths etc. 
The Battle Creek System has proven its merits in acute and 
chronic ailments, such as Rheumatism, Nerve Exhaustion, Con- 
stipation, Sciatica, High Pressure, Gout, Neuritis, Lumbago, 
Kidney Conditions, etc. 

High Colonic Irrigation Reducing Treatments 

Electric Prostatic Massage 

Graduates of Battle Creek Sanitarium 25 years' experience 

Wm. Quinn, R. N. Kathryn Quinn 

Summer Office from July 1st to September 15th 

Flanders Hotel, Ilth and Boardwalk., Ocean City, 7i. J. 



Kenwood Sanitarium 

186 BETHLEHEM PIKE 
CHESTNUT HILL, PENNA. 

Cheerful, comfortable home for nervous and 
chronic cases and elderly people. Limited 
number selected alcoholic cases accepted. 
Nurses care day and night. Special diets. 

Established 24 years. MRS. P. H. LANE 

Phone: Chestnut Hill 0709 



4 



LISTERS FLOUR 

for 

Starch-Free Foods 

in 

Diabetic Diet 



LISTER BROS., Inc., 41 E. 42nd St., New York, N. Y. 



IDYLEASE INN 

NEWFOUNDLAND, N. J. 
40 miles from New York 1000 ft. above sea level 

A modern, well equipped health resort treating mild 
funtional disorders of the nervous system, conval- 
escents, and those needing a change of environment. 
Mental, tuberculous and otherwise objectionable 
cases are not received. The atmosphere of a large 
country home rather than that of a hospital is 
studiously maintained. Boo\let on request. 
Telephone — Newfoundland 21 

D. E. DRAKE, M.D., Medical Director. 



V 



Tables 

Chairs 

Cabinets 

Stands 



Allison 

Equipment 

Preferred 

when only 

the best is 

good enough 




Mahogany 

'Walnut 

Quartered 

Oa\ 

Catalog 

Sent 

on 

Request 



W. D. ALLISON COMPANY 

Quality Manufacturers for 45 Years 

1133 Burdsal Pkwy., Indianapolis, Indiana 



Phone: Walnut 5698 

Pfnlabelpfna 
HealtJ) Jfoob Center 

800 Reading Terminal Market 
Philadelphia 

Dr. W. E. Dickson 



■^ l-.-^-"* 






tmy^StMmmam^^> 







' 



S* 



:7 rWg5ingT 











.■ 



• -•:-<•>> 



i 

i 




I 

\ .'■'■ ';'■'•- ■'■■ 




i 












MEDICAL COLLEGE OF PENNSYLVANIA 
FLORENCE A. MOORE LIBRARY OF MEDICINE 




3 2240 00014 5734 






§ 






I 



WX 27 AP4 P54 1930 
900830 

Philadelphia, world's 
medical centre 



DO NOT REMOVE 

CARD FROM 

BOOK POCKET 



". •• -